Church of Pentecost elder arrested in anti-galamsey swoop in Ashanti Region

Read Comments Comments (153)

• Mawutor 1 day ago

What has his arrest get to do with Church of Pentecost?

• Blue Pen 1 day ago

Still galamsey is horribly bad. And the Church and well meaning Ghanaians will continue to speak against it, whether Church of Pentecost elder or 'Roman'' sofo or Assemblies sofo is involved. Jandam journalism for Ghana.

• BONGO BAR 1 day ago

OYIIWA.... THE WOMAN SAID IT....!!!!!

• Unpredictable Oye Onye Kwasi Atta 1 day ago

So the people complaining about lack of places for baptism are the polluting the rivers? No wonder the bible says "we should remove the planks/timbers on your eyes before removing the specks from others "

• FRANKIE 1 day ago

Where is it stated in the report that he is an elder of the Pentecost church? Please furnish us with further and better particulars before we roast the Pentecost church for their hypocrisy. If not, this report will be seen as ...

• Folk 1 day ago

It is my conviction that the continuing galamsey menace is a clear failure of our political leadership in whom real power rests, especially financial and coercive powers. If this power were being exercised genuinely in the fi ...

• Bright 1 day ago

@Folk it is not that simple, but the good thing is that the current government is on the war path to fighting this canker. We did not see this fight under the Nana Addo NPP government.

• Tsotsoo 3 hours ago

All hands on deck

• Yaw mensah 1 day ago

Look at a foolish and idiotic foolish fool

• Abu 1 day ago

Rubbish. What does the church he attends or the position he holds in the church got to do with anything. Over 90% of those doing galamsey are church goers anyway. From today, GhanaWeb, make sure you provide the denomination o ...

• Jack Toronto 1 day ago

Leave the Church alone

• kb 17 hours ago

the woman said what?
    fish out your stupid ndc executives who are destroying the land

• Kay 1 day ago

Even in Bethelhem, Israel we have Thieves ,rapists, prostitutes etc What's strange if a member of COP who is a Ghanaian being a Galamseyer?

• Onua Kwakye 1 day ago

Hmmmm @Kay, wo y3 aboa kramaii bi paaaaaaaaa oo! H333rrrhh, wo maame abor ka wae! Kwasia gyimifuor ba, how old is your brain.

• @Onua . 1 day ago

You are the fool here . You don’t know how to read and understand . Aboa bi ba

• Name 1 day ago

Then the head of the church should FIRST PREACH to his congregation before address his concerns in public.

• Peterson 1 day ago

Mawutor, ask the idiot writer. Shameless journaliste

• My views? 1 day ago

Exactly, Is he the only person who have been arrested so far with a religious faith. Some of these headlines are not helpful.

• Oklemekuku¹ 1 day ago

He disobeyed his Apostle

• Lori 1 day ago

Where is the stupid priest?

• wofa yaw 1 day ago

Was he employed by COP? Does the Priest control the jobs the members do for a living? Galamsey is bad, whether COP or Catholic or Assemblies of God Church member is involved.

• Name 1 day ago

Do not be a hypocrite !!

After the head of COP went public and blame govt for unclean after for baptism, I would expect you to condemn that man, but rather attempting to scratch surfaces to downplay the crime.

• Nayo 1 day ago

May God forgive you

• MADNESS 11 hours ago

Who should respond to a mad person. Fool.

• We are NPP 1 day ago

Was the man employed by the church to do this job?
    I can not get the meaning of this article?

• nana yaw 1 day ago

thank you. unnecessary propaganda saaa

• Nee 1 day ago

Please ask them again.

• Egya Koo 1 day ago

Don’t mind them why did they bring in COP?

• Jack Toronto 1 day ago

They are afraid of the church

• Absolute nonsense 1 day ago

Just because the chairman of Church of Pentecost spoke against galamsey , you describe this criminal by his church. Have you ever described or identified other galamsey operators you arrested by their place of worship ??? N ...

• Poo 1 day ago

That’s not tru, it’s a set up.!! For my observation, I have never seen a galamsey operator with clean cloth on site. They just gave him 1GHC just to cover what that minister said. Liars.

• GQ 1 day ago

You are such a fuckkng fool, @Poo!

• Where is Ap. Nyamekye? Kay from the Netherlands 1 day ago

When a DCE does galamsey, they will say a government appointee. We hear if carpenters. Masons and other professionals involved in comes. There is nothing wrong adressing people with the office they hold. He's still a church o ...

• wofa yaw 1 day ago

Who controls the resources of Ghana? Galamsey is bad, whether COP or Catholic or Assemblies of God Church member is involved.

