Yirenkyi's 95th-minute strike fires Ghana past Panama in World Cup opener

Read Comments Comments (84)

• E.K. 1 week ago

Football is for those who believe in the game!

• P Djamgbe 1 week ago

A draw against Croatia and we should be just fine. As for England die I don't see how we can avoid defeat - I hope I'm wrong

• Emperor Rasheed 1 week ago

@P. Djamgbe. This is just a friendly match, so relax and wait the World Cup starts. My brother, we will lose the remaining matches.Take it or leave it.

• FRANKIE 1 week ago

Oseeeeeeeey Black Stars⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Apuu! This nyame boame ball will not take us anywhere. Take it or leave it.

• Osei Tutu of Chad 1 week ago

Broken hearted fool how are you? A Rasheed without Mecca

@ Osei Tutu of Chad. Please do not run away, after we have been eliminated. I know Chad very well.

• P Djamgbe 1 week ago

Hey Emperor, at least you've got your mojo back, recently you were not fun to watch on this platform like in the past - maybe your 12 wives were giving you the hardest time of your life, hahahaha

• Kweku Tsin 1 week ago

This match is the cherry on top after all the disapointments. This match allowed the coach to reassess players for the next match. Well- done Ghana BS.

• Yaw Baafi 1 week ago

One goal at 95th minute. And coach running around jubilating as if we had won the trophy.

• MIKI 1 week ago

Shame on you and your friends and family

• Kweku Tsin 1 week ago

Name IDs don't mean shit. WC is about self-belief and who is desperate and determined to win after 90 mins.

Kwaku Tsin, please it is not about big names but facing the reality. We do not have quality players, they hardly know each other, annd our preparation was very poor. I will give you $1,000 if we are able to qualify

• Kweku Tsin 1 week ago

Tell that to England, as we dont care about their profile.The BS managed to get a win in a wrestling -soccer match. Soo bad, two keepers were physically injured with no consiquences from ref. This match was like wild, wild we ...

• Aduomi 1 week ago

Burn in hell, you doom prophet..aboa!!

Kweku Tsin, if Bill Gates puts down $100,000 and asks you to choose the winner between Bubunya colts players and England, which team will you choose?

• Kweku Tsin 1 week ago

I make my own money. Not interested in free money.

Answer my question.

• Yaw Boansi 1 week ago

Hahahaaa E.K a colleague here was registering High Blood pressure ooooo.

But as you rightly said football is for those who believe in the Game!

• Let's go Black Stars 1 week ago

Enemies are not God.... May God continue bless our homeland Ghana... now bring it on England...we ain't scared of England coz we are mother Ghana...We Move !!!!

• Dominique 1 week ago

Bravo Ghana

• Pelicles 1 week ago

This is all Ghana need, just to win and they have won, bravo guys?

• Beauty 1 week ago

Thanks be to God for saving ghanaians from heart attacks

• Patrick niu 1 week ago

enjoy the winning brother!

• God's time 1 week ago

This is a good start. We have avoided calculations as usual and hopefully we will overpower England to qualify to the next stage.

• 3tw3 ba 1 week ago

And this is without TP even. England should brace for impact.
    Go Ghana Go
    Odwan

• Etuo 1 week ago

Partey is very rusty and slow now.He warmed the bench for his club last season and also had rape allegations around his neck.So psychologically he is not sound to man our midfield.

• Derek 1 week ago

Elisha owusu and Jordan should not start the remaining matches period

• nana yaw 1 week ago

thank you

• Fd 1 week ago

As usual they have started to show their hatred. There are good and bad days in football and every game can be different.

• MIKI 1 week ago

Massa, don't be silly! Jordan is too slow, too lethargic, and no longer the livewire he used to be! It's time to bench him or use him as a supersub! As for his leadership skills, they are NONEXISTENT!

• Nunoo Ayi. 1 week ago

I think Jordan must know something; he must be making a sacrifice to sit still for 80 minutes.

