Ghana's Tyrone Marhguy builds computer brain from scratch

Read Comments Comments (68)

• Oklemekuku 14 hours ago

Rasta man don't give up........Bob Marley's song

• Marshh 14 hours ago

Great guy! He's a very humble shark too........

• Ghanaman 13 hours ago

What kind of journalism is this? I have nothing against Tyrone, and if this story is true, then it's praiseworthy, but what is the source of the story? Where did Atinkaonline hear it from? They say he built it in a dorm...of ...

• FRANKIE 12 hours ago

@Ghanaman, my exact thoughts. The young man is a student at university of Pennsylvania, yet we're told by this half cooked story that he built the CPU in a dorm. No dates given, nothing!

• Buidam 12 hours ago

Did he design those from scratch or he bought parts and assembled, which is easy to do. It is just like what we call robotics in Ghana, where people buy various parts and assemble and call technological development.

• PAA RASTA. 2 hours ago

FRANKIE GYIMII SAAA. STUPIDITY IS A COMMON TRAIT. HALF COOKED OR FULLY COOKED. ITS A GOOD STORY ABOUT A YOUNG BRILLIANT MAN FROM GHANA. WE BELIEVE IT HOOK LINE AND SINKER , PARDON MY CLICHE. IF HE WAS ACCUSED OF DOING S ...

• PhD 4 minutes ago

"Phd"

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 11 hours ago

Thanks.
    I was searching for these queries in the comments section when you hit the nail right on the head. After careful reading of the report, I couldn’t even fathom exactly what this intelligent student is alleged to ha ...

• Bakogone Tiblisi Honest VIEWS undualized intercity roads 10 hours ago

Sounds like voice of ai.
    Scratch Scratch
    Perhaps, writer can use same to tell us how transport problem in Accra is solved???

• Name 7 hours ago

How could you fathom what he has built, when you don't know what a MOSFET is, neither ALU (Arithmetic Logic Unit), which are very essential parts of the central processing unit (CPU) of every computer or smart phone.

Basic ...

• The Spear 1 hour ago

Look, don't make it look like assembling, or arranging hundreds of transistors to build a logic unit is very simple; it's nerve wracking as hell and needs the patience of an ant and a daredevil's mind of steel. So when this f ...

• Name 1 hour ago

Did I say that or you meant someone else?

Take time and read my stuff very well.

• ST GHFUO: Ghana, cleanliness is Godliness 4 hours ago

Are you a techie? Do you understand tech language and jargon?

• OMANHENE the FAT FOOL!! 9 hours ago

Please ENOUGH OF THIS MADE BOY. The fake hype is becoming too much

Innovation and advancement is limited to one's location and resources indeed. If this guy stayed in Ghana to study with such polluted, lazy and stealing minds you think he woukd have been able to do this? Apuu...he would be l ...

Just see the comments from these foolish Ghanaians. If he was in Ghana they would be plotting to tear him down with their negative energies instead of investing those energies in something tangible. Marguy, my advice to you i ...

• Johnny 13 hours ago

Can the public allow this boy to build his career in the quiet .Bringing him to the public frequently will put pressure on him.Lets give him 10yrs media shut down to focus on himself.

• What about Bob Marley 12 hours ago

Don't mind that rubbish. When we are thinking of Bawumia winning Ken on Saturday, look at this foolish news aboutTyrone Marhdguy

• Etw3 7 hours ago

Can the public? Maybe if he didn't bring it out the public wouldn't have know

• Abena 12 hours ago

He assembled components or parts which children have been doing for decades.Nothing to see here.

• Name 7 hours ago

Abena, so you think kids are connecting 3488 field effect transistors and building Arithmetic Logic Units from the scratch. Do they even know the pinout (Gate, Drain, Source) of those MOSFETS?

Building ALUs is not buyin ...

