Education Ministry suspends post-WASSCE celebrations

Read Comments Comments (71)

• Samsayer 6 days ago

Thank you honorable.

• Kwachakwacha 6 days ago

Typical Ghanaian. If the problem is the extravagance, why not ban the giving of gifts etc at graduation. Why ban all graduations? A case of killing an ant with a sledgehammer.

• NPP SENIOR CITIZEN 6 days ago

Kwachakwache is an animal name and your brains are dead.

• TEACH IN CANADA 6 days ago

TEACH IN CANADA

NGOs in CANADA need both Males and Females who can teach orphans and disabled children basic Maths, English, Science or IT in Canada

All expenses including Plane Tickets are being paid by the NGOs in C ...

• Nii Joromi 6 days ago

• ST GHFUO: Kwame Nkrumah International Airport 6 days ago

Gh leadership and their stupidity. I went to my higg school prom..to those of you who don't know what a prom is. It's a school dance. You can go by yourself if you dont haveva girlfriend or boyfriend or a date. You wear a sui ...

• Karikakchar 6 days ago

Please allow the graduation ceremony and give the clear guidelines that eliminates the undesirable aspects

• JULOR CAESAR 6 days ago

The Minister has no business canceling graduation ceremonies because he disapproves of some parents giving their graduating children lavish gifts. Yes, allow the graduation ceremonies to continue, but advise parents to hold p ...

• Kojo 6 days ago

The nonsense of a prom!!! What does it add to our lives? You go and borrow nonsense without understanding you culture and context. Those who didn't attend a prom are not lesser human beings!!!

The nonsense of a street parade when u20 won the afcon and wcup as well.what dod those parades add to your miserable life? The flagstaff house attending the dinner with thebpewsodent etc what dos that add to tour miserable li ...

• Lololo 6 days ago

You’re an idiot

Smh too much gh sun has burned his brain cells

• Kwam 6 days ago

Don't be deceived you end at Ukraine or Russia war front!???

• Kontihene 6 days ago

This is an EXCELLENT decision by the Minisry of Education. The depravity that is creeping up is very, very scary indeed. That ceremony is not part of the curriculum. We can easily do without that nonsense!

Kwasia minister is Ghana now a communist country? When we find out how much money you are stealing and hoarding you will be hanged like Chinese duck

• Game Changer +447935009178 6 days ago

A step in the right direction. There's too much fooling spreading very fast in Ghana and must be controlled otherwise, we risk being consumed by people's recklessness.

• The man 6 days ago

Why put your number here

• Samsayer 6 days ago

The minister did not ban anything. Here is what was said in the article:

"The education minister, Haruna Iddrisu, has therefore directed the Director-General of the Ghana Education Service(GES)to suspend all SHS graduatio ...

• K.k 6 days ago

I don't think you get it. Gifting can continue but do it in your houses or wherever you feel like. The ministry did the right thing. The graduation is theirs but the gift isn't. They've taken their thing. Take your gift elsew ...

Wise one, But some parents are useless and careless parents.. You will be surprised that his boyfriend or lover bought this car for her and along the line when things gets worse they will be disturbing the IGP and The Governm ...

This guy has a big head for nothing dumber than a doorknob. If the parents want to spread their kid extravagantly outside the protocols of the sxhool what do you care? Go ban funerals and weddings as well. Idiot teachers are ...

• Moo Nimo 6 days ago

SC GHfuo or whatever you say u are called, you are a big fool and a good for nothing idiot. God will punish you for mother Ghana

@moo lol...your name is moo. Enough said...

• PITO 6 days ago

Ghfuo want to bring Prom nights to Ghana? Hahahaa. Adwiiiiii! Babylon ways fill his brain up. Secondary school graduates are not even 18 years yet, save the extravagance.

@pito lol see your name..do you know what your name means? What's wrong if high sxhool students in Ghana have a graduation ceremony andna prom like high schoolers do in North America? What is good for the Canadian goose is al ...

