'Nurses were laughing heartily' – GIL Director recounts ordeal leading to wife's death

Read Comments Comments (67)

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 1 week ago

I am very sorry for the death of the lady. The point that must be realized is that some of these Health Care Professionals, including Nurses and Doctors there have not been paid for over 18 months. How do we expect them to wo ...

• Very heartless healthcare professionals....Dr Joojo deHeer 1 week ago

Our lack of accountability and deterrence for laxity has produced for us a band of potential murderers we call doctors and nurses in our public Healthcare space.
    Anytime we try to clean the indiscipline they threaten strike ...

• Indigenous Pride 1 week ago

Colonial reparations is necessary because Europeans plundered Africa and other part of the world in the name of colonialism. Many Aboriginal/indigenous people/Tindanas were killed in the quest of Europeans insatiable power fo ...

Were it not Africans who went to war against each other, defeated and captured the defeated and sold the vanquished into slavery to the White People? Did any White People ever ventured into the interior to fight and capture A ...

• Indigenous Pride 1 week ago

History is very important for you.
    Slavery was very different from colonialism. Slavery can be describe as extreme form of modern immigration. Because most people sold into slavery were price per wages return. British and th ...

• A country called Ghana 1 week ago

The whole Ghana is a crime scene, from the Presidency to the watchman/security man,...it's a crime scene. I watched the President speak yesterday about the flooding in Accra, and you can tell that he has no intentions of tack ...

I appreciate your advice that History is important to me. I have studied History and Religions all my life and hold the Highest Degree in History. Bear in mind that it was Slavery that led to Colonialism in Africa and many pa ...

• Paa Pee 1 week ago

Technically we gained more under colonial rule than the last 2 Republics. We have enslaved ourself more than the slave masters did. In the olden days people were captured but these days we go into slavery ourselves in South A ...

• Some Naija Guy 1 week ago

This would be the very first time I'd have to agree with anything you've posted on this platform, because you are spot-on about Africans and slavery.

But, let me just add that the same Africans who are crying for reparatio ...

• Nii 1 week ago

Really disappointed in your comments, do you think if they've not been paid for that long, Doctors will tolerate? And even if they've not been paid so is it justified to lower down your standard of care? Trust me, if this has ...

• John 1 week ago

What is this nonsense you’re spewing out. They have not been paid so what? Should they kill some

• Dallas1 1 week ago

You're a CAPITAL F00L!

• GUARANTEED DAILY CASHFLOW THROUGH THIS MONEY-MAKING SKILL 1 week ago

Don't let the month end today just like that - with no investment in self. Smart people are cashing out fixing what everyone uses: Smart Phones! Think about it - everyone has a phone, and everyone eventually breaks it. You do ...

• GUARANTEED DAILY CASHFLOW THROUGH THIS MONEY-MAKING SKILL 1 week ago

Don't let the month end today just like that - with no investment in self. Smart people are cashing out fixing what everyone uses: Smart Phones! Think about it - everyone has a phone, and everyone eventually breaks it. You do ...

• Kofi 1 week ago

Frank, I know you meant well but you missed the point. If these nurses haven't been paid and can't do satisfactory work then they shouldn't show up to work. Doctors and nurses have the responsibility to save lives and they sw ...

• Peter 1 week ago

They are poorly trained. In addition many go to study nursing out of need.

• Name 1 week ago

Agyena, read well and note that this incident happened SIX years ago.
    You can get that in the very first paragraph.

Now can you tell us who was in power 6 years ago?

• Tee Kay 1 week ago

In this life, we have NURSES and we have WORKERS.
    The character traits of a NURSE are COMPASSION, EMPATHY, CARING, LOVE, INTEGRITY, ENCOURAGING, EXCELLENT COMMUNICATION, etc. So whether he or she get paid on time or not, he ...

• INNOCENT ONES DYING - Ghanani 1 week ago

.Do you have to put the life of a patient at risk just because you have not been paid your salaries?
    If you have not been paid and you are angry and dissatisfied no need transferring your anger to the innocent patient to who ...

• Albert 1 week ago

Doctors and nurses have not been paid for 18 months? Here in Ghana?

• Susan Djan 1 week ago

VERY SAD. TAKE HEART MR KUTO. SOME MEDICAL STAFF ARE HEARTLESS. NOBODY KNOWS WHAT THE FUTURE HOLDS. HMMMMMMMMM

• Blue Pen 1 week ago

GMA and GRNMA will never even comment on such misconduct and negligence. The moment the relevant authorities decide to sanction them, then they will come and defend their members and claim that they are being victimised.

• Susan Djan 1 week ago

VERY SAD. TAKE HEART MR KUTO. SOME MEDICAL STAFF ARE HEARTLESS. NOBODY KNOWS WHAT THE FUTURE HOLDS. HMMMMMMMMM

• Susan Djan 1 week ago

The situation was not like that when we were growing up from the Colonial era, the times of Nkrumah, Afrifa, Busia and Acheampong. The Medical Staff were treated with respect and paid on time appropriately. What do we have no ...

