From Crisis to Glory: How Daniel Laryea put Ghanaian refereeing back on the map

Read Comments Comments (67)

• OKPONGLO 1 month ago

WELL DONE MR LARYEA. DON'T MIND THESE NOISY FOOLS WITH VERY LOW EQs.

• P Djamgbe 1 month ago

I have just watched Kunbe's (the YouTuber) analysis of the game and I must say that the referee was very brave and very professional to deny Morocco (at least) a penalty from 3 penalty shouts. If Morocco had lost the game and ...

• ST GHFUO: Ghana, cleanliness is Godliness 1 month ago

Fools even caf didn't want Nigeria to win okay get that through your think skulls if Morocco lost who would buy tickets to go watch the final? Camels? The Moroccans wouldn't go see the final and caf would lose money..caf want ...

• Kweku Tsin 1 month ago

The only way i know he did a good job is because the 419 boys did not burn the Stadium like they did when they lost to Ghana in Abuja.

• Dews 1 month ago

Kweku means idiot in Ghana I guess cos u talk like you your brain is dried upstairs. Why are you these Ghanaians a disgrace to humanity??? Always feeling among, just a referee from ghana cos so much noise. Your blocked head l ...

• Astria 1 month ago

It was only one call and it was not a penalty. If you said you watched the match, you could see the nigerian players was already putting his hands behind his back as the ball graced it. The rules don't call it a foul. Nor is ...

• God will elevate Nigeria 1 month ago

I witness how Ghanaians were praying over whenever Nigeria was about to kick a penalty and that says it all. Sorry for Ghana its such a shame and pity that you’re a nation of insecurity and bitterness.

• Nyansa 1 month ago

We are proud of you, Mr. Laryea. You made everyone proud

• Kwaku-Holland 1 month ago

He did well. I saw the game. Naija had too many incomplete passes.

• Ayi 1 month ago

Well done Nii, .the sky is the limit .God be with you for making our nation proud

• Mawulolo 1 month ago

Was Nigeria expecting to win with such incomplete and inaccurate passes??. Hardly a shot on target ???. Losing possession in midfield by heart??.. wasn't just their nyt. Morocco a better side in every aspect

• the Villager 1 month ago

In fact he made too many bad calls in my view. What he punished Naija for he let it go for Morocco.

• Jo 1 month ago

I think the pressure was too much for him.... Some of his decisions depicted anti-Nigerian approach

• Christian 1 month ago

This is not true, he was not good enough, is a shame to write this article

• Ohene 1 month ago

Good work done Mr. Laryea u are proud of u...

• Great report 1 month ago

Nice job bra Laryea.

• Gari Soakings 1 month ago

Actually, this referee exceeded my expectations. Very bold and firm on his decisions. Not a typical Ghanaian style of officiating. This Nigeria / Maroc game was a high tension game and he handled it super clean. Great job Mr ...

• Dominic Inaku Odama 1 month ago

Bold and firm, yes! But in very wrong decisions!

• Ecoselfe 1 month ago

The day a child says his mother's breast milk stinks, is the day he disown his ancestry.
    What do you expect Ghanaian's to say? I'm not surprised. They detest Nigeria catching up with their AFCON achievements. They are so pe ...

• Aduanaba, 1 month ago

What were you also expecting from Nigerians? Will Nigeria ever accept defeat gracefully? Probably not.
    Now they will turn attention to the DRC issue to find ways and means to qualify for yhe World Cup. The yellow card for B ...

Exoselfe kwasia what about the clear handball penalty for Morocco that was waived off? No human is perfect no ref is perfect but had laryea called that pe alty this match wouldn't be going extra time so dlnt criticize him on ...

• Mannie 1 month ago

Don't be silly. Go read up and update yourself. There is a new handball rule and there are new rules about physicality. Football is a contact sport. Larye made it nearly impossible for the Nigerians to Tackle. As regards the ...