• Joko 6 days ago

@St Ghafuo you never make any sensible comment. Who cursed you with useless comment?

@jako kako you have been cursed with stupidity therefore common sense dont make sense to you..your brain is cuuuh like kako

• GHANA IS A BANANA REPUBLIC. THE ECONOMY IS A MASSIVE PONZI SCHEME. THAT'S THE LEVEL TO WHICH GHANA HAS DEGENERATED! 6 days ago

GHANA IS A BANANA REPUBLIC. THE ECONOMY IS A MASSIVE PONZI SHITHOLE. THAT'S THE LEVEL TO WHICH GHANA HAS DEGENERATED!

GARGANTUAN CRIMINALS LIKE AKUFO-ADDO, KUFUOR AND THEIR ARMIES OF STATE CRIMINAL APPPOINTEES ARE ALL WALK ...

• Yao 6 days ago

Nonsense! Are they celebrating with your money? This is a free country!

• Cool 6 days ago

@ Yao
    Senseless Animal you can celebrate it with your fellow Animal in your Zoo. Do you know the cost of living today?

• DkB 6 days ago

Stupid idiot @ cool that cannot be your name. The fact that cost of living is unbearable for you does not mean it is the same for everybody. Mot all fingers are equal. As much as I am not a fun of this extravagant spending b ...

• JULOR CAESAR 5 days ago

Since you're on the subject of the cost of living, will you also attack rich people for buying luxury cars or living in mansions? Why should the cost of living determine what gifts parents choose to give their graduating chil ...

They think Ghana is communist china..if I want to eat 10 balls of kenkey with my own money can this foolish education minister or agric minister they are all fools..come and tell me.to eat just 3 becauae we are in a recession ...

• La Pleasure man 6 days ago

Populists

• Abrefa 6 days ago

This stupidity must be stopped immediately.

• Kaakyire nua of Brazil 6 days ago

Extravagant funeral celebrations to extravagant graduation ceremonies.
    Meanwhile there are no toilets facilities in many homes in accra

Kaakyire nua of the Bush because i don't think any of your family members have even seen a plane in the skies or airport before..

Sell your vagina at east legin and osu you will easily buy toilet for your house or you can just go stand on the street corner under the traffic lights and wear tight Jinz....say Ginzs....not jeans but ginzs

• Tweaa. And this minister has a convoy of V8s 6 days ago

The hypocrisy. Look at these ministers with police escorts riding in a convoy of V8s. And here he is complaining about extravagance. Pottle meet kettle. Tweaaa.

Don't.mind this fool his head like professional toilet carrier

• Graduation ceremonies 6 days ago

Students spend hours, days and years learning. Graduation is the climax of their efforts and achievements, joy and celebrations. Some parents even present gifts and even cars to their graduating students. I think if the cerem ...

• Peace 6 days ago

Are u really serious? Do you even understand the directive? Check the history of schools in Ghana, whether ceremonial graduations were part of SHS. These are distractions introduced by authorities who didn't know what they we ...

• Peter 5 days ago

Do you understand graduation? You complete school with no certificate in hand at the that material moment and you call that graduation?.

• Ken Agyapong 6 days ago

Yao woy3 aboa. How can a young man proposed to an SSS graduate in a school premises just after she finished writing her final exams? And now cars are given to them just because they have done writing. The nonsense in the hous ...

Shs schools shoukd have graduation ceremonies with directives given by the school authorities or education ministry. If they want to do a prom, why not..but presentations and gifts and outlandish parties must be held off camp ...

• K.k 5 days ago

@ ST GHFUO
    So upon all your insults, you now agree with the ministry. What u said is exactly what the ministry is doing. (take away the graduation, which is within their authority and mandate and let parents do their extrava ...

• Nii Joromi 6 days ago

Where was the minister when this stupidity in SSS started? Sleeping on the job until people on social media started complaining. The greed and opulence from politicians is trickling down to our schools

• Accra 6 days ago

Beware of your Muslim education minister. The next will be a demand for all female students to wear hijab and males to grow long beards. It is creeping in in bits.
    Curtail the extravagance and ostentation, not ban the actua ...

