US deportee dragged on the floor by Ghanaian immigration officers speaks

Read Comments Comments (85)

• WEBGATE 2 days ago

**Do You Need A Website to sell Your Products Online? We will Develop Your Online Store/Website, Setup All Relevant Social Media Pages that Align With Your Brand and Offer You the Best Digital/Social Media Marketing Services. ...

• Sethoo 2 days ago

President John Mahama and Ablakwa Okudjeto think they can impress Donald Trump. No one shd be surprised when he send his military to Ghana to kidnap our President and his wife to USA on the Airbus SE bribery case.If even NATO ...

• Obeng Asamoah 2 days ago

Massa take your stupidity somewhere.

• Kweku Tsin 2 days ago

Mahama is exposing himself to unnecessary political liability. How did he get himself into this when we had dog in this fight.

• prophet mohammed was a sick dog 2 days ago

Allah is satanic scum and qur'an is toilet paper................Search online for ways to move away from evil islam.........You can join ex-muslim groups online and be saf ...

• RWANDA AND GHANA ARE THE ONLY AFRICAN COUNTRIES THAT ACCEPTED TO RECEIVED FORCIBLY DEPORTED ICE DEPORTEES 2 days ago

HENCE THE VISA LIMIT EXEMPTION FOR GHANAIANS

• DO NOT JOIN HANDS WITH THE WICKED LEST YOU BRING JUDGEMENT ON YOURSELVES 2 days ago

OH, GHANA WHAT ARE WE DOING TO OURSELVES? How can we treat a fellow African like this? YET IT SEEMS LIKE YESTERDAY WHEN MANY OF US INCLUDING VERY PROMINENT INDIVIDUALS QUEUED UP UP TO CONDEMN THE BAD TREATMENT OF GEORGE FLOYD ...

• Blue Pen 2 days ago

Nsɛmfun ara kwa. Why should Ghana have anything to do with the deportation of Sierra Leonians, Nigerians, etc from America? Reducing Nkrumah's Ghana to a despicable sell out entity because of visa and tariff favours, while ...

• THESE TERRIBLE AND IMMORAL POLICIES AND DISGUSTING COMPROMISES WILL COME BACK TO BITE US VERY HARD 2 days ago

The most famous US former national security adviser and secretary of state (to Presidents Richard Nixon and Gerald Ford) Mr Henry Kissinger who died in 2023 aged 100 years is quoted to have said this of his own country,

" ...

• Bobby Stones 2 days ago

Are you okay in your upstairs department, get real boy, get some education, and stop embarrassing all of us with your tomfoolery.

• Nii 2 days ago

Airbus bribery is still haunting you ppl. Don't worry it will follow him into his grave. The truth hurts .

• SAEED OSMAN 2 days ago

She was respectful and cooperative when US immigration were deporting her, in Ghana she was disrespectful because they are Africans. Serves you right.

• Blue Pen 2 days ago

Funny political party fanatics, blaming the victim in defence of their erring political misleaders (the culprits) and their political parties. Why did Mahama and Ablakwa involve Ghana in this matter that does not concern Ghan ...

• Yes 2 days ago

She did not fight them in the US , in Ghana she wanted to fight ?No way madam stop your talking and go to your country .

• Abi 2 days ago

Your Mahama took in Yemeni terrorists from the US and settled them in Ghana without a problem. Why treat a Sierra Leonian sister so brutally? Who is discriminating here? What kind of “Pan-Africanism” is that? NDC Pan-Afr ...

• Paapa 2 days ago

That’s exactly how most of us behave. Try to help someone from your country, the next thing you will hear is that, you are rather cheating the person. It’s unfortunate that we subject ourselves this way.

• Subsidise petrol to reduce petrol cost not cedi dollar 2 days ago

Subsidise petrol to reduce petrol cost not cedi dollar, it's still why things are so expensive. This is how China's economy grew.
    Subsidise petrol to make it cost less, this will drive down prices and encourage alot and alo ...

