Watch how police shot traditional leader armed with a cutlass

Read Comments Comments (143)

• AYOOO 9 hours ago

If you want to kill the person must you take a video

• Mike 8 hours ago

Was it the police who took the video?

• Soco 7 hours ago

THIS IS MURDER THE POLICE HAS JUST KILLED FOR NO REASON..NO PROFESSIONALISM.. TOTAL FOOLISHNESS... THEY MUST ARREST THE SHOOTERS.

• Ghana ba 7 hours ago

He is not dead my friend, go back and read the story again

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 6 hours ago

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life or someone's life with medication. For instance 15 tramadol at once....or combine the tablets with akpeteshie or weedicide.

• Ak 47 don't fear juju 3 hours ago

All those that think they have juju so they can survive from modern gun shots must rescinded their thinking, modern guns is not like antica hunters guns popular known as (tebrofre)

• KOFI 2 hours ago

After shooting his hand, they could easily arrest him so why continue shooting?

He was in pain running around so the shooting should have stopped and those sticks used to apprehend him.

• WHO IS THIS IDIOT MUMBI SARAKI? 2 hours ago

THE IDIOT HIDING HIS TRUE IDENTITY SO CALLED SARAKI. MAY THE DEVIL THAT TEMPTS THEE CURSE YOU AND YOUR GENERATION

• Kweku Tsin 2 hours ago

@AYOOO.....The video is nrcessary to determine whether the police was justified to shoot the chief.

• Clanlord 15 minutes ago

Ghanaweb. ,for the sake youth cant you block this guy for incitement ,with all the technology cant you block or arrest him. No that for acciuntability sake , you own the tools there act responsibly

• Selasie 1 hour ago

There was no need to shoot him in the first place. Look at what they've done to his hand.

• True Ghanaian 6 hours ago

Another idiot who will not read

• The Spear 4 hours ago

I wish the American Police could learn from this. This is one of the rare instances I credit the Ghana Police; they can be excellent in what they do.

I always asked why the Police in the US wouldn't or couldn't shoot to d ...

• Name 3 hours ago

Well, go and arrest them !!

• Selasie 2 hours ago

I totally agree with you.

• Dead Ghanaians are the only good ones 3 hours ago

A Ghanaian killed... ... who cares?... good riddance........

• Kwame Prah 7 hours ago

You fuuuuul waaaaiiii. Can't you see he was shot to disarm him?

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 5 hours ago

Hello youth of Ghana. ...You can take your own life or someone's life with medication. For instance 15 tramadol at once......or combine the tablets with akpeteshie or weedicide.

• Great one 1 hour ago

Disarm him, was he armed with something those police couldn't overpower him?

They were simply afraid of those charms and amulets

• POLICE HANDLED THIS VERY BADLY 6 hours ago

It was a spectacle.

• Name 3 hours ago

My friend, have you forgotten that these days almost EVERYBODY has a camera - ie a built camera in every smart phone. That video was made by one of the on-lookers.

The only thing I find inappropriate is why GhanaWeb embedd ...

• Virus 9 hours ago

The juju failed him. I dont understand people at times. Thinking he was brave. Now see your end

• Frank Agyena-Karikari. 8 hours ago

The Traditional Leader was just foolish and stupid. How and why did he confront the Police who were possibly armed with Assault Rifle for such a silly reason? I wish him recovery and he shall respect and obey Armed Officers a ...

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life or someone's life with medication. For instance 15 tramadol at once......or combine the tablets with akpeteshie or weedicide.

• Efo Juju 4 hours ago

Batakari or fugu is for violence.

• Kwabena Duku Damoah, 2 hours ago

Oh mother Ghana.No taser,no tear gas or even common pepper.What crime did he commit that warrants execution?A wide gulf between democracy and civility in Ghana.

• DUGU 8 hours ago

MOST OF THESE CHIEFS AND TRADITIONAL RULERS ARE CRIMINALS WHO SWALLOWED MAY ANIMALS TO FEEL PROTECTED. MOST OF THEM EVEN DON'T QUALIFY FOR THE POSITIONS THEY OCCUPY. THEY ARE THERE SELLING LANDS TO MULTIPLE BUYERS AND COLLECT ...

