The 0.6% chance of Ofori-Atta remaining in the US amid detention – US immigration lawyer details

Read Comments Comments (82)

• @RealNapo 20 hours ago

I am confused here. What is going on? Something is not right. If your visa has not expired and you have applied to extend it or change status, what has it got do with ICE? Is there a limit to when one can apply for visa exten ...

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 20 hours ago

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine.......for instance 15 paracetamol at once.......or combine medicine and akpeteshie or with weedicide.

• FRANKIE 20 hours ago

Is Ken Ofori Atta in the US for medical attention or for a green card? See how beautifully the narrative is changing!

• Karikakchar 19 hours ago

It will be great if the AG can seek court conviction for him when he returns. Anything like detention at NIB head office and humiliating him will point to the AG or the specia KwesiPeter not having enough evidence to success ...

• Nii 19 hours ago

@ Karikakchar
    Kwaashiaa Buuuluuu has the AG finished with his investigation and can he convict him without prosecution? Tooffeeii yaaa skuul aluwaaaa.Why do we have too many fools in NDC?

• Chief Nwankwo 19 hours ago

Aaooohh, you this @Nii Ganyobi kplotoo buulubi with a toddler's brain..!! When at all will you become mentally-liberated? All these unspeakable shame and abomination coming from your quarters, but every time you come here, yo ...

• Mary 17 hours ago

Please @ Chief that idiot is NOT a GA.

• FIELD MARSHALL 19 hours ago

OUR FADA IS COMING BACK...... HURRAAYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Oobak3 16 hours ago

Why will they file for writ of habeas corpus when ICE has already stated the reason for his detention. Also, how can you say he is not a flight risk when he is already a fugitive from the Ghanaian justice system.

• Nenenarteh 9 hours ago

Oobake, that writ comes in to say that the man is illegally being held and the ICE must provide him in court to justify his detention. Produce the body

• Peace maker 15 hours ago

Nii you are an animal. Kwasia bi ba

• Borrowmia Nana Kokain 12 hours ago

The God of Ghana is working and listening to the prayers of the numerous Ghanaians that Ken Ofori Atta killed by his wicked acts. DDEP, Corruptions, conflict of Interest, and possibly secretly killing of his perceived enemies ...

• Kay 19 hours ago

The way things are heating up, if NDC is not careful and radical Donald Trump lays his hands on President John Mahama's Airbus SE bribery file,we will be here one day and he will come and kidnap Mahama to prison.

• CHANDRAMENI 19 hours ago

Hellooooo, Fellow Ghanaians:

Please, your darling FUGI-THIEF... (Kenneth Nana Yaw Ofori-Atta) is currently soaking some fresh ICE-KENKEY within the ICE-cold ambience of the US “ICE” DETENTION FACILITY @ VIRGINIA. In ca ...

• Nenenarteh 9 hours ago

You are such a fool. Mind your own business. Your time is near.

• OSCAR 18 hours ago

NA TRU, BRO. TRUMP WILL KIDNAP HIM AND LORDINA

• JULOR CAESAR 9 hours ago

Your NPP airbus bullshit went stale a long time ago. If you want a diversionary tactic to help camouflage your NPP looting, you'll need to come up with something new other than that NPP fat lie called Airbus. Folks like Ofor ...

• ST GHFUO: Ghana, cleanliness is Godliness 7 hours ago

He will be sent back..if I say he should be sent back. Trump.will send him.back

• Afetor Kwesirn Englis 20 hours ago

You cannot understand because it is beyond your comprehension. Know what a visa is. It allows you to cross a border lawfully. When you present it to an immigration officer, you are asked questions and based on that you're all ...

• Nana 19 hours ago

If Ken Ofori Atta was afraid of being deported ,he wouldn't have used his left foot to kick away Victor Smith, Ghana's Ambassador to the USA.I'm told right in the presence of ICE Agents he nearly slapped Victor Smith.

• Justice One 19 hours ago

Please, such fabrications turn into rumors which are not helpful. Example is the fabrication that KOA wants to seek asylum for gay rights. An utter falsehood which some people may take as the fact.

