From Torkornoo to Anin Yeboah: The 3 options for Mahama to choose Sophia Akuffo’s replacement

Read Comments Comments (68)

• Donatus 1 week ago

Joyce Banford Addo is also there.

• L. Messi 1 week ago

As for Torkonoo... COMPLETELY OUT. She's a criminal.

• Karikakchar 1 week ago

The sitting NDC appointed CJ retires within the year right?

• Yao 1 week ago

Mahama is waiting for Baffoe Bonney to retire so he can appoint him to the Council of State. That 8s the main reason for the delay!

• Kay 1 week ago

He shd choose Tsatsu Tsikata , I understand he's idle these days . Selecting Tsatsu will put fear into all NPP Supporters and they will run away from the country for President Mahama to have his peace

• Augustina Quayson 1 week ago

Please the position is for a former Chief Justice

• Brigadier Sabari v.2 1 week ago

Like your half red , half witted bitch of your mother. Siato

• Sudia Moro 1 week ago

Idiots, vagabonds and Apalankeys supporting NDC just open heir filthy ignorant mouths and insult any individual. God will punish all of you at the right time. When she was going through school your grandfather and father were ...

• Kak 1 week ago

More than your imbecil mother, L. Messi?

• GH8 1 week ago

Bamford Addo was never A Chief Justice, though a justice of the Supreme Court, so she does not qualify for the position.

• Blue Pen 1 week ago

I agree. But I also wonder if Torkornoo is qualified, given the circumstance of her exit, as it were "not discharged honourably".

• Gonja Mafia 1 week ago

Torkorno is still qualified as former CJ.

• Se wo kor nia se wo b3 dware. Eny3 saaa???? 1 week ago

She is s Circle doing ashawo. Araba Torkonoo? Hot cake for scrap truck pushers?

• UNCLE BINKLE 1 week ago

Hahaha the npp can tickle themselves and laugh but there is no way Aning Yeboah or Torkornoo will be nominated to the office of the council of state. If Madam Woode refuses a second stint on the council then the government m ...

• Yoo 1 week ago

Hahahaha… United FC !!!

• Gonja Mafia 1 week ago

Does the president John Airbus Mahama have to choose the one who will always sing his praises like what the current CJ doing? Are we serious in this country, why are we doing this to ourselves. Ghana, we have a long way to go ...

• DEEVINITY 1 week ago

Save your blushes... They are NOT qualified and do not meet the threshold. Not morally, not by any other metric. Plus they have no CONSCIENCE and are strongly anti-republic.

• Atsemei 1 week ago

Ghana is for you and and the constitution was brought into being by your head of family so you can decide who should be appointed to the Council of State.BARLONY

• Gov 1 1 week ago

Was Banford Addo a chief justice? or you do not understand what we are discussing.

• Rory 1 week ago

After dismissal from the office of CJ and removal as a supreme Court judge Torkornoo does not qualify for consideration. She has lost everything.

• Nina 1 week ago

Are they the only justices? Ghana web and propaganda...even if they are the only justices left, none of them is fit

• GH8 1 week ago

@Nina yes they are the only surviving former Chief Justices. The article mentioned 3 names but I think Justice Torkonoo doesn't qualify because she was sacked by the president and still in court fighting her case, so she cann ...

• DEEVINITY 1 week ago

She was dismissed by the constitution with disgrace.

• Gov 1 1 week ago

If you know other chief justice that the writer did not mention ,please tell us.

• Atuguba 1 week ago

Atuguba

• Karikakchar 1 week ago

There shouldn’t be a problem the sitting NDC CJ has just some few months to go

• NPP, Absolute Criminal Chaos 1 week ago

Oh, Ghana! Oh, octopus NPP Chaotic Chamber Pot !! Oh, JJ Rawlings !!! Where art Thou? Where 1x U-235 atom can shut up this latrine noisy nonsense? For our way forward.

• Aba Akyere 1 week ago

No 9 no 10. Mo bone no ena etua mmoa mo ka . NDC

• Ras 1 week ago

Torkornoo cannot be said to be a former CJ because she was dismissed from office. A dismissed officer forfeit all the rights that accompanied the office after retirement so at best she can be described as the dismissed former ...

• NANA TRUMU TRUMU ADDO 1 week ago

KOTEBOTO ANIN YEBOAH AND TORKONOO?. NPP THINKS GHANAIANS ARE FOOLS

• Misfits 1 week ago

Atuguba and the rest are there. Stop this agenda

• Stan 1 week ago

DRIVERS NEEDED FOR WORK & PAY CARS.

☎️0544951674☎️

* 3 years Payment Plan.

* ⁠No Deposit.

* Toyota Vitz : 90000(Total Cost) / 600(Weekly) / 2500(Monthly).

* Toyota Yaris : 120000(Total Cost) / 700(W ...

• Akurugu Frafra --- Yendi 1 week ago

Sophia resigned in Sept. 2025 and we are supposed to wait till Dec. 2026 when the current CJ retires. WHY WHY WHY ?? ? Again the Defence minister joined the majority of silence in August 2025 , still no replacement. It ...

• Sam 1 week ago

The resignation is only effective when it was accepted recently.