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life or someone's life with medication..... For instance 15 tramadol at once......or combine the tablets with akpeteshie or weedicide.

• Joe 4 hours ago

Dr. Mumba stop your STUPIDITY!

• Joe 4 hours ago

Dr. Mumbi stop your STUPIDITY!

• Citizen 9 hours ago

They could have used stick to damage his hand instead of gun. That method is always best for someone armed with cutlass.

• . 9 hours ago

Are you being real? This is not Kumawood movie. Stick against cutlass? Will you do it?

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life or someone's life with medication. For instance 15 tramadol at once......or combine the tablets with akpeteshie or weedicide.

• Kwabena Duku Damoah, 1 hour ago

My brother in any civilized society it is taser or tear gas.

• Great one 1 hour ago

What about pepper spray?

• Ogbanje 8 hours ago

Why didn't you go there to use a stick to disarm him whilst he was brandishing a cutlass to kill whoever comes closer or attempts to arrest him?. The Police did well. The AK47 rifle is not given to the Police to kill animals ...

• Alidu 5 hours ago

You could have gone close to strike him with stick, Ghana man always have best advise on where he does not have experience. As in football, every Ghana man becomes coach. The coach have done this and that. Ghanaians ars funn ...

• Chris 4 hours ago

When is your turn you use the stick

• prof 2 hours ago

Police officers are not kunfu masters... They're trained with guns not stick

• Socrates 9 hours ago

Ghana police should try and have the electric shocker,
    Shooting him was not necessarily, you could have used electric shocker

And do you think our Local Police in Ghana have Guns that shoot Electric Discharges? He was just being funny and foolish. Let him be discharged and go home to nurse his sores. He will respect and obey Police Commands very qui ...

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life or someone's life with medication. For instance 15 tramadol at once........or combine the tablets with akpeteshie or weedicide.

• Katakyie 9 hours ago

Did I read the story well? That the purpose was for "the palace messenger to retrieve a ceremonial hoe for a sod-cutting ceremony, and the traditional ruler prevented him from entering"?
    And this could lead to police shooti ...

• T3 8 hours ago

That tells you the kind of journalists we have at Ghanaweb. I was thinking the same way as you

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life or someone's life with medication. For instance 15 tramadol at once....or combine the tablets with akpeteshie or weedicide.

• NDC NPP SAME DEVILy 6 hours ago

Whan a human being begins behaving like an animal, we no longer apply human laws but ANIMAL laws.

• Alidu 5 hours ago

Beautiful comment

• Name 3 hours ago

My friend, did you see the man branding that cutlass, or you are partly blind. Police shouted more than 10 times for the man to put the cutlass down. Did he put it down?

Try to pull/point even a knife at any police officer ...

• Great one 1 hour ago

Then why are they trained people if they can't disarm an old man welding machete, oh judgement, thou art fled to brutish beasts

• DOVI 9 hours ago

The Gov. should provide the police with ELECTRIC shocker in circumstances like this

• Mr. Commonsense 8 hours ago

Dovi, I don't want to call you an idiot who will like to arrest a juju man brandishing a cutlass to kill anybody who makes an attempt to arrest him with an electric shocker.

Hahahaha. I like your postage. The Traditional Man wanted to show his Spiritual Powers and he is now languishing in pains. When Police are in Iniform and give Police Orders, they must be obeyed. Only idiots without any workin ...

• @Godisking 8 hours ago

The policemen were not professional. There was a threat, yes. But was harm eminent? No. Was there an attack on any person by the tradition leader? No. We don't shot in this situation. You can use pepper spray. Net induced ent ...

• Ghana boy 7 hours ago

Please spare us your theories. For the pepper spray they have to find the nearest pepper farm, harvest enough and pound in a mortar with water and then put in an old cocoa pesticide spraying machine to do the job.
    We are in ...