• Where is Ap. Nyamekye? Kay from the Netherlands 1 day ago

Who's saying that galamsey is good? Tell the pastors to be impartial when talking about galamsey. They should say the same things across different governments. They should pray for one and blame the other. That's gross hypocr ...

• Yao 1 day ago

Stupid PR gimmick. He is an Elder of Church of Pentecost and so what? Was he acting on his owm doing Galamsey or the church? Are there not members of other churches and the suporters of the ruling NDC arrested for galamsey. I ...

• Yaw Bee 1 day ago

Because he is an elder in one of its branches and we want the the church to know

• Oklemekuku¹ 1 day ago

Wise up

• Gbagbladza 1 day ago

Silly

• Ivory Mensah 1 day ago

Bishops and archbishops and pastors and elders so-called men of God are greedy selfish wolves. Infact they are dangerous and wicked criminals who have no mercy for the poor.

• EFO KOKU 1 day ago

CRY YOUR OWN CRY
    Julius Debrah again. Another crying at a Pentecost church in the Asante Akyem South district.

• Jack Toronto 1 day ago

Julius Debrah to cry again.

• Lord 1 day ago

To justify what the lady said

• Yabi Yabi 1 day ago

My God, Mawutor, why ask such an ignorant question? Should everyday Ghanaian not expect godliness from so-called Christians?

Should presumed christians not expect wise decisions from church elders and leaders? If street l ...

• Kwame A 1 day ago

@Mawutor, it depends on what interpretations you want to give it, otherwise it has nothing to do with the Church. I am certain at least 80% of the people involved in this illegal activity go to Church.It is all about daily b ...

• Jr 1 day ago

Because they are the same people who turn around to lament their inability to perform baptism due to galamsey-polluted rivers. Time for them to start looking inwards.

• Jack Toronto 1 day ago

Leave the Church alone.

• BECAUSE OF APOSTLE NYAMEKYE - Ghanani 1 day ago

Because of Apostle Nyamekye and the virulent criticisms from the men in cassocks. Some of their church members are paying tithes and donations with galamsey money.
    Ghana is a funny country!!!.

• Nsor 1 day ago

It's alright to reveal their political party affiliation and not their positions in churches?

• OPANA 1 day ago

It is very important, because the chairman of the church of Pentecost, recently accused the state of our rivers in terms of river baptism in Ghana. Not knowing it is the members of the church who polute the water and come bac ...

• Paa kwesi 23 hours ago

We know what NDC can do. Now can you also add his party affiliation so we know your propaganda compass is pointing North? See Dr. Ewusi is the perfect replica of the former Ablekuma contestant ( the Lady with big booty) which ...

• Pelicles. 1 day ago

This is my punishment for these anti societal elements. They should be made to drink all the polluted waters around the area, and if they die, they should be buried right there.

Some people have sworn not to be law abiding ...

• NO CHURCH BURIALS FOR THEM - Ghanani 1 day ago

And when they die there should be no church burials for them.

• Pelicles. 1 day ago

This is my punishment for these anti societal elements. They should be made to drink all the polluted waters around the area, and if they die, they should be buried right there.

Some people have sworn not to be law abiding ...

• Achakanapaya 1 day ago

Where is The Men of God in Ghana?
    Apostle Nyametse, your Pentecost Church Members are involved in the Galamsay ooh. What again are you going to say???
    Or you are already popular.

• wofa yaw 1 day ago

He should be dealt with. The Church the government to deal with him. Galamsey is bad, whether COP or Catholic or Assemblies of God Church member is involved.

• Yaw mensah 1 day ago

Look at a dangerous fool again. Does the church teaches people to steal, go into galamsay? Look at empty headed

• Jack Toronto 1 day ago

Ask again Yaw

• Koti 1 day ago

You have arrested an individual, why link him with the Church of Pentecost? Was he at the site on behalf of his church? This kind of reportage must stop - linking culprits with political parties, tribes, etc. Linking culprits ...

• Korbla 1 day ago

Why shouldn't they? The Pastor is going to be more popular. Aboaba!

• Koti 1 day ago

Many thanks for insulting me, God bless you.

• Ekumfi Otuam 1 day ago

When your Pastor goes about making political noise from his pulpit, the reality will be brought down to his doorstep for him to share his advice to his own members. God is not an Alata man wae!

• wofa yaw 1 day ago

What is political about talking about something the is killing Ghanaians. Whether it is Nana Addo's or Mahama's government he has spoken against the act. Galamsey is bad, whether COP or Catholic or Assemblies of God Church me ...

