Otumfuo selects 15th Queen of the Asante Kingdom

Read Comments Comments (83)

• Prudhomme - Ghanaians are unintelligent 1 day ago

Hmmmm, another funeral in waiting!

• WHO CARES? 1 day ago

IS THAT WHAT WE EAT?

• Indigenous Pride 1 day ago

It is very important to observe the distinctions between slavery and colonizations. Slavery as we always say evolved but never stop. But colonial propaganda was a well architected system by the axis of powers of that era to e ...

• Jie Kam 1 day ago

Kkk

• Dr ...Mumbi Seraki 1 day ago

Hello youth of Ghana. ....You can take your own .life or someone's .life with medicine.....for instance 15 tramadol at once.........or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.

• Fake information 1 day ago

How do we know it actually works? Could you try it and prove this information to be accurate?

• Dungeon Master 1 day ago

I agree with everything that has been said about Asantehene not being a king. He is a Paramount Chief. In the case of Asantehene in particular, he is a Paramount Thief.

• Nii Armando 1 day ago

Mumu comment

• AK 1 day ago

Indeed, you belong to the dungeon so you can't think well. You don't belong to the civilized world.

• AT 1 day ago

You should know how to grow up your mind and respect your father, mother first. Jealous will kill you

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 1 day ago

Every well read Ghanaian knows that the Asantehene is a Paramount Chief who is seen as the PRIMUS INTER PARES. He is the First among Equals when Chieftaincy is considered among the Asante people. He is equal in rank to the Pa ...

• Manny 1 day ago

If you like say he is not even odikro. It is your own headache and it doesn't change anything.

• Jie Kam 1 day ago

Kkk

• FRANKIE 1 day ago

We don't have kingdoms in Ghana therefore we cannot have kings. The reference to chiefs as kings is silly and must stop. Ghana is a one unitary state with a constitutionally elected president and parliament which runs for a f ...

• Nsia 1 day ago

@Frankie, I cannot stand that nonsense. Trouble is: Pres Mahana and his bunch of poodles allows tjat crap to happen. It seems as if he does not understand the concept of a Republic of which he heads. Nkrumah, Rawlings ad ...

• KO 1 day ago

You will continue to suffer

• Nsia 1 day ago

@KO, all the useless gamlsey purveyor chiefs in Ghana are of of much use to me as a soluble drainpipe.

• Felix Larbi 1 day ago

Nsia, you're too late. Your hope, the dormaahene, has tried severally to ban it to no avail.

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 1 day ago

KNOWLEDGE IS POWER: BUT IT SEEMS FRANKIE IS BEREFT OF KNOWLEDGE, OR MAYBE IT’S NAIVETY, JEALOUSY, COVETOUSNESS? WHO KNOWS!

ASHANTI KINGDOM PRECEDED GHANA IN TERMS OF INDEPENDENCE!
    MR AHWOI, BUT THE LIKES OF FRANKIE WE ...

• FRANKIE 1 day ago

@Stephn Donkor, you have not provided a counterweight to what I said. You're only displaying your gross ignorance clothed in arrogance in cyberspace. And that confirms my last point. Your attachment to unbridled tribalism is ...

• Trokosi bodamnii 1 day ago

Who cares what you think. Get the heck out of here

• KO 1 day ago

Your Republican President and his regional Minister will go when their time is up and the King will still be there. You can call it what ever you want, you can insult us till the heavens come down and nothing will change. Asa ...

• Kotipo 1 day ago

What has Ghana being a constitutional republic got to do with the Ashantihene”s title? I would understand your argument if the Asantehene was claiming to be King of Ghana, that would definitely be at variance with a consti ...

• ENOUGH IS ENOUGH 1 day ago

@Kotipo

Sir, you can't have a king under a president, no matter the jurisdiction.

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 1 day ago

@ Frankie:
    ASHANTI IS A KINGDOM AND WAS GRANTED WHAT IS REFERRED TO AS A CONSTITUTIONAL MONARCHY BEFORE 6th MARCH 1957.

MR KWAMINA AHWOI’S WORD WERE TAKEN OUT OF CONTEXT: BUT THE MAN WAS REVEALING WHAT SOME GHANAIANS ...

• Why do you keep responding to that Trokosi hater 1 day ago

He should go and read the instrument by which Prempeh 1st joined Ghana.

• Paa Pee 1 day ago

The Asanti Kingdom was sacked in 1901 and chieftancy banned and an administrative office appointed. In 1935 the chieftancy was restored but not the Kingdom as Gokd Coast was under the King of England or the United Kingdom. In ...

• Hatred & Jealousy. The day of proper reckoning will come. 1 day ago

Why don't you stop it, fool without brains in your dummy head. Ask your dieing grand father if he is still alive what your Kwame Nkrumah did to the unsuspecting Ashantis. Raise that your village chief to that high level and s ...