Hello youth of Ghana. ...You can take your own life or someone's life with medication. For instance 15 tramadol at once....or combine the tablets with akpeteshie or weedicide.

• Ghanaman 5 hours ago

@Opoku: The police service all over the world have rules of engagement. They are also human beings like us, with families to go home to at the end of the day.
    When someone is threatening you with a lethal weapon, this is not ...

• The Spear 4 hours ago

You're wasting your time trying to reason with idiots who fail to see the logic in what the police did. The man would live to regret his actions, but this would teach others the police isn't joking.

One reason Ghana is thi ...

• Ghanaman 5 hours ago

@Opoku: The police service all over the world have rules of engagement. They are also human beings like us, with families to go home to at the end of the day.

• Name 3 hours ago

Are you serious? You mean harm wasn't eminent when someone is branding a machete/cutlass?

Look, even pulling a knife in public poses eminent harm, because a knife has lost nothing in the public. Any person who does that h ...

• Jon J 8 hours ago

How can u take a knife to a gun fi.ght

• Knives are dangerous than guns.. Check statistics 4 hours ago

Knife wound can kill but u can have flesh wound from gun and survive especially if shot from distance

• K Opoku 8 hours ago

Shame on Ghana Police. One can see that they guy was not mentally stable. Pepper spray or taser would have incapacitated him instead of shooting him with an AK 47 so many times. Very unproffesional.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari. 7 hours ago

I have lived at Police Stations where the Police have no Pepper Spray. Look at the Ghana Police in Official Uniforms. How many of them have Bulletproof Vests?. Some Police on Duty do not even have Battons to prevent Rebellio ...

• Ghanaman 5 hours ago

• Great one 1 hour ago

Ahhhh spiritual, that's the problem, all those supporting the police are doing so because of fear of those fetish charms and amulets

Those fetish decorations mean nothing, the police could have done better

• Name 3 hours ago

He was luck he was not in US or any where Europe. He would have been in mortuary by now. Branding such a machete in public and chasing people with it??

To me, this is one of the most professional duties of the GH police, f ...

• Great one 1 hour ago

Soda ne, pepper spray would have done it or even keep him moving around as he was doing, soon he would be exhausted and then they rush at him, Ghana police just disgraced themselves

• JP 7 hours ago

Ghana police is weak. A simple teaser could have solved if persuasion failed instead of shooting.

• Fisherman 7 hours ago

So many things wrong with this. There was no imminent danger that required the use of firearms. They could have disarmed him in other ways.
    Furthermore, the police office firing the rifle did not handle the rifle properly. ...

• Koti 6 hours ago

This is total madness! What is CEREMONIAL HOE? The confusion is about a Maternity Ward but not a MATERNITY HOSPITAL. Why are we so interested in ceremonies than efficient systems? This maternity ward would be commissioned wit ...

• Eeeiii how many shots fired 6 hours ago

The police fired how many times.Why the police don't do target practice?

• Code 9 6 hours ago

So Ghana police dont have neutralize bullet or net bullet and mor

• NDC NPP SAME DEVILy 6 hours ago

Ghana police dey fear proper! This cocroach!

• Straight talk 6 hours ago

Arrest this trigger happy cop. This is the use of excessive force. There was no need!

• Kojo 5 hours ago

The police officer who shot the victim must be interdicted and investigated. The force used wasn't proportional to the threat posed by the victim.
    The victim paraded a machete. However, he did not threaten to use it on the ...

• Kojo 5 hours ago

The police officer who shot the victim must be interdicted and investigated. The force used wasn't proportional to the threat posed by the victim.

• Kojo 5 hours ago

• Name 3 hours ago

You displayed your STUPIDITY 9 times here.

Fly to US or anywhere Europe, and pull a dagger/knife (not even a cutlass) in front of a police officer and see your level.

Your next place of abode will be the next cemetery. ...

• Donatus 5 hours ago

Lesson for that man. Next time.

• Kojo 5 hours ago

• Name 2 hours ago

YOUR STUPIDITY KEEPS GROWING !!

Go and interdict and also investigate the police officer.