• Ad 1 month ago

Not surprising comment from biased Ghanians who couldn't even qualify for AFCON.
    Ghana's only representative at the tourney, the referee was clearly biased against Nigeria, just like most Ghanians

Ghanaians are only pain ...

• Aduanaba, 1 month ago

See you in North America. You will watch us from Abuja, Minna or Kontagora.

• Dews 1 month ago

You will be disgraced at the 1st round. What and see. This ghanaians just like to talk always.

Kwasia you want laryea to take your naija penis and put it inside vagina for you? You have penalties why can't you score?

• Okungbowa Aiwerie 1 month ago

i am scandalised at this article! that ghanian referee is a disgrace to his family and entire ghanian nation for his questionable calls during yesterday's game.if the truth be told, he was a disaster.do u call what he did fai ...

• Nana 1 month ago

He is a disgrace to Ghana and the continent as a whole

How did laryea support morrocco over Nigeria? A clear handball in the box was ignored to favor Nigeria no pe alty have you forgotten? You are talking about yellow card to Bassey why are you stupidest?

• Gent 1 month ago

Stop showing your naivety up & down. Go & read FIFA rules, that's not a penalty. If you're pulling your hand away & the ball touches your hand, or touches your body before touching your hand, it's not a penalty. Do you think ...

• stevoo 1 month ago

he was fantastic

• Citizen X 1 month ago

Ghanaweb newswriting for a while has been mediocre, sending me on a forced hiatus to avoid reading reports of such nature. This reporter has shown the alternative. His narrative is clear and beautifully written. Well done, Mr ...

• Traditionalist 1 month ago

I am a Ghanaian. Full blooded.The Ga refree was a disaster in my estimation. Why was Bassey given the yellow card?Secondly, someone the fouls conceded by Morroco were left of the hook and instead free kicks were awarded to Mo ...

• Truth must prevail 1 month ago

Gid bless you my brother, why would Africa ever progress when we refuse to tell the truth. The referee is a disgrace to African referee

• Olumide 1 month ago

God bless you!

• Oak 1 month ago

He was just an average. He mafe some mistakes which shouldn't be. Though those mistakes were not match winning ones. He could have done better.

• Not saying my name 1 month ago

I wonder how much the writer of this article was paid to write this

Not as much as Daniel, that's for sure

• Agbeli Kumordziì 1 month ago

Nigerians are noise making pollution

• Dews 1 month ago

While ghanaians are dust bin of human beings, you guys are the most useless human beings on earth, the most I wannabe people, always wanting to be worth of great people but have nothing to offer.

We will laugh your perfor ...

• Truth must prevail 1 month ago

He is one of the worst referee in the tournament. So many bad calls, I believed he must have been bribed. Let us call a spade a spade I am a Ghanaian. And I must stand fir the truth. His bad decisions contributed to low momen ...

• Yemi 1 month ago

Only a monumental fool would write the kind of sentimental report you wrote in honour of the worst referee in Africa, the senseless and heartless Daniel Laryea, a continental shame.

I know you will find it so uncomfortable ...

• Yemi 1 month ago

Only a monumental fool would write the kind of sentimental report you wrote in honour of the worst referee in Africa, the senseless and heartless Daniel Laryea, a continental shame. Your write up is as poor as his officiating ...

Fool you are comparing yellow card to a handball that was ignored. Penalty too ypu want to ref to kick tha ball for you? Kwasia like that

• Laryea 1 month ago

All the ghanians praising this fool!sh referee and the person wey write this article konida funyin,
    Ema shoriburuku ni. Infact, All of you are very stup!d
    Your so called ghanian referee was against us throughout the match. ...

• RED SUBMARINE 1 month ago

Amin Ase Waaaaa!

• Paul Obakpolo 1 month ago

That looks like your opinion. I don't think that represented the truth. I think this lobby thinks and scewing of narrative is at play here. It appears that this is not a honest appraisal of the referee's performance. I am ver ...

• Paul Obakpolo 1 month ago

That looks like your opinion. I don't think that represented the truth. I think this lobby thinks and scewing of narrative is at play here. It appears that this is not a honest appraisal of the referee's performance. I am ver ...

