June 29 Floods: 'This country is not rich enough to build emergency shelters' - Muntaka

Read Comments Comments (32)

• Mandela 1 week ago

But poor enough to buy Toyota V8 for every useless Minister, government official, noisy clueless MPs?

• But rich enough to carry NDC regional chairmen fornthe world cup 1 week ago

It is a question of priorities. The money for the so-called big push could have been used to solve the problem. But because of nokofio tankers are moving in the rain sprinkling water on wet roads.

• TAKE OR PAY DEMON 1 week ago

Wicked NDC. Imagine if these people were in power during the Covid-19 pandemic. A lot of people would have died during the lockdown.

• I HAVE LOST RESPECT FOR YOU MUNTAKA. HOW COULD YOU MAKE SUCH A CARELESS STATEMENT 1 week ago

The bribes alone that you collect can provide the EMERGENCY SHELTERS 10 times over. It is very sad you could come out and make such an unfortunate statement

• Mandela 1 week ago

I mean not poor enough to buy luxury SUVs for non-performance Ministers ,dormant MPs, corrupt government officials, and pay billions of cedis to fake contractors to do shoddy works, spend on frivolous birthday parties, pointl ...

• Obaa Sima 1 week ago

Your previous equally made sense. It seemed sarcastic, and that articulated their stupidity even louder. Ever since I was a kid, Accra has suffered these floods, and I’m talking about PNDC era when the nation was so shock ...

• TWEAA DC 1 week ago

THE GOVERNMENT CAN BUY TOYOTA LAND CRUICERS LIKE THE CITY OF TOYOTA WHERE THE ORIGINAL FACTORY IS LOCATED IS FOUND IN GHANA...BUT GHANA IS NOT RICH ENOUGH TO BUILD EMERGENCY SHELTERS...OH! MUNTAKA...TWEAA.

• NMG 1 week ago

I mean not poor enough to buy luxury SUVs for non-performance Ministers ,dormant MPs, corrupt government officials, and pay billions of cedis to fake contractors to do shoddy works, spend on frivolous birthday parties, pointl ...

• COD 1 week ago

@NMG: This Muntaka is an incompetent fool out there.
    Ghana is rich enough to build Hajj Village but not rich enough to provide emergency houses for those of us who may fall as victims of floods and other artificial & natural ...

• NMG 1 week ago

IBRAHIM MAHAMA IS THERE THE RICHEST MAN WHERE ARE THOSE GHANAIANS SAYING THEY ARE RICH THEY GOT BIG BIG CARS AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAHAHAH

• Okatakyie 1 week ago

God has been unkind to us with leaders like this.

The answer to the persistent flooding is to construct storm water drains rather than considering the floods as inevitable and build shelters. the flooding is NOT inevitable

• Obaa Sima 1 week ago

No, please spare the name of God. We stupidly elect them into office. Mahama even has the nerve to talk about precious governments having failed to solve the problem when in fact, he has been in politics and cumulatively, i ...

• Akik 1 week ago

It isn't only elected officials are thieves, most of our revenue collectors and most spending officers are also looting the monies.
    Each district has a revenue officer and spending officers, every institution has a spending ...

• John Martin 1 week ago

Exactly
    They are more corrupt than their masters

• Yakubu 1 week ago

Get the capital away from this place to reduce the pressure. Big drains will only help to take more people away. Mr minister I respect that is the only answer to the current situation

• John Martin 1 week ago

Sooner or later the capital will take over by the flood as galamsey has taken over the country.

• Marquis 1 week ago

We could have but unfortunately we have sold all open places turning them into brick and mortar

• R O K 1 week ago

Yes Hon Muntaka, i share your opnion, but is this same country that when you politician take power, they steal and mis-used amd state funds. is is out of persnal greed or share wickedness to the ordinary man

• Kwame nkrumah 1 week ago

I disagree with you....

• Obour 1 week ago

The money distributed to MPs supposedly for development in their respective constituencies should be redirected in building shelters. The MPs pocket the money anyway, which amounts to stealing from the public. If the governme ...

• YOU CAN BUILD HAJJ VILLAGE BUT NOT EMERGENCY CENTER? 1 week ago

NDC only come to chop.

• Pelicles 1 week ago

Muntaka, do you know what $10billion can do in Ghana? John Mahama used that money to put a "Face-lift" on the cedi, and you are saying what?

John Mahama sold 18.5 tons of our gold reserves and what did he do with the mone ...

• Akik 1 week ago

Much as we are poor , if all the looted monies are recovered we could do it. Unfortunately when corruption is mentioned the first sight of ghanians is politicians.
    The amount of looting done by revenue collectors and revenu ...

• Barko osae twum 1 week ago

What happened to all those emergency relief equipment akuffo addo government purchase worrth millions of dollars to help solve and contain disasters. What about getting the 48 engineers regiment to build emergency shelters , ...

• Owan Yaw aka Lisiemine Ubi 1 week ago

Muntaka again. No surprises, just shaking head.

• Yaw Yeboah 1 week ago

Only in Ghana, will you have a President announce plans to build a new capital city within 20 years & then a Govt Minister state we cannot afford to build emergency shelters for flood victims. God help & save us.

• JBB 1 week ago

The absence of zoomlion to collect garbage complicated things. Listening to Manessah azure sustained attack on the company is part of the mess. garbage, garbage is everywhere.

• Stupid mahama 1 week ago

You see the mindset of these Nzongo boys ruling the country? Fools.

• Baako 1 week ago

Sorry Minister. Ghana is not poor. Mismanagement, greed and lack of the sense of development. The government has money to send people to foreign countries for medical treatment but no money to equip our hospitals.
    There ...

• Kwame 1 week ago

In emergency situations like this as the situation is in the tropics you can erect tents to shelter and feed people in situations like this.
    So you don't need to build concrete accommodation to accommodate and feed people i ...

• Test2 1 week ago

USELESS VISIONLESS POLITICIANS KILLING POOR GHANAIANS
    NORTHERNER GO BACK TO YOUR DUSTY NORTH TO THE PEOPLE FROM ACCRA TAKE ALONG YOUR KAYA YEI WITH PANS ON THEIR HEADS ALONG BUULUU MUNTAKA
    USE YOUR SUV TO BUILD A SHELTER

• KS 3 days ago

This is so ridiculous. Government officials and other public servants have multi million dollar homes that has only few occupants in them yet the minister of the interior is telling the citizens that the country is poor and c ...