Dozens trapped as Accra Newtown Experimental School building collapses

Read Comments Comments (43)

• Blue Pen 10 hours ago

A country where laws and standards don't work. Plus, masons steal half of cement supplied for building projects.

• Black Ink 10 hours ago

Spare the Masons. The one or two bags for Akpeteshie isn’t the problem. You should see some structures in Accra around our commercial hubs with electric cables crisscrossing everywhere. Nobody cares.

• Asembeba 10 hours ago

Asem beba dabi. Ghanaians wait until something happens before we take precautions. From the so-called Professors to those in government are educated fools.

• Annan 9 hours ago

But why didn't you also see it earlier and warn the authorities. You've been roaming in Accra don't you? Go your front massa

• Dead Ghanaians are the only good ones 9 hours ago

Ghanaians died..... ... Who cares? Good riddance

• Sad for this Nation 9 hours ago

Hardly would you hear of a storey building collapsing in East Legon, Trassasco or Airport Hills. That's the tradegy of the poor illiterate Ama Ghananian who foolishly supports NDC & NPP. The Poor are the Loudest also.

• Coonier MeChaie 3 hours ago

The poor are among the loudest supporters of the corrupt.

• Coonier MeChaie 3 hours ago

Standards and enforcement is the work of politicians and their appointees. What do you think?

• Safohene Nana Obuo-Gyan 10 hours ago

The reset agenda of the bloodsucking NDC continues unabated. Meanwhile, the best thing the vampire-toothed Ablakwa can say or do best is to attack the US and other Western countries with his vicious NDC political lies and pro ...

• Hahahahaha 10 hours ago

You’re a monkey… those schools were built by your morons of contractors… it’s even in you stupid green book or whatever you call it. They chop half the money and pack the rest with sand

• Yamaguchi 10 hours ago

@Safohene Nana ABOA-Gyan... @Frank Agyena-Kwasia-Kwasia... @Stephen DONKEY == The NPP's "ELITE FOOLS". They appear to have sat in classrooms before, but their brains are seriously allergic to thinking.

• Yamaguchi 10 hours ago

@Safohene Nana ABOA-Gyan... @Frank Agyena-Kwasia-Kwasia... @Stephen DONKEY == The NPP's three "ELITE FOOLS". They appear to have sat in classrooms before, but their brains are seriously allergic to thinking.

• Kwasi Addai 9 hours ago

School buildings should be sollen for learning purposes and not for churches. They are too loud and the dancing can collapse mountains.

• i can Link your husband,wife,boyfriend,girLfriend's WhatsApp to your own WhatsApp and you wiLL be getting their chats secretLy on your own WhatsApp,chat me on WhatsApp via +2347056392678 to Learn more. 8 hours ago

i can Link you to rich sugar mummies and sugar daddies in any region of Ghana,Nigeria and many countries around the worLd,chat me on WhatsApp via +2347056392678 to Learn more,i'm a hookup agent/matchmaker based in Accra,i can ...

• Lori 7 hours ago

Excellent. May more disasters flow.

• i can Link your husband,wife,boyfrienhd,girLfriend's WhatsApp to your own WhatsApp and you wiLL be getting their chats secretLy on your own WhatsApp,chat me on WhatsApp via +2347056392678 to Learn more. 7 hours ago

i can Link you to rich sugar mummies and sugar daddies in any region of Ghana,Nigeria and many countries around the worLd,chat me on WhatsApp via +2347056392678 to Learn more,i'm a hookup agent/matchmaker based in Accra,i can ...

• hans 6 hours ago

You are on ur own country....

• Achakanapaya 10 hours ago

God Almighty have mercy.

• Kwaku 9 hours ago

Opposite Madina - 37 Military Stations in Accra Newtown there are similar storey buildings selling hardware and printing materials built from similar old structures. They are all accidents in a waiting. The buildings may look ...

• Blue Pen 7 hours ago

I hear the building is a GET-Fund building; and that it has been abandoned for some time now because of structural defects. If these are true facts, why was it not demolished?

Also, it raises the issue of poor quality of w ...

• NO EMERGENCY RESCUE INFRASTRUCTURE 10 hours ago

They use their money to buy show cars and spend on curvy women. It must feel like hell for ordinary citizens in Ghana

• Kwaku 9 hours ago

Many of the structures in Accra Newtown need to be pulled down. As a former resident of the place I saw many storey buildings standing on old floor buildings all due to greed.Lack of space is the motivation

• Koppong 10 hours ago

Is an old school so many years ago

• @RealNapo 10 hours ago

Meanwhile Kofi Adams and Appiah Stadium in their way to Germany. The tragedy would have been catastrophic if it was a week day because kids will be in school. So the USD15M to be spent on the Black Stars, can't it be useful t ...

• Nana Aba Anamoah 9 hours ago

Akufo Monkey Addo the Shotingo watching Tottenham Hotspur match with Kofi Adams in Germany. Look at them in the stands. Kwasea buuuluuu

• Ogyam 10 hours ago

Which number is the ANT collapsed school?

• Asembeba 10 hours ago

Yes that millions of Dolars could have been used in rehabilitation or Construction of new schools. Are we safe as Ghanaians? I am calling from the Volta Region

• Agyapa Mercer 9 hours ago

Which million of dollars are you talking about Mr Peter Asembeba from the Volta Region? Is it the 97 million dollars?. Come clear

• Sofo Moko 8 hours ago

Lol

• Od 10 hours ago

It's really old a Gold coast era school

• Akwesi 9 hours ago

Trust NPP. They are praying that about 700 die in the incident. I swear

• Mumuni 9 hours ago

Listen to the news OD,
    This school building was constructed in 2012 during Mills and Mahàma presidency. Older buildings are still standing strong.

• DOG MEAT 9 hours ago

YAH HAVE MERCY!

• Call the Israelis! 9 hours ago

NADMO has neither the skills nor expertise for this disaster or any disaster for that matter. Call the Israeli rescue team and let them come and help. Otherwise people will die needlessly. Sadly we dont have a proper emergenc ...

• Awoyo Osofo 9 hours ago

Call them . Don't you have their phone number? From Tel Aviv to Accra is not all that far

• Awuni 7 hours ago

They voted against your interests in the UN, they supported apartheid in South Africa. Do you think they care about you

• Dan 9 hours ago

Stop all these and send SOS message to Brithwr Ibrahim Mahama to support with his equipment to save lives; once Givwrnment has no capacity to rescue them

• No Wahala 9 hours ago

Osei Kwame Despite is drinking palm wine

• Is anybody surprised? 7 hours ago

Is anybody surprised? Go around Accra and see shabby high rise jobs.

• Yaw 5 hours ago

I PRAY EVERYONE IS SAVED

• Dantaa 5 hours ago

The rescue operation doesn't look coordinated.

• Ivory Mensah 4 hours ago

20 wheel barrow sand to one bag of cement.

• Nii Joromi 4 hours ago

Rescue team has no safety gloves. Removing metal sheets with their bare hands. What a country with so many useless leaders.