• Ghanaba KK 17 hours ago

You see if Ken and his cronies have ever misappropriated Ghana money or used political or family influence through the NPP to gain any wealth or funds let them and their entire family and beneficiaries be cursed. Why is he be ...

• Atsu 12 hours ago

By your narrative John Mahama, Ibrahim Mahama and most NDC gurus wouldn’t be alive

• Awuradebasa 13 hours ago

Stop your nonsense, who told you that Nkwaseasem?

• K. Opoku-London-UK 19 hours ago

The Akyem Abuakwa criminals came to borrow $51 Billion US dollars and looted them ALL for our grand children to pay for their stealing. Their descendants will always be RICH, whilst their stolen money is being paid using our ...

• Focus on reducing petrol cost not cedi dollar 19 hours ago

Focus on reducing petrol cost it's why things are so expensive. It's how China's economy grew.
    Subsidise petrol to make it cost less, this will drive down prices and encourage alot and alot job creation, more consumer spend ...

• We are NPP 18 hours ago

One thing I can get it is the fact that, a fomer finance minister who doesnt want to stay in his country where he was a minister for 8 good years. What went wrong ?

• K. Opoku-London-UK 17 hours ago

DONALD TRUMP MAGA PARTY-ICE WILL DEPORT THE CRIMINAL KEN OFORI ATTA.
    An Indian grandmother, Harjit Kaur, aged 73, was deported from the US to India in September 2025 after living in California for over 30 years, sparking com ...

• KARMA AND CURSE WILL ATTACK GHANA'S THIEVING FREELOADING LEADERS ONE-BY-ONE, STARTING WITH OFORI-ATTA AND AKUFO-ADDO. 14 hours ago

KARMA AND CURSE WILL ATTACK GHANA'S THIEVING FREELOADING LEADERS ONE-BY-ONE, STARTING WITH OFORI-ATTA AND AKUFO-ADDO.

WHILE POOR GHANAIANS WERE FACING BITING DEPRIVATION AND CRASS POVERTY, DUE TO HARSH IMF LOANS REPAYMENTS ...

• K Poku-London-UK 13 hours ago

DONALD TRUMP MAGA PARTY-ICE WILL DEPORT THE CRIMINAL KEN OFORI ATTA.-Why-DID-Donald-Trump-illegally-DEPORTED-Nigerians,Togolese-TO-GHANA?DONALD-TRUMP-MAGA-PARTY-DO-NOT-FOLLOW-ANY-RULES-TRUMP-DOES-WHAT-HE-WANTS-OR-LIKES.-TRUMP ...

• Meet Russian hacker base in all bank loading cc top fixed crdit score 20 hours ago

Chase wasap him

Bank flashing to all ...

• K. Opoku-London-UK 20 hours ago

BLOODY Akyem Abuakwa SAKAWA Akuffo Addo FAMILY OF TRAITORS-MUST BE DEPORTED BY THE DONSALD TRUMP MAGA PARTY TO GHANA IN CHAINS. Ken Ofori Atta was part of the 43 family members in the Akuffo Addo FAMILY and friends Government ...

• SURVIVAL. 20 hours ago

Why are you fools not fighting for his return to Ghana but rather interested in his residential permit.He must come home and pay us all our money.

• Kwame panin 19 hours ago

You will not benefit if Ken comes back.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 17 hours ago

Hahahaha . He is not coming back to Ghana. With all the supposed money from Ghana, do you know how much Uncle Sam will benefit from him? Uncle will never deport him. If he was BROKE MAN like you and me, he would have been de ...

• Bokazzo 16 hours ago

Hey, gyimifuorhene @Frank Agyena Kwasia-Kwasia! You were foolishly singing this same song of madness the last time when we suddenly saw Nana Yaw Ofori-Atta the FUGI-THIEF being bundled into that 6" x 12" window-less cubicle w ...

• John 19 hours ago

Ghanaians should demonstrate in American Embassy in Ghana

• Name 17 hours ago

Twiaaaaaa !!

Ghanaians cannot even demonstrate against 'galamsey' let alone against the detention of a criminal.

Meanwhile, why should Ghanaians demonstrate? Is Ofori Atta different from the hundreds of Ghanains who had ...