• Very heartless healthcare professionals....Dr Joojo deHeer 1 week ago

Our lack of accountability and deterrence for laxity has produced for us a band of potential murderers we call doctors and nurses in our public Healthcare space.
    Anytime we try to clean the indiscipline they threaten strik ...

• Papillon5 1 week ago

Sadly this is the current state of life in our health sector and this is why the privileged few seek medical assistance abroad. Our society is screwed up and getting worse.

• Nii 1 week ago

Ridge, Ridge, Ridge. That hospital, I think it's about time the government turns it's attention to there, the mortality rate is too low. Just between last year till early this year, the young women I know that have died there ...

How do you expect the Health Professionals to care when they work for about two years without any pay or allowances? The Army does not march on an Empty Stomach. Pay them well, appropriately, and on time and see if they will ...

• Agbeli Kumordi 1 week ago

Sad news honestly our Ghana nurses are not serious on the job

• SD.com 1 week ago

Why do most of these people enter nursing? Just money. They're not the Florence nightingale type.

• Sam 1 week ago

Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord

Acts 3:19

• SD.com 1 week ago

Why do most of these people enter nursing? Just money. They're not the Florence nightingale type.

We have too many nurses now and govt can't absorb them. It's time we do rigorous interviews and screening of those who want ...

• AsempaNia 1 week ago

SD.com,
    We nurses don't prescribe and we don't give orders.
    The doctors prescribe and we follow what they said to do. This mistake probably was that the doctor's fault- wrong medicine or dose, or the nurse gave the wrong ...

• Akosat 1 week ago

Mr. Kuto, I'm really very sorry for your great loss. I wouldn't support the nurses for laughing at you nor your wife. They could have been laughing at the 2 doctors who were not coordinating with each other at that crucial ti ...

• Zilla 1 week ago

I always ask till it happens to you eerh, you go feel how whack our medical system is.

• Zilla 1 week ago

I always ask till it happens to you eerh, you go feel how whack our medical system is.

• Zilla 1 week ago

• Osei Bonsu 1 week ago

Ghana is a shit-hole.

• JOE WISEEYYYYYYY 1 week ago

I HOPE LAWSUITS WILL CORRECT SUCH CASES IN OUR HOSPITALS.
    THE ALL NEED JOB TRAINING TO UPGRADE THEMSELVES NO MATTER WHAT DEGREES THEY HAVE.

• Custom Auction 1 week ago

Custom Auctions Is Up Again and Granting all Africa's the
    Privilege to Own Vehicles at Affordable Rates tokunbors vehicles which are availables on ground at a good and cheaper rate
    Interested Buyers Should Contact ...

• Mo 1 week ago

Fear Ghanaian nurse my friend

• Ike 1 week ago

Sorry Director for your loss.
    At a certain point in my marriage life and when my second born Child whom I have name before the Lord. I had to beg nurses and a doctor to attend to my pregnant wife who was almost dying in pai ...

• New order 1 week ago

I knew it was ridge without reading all

• New order 1 week ago

I knew it was ridge without reading all

• Peter 1 week ago

It is the money they think about. It is just like Ghanaian who train as nurses in the US and prefer to work at night because of the night differential. They come to work and they want to sleep. They get angry if they get call ...

• Skriller 1 week ago

What do you expect.. In a country where nurses are posted right after school without dint of hard work and merit... Its an automatic employment after school so most of them don't feel responsible for their actions because the ...

• Charles 1 week ago

@Frank Agyena-Karikari, you are very very hurtless full with useless politics with everything in Ghana. Who told you they have not been paid for 8 months? this is not a new phenomenon in our hospitals, especially the Ridge ho ...

• Dr Dr 1 week ago

My deepest sympathy for the loss of your dear wife. Sadly and Im not by any means condoning the actions of both the doctors and the nurses, real care and love for humanity is not on the DNA of the typical Ghanaian . The care ...

• Ray 1 week ago

Is this man saying his wife died because nurses were laughing? Why? Were u expecting the nurses to frown their faces or be crying before u acknowledge their hard work? Everyone want to blame nurses for everything that they do ...

• AsempaNia 1 week ago

That's very sad. Incompetence to the highest degree !
    If you're in a hospital anywhere in the world, and was given a medicine by a nurse or a doctor, please ask what the medicine is for. Especially, if you didn't see them ...

• Koti 1 week ago

It's the same in all government hospitals that's why all our politicians and their families seek health care abroad.

• Albert 1 week ago

It jappens in all our hospitals. There appears to be some bad blood btween nurses and junior doctors in particular.

• Daniel 1 week ago

Dr. Kuto, let me first of all still send my condolences to you for the death of your wife. But I have few things to disagree with you, this is your wife we talking about when you realized the monkeys were making jest about th ...

• Basic Algebra 1 week ago

Not sure why this guy is holding back, sue the hell out of that Goddam hospital and all the medical personnel involved

• Schoolboy Reports 1 week ago

The Present Nigerian President Advised His Country/Men AndWomen To Take The Democratic Form Of Government They've Chosen Seriously AndThat Advise Is Equally Applicable To Ghanaians/ Because Until They Do The Pillars That Hold ...