He is so stupid this guy. He must be jealous of those kids with rich parents. I'm suprised he didnt die from that car accident coming back to making stuoid pronouncements

• JULOR CAESAR 6 days ago

Only brain dead idiots will carry out such lavish gifting to students at graduation ceremonies on school grounds and not expect to draw unwanted attention. Parents have every right to gift their graduating students any gift i ...

• Nsia 6 days ago

We inherited modesty, prudence and humility from the British.
    We never graduated from pimary,middle secondary,training college or polytechnic. We simply left. Graduates were for those who went to universities.
    Then we d ...

• Moo Nimo 6 days ago

Meanwhile we remain third world, under developed, poor and “shithole”. Why do we copy things that are only there to distract and keep us down trodden. These sorts of unnecessary graduation will only breed corruption, gree ...

• OZYMANDIAS 6 days ago

A step in the right direction. High Schools are not locations for fashionable displays. What happens to the emotional state of those students from poorer families?

• Populist 6 days ago

Welldone. Ghana is becoming something.Bad influence.

• Osofo 6 days ago

Ghana is a funny joke! From extravagant one week celebration, funerals, weddings, chieftaincy and, now in SHS graduation...where the students are not even certain of passing their exams.

And all of this in the midst of p ...

• GHANABA KWAKU 6 days ago

Well done Mr minister. I don't even understand when this practice started. Where from all these things?

• Kwam 6 days ago

The GES should also ban the JHS graduation ceremony as well. It an avenue for extortion from parents and guardians. A school in Takoradi is charging eaxh graduant @1000ghc.

• Kojo 6 days ago

I agree, you can do it at home or organize a private one when they come home. Good job.

• Concern 6 days ago

When did this nonsense start and where?

• TAN 6 days ago

Generally Ghanafuo has opulence and extravagance oo. Mostly stemming from Poverty and leading to thievery and under development. Next shd target funerals and similar stuff. Enough is enough.

• The man 6 days ago

White European brought modern civilization to Ghana..They see cars as heaven that is why they are foolishly displaying it ..Without the white man, Ghana will be Without civilization.

• Bob 6 days ago

I really applaud you for doing that. Infact cancel the whole celebration and send them home to celebrate and mail each and every student their certificate of completion. Thanks Minister of Education

• Link up for bank loading mt103 Flash your usdt here German banks loading loading ceredit cards in usa German UK fixed credit score meet Russian hk in German 6 days ago

Bank wire transfer to all countries wasap me 00447491722248 or E-Mail me hamzaben.d@hackermail.com
    Chase bank
    UBA bank
    First bank
    PNC ...

• PITO 6 days ago

Good call by the minister. When did this SHS graduation creep in? If a parent think they have money they won’t to display they should find proper channels to do it rather than using our secondary school children to show the ...

• The Devil's Advocate 6 days ago

When I completed sixth form at TAMASCO in 69 you wrote your exams and quietly went home to await the results with trepidation.
    How times have evolved. The only exhibition of ostentation was the weekend parade of car-ful priv ...

• Northern Boy 6 days ago

Great Great Great. Ghanaians are just something else

• JJ KUFFOUR AKUFO ADDO 6 days ago

This is the reason why some parents should pay for their ward.

• Francis 6 days ago

This materialistic nonsense is copied from the United States. Very good that the Ministry of Education has put a stop to it. Americans can live their lifestyle which we don't want here in Ghana.

• Abena 6 days ago

Minister you have done well. If some parents can gift their children who complete shs cars as gift, then what of if they complete universities. Some parents let prayers be the gift to your children not wealth thank you

• Ghanaweb 6 days ago

Thank you

• kulbogo 5 days ago

Hon, thanks for these statements, though you and your party are not my fun, but truly speaking with your vividly statements of this issue made my day, the displayed of stupid wealth by some irresponsible parents is unbearable ...