Supreme Court clarifies role of 'side chicks' and 'side guys' in divorce cases

Read Comments Comments (36)

• Truth Table 5 days ago

Whoever has the Son has life; whoever does not have the Son of God does not have life. (1 John 5:12) ....,,,,,,,,,

• Karikakchar 5 days ago

Much a do about nothing! You're in a relationship with a man, the man performs customary rights and proceed to marry another woman 2 years later by ordinance and you still keep the relationship?

• AKABENEZER 5 days ago

It's about money/agyapadi3 NOT about morals, love or common sense.

• kuukua 5 days ago

HOW DO I LIKE THIS COMMENT?

• Burkina 5 days ago

An ordinance marriage is an investment with a contract while a customary marriage is dabi dabi ebeye yie.

• BEAT LACK OF CAPITAL WITH A SKILLED-SERVICE BUSINESS - GET THIS RESOURCE & END IDLENESS!!! 5 days ago

Make that move right now, if you've been trying 'everything', but nothing is working for you yet! Don't keep waiting for a job. Create one. While people are complaining about the economy, smart people are fixing what everyone ...

• Bigi 5 days ago

Hmmmmm the matter chop hot

• Kwame Peter 5 days ago

Please Lawyers,can ordinance marriage annul a subsisting customary marriage?

• Frank Agyena-Karikari. 5 days ago

Hahahaha. No woman will have any such problems with me because I AM KOFI BROKEMAN with nothing to fight over. I pity some of our women for hanging on to a married man and even making babies for him. You better don’t get inv ...

• Osei Bonsu 5 days ago

No woman has a strangle-hold on any man. If you marry a woman and she does not respect you and you want to find another woman who will believe in the legacy you are building, the man is free to do that. If a woman thinks she ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari. 5 days ago

What about a man who is abusive and disrespectful to the wife? I am a man and I know that men often cheat on their wives because it is like acceptable in our culture. Even in some cases in some of our ethnic groups, senior wi ...

• Judischrislam 5 days ago

Frank, women choose men with good gene pool because they want better children with better brains, good health and above all great children and don't care the man's marital status.
    Frank during my national service an elderly ...

• KOFI 4 days ago

@Burkina It should not be because of our customs. We were traditionalists first before Islam and Christianity came to us.

As with many laws, there is an unintended consequences that follow them. The Ordinance marriage was ...

• Chaddar the President 5 days ago

Side checks are not officially despite being marriage at home.So odo broni its better you go find yr own level and leave where u are claiming to stay.even staying more time u can be sued for invading of ones property.despite ...

• Yawa 5 days ago

The sanctity of marriage is under real threat with this side-chic side guy stuff. May the lord hold the family unit together as the basic unit of society. If marriage was done in the conditions of Christ, we will have stable ...

• Dan 5 days ago

Our rejection of polygamy was what destroyed our marriage. We foolishly followed a western culture that has over 60% divorce rate.
    The western world do not practice monogamy, they practice serial monogamy. The average 60 yea ...

• Judischrislam 5 days ago

Traditional marriage provides stable home too. As a matter of fact men who are married in traditional way are happier than their counterparts who married under the ordinance.
    In traditional marriage, the woman knows how to ...

• Shai 5 days ago

Why do we prioritise European wedding over our wedding. We call it wedding. They call our wedding 'traditional' and our language 'vanacular'. That is degregation of the African. The ordinance marriage was a colonial instrumen ...

• Kweku Tsin 5 days ago

Nothing European or colonial about anything. It's about legal vs common law marriage, both of which exist in Western countries as well. If you marry or co-habitate with someone outside of the law, you put yourself on the blin ...

• Nana oo 5 days ago

You're right mu brother

• Flash usdt BTC... Bank deals usa Canada German link up with best HK 5 days ago

Black Jesus: Bank wire transfer to all countries
    Chase bank
    UBA bank
    First bank
    And other banks accepted ...

• 0243390928 Fraudsters. They're called Mike / HAMZA 5 days ago

They are fraudsters! after contacting the number [00491608343763] this person will tell to get in touch with his Ghanaian agent and thats where their tricks starts.

• Manu 5 days ago

CRIMINALS. DONT FALL INTO THEIR BIG TRAP.

• paa kay 5 days ago

in Ghana, an Ordinance marriage (court or church marriage) acts as an upgrade that overrides and effectively supersedes a subsisting customary marriage, forcing it to become a monogamous union. While the custom is not technic ...

• Marriage is under attack 5 days ago

Tbey wnat to pluralise the who thing. It won't happen. Side chick is nothing honourable, it's not of good report. It's not enviable, it's robbery, a cheat, disgraceful and harlotry.

A married woman or man either custom or ...

• ASHUA BODEY 5 days ago

THE JUDICIARY IS THE MOST CORRUPT AND USELESS INSTITUTION IN THE COUNTRY GHANA. A BUNCH OF STUPID FOOLS .AFRICAN MOMKEYS IN SUITS !! NO KNOWLEDGE OF NATION BUILDING.

• Odododiodo 5 days ago

There are genuine reasons why some men go for side chicks, and i believe some recognition should be given to that. the way some married women behave, leave the man no choice than to seek the comfort of a side chick. some marr ...

• Name 5 days ago

Well, divorce can be initiated by both sides, so the man too can file a divorce.

• Modernise Africa Ltd 5 days ago

Get quality mechanised borehole drilling and bio digester at affordable price. We conduct hydrogeological surveys before work commerce. Contact our experts today for your BOREHOLE DRILLING & quality BIO DIGESTER construction. ...

• Michael Kofi Mensah 5 days ago

Quite a reasonable statement.

• haha 5 days ago

hahahahaha...

• Are men not beasts? 5 days ago

Most men are insane bullies who think that they own their wives controlling them like their maid servants. Most men make marriage very unattractive to the educated women. Such men are beasts and should examine themselves well ...

• Prekese 5 days ago

Women, work and invest in your future .Avoid being to dependent on your husband, save for old age, buying treasury bills or some stable business. If your husband decides to be with hundred women or side chicks allow him and ...

• Great one 5 days ago

Some of you commenting here have mothers, sisters, aunts and daughters who have been or still are sidechicks to someone

• Asem 5 days ago

I have nothing only my Don long they can compete for and I don't know how the judge will share for them.

• A.M. 5 days ago

So such a nonsense case went before the Supreme Court? When Supreme courts in other jurisdictions are dealing with serious issues, we are dealing with a side chick issue?