Why Ghana could face UK visa restrictions over slavery reparation demands

Read Comments Comments (60)

• Over Slavery? 14 hours ago

Walai! So be it!

• Mills vs David Cameron Duel 14 hours ago

Prez Mills will be turning in his Grave. Having snubbed them off big time. Over Cameron's bait to swallow non-Ghanaian values. Choose your choice. Slave Chain Link vs Slave Master Visa?

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 11 hours ago

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine....for instance 15 paracetamol at once. Or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.

• FRANKIE 10 hours ago

When I insult these Aryan Caucasian rascals and bastards, people never overstand me and rather abuse me. Now you see these hypocrites and imposters and pretenders blackmailing us with visa restrictions! Nothing is beyond thes ...

• P Djamgbe 10 hours ago

And what makes Reform UK think they will ever come to power? And even if they do (come to power) they can go f**k themselves with their visas - we are sick and tired of their constant threats!

• JB 7 hours ago

I don't blame them. Our leaders are our problems. Where is Ofori Atta today with all the stolen monies?

• Rudiger 10 hours ago

Hahahahaha....!!! Look at them. The UK is now choked with a plethora of problems that have no endingin sight, and an ordinary visa to be on that island would be the last thing I will consider as a problem in my life. Bring it ...

• Kwaku Tee 13 hours ago

They can go ahead with their threat, most of their former colonies will also boycott anything concerning the UK including the Commonwealth. The UK will be hurt the more bcoz they so much depend on invisible trade from Africa. ...

• EFO KOKU 9 hours ago

USELESS VENTURE
    I pity the citizens of these reparations nonsense. Why should you be helping your governments to champion something that they will be the beneficiaries? In the case of Ghana, you think Mahama will go for this ...

• Concerned Citizen 14 hours ago

What do I need Britain visa for ??? They stuck their visas in their butts. Reparation demands are legitimate and they should not try to blackmail any country with it.

• John,Tema 13 hours ago

The UK will lose more than what France is going with their former colonies if they carry out with their threat.The British are Thieves and they shd just accept the blame. They want to spoil their case.

• Kay 10 hours ago

Stop exporting any resource to them let them source their gold and other minerals elsewhere

• Stop listening to motivational or inspirational speakers 14 hours ago

Apuu...torr

• Kay 10 hours ago

France and UK will be poor countries soon if they dont change their ways mark my words,Mali was once a rich country

• Alatani 14 hours ago

There are too many Nigerians in the UK. All of them should be deported to Nigeria they are leeches and worms polluting the British culture

• We Are Tired 14 hours ago

Please we beg, don't visit the iniquities of mouth mouth John Mahama and Okudjeto Ablakwa on the rest of us. We want you to know that we didn't send them, neither do we agree with them. As for them they have diplomatic passpo ...

• Sethoo 13 hours ago

Commot there. Se wope O Womo me O Reparation on Slave Trade dey go pay. I'm not a friend of President John Mahama but this one we all support him. Wodi yen Ka on Slave Trade Let dem deport all blacks from the UK

• Ananse 14 hours ago

When a fool realized that he’s being manipulated by his friends, the play ceases.
    The Britain or any colonial masters who want to stop giving visas to African people who are demanding compensation for the reparations shoul ...

• Pelicles. 13 hours ago

Great Britain, with all that she did to some people on this planet is now being ruled by "Pakistanis etc". Who is Zia Yusuf, a Whiteman or what and where from that name?

Even the name of the Mayor of London sounds Pakistan ...

• Truth 13 hours ago

Exactly. The whole country has become like a giant ghetto of every creature on earth and who in their right sense would want to stay there. The last time it was Badenoch who's born to Nigerians insulting us and now a Paskitan ...

• Nsia 9 hours ago

@Pelicles Great Britain did not start the Trans Atlntic Slave Trade from our shorex. The Portuguese/Spanish and the Dutch did. They joined later as well as the Danish, Swedish French Germans Americans,, Brazilians etc Now, th ...

• James__u, 13 hours ago

Enough with the demands for Britain to bankrupt itself to pay money to ex-slaves. I will be suggesting to my people that we fight back against this poorly-executed mugging. We stopped the slave trade and we lost lives enforci ...

• Gaskia 13 hours ago

It's not even the ex-slaves asking for the money. It is those who were never enslaved who want to profit from it, at the expense of the descendants of the slaves.

• Atta Kay 13 hours ago

You're naive and ignorant. You do know that the structures they put on the ground in international trade is still benefitting the former Colonial masters children and hurting we in Africa. Check the banking & insurance sector ...

• Jim 13 hours ago

Irrespective of what Britain does with visa restriction, this whole slavery reparation issue is a misplaced priority for Ghana. Everyone in Ghana who has used the Accra-Kumasi road should be very happy to see some repairs, no ...

• Dunia 12 hours ago

Hahahaha @Jim, we'll say to the UK "we'll work, you can pay us anytime you have the money"

• Tobby 13 hours ago

Britain is behaving like Donald Trump threatening left right centre. Why do I need UK Visa for? My Donkrase village is far better than the UK. I get everything thing so what is my problem of acquiring UK Visa. To hell with yo ...

• Kwame 13 hours ago

Its on record that Britain could not live with her Negro slaves after the abolition of slavery and brought them to Serra Leone. Us also brought them to Liberia.
    The profits British companies in Africa make is more than what ...