• Odon 1 month ago

Young man u are saying nonsense and not making sense at all with all these your essays..

It was a bad officiating and everyone knows the referee was bias and had a bad rulling on the game... favoring the home team, not eve ...

• Impartial 1 month ago

I doubt if this view of Ghanaweb represents the view of a cross-section of Ghanians around the world who watched the AFCON 2025 Semi-final match between Nigeria and Morocco on Wednesday. For me, the officiating was a disappoi ...

• Jerry 1 month ago

That you could come up with such write-up shows how much intellectualism is lacking in Ghana. If this is what Ghanaians read, your collective IQ will only match that a 5 year old Nigerian amangiri.

Daniel Laryea is a total ...

• H fada 1 month ago

If some one wanted to prove the critusm

• H fada 1 month ago

Refree is not the reason of Nigeria losing the match but if he make a right decision the game will move freely and both teams will enjoy the game, but most of his decision is against Nigeria and he ibn failed to award a yell ...

• Jen sane wa 1 month ago

The man Nii Laryea wasn't a pushover, Nigerians think their early behavior of criticism will put pressure on him to favor them but Mr Laryea officiate according to the rules of the GAME, congratulations Mr Laryea you will off ...

• Reality 1 month ago

Ghanaweb, did you watch the match ? Daniel Lartey was a total disgrace to Ghana. Throughout the match not a single Moroccan player was shown a yellow card ! Why ? Then, why did he show a yellow card to Calvin Bassey when it w ...

• Dews 1 month ago

What do you expect from ghanaians? Failure as usual.

• Peter Ekekwe 1 month ago

Keep your hatred for Nigeria aside and analyse his performance and it's consequences for football.
    When we complain that the World has little or no respect for AFCON, it is because of characters like this man.
    If African fo ...

• Bobbywemz 1 month ago

Why are we deceiving ourselves scoring this one-sided referee high.
    He was clearly afraid of what the Moroccans could do to him if he took some decision against them. All the dangerous, wicked kicks they did against the Eagl ...

• Bobbywemz 1 month ago

Why are we deceiving ourselves scoring this one-sided referee high.
    He was clearly afraid of what the Moroccans could do to him if he took some decision against them. All the dangerous, wicked kicks they did against the Eagl ...

• Frederickg311@gmail.com 1 month ago

So shameful comments. Really, two teams played semi final game and one side has 6 yellow card and another has none shame on you.

• Henry 1 month ago

Did we watch the same Nigeria vs Morroco match? The officiating was a mess sir.

• Emmanuel 1 month ago

I can clearly see how your bias mindset has inspired all the rubbish you wrote here, when it was a clear eye saw of a bad and bias officiating that happen, you stil have the gut of praising such officiating. Anyways it was no ...

• Dominic Inaku Odama 1 month ago

This write up is subjective!
    I'm not concerned with where the referee is coming from but the fact is that he HIGHLY bias in his decisions.
    1. The game didn't flow for the Super Eagles because of the incessant whistling by t ...

• Olumide 1 month ago

Sentiments apart, you guys are not being truthful to yourselves and posterity.
    Laryea was woeful. Simple and short

• Salau Anakobe 1 month ago

The referee will forever be remembered in the hearts of all good football lovers as one who was biased in the big occasion. Either he was afraid of being said to have favoured a neighbour and hence could not keep upright posi ...

• Praise God 1 month ago

This is a paid write up to white was the soiled image of Ghanaian referee.

By now Ref. Daniel Laryea must have collected the balance of his bribe.

His actions on that day was an absolute sell out to the Morroccans that ...

• Mannie 1 month ago

Why did you feel the need to post this nonsense.... Kelvin Bassey was fouled but received the Yellow card and was deemed to have fouled the Moroccan. I guess Ghanian referees are still all about the Money. What Scum. Football ...

• The Referee was fair 1 month ago

Yet your pathetic country couldn't provide even one referee to the tournament.. shut the hell up you alata ni loser