• Solving the nigerian Cyber crime for good 2 days ago

Pass the foreigner rental bill
    All Landlords renting to foreigners for stay must register their tenants details at the nearest police station. This is done in China to prevent crime and abuse by foreigners in China. Failure ...

• JULOR House 2.0 CONTINUATION 2 days ago

Maybe next time this woman would follow instructions and be free... Next

• Hamsa 2 days ago

This happened in Ghana?

• Kwaku Tee 2 days ago

Why shd Ghana get involved in this Donald Trump deportation issues?It will be in our own interest to stay from this ICE wicked treatment of immigrants in the USA. The whole world is moving away from Trump why do we pretend we ...

• Gari Soakings 2 days ago

Immigrant Visa Processing Updates for Nationalities at High Risk of Public Benefits Usage
    Last Updated: January 18, 2026
    President Trump has made clear that immigrants must be financially self-sufficient and not be a financ ...

• AK 2 days ago

If the government thinks it can't settle these deportees, why receive them in the first place?

• EFO KOKU 2 days ago

GREEDY MAHAMA
    @ AK——-Na the money Mahama wants. Nothing else.

• Ka 2 days ago

You are not an Ewe. Stop fooling yourself

• Eddy Bow 2 days ago

This is bad, very sad story it is time to build our own country very well so we dont get this treatment from any country. The problem is our politicians they are corrupt so nothing progress

• Oman 2 days ago

Ghanaweb, what actually should we do with this useless story? Do you expect Immigration to apologise to her or go and bring her back to Ghana? If you resist a calm situation force is applied when needed. Why is she not accusi ...

• Blue Pen 2 days ago

Were we silent when 44 (or so) Africans, including Ghanaians murdered by Yayah Jammeh's murder squad? Did the noise bring back the slain to life? So, was talking about the evil act also useless? Use your head and stop being ...

• Oman 2 days ago

Blutooth or whatever your useless self is. Not every comment here is influenced by your stupid party propaganda be it npp or ndc, and I am categorically telling you that I'm in no way part of you demented party buffoons so ju ...

• Jimbo 2 days ago

Were you with her in the US to know whether she resisted or not? Don't expose your ignorance. You have not stepped your foot in the US before but you sit in your village in Ghana to draw conclusions in matters in the US. This ...

• Oman 2 days ago

A derailed baboon who thinks everyone is as poor and underprivileged like him. I'm a selfmade man of honor who has travelled a lot, mind you, I don't need to come and brag to you nincompoops who finds it difficult to feed you ...

• Andrew - fool! 2 days ago

You’re a big fool! Will you be happy if you or your family were treated this way? So d if you think like animals. If the story isn’t important to you why comment ?

• Oman 2 days ago

Who is this one too? I ain't got your time son, just go and find a job to do. I come here anytime I want because I pay people to work for me, besides, if you're pained too much about her situation, you can go to court or just ...

• KEN OFORI-ATTA with BIBLE ON ICE BLOCK 2 days ago

What a tale! This one nkoa dier, sounds like an elephant akpatse story. Same stuff during Rawlings' time. Calculated sugar coated false tales were wired to hype the Queen. Anyway, ken ofori-atta will ride in Rolls Royce fr ...

• KEN OFORI-ATTA with BIBLE ON ICE BLOCK 2 days ago

Interrogating the story further, l ask. When did the rebel invasion of Freetown occur? Yet, as reported, how long since has Rabbiatu been working in Maryland US? Check answers and perm your npp lotto numbers. Ha ha.

• Name 2 days ago

Was this woman so lazy to get up an walk?

Meanwhile, how could a any serious professional nurse stay 30 years in the US and not regularize their stay?

• Papakyene 2 days ago

@ Name
    Kwasea, is that the issue of debate?
    U ppl fool too much,
    Why do we do such things to ourselves?