• Prof. USA 19 hours ago

The legal tools this lady mentioned don’t work under the current Trump regime. Today, all the nice rights in democracy are gone! So pls stop mentioning that Ofori Atta has a chance to remain in the US under the current reg ...

• K. Opoku-London-UK 19 hours ago

The Akyem Abuakwa criminals came to borrow $51 Billion US dollars and looted them ALL for our grand children to pay for their stealing. Their descendants will always be RICH, whilst their stolen money is being paid using our ...

• Sappey Agboh 19 hours ago

Every Black immigration lawyer you come across in the developed countries are usually those who failed to make the cut to become barristers. They make their living by exploiting suffering illegal immigrants. They can't come t ...

• Ayoma 18 hours ago

It doesn't matter what work they do. It is all honest labour's which is better than stealing with the Bible. The fact still remains that... Your FUGI-THIEF Nana Yaw Ofori-Atta is still resting quietly on that ICE plywood bed ...

• HAMILA 19 hours ago

US is not his country. Send him back to Ghana. Ghana is his country.

• Agbeli Kumordziì 19 hours ago

I will send message to ICE in America to let the doctors check Ofori Atta's ass if he is truly a gay man
    We all knows that most akans going to Europe and America claiming to be gay no doubt ken Ofori Atta is also claiming g ...

• Onipaba 13 hours ago

Agbeli Kumodzi yea the Akans are far sensible we use every legal means to make it happen in abroad unlike you fools who stay in Ghana to be poor just look at your region it’s pathetic

• Philla philla 13 hours ago

Ayigwe ni aboa! Is rather your clueless, visionless and incompetent MAHAMA must be asked why he has refused to sign the LGBT Bill?

• plo 19 hours ago

This foolishness of presidential immunity must be removed from our Constitution. Akuffo Addo should be prosecuted. He's the brain behind all the rot that we witnessed during his 8-year rule

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 19 hours ago

This lawyer heard the expression “habeas corpus” for the first time and decided to use the expression to bamboozle the audience.
    How do you file a habeas corpus for a client already headed to court? Habeas corpus asks th ...

• JJ KUFFOUR AKUFO ADDO 18 hours ago

Ofori Atta's arrest by ICE is a calculated strategy to remain here in US permanently.His lawyers know the right doors to knock. If you're bringing in money, US usually doesn't care about the source.

• Teddy more 18 hours ago

If he has overstayed his visa, why are still keeping him there. This is something else. I don't understand.

• Name 16 hours ago

You may not have traveled much outside Africa, that's why you don't understand. This is how it runs:

if you overstay your visa, you have broken the law as such you'll be arrested, taken to court, sentenced (if found guilty ...

• SIMON 18 hours ago

US cannot justify holding Ofori-Atta from facing Justice in Ghana whilst keeping Maduro to face US Justice

• T 18 hours ago

WHAT IS IT THAT THIS MOTHERFUCKER OF A FORMER MINISTER IS RUNNING AWAY FROM?

• Seaman Jane&finch canda 17 hours ago

Why the NPP are mute on this Ofori Atta case. Where if that chubby so called nana B. Why no press conference. Why that fool Afenyo Markin not organizing the NPP stupid mps to march to the ice office for his release just as t ...

• Nenenarteh 9 hours ago

So called Seaman, you are a fool. You have wastes your fathers sperm and your mothers womb.You dont think or reason. Such a fool.You will keep looking for food to eat forever without result if you dont keep out of politics.

• moyoyo 17 hours ago

npp kwon the law

• K. Opoku-London-UK 17 hours ago

DONALD TRUMP MAGA PARTY-ICE WILL DEPORT THE CRIMINAL KEN OFORI ATTA.
    An Indian grandmother, Harjit Kaur, aged 73, was deported from the US to India in September 2025 after living in California for over 30 years, sparking com ...

• Kofi mensa 17 hours ago

Why is he afraid to come home, they have stolen a lot of the countries resources.

• Seagull 17 hours ago

Well Mr.Ken Offori Atta is a former finance minister of Ghana
    His stays in the United States stern from medical treatment but looking at the rates of the government’s media engagement signals already concluded judgement a ...

