'They will kill me before they leave' - Elderly man breaks down after losing belongings in demolition

Read Comments Comments (39)

• Interesting 5 days ago

The property does not belong to this man self. According to him the property belongs another person. So what's the drama. So much indiscipline and illegalities going on in greater accra by people like these. Because of them A ...

• Karikakchar 5 days ago

Unfortunately, all his curses are null and void and without cause and nullified once the old man is in breach of the law!

• Black wicked. 5 days ago

The process was inhumaine ok

• Evans 5 days ago

@Black wicked, what else would you have done after several warnings to them not to build in the area. The only solution now is to pull down the illegal structures, this can not be said to be an inhumane process. You can not b ...

• Black Santa 5 days ago

@Black Wicked. If some builds a structure infront of your gate and you pull it done , would you describe it as inhumane??

They know they should not build there. None of the owners can produce a genuine building pe ...

• MAHAMA STOP THESE GAMES AND GET SERIOUS! 5 days ago

Nanesense!Have you ever seen peoples house getting flooded and loosibg everything they have. That is tge real meaning of inhumane. Pull down the illegal structure!

• Yawa 4 days ago

Some people know the right thing to do but they will not do it. The man is fully aware the place is not meant for buildings, but he went ahead to do so. I think some Ghanaians are also to be blamed for the worsening indiscipl ...

• Truth Table 5 days ago

Whoever has the Son has life; whoever does not have the Son of God does not have life. (1 John 5:12) ,, .....,,

• Son of sons 5 days ago

So why will the agencies responsible for town planning and the forestry department allow people to start and complete their building projects then they come and pull them down.

• Mike 5 days ago

exactly. all the agencies will take money from you and make you feel, you are doing the right thing.

• Papillon5 5 days ago

Greed + corruption =misery

• Naa Adorkor 5 days ago

Enough!!! We have had these demolitions in the news for decades. As some places are being demolished other unapproved structures are being put up elsewhere. What a rat race!! When will we see the last demolition? Are we not ...

• TWEAKAI 5 days ago

A very foolish comment from another village idiot with no commonsense!

Should we therefore stop failing thieves for the same stupid reason?

• TWEAKAI 5 days ago

Stop jailing thieves

• Kanawu. 4 days ago

Naa Adorkor, tell your illiterate and fictitious Gas to stop selling the the lands at the Ramsar site. Idiot

• Chai!!! 5 days ago

Too bad!!!

• Flash usdt BTC... Bank deals usa Canada German link up with best HK 5 days ago

Black Jesus: Bank wire transfer to all countries
    Chase bank
    UBA bank
    First bank
    And other banks accepted ...

• TWEAAH 5 days ago

I bet that old man is an Asante?

Go back to Hwidiem and farm! You these uncouth forest dwellers are too lawless

• Kwaku Ananse 5 days ago

The man spoke Ga first, severally and fluently, to the boy/men restraining him, then he spoke in English, and then Twi. What does that make him, English?

• DANQUAHSERE 4 days ago

Only Asantes behave in that entitled way!

• Town planning and building inspectors must 4 days ago

The town planning and building inspectors in that area must be persecuted for allowing such buildings carried on

• Kwaku Ananse 4 days ago

Amazing; now Asantes can speak English and Ga. Who would have “thunk” that?

• Tonto 5 days ago

I can't really understand, where are the authorities when these people started to build?,who sold the place for them ?, where did they get permit ? So the only solutions is to demolition?....in fact, who ever Orchestrated thi ...

• Hahahahaha 5 days ago

Who sold this land to these people? They sell, government pulls down, nothing happens to them then they sell again, should they not be traced and given some 5 years? Will this not curb the nonsense? Those who gave permits sho ...

• Prof, USA 4 days ago

Good question! I was trained as a planner in Ghana (a KNUST planning graduate). The planning law in Ghana does NOT permit the demolition of a completed building. Hence it’s illegal for the so called authorities to demolish ...

• Kwaku Ananse 4 days ago

That planning law needs repealing: it is part of the bases for our woes. The strategy is to build/complete fast, even on waterways and the state can do foko. How does that help us?

• Sage 4 days ago

Until repealed, it remains the Law.
    The demolished property owners must Sue the authorities.

• Hmmm 4 days ago

@ Prof USA, please go and speak to Nana Addo who demolished over 50 good solid buildings in Ridge, Accra in order to build the Cathedral he had seen in his dreams. 8 years came and passed ….

• Yaw 4 days ago

Unless not sanctioned by a court of competent jurisdiction, no demolition or eviction is carried out without prior notice. Many have resorted to ;I was not informed and what have you' but this won't work. Such encroachers, il ...

• Wa 4 days ago

If it's the rainy season and you're demolishing people's property, then you're lost. Your attention should be on the plastic and rubbish waste in the city, especially those clogging the gutters. Leave people in peace. You peo ...

• Lucky 4 days ago

Nonsense! Does he realize the damage his illegal construction has caused innocent people through flooding? No sympathy for this idiot. Security Services, carry on with the demolitions.

• Kanawu. 4 days ago

All those who issued the Building Permits to them should be quickly arrested and prosecuted to deter other fraudulent people at the various Assemblies from doing so in the future. Ghana is gradually becoming a lawless country ...

• They will demolished people's properties and 4 days ago

Later our corrupt politicians will takes all lands which is unfair

• Joe T 4 days ago

Why were people given permission to build properties in restricted areas and Ramsar sites ???? Who gave permission ?????????? Who took bribes to get permission ?????????

Too many people in Ghana believe that they can do wh ...

• Accra is dirty.com 4 days ago

You just build houses any how in Ghana, why should lands Department and survey Department approves and give land titles and indenture to owners who have bought lands to develop the property?The system is rotten and corrup ...

• Osei Gyeabour 4 days ago

Blame the Accra chiefs who are selling the illegal lands to the people.

• Hmmm 4 days ago

Yes, we also have to blame the chiefs in the galamsey areas for colluding with galamsey kingpins to destroy the country.

• Steve 4 days ago

Hmmm
    God have mercy
    Its not easy ooh .

• Tosh 3 days ago

Emotions don't develop a society, law and order does.