• The 2 days ago

We've an archaic antiquated public transport system that our President cannot solve,why do we waste our time and energy on USA immigration issues?Can't they ban GPRTU & their primitive Trotros?

• Justice One 2 days ago

This is not a problem which came up suddenly in 2025. Other presidents spend 8 continuous years without solving it. JDM has just done the first year. He is already tackling the problem, so give him time.

• Johnny,Oyarifa -Madina 2 days ago

Late President Dr Hilla Liman continued with the improvement of our public transport started by Gen Acheampong. Visionless Rawlings came and destroyed it and empowered GPRTU with their Trotros that was in use in the 60s. P/ND ...

• Jimbo 2 days ago

JDM had been in power before. He is equally responsible for the mess. Don't exonerate him as if he just landed from another planet to rule Ghana. He was Assemblyman, MP, Deputy Minister, Minister, Vice President, President an ...

• OZYMANDIAS 2 days ago

Thirty years in the USA working as a Nurse? With all the huge amounts of money she was paid, and she couldn’t even “ marry “ to obtain her papers? She must have been so arrogant and so complacent living in the comfort o ...

• And so what? 2 days ago

Is that your concern?How did she end up in the USA? Let the Americans solve their issue,we have our own that we can't address.

• John 2 days ago

Give us a break

• Pantampram 2 days ago

This is horrible!!!

• Justice One 2 days ago

This complain is nonsense. So, in Sierra Leone, every opposition member including relatives is tortured daily. Even during their military regime, we did not hear of that. Did she even apply for asylum in Ghana for the 6 days ...

• CAPI 2 days ago

Ghana paaa why do you accept other nations. You must tell US to take them to their country..... Simple always we cheap ourselves

• Wakkuffo Waddo 2 days ago

Okay.
    Corrupt officials, this is how your children will be treated.

• Jon J 2 days ago

Unless theres sumn to prove this woman committed a crime in her country, wats this nonsense about

• Wisdom 2 days ago

If what she was true then who ever did that hasn't done well at all,we usually treat our own so badly that wouldn't understand why are we doing to our follow Africans, but when its a white person even if he is guilty of any c ...

• Elnie 2 days ago

Immigration in every country should treat Ghanaians in their the same way.Especially Sierra Leone should arrest all the Ghanaians.

• Ka 2 days ago

What should a Ghanaian be doing in Freetown anyway?

• Oman 2 days ago

What will a sane Ghanaian be doing in a wretched drug bridled dilapidated country like Sierra Leone? Get serious please.

• Name 1 day ago

Funny Elnie,

Have you forgotten (or didn't know) that there are several hundreds of Sierra Leoneans in Ghana? They arrest Ghanaians (for no criminal offences), we'll arrest their people.

The only sensible thing for the ...

• boye 2 days ago

Why She don't want to go back to her Home Country She is lying Ghana Can't give save Heaven because you are not From Ghana

• Dude 2 days ago

So why was she deported to Ghana? how come Ghana is encouraging Donald Trump to dump people in Ghana, why didn't they deport her directly to Freetown?

• Kwame 2 days ago

How can we be that stupid and be doing the dirty work for US. THOSE MUST NOT ONLY BE DISMISSED BUT MUST FACE THE LAW

• Dude 2 days ago

As for we Ghanaians, everyone knows we are hospitable so where's the mythical Ghanaian hospitality? it's always been a scam to attract tourists who when they arrive are confronted with bizarre realities

This deportee has ...

• Bahubali 2 days ago

The deportee has experienced wo ni twaase. What has hospitality got to do with deportation? Was she mishandled immediately she stepped foot at the airport before becoming a stubborn problem to the immigration which needed a f ...

• The Lion King 2 days ago

This lady is a fraudster, there's peace in Sierra Leone and safer than any country in West Africa,
    She destroys the image of Sierra Leone,
    If persuasion fails,it will result to force.
    Otherwise Ghana is a home for everyone ...