• DEEVINITY 1 week ago

It's not a problem. The position is open. Perhaps you may want to apply.

• Fact 1 week ago

Such issues that's why the constitution needs some amendments after 30 years, else it becomes like a stunted plant.

• Agyemang 1 week ago

Which journalist wrote this nonsense? How do you consider Torkornoo as a chief justice after her disgraceful conduct and removal from office?

• NPP Korti Botor in Bloody Nose 1 week ago

Don't mind them, Agyemang! Desperation nkoaa

Tweaa! NPP old-timer cheap crook evil tricks, in camatoze. We know you. Your gunpowder is dump. Your firing pin is korti botor. You can't fly. Ghana is better off without uuu! It is Finished

• Brigadier Sabari v.2 1 week ago

I sincerely hope both Annin Yeboah and Wood (JSCs, rtd) decline to be members of this partisan useless council. He will have the nerves and guts to approach CJ Torkornoo. God's work are marvelous.

Npp God is a Coward god like Brigadier Samari v.2. You are starving! No more loot money to eat. Nanaddo's Okusie shit soup may do. Glutton fiafitor npp people. Big talk, zero results

• Kofi BA 1 week ago

The 3 former CJs mentioned are very decent people who can't endanger their reputations by joining the current criminal council of state. I think one of their own, Joyce Bamford Addo, is available for appointment

Tweaa!
    NPP mirage!!
    Confusion galore!!!

• kwaku-t 1 week ago

What if they refuse to accept the offer? Hmmmmmm

• DEEVINITY 1 week ago

They will NOT even be CONSIDERED!! The council can run without a former CJ as it has since December last year. Form over function and nobody will hold the state captive or to ransom. It will not happen.

• BB 1 week ago

Although trap no akye beera but majority of the decision will be taken by ndc council of state members even if the npp retired cj member of state opposes. The way bossman Asare has resigned, its the same way the npp guys will ...

• Godwin k 1 week ago

I thought some years back Georgina wood has been a member of the counsel of state. After her retirement?

• AK 1 week ago

Mahama will remain silent on this issue till his term is over. After all he knows why up till now he has not appointed a Minister of Defence. After telling Ghanaians he will appoint on in January, he has kept mute. Maybe he w ...

• XYZ 1 week ago

Have said it and will say it again that this current president of Ghana is USELESS.

• Ayoooo from Insider 1 week ago

Shameless NDC none of the 3 persons will accept this position tweaaa

• Yoo 1 week ago

United FC anaaah!!

• Eric 1 week ago

Justice Paul Baffoe-Bonnie takes over from her effective 1st Jan 2027.

• Ahene 1 week ago

This our God is so wonderful. Posterity they say is the best judge. Will Mahama leave the appointment vacant or he will pick his darling Atuguba????? No wonder Atuguba has been making noise to be notice to be heard....but the ...

Npp God? Whom God refused their prayer for rain into the Akosombo Volta Dam? Because of their Wawa Looting Brigade scams and akyem-mafia genocide? Tofiakwa!

• Oklemekuku¹ 1 week ago

Anyone but Osono Maame

• Link up for bank loading mt103 Flash your usdt here German banks loading loading ceredit cards in usa German UK fixed credit score meet Russian hk in German 1 week ago

Bank wire transfer to all countries wasap me 00447491722248 or E-Mail me hamzaben.d@hackermail.com
    Chase bank
    UBA bank
    First bank
    PNC ...

• Atuguba 1 week ago

What about Atuguba?

• True Ghanaian 1 week ago

Georgina wood gets it

• wakus 1 week ago

Which of them is willing to work JDM?

• Aboozigi 1 week ago

Yen mind...
    We don't care
    Mahama will not appoint anybody. Who has breached the constitution more than Nana Addo?

• Ofori Amanfo jnr 1 week ago

Where is justice William Atubigah

• Sappey Agboh 1 week ago

I don't envisage any dilemma for the President in appointing a former Chief Justice to replace Sophia Akuffo. Getrude Torkonoo is definitely not fit to replace Sophia Akufo because she was dismissed as a Chief Justice. Her di ...

• Lucky 1 week ago

None of the above.

• Kak 1 week ago

We shall see if he can appoint any of them. He and the party NDC had à problem with all of them. He and his supporters Claimed he is à Christian because he attends assemblées of God, let see if he can act as one and work ...

• NASCOMA SERIES AND ENTERPRISE 1 week ago

President Mahama will not even make a mistake to appoint criminal Torkornor

• Rushdie 1 week ago

Justice torkornoo not qualified, simply because she is not a former chief justice, she was removed and sacked which disqualified her.
    And justice anim was noted to be the chairman of the unanimous fc.

• Joey 1 week ago

Mahama should ignore all of them. Afterall baffoe bonnie is due for retirement in few month. He deserves to be a member of the council of state to replace sophia akuffo. We need a fresher mind on the council of state.

• Queen 1 week ago

You PEOPLE, PEOPLE , PEOPLE ASS HOLES still want to carry the BUGABUGA , TAKASHIE era of COUP MENTALITY PNDC into modern DEMOCRATIC Ghana . GET SOME NEW REFRESHED BRAINS