• dandurawa 16 hours ago

This man is shyous past, a real disgrace!

• Ken Ofori Atta 15 hours ago

I wont come ooo, ghanafuo paaa ! Why should I come for Mahama to put me into prison. Apuu !

• Stone 15 hours ago

Not sure why everyone is worked up...the United States will follow the law...not propaganda nor favors. If the law finds him not admissible in the United States he will be deported and vice versa. The United States is not af ...

• God is good 14 hours ago

Send that thief away from your country. Don't give him any citizenship. He is a thief paaaa

• S.K.MENSAH 14 hours ago

His Bible quotes will set him free.

• Ivory Mensah 14 hours ago

So is ofori atta a happy man now? Has he regretted his actions? Good name is better than riches. He has achieved peacelessness for life.

• Kwame Angel 13 hours ago

Stop wasting our time and send the bastard back home to Ghana.

• Onipaba 13 hours ago

Ken is not coming to Ghana because the judiciary in Ghana has been compromised.We have selective justice in Ghana.Kelvin Taylor was left off the hook as well as other NDC members who were left off the hook despite their crime ...

• K Poku-London-UK 13 hours ago

DONALD TRUMP MAGA PARTY-ICE WILL DEPORT THE CRIMINAL KEN OFORI ATTA.-Why-DID-Donald-Trump-illegally-DEPORTED-Nigerians,Togolese-TO-GHANA?DONALD-TRUMP-MAGA-PARTY-DO-NOT-FOLLOW-ANY-RULES-TRUMP-DOES-WHAT-HE-WANTS-OR-LIKES.-TRUMP ...

• Justrac Africa LTD 13 hours ago

Protect your home and property with our RELIABLE Electric fence, CCTV cameras, Video doorbell and Automated gates systems. Call/WhatsApp us; 0501796870. Shshwgwg

• Awuradebasa 13 hours ago

This man is using our money that he stole to fight for his stay.

• Beautiful Snake 13 hours ago

Rat of a lawyer. Wo maame twe kan kan kan kan kan kan kan kan kan kan. Stupid girl . God go punish you and your entire generation in perpetuity for defending ofori atta the criminal imbecile who crashed Ghana economy with h ...

• Sword 13 hours ago

Good man, he is so mature.

• Jags 12 hours ago

Ghana web please we need Nigel Gaisie on your platform, do your best to bring him here

• Norway 12 hours ago

Simply why don’t he want to come to Ghana if he don’t have anything to hide about corruption

• COOLBLUE 12 hours ago

Ofori Atta can fill habeas corpus but he has no Alibi.

As far as we know, Ofori Atta was in Ghana when the act of corruption leveled against him occurred. Who in his right mind is going to stand as witness for the Bible an ...

• Kevin USA 11 hours ago

Forget about this NPP pathological liars who are were again trained to lie by their professions. Look at NPP former Attorney General. He forgot that he was even a Human being. He lied in private and in open spaces. Look at th ...

• s))mli 10 hours ago

NDC does not care if Ken comes to Ghana or not. This is called checkmate. NPP is in trouble which ever way you look at this.
    Open your eyes.
    If he returns, he WILL be convicted. If he does not, he has convicted himself.
    NP ...

• JULOR CAESAR 9 hours ago

That arrogant looting ex-Finance Minister is running from the law and is merely trying to use the US immigration process to seek refuge in the USA. How can he claim that he's being persecuted just because the government of Gh ...

• oRiGiNaL 9 hours ago

You this man, you are not a US citizen. You are Ghanaian who held the position of finance minister. Immediately after you were booted out of power, you run to the US and don’t want to come back to the country u run so well ...

• Gslow 6 hours ago

What a shame, you can't stay in the country you once served in.

• Jesus is Lord! 5 hours ago

Ghanaweb is always seeking to promote the female version of reality in the name of European democratic influence over African value systems.

• KEN OFORI-ATTA with BIBLE ON ICE BLOCK 1 hour ago

Deport this piggy bagga back quickest. Straight into the path of Amedume Serlomey and Kwame Peprah. Useless pigly akyem-mafiascos. What a disgrace of a daylight robbery & dog meat brain crack corrupt fucking idiots!