• Great one 1 week ago

You'll realize his importance when he's not in there, every team needs leadership in the field, someone with experience to manage cohesion

• Ojooo! 1 week ago

I was expecting the best result in a draw game today. Thanks to our multiple supporters and Brilliant Yirenchi and Thomas

• Patrick niu 1 week ago

congratulations bro!
    enjoy the winning!

• Jato 1 week ago

Harry Kane and Rashford versus Ghana's defence. Will be a war

Which war? England!s bench will wallop us. Take it or leave it.

You ain't no proper ghanaian... shut the hell up and go back to where you belong... Against Baa FoH...SYBAU N*gga...

I don’t support blindly.

Ain't got time for no fake ass N*gga, Shift

• KI 1 week ago

What is fake about somebody choosing to believe in his logic ??? Mtcheww

• Patrick niu 1 week ago

wondurful game!
    congratulations! I'm so happy for you!

• Kwa 1 week ago

Panama had 62% possession. The wise will let that sink in

• Yaw Boansi 1 week ago

Kwa at the end if the game what everybody ask is what is the scores????

Even if Panama played 99.999% the question we ask is who won????

In football the end justifies the means bro

• ABASS AMOGOBO 1 week ago

i m more than the word happy. Congratulations

• Kanawu, USA 1 week ago

Jordan Ayew is useless.
    Why is he still in the team?

• Jordan Ayew 1 week ago

Kanawu, which state do you live in US? I want to visit you.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari. 1 week ago

Let us be appreciative of the Jordans because they have done a lot and sacrificed a lot for the country. There were times that they paid for their own flights to play for Ghana. We can’t be such hypocritical and horrible in ...

• MIKI 1 week ago

Tweakai, don't be silly! Jordan is too slow, too lethargic, and no longer the livewire he used to be! It's time to bench him or use him as a supersub! As for his leadership skills, they are NONEXISTENT!

• Great one 1 week ago

@kanawu, you can go replace him since you are not very far from him

• Obarima 1 week ago

Jordan Ayew is the 12th man for Panama.
    There is no way he was playing for Ghana.

• Patrick niu 1 week ago

After all, he is the captain of the Black Stars team. The coach couldn't possibly let him play as a substitute.

• Soccer 1 week ago

The Abedi factor has been Ghana black Star problem for a long time now. Black Star doesn’t need the Abedi’s in the team anymore. Are the only people who knows how to play football in Ghana? You see when he was taken off, ...

• Kojo Osei 1 week ago

Congratulations, Black Stars

• Darius99 1 week ago

Actually, it’s our second winning start. In 2006, we list our first game to Italy 0-2 after Samuel Kuffuor infamously gave the ball away in the 2nd half leading to Italy’s second goal. Our win against the Czech Republic w ...

Darius99, please do not compare these colts players to the 2006 squad.

• abugi 1 week ago

poor reportage. please do some research before hurriedly writing your reports. Ghana lost our first match in 2006 against Italy. the match against the Czechs was our second game.

• Kofi Akwetey 1 week ago

In 2006, Ghana won our first match against the Czech Republic 2-0. Asamoah Gyan scored after 90 seconds. We then beat the USA. The loss to Italy came later.

• PITO 1 week ago

England is favored to win in the next match but if capeverde got a draw against Spain we can pull a draw against England! Lessons from today’s game is that we give opposition MANY chances! Defenders must NOT ALLOW THIS! Als ...

I thought PITO really understands soccer, but I can see you are just a follower. Cape Verde would have walloped Panama 4-0.Did you see the way they played against Spain?

• PITO 1 week ago

Soccer is about Believe it is never definite! Even Real Madrid against Kotoko is not a CERTAIN win for Madrid until the whistle blows. Man United scoring 3 goals against LYon in extra time. Zambia defeating top Ivory Coast to ...

• Asonaba asiedu 1 week ago

It's coming home!!!