• Star from the North 1 day ago

Ghana is a proper shithole country that needs cleansing. Where is Julius Debrah? He should share tears for his church member who was caught in polluting the same water that his head pastor needs for baptism.

• Modernise Africa Ltd 1 day ago

Get quality mechanised borehole drilling and bio digester at affordable price. We conduct hydrogeological surveys before work commerce. Contact our experts today for your BOREHOLE DRILLING & quality BIO DIGESTER construction. ...

• NANA TRUMU TRUMU ADDO 1 day ago

WHAT IS THAT PENTECOST PASTOR GOING TO SAY ABOUT THIS?

• Korbla 1 day ago

Church of Pentecost. Over to u. Sia! Stop collecting the galamsey tithes

• NDC Government's attack on COP continues. 1 day ago

After Presidential "Baby Mama" attacked the General Overseer of the Church of Pentecost(CoP), suddenly, an elder of his church has been arrested for galamsey. She has failed to properly apologise to Ghanaians, but the retalia ...

• WOULD YOU FORO 1 day ago

THIS IS A SABOTAGE NEWS TO TANISH THE IMAGE OF CHURCH OF PENTECOST. BECAUSE OF WHAT THE CEO OF FREE ZONE SAID ABOUT APOSTLE NYAMEKYE COMMENT ON GALAMSAY DESTROYING OUR WATER BODIES. BUT THIS PROPAGANDA WONT WORK FOR NDC

• EPISCOPAL 1 day ago

@WOULD YOU FORO..... ONYAAYE GBEMI KUKURUDU. WAS IT THE NDC THAT SENT HIM THERE ?? STUPID, SMELLY MONKEY...!!! ARE WE SUPPOSED TO TAKE ADVICE FROM THE ELDERS OF THE CHURCH OF PENTECOST BUT COVER UP THEIR MEMBERS WHO ARE DEEPL ...

• Win 1 day ago

Are you a real estate developer, realtor, agent, contractor or you run a hotel or accommodation facility?? Then get our real estate digital marketing package to attract more clients and customers...www.webgateconsult.com

• Peter 1 day ago

Shameless People. Because of what The Church of Pentecost chairman said that is why the Church's name have been added to the headline? This is à disgrâced tactics, stop that. Church of pentecost will continue to be the ...

• Bright 1 day ago

@Peter, of course the Pentecost Church will march on stronger, after all the Church is God's property.

• Jack Toronto 1 day ago

The church will grow stronger.

• NDC reporters at work 1 day ago

When did you guys start providing the denomination of people you arrest on galamsey site?

• Jack Toronto 1 day ago

Please ask again

• ATAKPA 1 day ago

Pentecost in the news again...lol

• ATAKPA 1 day ago

Pentecost in the news again...lol...that's Ghana for you

• FRANKIE 1 day ago

Next will be Ewe man arrested for doing Galamsey. Eii Ghana journalist, anyway check the writer's name. Very very stupid headline

• Jack Toronto 1 day ago

You are right Frankie

• Kwame 1 day ago

Hmm my brother, I understand the pain. The news is disappointing because the Church has been fighting galamsey openly. Apostle Nyamekye and the leadership have been calling for arrests and a hostile environment for illegal mi ...

• Kkk 1 day ago

Ghana is full of joker’s & until the country is controlled by White man again,I don’t think there is any better future ahead.
    You live in a country where nothing works ie the Clergy,CSO,public servants,the so called poli ...

• Flash usdt BTC... Bank deals usa Canada German link up with best HK 1 day ago

Black Jesus: Bank wire transfer to all countries
    Chase bank
    UBA bank
    First bank
    And other banks accepted ...

• Ben 1 day ago

This is poor journalism. Attached a group to an individual who has committed a crime. what is the motive Mr Journalist. All the criminals in Ghana are either Christians or Moslem, Do you have to mention the name of the churc ...

• fg 1 day ago

Shallow NDC propaganda trying to settle scores to wipe away the tears of Mr. Debrah.

• What? 1 day ago

You see some times the truth is bitter.

• Otumfour 1 day ago

The truth is always BITTER

• KWAO LAWYER 1 day ago

From the comments here, you can see who is NDC and who is NPP

• Obarima 1 day ago

Burn down all the Galamsey equipment.
    They are ruining the forests left to us by our ancestors

• JOE WISEE 1 day ago

LEAVE HIM ALAONE
    GO AND CATCH THE POLITICIANS WHO HAVE CONCESSIONS AND THE ELDER WORKING TO GET PAID

• Koby 1 day ago

This is unintelligent post.