• Sam 2 days ago

It’s a shame we allow ourselves to be used this way

• Ankle Pii 2 days ago

This is not fair and can not be fair from Ghana. There is just enough space in Ghana for a poor single woman to have some kind of peace to stay after her ordeal. she has not been treated fairly after years living in America ...

• The sector minister and immigration boss must go 2 days ago

How can you supervise this nonsense. If it where a Ghanaian the foreign ministry would havr spoken.

• Ghana is for Ghanaians only 2 days ago

Sierra Leone is a peaceful country now and so she should go back to her country. We don't have anything to do with her. Send her back. Sierra Leone people l know always go home to their country peacefully now. Enough of we t ...

• Substitute 2 days ago

Mahama is a foolish man always accepting criminals who are not Ghanaians. Mahama is a weaker government.

• Kennedy Agyepong 2 days ago

Saeed Osman u are perfectly right. She is a black from Sierra Leone and so what? Doesn't she see what's going on in USA?

• For those asking why involve.. We are not out of the woods 2 days ago

Years of borrowing stupidly has made is susceptible and weak.. The beggar is the slave to the lender. We are not so sovereign as u may think. Trump uses a lot of tools for his aim. Call him Bully on what he calls the shots.. ...

• Bahubali 2 days ago

Ghanaweb too, I'm even fed up with these foolish journalists giving that woman this useless audience on this page.

• Bk man 2 days ago

This woman has out used her usefulness
    Thirty years in the us with out documents
    is outrageous. However ghana immigration
    Should acted in professional way.

• I am ready for what ? 2 days ago

Is this the way to answer?
    Definitely it was realized fast you don’t deserve to spend one more day in Ghana.
    Out fast .

• B. ANSAH 2 days ago

On what terms did Ghana accepted her??
    Was she to stay here permanently or just a while to be eventually flown back to Sierra Leon.....
    This has to be clarified....guys

• MAHAMA BA 2 days ago

Mahama has done it again

• PA MASS 2 days ago

The Immigration officer was wrong. Fir doing that

• Oklemekuku 2 days ago

That was shameful

• We need pipe borne water in our homes 2 days ago

Mr. President, we need water in our homes, the taps are not flowing......

• Jimbo 2 days ago

What a shame!!! Treating a fellow African like an animal? Even in the US, she was not treated this way. Is this what John Dramani Mahamah and his NDC government meant by reset? Reset my foot. Bcos of nokofioo from Donald Trum ...

• Tuuru 2 days ago

Wow ! Double agony. This is inhumane.

• Blay 2 days ago

So sad.

• Submit 2 days ago

A woman criminal, stupid fool. Go back and live in yourvwat torn country of Sierra Leone. Ghana is becoming a country accepting individuals we don't know who are criminals.

• Concerned Citizen 2 days ago

This is very wrong and will come back to bite the Mahama government very hard!

Of course you have the paid NDC propaganda team out in force in the comment section insulting everyone who dares to criticize their god Mahama ...

• JULOR House 2.0 CONTINUATION 2 days ago

This is one side of the story and BTW mother Ghana have more important issues to solve and madam next time just follow simple instructions... Next

• Herbert Sweden 2 days ago

Sorry, some of you Ghanaians are very preimitive, unknowldgeable, just talking thrash.
    What has this story got to do with politics Even in the so called Democratic countries, you cannot stand up to the immigration officers. ...

• Oman 2 days ago

I'm even shocked at some people here. This is the image of Ghana a certain useless witch is trying to drag in mud, and some hopeless party fools are here making politics out it just to damage their useless ndc counterparts, e ...

• Paa Pee 2 days ago

The United State paid for every non Ghanaian deported to Ghana. With Ghana promising to take care of them for a period nobody know. And after a week this woman was sent to her native where US Immigration could not send her. T ...

• Mahama is a failure so far 1 day ago

She's not a Ghanaian, we don't need her here, period.