• ST GHFUO: Ghana, cleanliness is Godliness 3 hours ago

These fools don't know I once took a course in grad school on sensors how to use a motherboard and light and sensors to simulate a traffic light switchboard it was magically I mean you have to code and align the pins and my p ...

Abena gyimi nothing to see so your life is all about seeing? What they hell are tou also doing? Do something oooo abena do something for yourself so we too can say nothing to see here kwasia always watching like a skin pain o ...

• Name: The Whole Project in on github 6 minutes ago

If you have ever heard what github is then here is the complete DESIGN, IMPLEMENTATION AND TESTING (yes he tested 1.2million times) of his project.

://github.com/tmarhguy/alu

• Desmond 14 hours ago

tyrone the sky is your limit. May the good Lord be your guard.

• nii ga 14 hours ago

GOD BLESS THIS YOUNG GENIUS
    GOD BLESS GHANA

• Kwame nkrumah 14 hours ago

Excellent

• Bombaata 14 hours ago

Resta man live up. Jah guide son! Soar higher!

• Dallas1 14 hours ago

To the Headmistress of Achimota School, who wears fake hair: My question for you is this: Over the years, you have forced your students to cut their hair. What have they contributed to your school and to Ghana as a whole? You ...

• BLUE ELEPHANT 13 hours ago

These comments are unnecessary. Is it not the same Achimota education which laid the foundation for him to come this far?

• Abzaaku. 13 hours ago

Naaaa! The foundation didn't start with achimota. What do you have to say with the nursery, primary and junior high. Come on. The foundation didn't start with achimota.

• Eric Ofosuhene 11 hours ago

You are wrong Blue Elephant. If he had been allowed to be denied admission, who can prove he would have been this successful?

• WHY DON‘T WE HAVE RASTA POLICEMEN? 10 hours ago

Does the Ghana Army allow Recruit Soldiers to keep their rasta?

Fool I've seen police officers in Toronto and New York with rasta hair. It's about ABILITY not your looks ghana.is not a progressive nation but a consumer nation

• Dunia 13 hours ago

@Dallas, would his brains have died if he had shaved the dreadlocks?

• Newself 9 hours ago

It's about conformance, regulation and discipline which are required for ensuring order and obedience. No Asanteman in a cloth can go before seated Asantehene and not drop the cloth from his shoulder. Like Tyronne, whether he ...

• The Spear 1 hour ago

Wonderful how very empty Ghanaians fail to appreciate that a school's rules and regulation are as important to the formation of the child just as a Church's moral and fundamental precepts are sacrosanct to what makes the inst ...

Ghanaians don't reason ooo only God can diagnose their mental.illness..they should start planting trees in every metro area..the sun is frying their brain cells they don't even know. If it's too cold you turn up the heat. If ...

• Agya Odenkey 13 hours ago

My only worry is that, like many other young talented ones before him, relevant state authorities will ignore the potential economic benefits the state could obtain from this young man, and allow the white man to come and tak ...

• Name 13 hours ago

The young man has really done very well. CONGRATS.

But he sad truth is that he will end up in America (Intel /AMD / NVIDIA) because Ghana will not be able to establish the multi-billion USD chip manufacturing business.

Absolutely right..I know several Asians in an area of Toronto called Markham they can build these they build computers from.scratch, motherboards and such and even have stores that sell these parts its like a whole new world ...

• Truman 13 hours ago

Very encouraging. Calling the country a 'developing one' but can't manufacture even basic tools is shameful. Been looking for a 2 row manual rice transplanter for about a week now and all fingings end up in China. Universiti ...

• Ken 13 hours ago

@Truman. You may not find the rice planters to buy from a shop in Ghana. Please contact the Institute for Industrial Research (IRI) of the CSIR who together with my organisation DAPIT designed, manufactured and promoted the ...

• Good hacker from russian 13 hours ago

Email me.... Hamzaben. D@hackermail.comBank wire transfer to all countries
    Chase email him with your number he will wasap u...hamzaben.d@hackermail.com

Ca ...