• Dom 1 day ago

The irony!

• Otumfour 1 day ago

I need water to baptise new converts in my church.

• Castro 1 day ago

Very stupid caption, what has the church got to do with this?

• Nee 1 day ago

Is it a cover for ndc woman insulting Pentecost leader?. What happened to NDC leaders that the President mentioned?. Have they been arrested?

• Nana 1 day ago

There's nothing surprising about his arrest. A lot of people are doing it, chiefs, government officials, a whole lot so they should carry out their duties of arrest and dismantling of equipment's.

• Bukyi 1 day ago

Diabolic caption
    I won't be surprised this is a setting

• Awam 1 day ago

The writer is a smart anti-church person. He knows "Man arrested in anti-galamsey swoop in Ashanti Region" will not attract readers. So he took the opportunity to tarnish the image of the church

• Jack Toronto 1 day ago

He is afraid of the church.

• Nayo 1 day ago

Since when did we start profiling galamseyers by their religious affiliations? Ignorance is a plague indeed. If this is meant to whitewash that woman's foolishly abrasive attack on Apostle Nyamekye then you have failed. In ...

• Donatus 1 day ago

Yet to see another weeping baby apologizing.

• Buga 1 day ago

The genesis of Ghana downfall is these animals. Sad

• Edem 1 day ago

Of course, NDC and propaganda, hahaha, apuu. The reality will continue to expose u

• Osei Bonsu 1 day ago

Oyiwa. I tell you that never engage in politics if your cannot withstand smear camgaingn against your pereon and institution. How convinient that a COP elder is arrested exactly a week after Chairman Apostle Dr. Eric Nyamekye ...

• Roco 1 day ago

Ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei ei...
    THE CHURCH OF PENTECOST?

• Akwasi Dormaa 1 day ago

The most evil church in this Planet they are building prison and the members are suffering

• Kwame Peter 1 day ago

The headline was manufactured in the office of Kwakye Ofosu,this is the work a whole ghc78 million is doing for consumption of the feeble minded imbecilic NDC supporters and some are represented on this platform.

• Sam 1 day ago

Why that headline as if he is the only elder doing galamsey in Ghana .and put church of Pentecost there.

• Kwame Amoah 1 day ago

What a stupid gyeiiiimeiiiiifoo caption! If such is tagged to the ofuiiii Mahama the useless security agencies would run after the person.

• Joe 1 day ago

Ghana’s churches in Accra and all over the country contain hypocrites who pretend to be godly and God fearing.

Meanwhile, their filthy hands are involved with galamsey, living in ill gotten mansions and arriving in V8 ...

• Asante 1 day ago

His chairman was talking nonsense last week about galamsey

• Joe 1 day ago

N D C ne gyemie

• Skriller 1 day ago

Ghana web ni gyimiii, why associate the church of Pentecost to his arrest... Kwasiafuo

• Sly 1 day ago

Shame, why link him to the church?

• His foolish face is lucky there is no State of Emegency 1 day ago

Baptise him with it. Stupid galamsayer who ever he is. Water polluter

• Mischievous Reporting 1 day ago

He never reported that he was sent by the church...so why that stupid headline?

• Save Ghana 1 day ago

Where is the Pentecost chairman who is accusing JM and NDC for not being able to fight galamsey while he very much aware is him and his church who are doing the illegal mining hypocrisy will kill a lot so call men of God. Men ...

• wofa yaw 1 day ago

Galamsey is bad, whether COP or Catholic or Assemblies of God Church member is involved. We will still talk about it. I stand for the people of Ghana; not any greedy man.

• P 1 day ago

Anyone arrested at galamsey site Belongs to a church. Pentecost church and so what ? Why are we soo petty

• Ato Sam 1 day ago

Why do use COP as a conduit? He has name, used it.

• Top Notch lawyers 1 day ago

His face looks dirty like a Pentecostal baboon

• Yaw mensah 1 day ago

Look at how journalists in Ghana are idiot and stomach NDC boys and girls. Why do you link the church Elderto this?. Have you ever named a Muslim arrested in galamsay ? Idiots

• ama 1 day ago

we are a failed nation. not because of our politicians. we are a failed nation because we the people are morally bankrupt. the politicians are just the cream of the crop

• Dread 1 day ago

Nowhere in the report did the suspect say he is an elderly of the church of pentecost.

• Hmm TV G 1 day ago

Ghanaweb, l think this is unfair: are you making a good or bad equation for or against pentecost Church. This is below the belt as well as scoring a political point against the church of pentecost. It is a big shame.