• Jane 12 hours ago

The man himself is a tribalistic and putting stolen Ghana’s money to their banks like Ofori atta etc

• WHO IS THIS ZIA YUSUF? 11 hours ago

You see it oo!! Zia Yusuf,a pakistani moslem now the mouthpiece for white British citizens. The UK has gone to the dogs. A foreigner Zia Yusif like Trump claiming that the UK belongs to him. No Wonder the mayor of London is ...

• UK DONT WANT YOU TO COME TO ENGLAND THATS A FACT 11 hours ago

SO GET REAL GFHANIANS AND STOP GOING WHERE YOU ARE NOT WELCOMED

• UK DONT WANT YOU TO COME TO ENGLAND THATS A FACT 11 hours ago

SO GET REAL GFHANIANS AND STOP GOING WHERE YOU ARE NOT WELCOMED

• EDI -GHANA DESERVE NOTHING ZERO REPARATION 11 hours ago

GHANA DID NOT SUFFER FROM SLAVERY ONLY AFRICAN AMERICAN DID AND SHOULD BE COMPNSATED SO WHY ARE YOU PEOPLE GOING ASKING FOR MONEY YOU DONT DESERVE? HAVE YOU BEEN A SLAVE IN THE UK OR AMERICA ? THE ANSWER IS NO SO PLEASE GET ...

• Jr 11 hours ago

They can lick our a$$. If not for our shameless, wicked politicians who willfully dissipate our resources why would a right thinking African leave for a western country in the name of seeking greener pastures.

• Mo 11 hours ago

Threatening us as usual. We take the threat

• Meet rusian powerful hacker from russain base in german all bank loading in usa canada USDT FLAS 10 hours ago

Hi am wolfgang russian german, base in german ... I am IT engenering i can fixed any usa credit score i can pays of usa, canada german austrial car loans,I pays off credit card loan banks loans i can do usdt flashing i can s ...

• Kwaku 10 hours ago

Upon all the looting and inhumane treatment meted out to us , they aren't ashamed of it?

• Charlie 10 hours ago

All British embassies, consulates and companies will be closed. We will be glad to see them just try. That useless asian Yusuf thinks Africa is like Asia where they beg for everything

• Meet rusian powerful hacker from russain base in german all bank loading in usa canada USDT FLAS 10 hours ago

Hi am wolfgang russian german, base in german ... I am IT engenering i can fixed any usa credit score i can pays of usa, canada german austrial car loans,I pays off credit card loan banks loans i can do usdt flashing i can s ...

• Agbelimor Paris 10 hours ago

Stupid imagination,ghanaweb come again!

• Baruch 9 hours ago

The Arab slave was more brutal, dehumanizing than the trans Atlantic slave trade. Can we do more research, 2 Millon black people were castrated in Egypt not have crossbreed. They were not integrated into the Arab system & wer ...

• The west need Africa to survive 9 hours ago

The west always bully people with restrictions if people don't want to agree with them. Let the restrict whatever they want. Always playing the restriction cards to manipulate countries and people. Enough of this nonsense, is ...

• 123 9 hours ago

Our ancestors did business with the white man and today we are demanding money from same white man for a business our ancestors willingly participated.

• Martin 9 hours ago

We don't care
    There should be reparation and apologize for taking millions of Africans as slaves to develop your country
    A
    Besides any stolen artifact from Africa should be returned immediately
    Nonsense!!!!!

• John wood 9 hours ago

I think the western world or the UK should know that countries in the world these days had known their dodgy acts and their wicked things and they have to know that that supremacy tag they used is no more and countries are wi ...

• Kpakpo 9 hours ago

Look at them. Even slave owners were compensated, why can't Africans make a case for reparation? It is not necessarily cash paymenta sef.

• DDT 8 hours ago

This will be the end of UK. All their embassies will be closed. UK needs these countries more than they need UK.

• Nuo 8 hours ago

Good move

• TAN 8 hours ago

Ghana should stop blackmailing UK with reparations. Very soon, Ghana will be blackmailing China reparations for the health consequences of GALAMSEY. Can we Ghanafuo think FAR for once PLEASE. ARISEEEEE. ARISE !!!!

• Nsia 5 hours ago

@Tan, you have made one of the most sensible comment ever. Pls my own comments . Thanks!

• GOLDEN 8 hours ago

GODS CHOSEN PEOPLE WERE CAPTURED AS SLAVES FOR DISOBEYING THE MOST HIGH GOD ALMIGHTY,THAT IS A BIBLICAL AND HISTORICAL FACT,PERIOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    READ THE HOLY BIBLE,AND STOP BELIEVING IN DECADES OF LIES AND TWISTEN FACTS TO ...

• Yabi Yabi 8 hours ago

The author of the article cannot be an honorable, certified journalist with bonafides.

Zia Yusif who is but a political lightweight born in the UK with non-christian parents who transplanted/migrated to UK is looking to sc ...

• Lawrence Sackey 8 hours ago

Multoply the 3.8m visas issued by your visa fees and deduct the £6.8bn and tell your children if it was aid or our money.

• Mens 8 hours ago

Please do it quickly and expect British businesses in Ghana to suffer as well

• Stephen 8 hours ago

Just leave or boycott the Commonwealth if they don't want to pay.

• Ashanti 7 hours ago

Give us space. Uk is not life support.

• Nana K 7 hours ago

Who cares!
    Colonial looters!

• Yaa Dua 7 hours ago

Sir Zia Yusuf. That damn country has been taken over by jihadists

• Scott 7 hours ago

I Always says that this man is indeed called Mahamaliar, he just need money but using the reparation as an issue. Instead saying something sensible look at what nonsense he went to the UN to demand.l would say the money sho ...

• Dr. P. 7 hours ago

I wish they do it and we will see who will perish first