• Martinez 1 week ago

Ghana is a bad ass. We should be careful with them. They don't tolerate shit

• Capt Adabuga 1 week ago

This must be Jordan's last start in any Black Stars match. He's done. Let us rebuild with the upcoming Youngsters

• Sam 1 week ago

Fatawu and Asante changed the game for Ghana in the second half.

Ayew should be dropped from the starting line up. He couldn't dribble, hold the ball, pass nor defend. There're other players on the bench that could do bett ...

• Akajatayogogo 1 week ago

Now i see that some of Ghanaians don't like good thing,we played a match,we won,look at some comments people are writing, all these people are from NPP party, they don't like good thing in the Country. Ooooh Black man,no no n ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari. 1 week ago

And you foolishly bring your nasty and idiotic and stupid partisan politics into this? Did the players not play as a team? Get off this forum with your crazy Politics. I am glad Ghana won.

• Accra is dirty.com 1 week ago

Even though we won, I'm not impressed with the performance of the BS

• Great one 1 week ago

Looking at FIFA rankings, beating Panama was a big deal for Ghana so congratulations will be in order and more grease

• Jafal 1 week ago

What a poor performance, 95 minutes goal is nothing to cheer about. Panama's 63% ball possession and Ghana's 37% tells that Ghana won the game just by luck. Football competition is about performance and not luck. Am afraid, ...

• Bench Jordan Ayew .. .. Slow and can't track back 1 week ago

Bench Jordan Ayew .. .. Slow and can't track back he got the team playing 10 against 11

• Bonus Baba 1 week ago

I am not a Prophet and l don't ever want to be the Ghanaian type prophet. I have great Wisdom,Knowledge and Understanding. I said it before and l am saying it again. Anytime any day anywhere Benjamin Asare is with the blac ...

• Patrick niu 1 week ago

We can defeat Croatia and gian 1 point in the game against England.

• Kojor 1 week ago

Go Ghana

• Third Eye. 1 week ago

Is it now a taboo to score goals from the wings? What prevented the wings to be crossing the balls into the box rather than reling on Jordan who was marked by three men. And he also refused to run to open space. Did he not ev ...

• Yaaaa 1 week ago

Jordan has paid his due. However, it is becoming difficult for him to cope. Can he start from the bench?

• Osibisa 1 week ago

Go Ghana, go!!! We can make it. Our defense is solid! Congratulations, guys!! The front needs to push harder and all shall be well against England and Croatia. I will count on you guys any day.

• Baz 1 week ago

Kwasia, if not Jordan, could Ghana have qualified. Low performance in this game doesn't mean he is a bad player.

• Patriot 1 week ago

Great celebrations in the stadium including the Vice president but FA president sat with uncelebratory look.....why? Anything the problem sir?

• Pao 1 week ago

Because, unlike the Veep, the FA President understands football and the implication of facing England and Croatia with the kind of performance he saw.

• TRUMP 1 week ago

THE RAPIST’S CURSE WOULD HAVE DESTROYED GHANA’S CHANCES

Patey should be excluded from the Ghana team - if we want to progress to the next round.

• Stan 1 week ago

-SERIOUS DRIVERS NEEDED FOR WORK & PAY CARS.

☎️0544951674☎️

* 3 years Payment Plan.

* ⁠No Deposit.

* Toyota Vitz : 90000(Total Cost) / 600(Weekly) / 2500(Monthly).

* Toyota Yaris : 120000(Total Cost ...

• Boro 1 week ago

The current Blackstars coach game againtbɔ Wales we sat back and allowed them to attack us until the second half.
    Then the same strategy against Panama.

This strategy must stop immediately. If we meet England and they p ...

• TRUMP 1 week ago

THE RAPIST’S CURSE WOULD HAVE DESTROYED GHANA’S CHANCES

Patey should be excluded from the Ghana team - if we want to progress to the next round.