• Gbagbladza 1 day ago

Mekyea Awusi come for your stone
    What is Apostle nyamekye going to say now?
    Hypocrite so call men of God

• Efo 1 day ago

So now in Ghana if they arrest a Muslim you’ll make this hardline? Where are we going as a country. Because the chairman has said something about Galamsey so your paid masters are not happy. Ghana web is useless

• Kk 1 day ago

The Church claim that they could not baptist because of galsmsay. Come to think of it, they never preached against the menace. In their quest for political alliance they decided to make ungodly comment the government through ...

• Kojo Menkah, Bremen. Germany 1 day ago

I think this was just to discredit the Pentecost Chairman. When did we start identifying those engaged in this activity by religion?

• Jack Toronto 1 day ago

Ask again Kojo

• Name 1 day ago

Jail this bastard !!

• Wayo 1 day ago

Very difficult to fight Galamsey in Africa.

• Nana 1 day ago

Let the laws of land deal with him because The COP is against environmental degradation. We have a whole week in a year dedicated to environmental care campaign. If an Elder decide to do illegal mining is his own cup of tea n ...

• GOVERNMENTS ARE RESPONSIBLE -kwabena ohemeng london 1 day ago

Governments are responsible for stopping galamsey and not churches. Members of any religious organization involved in galamsey do so at their own risk. The law must deal with them as citizens who have broken the law.

• Le 1 day ago

What are the ndc members who are also members of pentecost saying about this?

• Alhaji Baba Naabu 1 day ago

Is it necessary to mention the church the person attend?

• Capt Adabuga 1 day ago

NDC attack on the Church of Pentecost continue unabated yet the sycophant NDC members of the church pretend all is well

• Oppong Nti 1 day ago

That’s his tithe the moderator used to organized the seminar to condemn galamsey

• ASIEDU NKWASIA 1 day ago

WHY CHRISTANITY IS HATED?
    The man has a name as mentioned, what is the need of mentioning "CHURCH OF PENTECOST"?

• Yaa 1 day ago

Why did the reporter of Ghana mention the church name lam Catholic but the reporter seems to disgrace the church not the individual because someone in the ndc has spoken agenst to church this reporter won't to use this on the ...

• Isaac 1 day ago

Infact you people have a lot work to do, you think you can fight against the Church of Pentecost. Continue we live to see.

• Name 1 day ago

So who is fighting COP? If you are not fighting galamsey, let me tell you that intelligent and well meaning Ghanaians are fighting galamsey.

Your only 'punishment' will be not to vote for NDC. Yeah, go ahead vote for anyb ...

• Kwame 1 day ago

They should tell his chairman to tell them not to do Galla instead of attacking mahama

• Kwam 1 day ago

Hmmm as a Ghanaian am disappointed in both the two major political parties in the fight against galamsey. . I suggest the current government government set up an independent body whose officers are not accountable to any poli ...

• Modernise Africa Ltd 1 day ago

Get quality mechanised borehole drilling and bio digester at affordable price. We conduct hydrogeological surveys before work commerce. Contact our experts today for your BOREHOLE DRILLING & quality BIO DIGESTER construction. ...

• Truthfully 23 hours ago

Are all people in galamsey COP people? No matter how hard you try to tarnish the image of the Church of Pentecost will continue to move on grounded and possess nations.

• Naba Oduro 23 hours ago

What is the essence of identifying the alleged Galamsayer with his Church instead of just mentioning his name? Possibly to justify the conflict generated by Dr. Mary Awusi's comment about the Chairnan of the Church of Penteco ...

• Kk 22 hours ago

Politicians and business people are doing it, how about a common Ghanaian, is it because he is a Pentecost elder?. Poor news

• concern 21 hours ago

you don't know his name. if you don't make it cp you will not get leaders?

• JULOR CAESAR 17 hours ago

The tithes apparently weren't flowing in as they should, hence the need to resort to engaging in galamsey in the name of Jesus.

• Jimbo 16 hours ago

Is this suspect the only galamsey suspect who belongs to a religious organisation. The NDC is bent on attacking and ridiculing Church of Pentecost. Chief of Staff, take back your Crocodile tears. We don't need it.

• FUNNY POLITICS 11 hours ago

So this arrest was dne to justify what Dr. Marry Awuni said. Ohh those behind this arrest I see. Why would you arrest this man after what the Dr. said to the Chairman of the Church of Pentecost (COP)? Is he the only person do ...

• Soldierbalm 2 hours ago

What's the meaning of this caption? Church of Pentecost and so what? Which church in Ghana can beat its chest and say no member of that particular church has got him/herself in galamsey? This is nonsense.