• B. ANSAH 13 hours ago

Congratulations......
    The sky will certainly be your starting point

• One more 12 hours ago

JAH RASTAFAR I. JAH BLESS

• Before Mahodedzi 11 hours ago

Do where is he now??? Gossips, I'm asking

• Before Mahodedzi 11 hours ago

So where is he now??? Gossips, I'm asking

• Coach 10 hours ago

Ghana should shut up. Achimota School almost killed this boy's potential. It took a Court to rule in his favor. Group of Achimota rats now celebrating what?

Oh, they are stuck in a time capsule in achimota acrimony idiocracy

• Nana Bediako 10 hours ago

Shame Achimota WIG-WEARING Association

• And they should have shown it 10 hours ago

How do we believed,how pictures,no videos, Ghana web please come again

• Achimota. Now you will like to owe him. 9 hours ago

Where are the critics? They sie in politics creating problems instead of solving problems.

• Quaye 8 hours ago

Death awaits us all so give us a break

• Homiah 8 hours ago

I don't know why many Ghanaian Christians despise Dreadlocks despite the fact that Jesus Christ was a Dreadlocks man.

• Frank Titi Allotey 8 hours ago

We are tired of Tyrone Marhguy storys,
    Aways her stories,is she the only brilliant girl in Ghana,go to other towns and villagers across the country more poor children are cleaver than her,why always news about her,

• Joy 7 hours ago

The sky is your limit. Where you have resched is not a turning back. Go high guy. But celebrate our good old drummer sly dunbar who died today. I have cried all day since I heard his death

• Arnold Gbetsimu 5 hours ago

Protect this gem from the dark vultures before it's too late.Must we keep importing everything from everywhere?

• JJ RAS G 3 hours ago

Good brain! Locks dont matter when it comes to acadamics. Achimota and others, hope lessons well learnt.

• Isaiah. 3 hours ago

Computer was invented by the white man many years ago, then the Chinese built the most advanced Computers. Meanwhile in black Africa, the news is talking about a computer already by a non black, being re assembled from scratc ...

• Isaiah. 2 hours ago

Computer already manufactured, already built by a non black, being disassembled and just being reassembled in 2026,and many people are happy this is also something

• Gbenshi 1 hour ago

Built from scratch is different from re-assembling which is used for industrial purpose.

He built it in order to understand it's functionality then improve on it to build something different beside, this is not the common ...

• WG 1 hour ago

WE DEVELOP PERSONAL WEBSITES, PORTFOLIO WEBSITES,BLOGS FOR PASTORS,AUTHORS,SPEAKERS,ENTREPRENEURS, PHYSICIANS,COACHES,WRITERS,COMPANY FOUNDERS,MANAGERS,CEOS, ARTISTES LITERALLY EVERYBODY TO SHARE LIFE EXPERIENCES, NEW IDEAS,I ...

• Name 1 hour ago

Wow, wow, wow

The whole project is on github and not uniil I opened the files, I did not ho deep his knowledge in Electronics is. This is a complete project, from design to implementation then to testing.

I can tell all ...

• PAA RASTA. 33 minutes ago

WE HAVE TO BELIEVE AND CELEBRATE THIS STORY, WITHOUT A DOUBT. IF THIS BRILLIANT YOUNGMAN WAS ACCUSED OF DOING SOMETHING BAD . THESE COCONUTHEADS LIKE FRANKIE AND HIS LITTLE FRIENDS ON THIS COMMENT SECTION WOULD'VE ...

• Name: The Whole Project in on github 14 minutes ago

I can tell all of you, his project would be 10 times more detail than the master thesis in some Ghanaian universities.

• Name: The Whole Project in on github 50 minutes ago

://github.com/tmarhguy/alu

• Sam K 11 minutes ago

I wish the brilliant boy success in all his career.
    The next Bill Gates from Ghana.