How many times did the police instruct the man to put down the machete/cutlass?

His refusal to do what the police instructed h ...

• Donatus 5 hours ago

• Kojo 5 hours ago

• DE-CARTHIA 5 hours ago

I've watched the video and noticed that the man was aggressive, but he wasn't attacking anyone as per the video. He was just displaying and the police could have tolerated his behavior once he was not attacking anyone as per ...

• Kwame Nkrumah 5 hours ago

What is sod cutting that the police should shoot..

• What? 5 hours ago

Good judgement by the Police. Very good job done with sound judgement.

A reckless officer would have fired to kill.

• Mac 5 hours ago

Ghana police! Eeeehh this was a most unprofessional attack on the chief. Him refusing to give the hoe, did it prevent a threat to anyone? Did he attack anyone? The police must be sued

• Name 3 hours ago

How many times did the police ask the man to put down the machete?

Did you read well? He attacked the messenger that was why the police were called.

• Kofi 4 hours ago

Let's face it. We are a nation of extremely primitive people.

• COOLBLUE 4 hours ago

Although his resistance to arrest and constant brandishing of a cutlass is unacceptable, is the police not equipped with pepper spray to put this stupid traditional leader to unconsciousness that would enable them get hold of ...

• Nana Boat. 4 hours ago

Was there on teasers? ?
    This is horrible to watch.
    Africans hmmmm.w.
    I even have a handmade.

• Stan 4 hours ago

WAREHOUSE WORKERS NEEDED
    POSITIONS: Cashier, Record keeper, Loaders, Forklift Operators and Cleaners.
    ☎️ 0556946306 ☎️
    Salary range : Ghc 1400 - 3200.
    Accomodation for distant wor ...

• Name William 4 hours ago

It's sad but was the officer armed with a taser if yes then the officer didn't do well

• Jacob Amponsah 3 hours ago

I'm very disappointed with the police because the chief were not using his cutlass to kill or other wise but they should have used a stick or anything that would not harm him.If the chief were holding a gun, then l can say th ...

• Papa 2 hours ago

Someone brandishing a cutlass and you want to apply pepper spray? Even in US with the most advanced and intelligent police system would have shot him several times to death. He could have equally killed the policeman had the ...

• Kofi 2 hours ago

In our part police go on a mission with no Ambulance on standby… what if an officer gets injured and or the culprits. Asemsebe

• papps 2 hours ago

What exactly is the editorial policy of the Ghanaian media? Was it really necessary to broadcast such graphic footage? At the very least, parts of the video should have been blurred to protect viewers from the disturbing scen ...

• Great one 1 hour ago

Ghanaians are very fetish, this is why the police couldn't approach and overpower an unarmed individual, this is barbaric

Very primitive savages, living in modern facilities does not mean that the people are no longer sav ...

• Y3 da mo ase aplosifo) 1 hour ago

Good Job police, The police deserves award.

• David Arvid Amuzu 1 hour ago

Absolute nonsense. Was there any other HOE for the PURPOSE? The people should rather be interested in monitoring and supervision of whatever project plan for the area.
    SHODDY WORK VERSES THE ACT OF CHASING TRADITIONAL HOE, ...

• Alhaj 1 hour ago

The police didn't try by shooting the man. They should have disabled him like shooting the hand. What was his crime for the police to shoot him at close range. The IGP should investigate those police officers and the one who ...

• Money Man 1 hour ago

There are high level of stupidity in Ghana paa.

• Kojo 1 hour ago

The man didn't attempt to harm anyone. The shooting was not warranted

• Good 59 minutes ago

The result of religious indoctrination

• Dennis 56 minutes ago

They don't have tear gas, pepper spray, bean bag shot or taser?

• Kwame Peter 45 minutes ago

Katakyie,the governance today is a wannabe military government for you,all must be careful and make self preservation a byword.

• Name 1 minute ago

You remind me when the police knelt in the middle of the street in a Bono town and targeted some demonstrators during Akufo Addo's time.

Search from GhanaWeb archives.