Here are areas badly hit by Accra floods after heavy rains

Read Comments Comments (63)

• Quaye 1 day ago

Shit city in Ghana

• FRANKIE 1 day ago

I wonder what will happen if we had cyclones and hurricanes and tornadoes and blizzards and hail and snowstorms. No planning. Indiscriminate erection of structures everywhere while our useless and clueless misleaders look on. ...

• Dead Ghanaians are the only good ones 1 day ago

Ghanaians drown..... who cares? Good riddance.

• Ablekuma Van Damme 1 day ago

MAHAMA IS JUST A BAD LUCK PRESIDENT!!

MAHAMA IS JUST A PROBLEM MAN. HE SAID ON CAMPAIGN THAT THE RAINS ARE NOT FALLING BECAUSE OF NANA ADDO. AS IF HE MAHAMA HAS SOLUTION FOR HUGE RAINS.

NOW THE RAIN IS HERE AND KILLING ...

• MO KWAME NKRUMAH NO 1 day ago

Did Mahama ask you people to throw Filthy things around anyhow to choke gutters?

• Yeboah 1 day ago

No matter what you say, that your useless Mujahadeen anal washing baboon , gyimie gyimie Bawumia will not come to power. He is a fool with his mouth like that of a pig

• Skab 1 day ago

I was just telling someone some few minutes ago. Mahama was bold enough to say in his campaign. I wonder what sort of person he is.

• PEPE 1 day ago

YOU SEE HOW STUPID YOU ARE

• FRANKIE 1 day ago

I wonder what will happen if we had cyclones and hurricanes and tornadoes and blizzards and hail and snowstorms. No planning. Indiscriminate erection of structures everywhere while our useless and clueless misleaders look on. ...

• Jato 1 day ago

Category 5 hurricanes would really mess us up. Our systems have been exposed

• Akiti 1 day ago

Planning? In Ghana? Come on Bro. Be real.

• Your abuse back to you in droves 1 day ago

That is the issue. Will always say African don’t like planning.

• Folk 1 day ago

Our leaders have weak minds. They look on and fail to stop people building in wrong places, sadly and wrongly thinking it would affect their political fortunes.

• Solomon Pobee 1 day ago

Like your early morning shit. Offer construction ideas.

• Mr. Smith 1 day ago

Why are our gutters and drainages not covered? The only means of stopping a fool from throwing refuse into the gutter i to cover it. Is it not the assemblies who award gutter contracts to the contractors? Why don't they ask t ...

• Lori 1 day ago

We have fire, we have flood. All we need is for six thousand to die

• Sam 1 day ago

Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord

Acts 3:19

• Emmanuel, Poland 1 day ago

@Mr. Smith, I can't agree with you less. You are right. It is like a disease especially in Ghana and Nigeria. Gutters left open for only God knows for what reason. Meanwhile our politicians both in power and in opposition are ...

• K 1 day ago

Amen

• Dr Lugu T 1 day ago

THE ONLY THING GHANAIAN LEADERS KNOW AND INVEST MASIVELY IN IS HOW TO WIN ELECTIONS… THE PROBLEMS OF GHANA ARE POLITICIANS

• Accra 1 day ago

Thanks Dr. Lugu. Ghana's problems are it's criminal politicians; talk big, live large and win next election.

• Reverend 1 day ago

So let us support Coup. The only option now. Nobody should insult any coup plotter again.

• TRUMP 1 day ago

No! It’s we who support them to perpetrate all the thievery. See how NPP members are defending Ken Ofori Atta! You have to see Kofi Bentil defending Ken!

• Agbelimor Paris 1 day ago

Why don't we build rain gardens and collection wells in our cities?

• ASIA 1 day ago

Do you have any of these things in your house?

• Accra 1 day ago

Agbelimor Paris. Very good point, as in The Netherlands and any common sense, but here, are they listening at all? Pls find some tampi on your lips and relax.

• NMG 1 day ago

always comparing well develop countries to shitty hole Ghana waaaaaaaaaayyyyy gyiiimiiiiii rufffffffffffff

• Stan 1 day ago

WORK & PAY CARS FOR DRIVERS

☎️0544951674☎️

* 3 years Payment Plan.

* ⁠No Deposit.

* Toyota Vitz : 90000(Total Cost) / 600(Weekly) / 2500(Monthly).

* Toyota Yaris : 120000(Total Cost) / 700(Weekly) / ...

• Custom Auction 1 day ago

Custom Auctions Is Up Again and Granting Nigerians the
    Privilege to Own Vehicles at Affordable Rates tokunbors vehicles which are availables on ground at a good and cheaper rate
    Interested Buyers Should Contact Off ...

• Stitches. 1 day ago

Frauuuuuuuuuuuuuuuud! Anything about these alatafuor smacks of scam. Please stay away so you don't lose your money

• SANTROFIE 1 day ago

AND A FRIEND WHO JUST RETURNED FROM GHANA TOLD ME THE ACCRA-KUMASI ROAD IS REALLY IN BAD SHAPE! IT TAKES ABOUT 7 TO 8 HOURS TO MAKE A TRIP??! SO PATHETHIC!!!

• NMG 1 day ago

HE SHOULD KNOW IT NOTHING NEW NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE TO THE WHOLE ROAD FROM ACCRA TO EVEN NSAWAM IS BAD NOT TO TALK OF ACCRA TO KUMASI ROAD NOTHING CHANGES THERE AT ALL GHANA IS STILL THE SAME THE RICH ARE STEALING THE MONEY T ...

• Liver 1 day ago

Foolish interjections. Don't the developed countries experience natural disasters. Let's thank God it's rain but not EARTHQUAKES.

• JA 1 day ago

@Liver, you are off the point. Earthquakes cannot be stopped. Ghana's annual flooding can be stopped if our city & town planning works. What do we expect if we have few storm drains plus open choked gutters or lack of them in ...

• Agyenco (UK) 1 day ago

The only thing the Mahama government knows is pumping dollars into the system to bring the cedi down to the applause of the business community at the expense of my poor folks in our villages. Settings government. They came an ...

• Yankey Dollar 1 day ago

hmmmm. we should stop building in water ways

• Mary Edzii 1 day ago

Ghanas Covid now
    NDC show your prowess

• JOE WISEEYYYYYYY 1 day ago

GALAMSEY FLOOD EFFECTS

• Dexter_441 1 day ago

Everyone is barking at the wrong tree .
    The so called gutters are way too small to contain the amount of rainwater that flows through them .

Secondly , the lack of underground sewage system is a problem . In 2026, peop ...

• Yaa Yaa (YY Network, Begoro. E/R) If we all support like we do the Black Star…there could be a breakthrough! 1 day ago

5 sitesAccra’s recurring, devastating floods are a national emergency rooted in severe plastic pollution choking drainage systems, illegal construction on wetlands, and excessive paving that prevents natural water absorptio ...

• Noreen 1 day ago

This is serious oooo. These are caused mostly because of choked gutters

• Fifi Afriyie 1 day ago

So what is the government doing to solve this drainage problem before they come to solicit votes in the next election. Another promise and nothing done?

• TRUMP 1 day ago

NPP SQUANDERED US$40m ACCRA DRAINAGE FUNDS
    NPP = The most unpatriotic party ever!

• Efo 1 day ago

Mahama is a failure

• Adwowa Safo created her problems unfortunately 1 day ago

Upon hearing that her brother was being crowned as the leader of the church by church elders in his brothers house ,she should just have reported the installation of her brother as a breach of court injection to the police ...

• NANA TRUMU TRUMU ADDO 1 day ago

WHY ALL THESE STRUCTURES ALONG THE STREETS?. PUUL THEM DOWN

• NANA TRUMU TRUMU ADDO 1 day ago

CECILIA DAPAAH CANNOT ESCAPE BLAME. THE MILLIONS FOUND IN HER HOUSE WAS TO CLEAN THE GUTTERS. SHE BRIBED KISI ADJABENG AND SHE IS WALKING FREE WHILST MANY SUFFER

• Country bike 1 day ago

So what are our MPS doing, can't the water go to the parliament house one day,so so unnecessary debate, passing of unnecessary bills that don't have any good impact to the country.

• kwame Ohene 1 day ago

Let us not do everything with pɔlitics

• Your abuse back to you in droves 1 day ago

Comments like this says a lot about your age and lack of reasoning

• obarima 1 day ago

This has been happening for over 50 years. Why can't we fix this?

• Paa solo 1 day ago

Lack of simple common sense, we can't construct simple drainage to pave way for water to flow freely.
    Everybody in Ghana is chasing power and money and left common sense behind. And now for the lack of common sense we are go ...

• Mawule 1 day ago

Your president is cursed and these are the signs
    Galamsey and rituals

• PEPE 1 day ago

He should thank the man who gave him a helping hand and not Nyame cus nyame saw him going, wise up

• Asem 1 day ago

Mahama please demolish more houses to avoid flooding.

• Me 1 day ago

Accra is too dirty. This flood will help clean the filth

• Kwame Amoah 1 day ago

Where is the sweet talker Mahama. Mahama you blamed Nana Addo for lack of rains in the times past right. You have the rains and what are you doing. Did you not promise to desilt all the waterways in Accra to prevent the flood ...

• Teddy Moore 1 day ago

We need to create drainage system like asylum gutters part of flooding areas. And also minor residential areas.

• Pelicles 1 day ago

Former Prime Minister, K.A Busia, here is your "Stone". I remember you suggesting that Accra will need huge drainage system to direct all flood waters into the sea, such laudable idea was met with insults from the residents o ...

• Pelicles 1 day ago

If our politicians will neglect developing the rural areas to keep people in their localities, Accra will keep on choking because the average Ghanaian thinks that living in the capital means you are a true Ghanaian.

Truely ...

• Bakogone Tiblisi Honest VIEWS undualized intercity roads 1 day ago

If you fail to create big roads for flood, it will create its own path to the sea.
    If we cover every house in concrete, how can water seep into ground?

• Citizen 20 hours ago

We the indigenous people of Accra gladly encourage all the tribes in Ghana to relocate to Accra permanently. We also encourage them to build permanent structures in every part of Accra they desire, like the waterways, on the ...

• Heather K 9 hours ago

Stop throwing trash and debris around and clogging up waterways. Many countries have nothing and are scraping by, trying to pay bills and feed their families. Still, they respect their country and planet, taking pride in wher ...