• KO 1 day ago

Pains

• I UNDERSTAND YOUR ENVY, HATE AND JEALOUSY 1 day ago

You and your family are drinking water with cows that is your problem.

• Fatcobra 1 day ago

Fa wo nkwasiaaem sooo ho. Take your stupidity away ok.

• FYI 1 day ago

The Mossi Empire came to an end in 1897, dating back to 11 century. All the big Mossi "Kings" we have in Burkina Faso now are nominal leaders who represented the past. There can be no King in a Republic

• Fake information 1 day ago

What about the other kingdoms in the world? You mean to tell me they travel differently?

• Jones Ekumfi Kyeremeh 1 day ago

Frankie, if my cousins say they have a king why do you bother. Do you say same when Yagbonwura and Yaa Naa are referred to as kings? We must stop the hypocrisy.

• TWEAA DC 1 day ago

GO AND KILL YOURSELF...TWEAA...OR YOU CAN GO AND BURN THE GULF OF GUINEA...APEETOO.

• Jones Ekumfi Kyeremeh 1 day ago

I believe they never asked you to care.

• NMG 1 day ago

SAY IT AGAIN OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

• Kwasi Addai 1 day ago

So is there no young woman in the royal family?

• Asamoah 1 day ago

Do you know the duties of a queen mother?

So what?

Who said a younger lady can't perform duties?

How old was Yaa Asantewaa?

• Kwasi Addai 1 day ago

So you support this abrewa being the Asantehemaa? An illiterate in these modern times?

• Great one 1 day ago

If you are not careful, yours will come before hers

• KELEWELE 1 day ago

@Prudhomme - Ghanaians are unintelligent

OBVIOUSLY, it is the Ashantis who are "unintelligent".
    The Ghana government was not a party to the decision to "appoint" an old woman to the position. So, why don't you say so?

• KO 1 day ago

Yes, your funeral.

• kweku 1 day ago

Soo disrespectful and bad comment. In life everyone has a chance of succeeding whether young or old. You are not God

• Yaw Manu 1 day ago

Nonsense. How does What kind of comment is this.

• NMG 1 day ago

YOOOOOOOOOOOOOO WE HEAR

• kulbogo 1 day ago

Nonsense Ghana web, why must this be made breaking news, i am beginning to lose interest in reading news on this web site,

• Kk 1 day ago

You mother vagina ok.

• AsempaNia 1 day ago

Ashanti ba couoywo

• AsempaNia 1 day ago

Kk, we see you.
    An uneducated ignorant mess.
    An Ashanti ni with an empty brain, no oxygen ?

• Trokosi devil worshipper 1 day ago

Without the work of an Ashanti, Dr. Thomas Mensah, your stupid self won't be able to type and post your stupid shit for people to read.

• Mr Smith 1 day ago

Please ask again and again ooo! Even if Mahama marries his side chick it will not be breaking news!

• Kwame 1 day ago

Petty people like you make the kingdom more relevant. Keep hating

• Hatred & Jealousy. The day of proper reckoning will come. 1 day ago

Why don't you stop reading Ghanaweb; fool without brains in your dummy head. Ask your dieing grand father if he is still alive what your Kwame Nkrumah did to the unsuspecting Ashantis. Raise that your village chief to that hi ...

• Felix Larbi 1 day ago

Kulbogo go away, you're been consumed by hatred. I think you'd not have been so angry if Ghanaweb was reporting on a Fanti, Ewe or GA queen. I am a Guan, but not bothered by news about a queen from another tribe. Why so much ...

• Custom Auction 1 day ago

To all the "Clearing Agent, Dealers And Individual Buyers",
    This Is The Privilege you have been looking For To Own a Vehicle Of Your Choice At Affordable Auction Rate Approved By The Federal Government.. .. CALL OR WHATSA ...

• Abelenkpe Mayor 1 day ago

Nobody has a problem with Ga Matse being called a king but people have a problem with Otumfuo being called a king

• NNKN 1 day ago

Please leave Ga people out of this…

• Kofi Amoako 1 day ago

The frequent reference to 'kingdoms' in the Ghanaian context needs to stop. By definition, a kingdom is a sovereign territory, state, or community ruled by a monarch, such as a king or queen. Ghana is a constitutional republi ...

• KELEWELE 1 day ago

@Kofi Amoako

ANOTHER waste pipe....
    The Otumfuo has over 66 other chiefs under him. How can he be a chief?
    F*ck off with your s*upid constititional republic.

"Kofi Amoako my as*"

• Seaman Jane&finch canda 1 day ago

Ghana web stop the nonsense by calling Ashanti region a kingdom. Tell the children the truth. Also stop calling a chief a king. If you guys has been to school none of you will call a chief a king.Period.

• The Devil’s Advocate 1 day ago

And here I was throughout my entire education made to believe that the queen always had to be the king’s wife.
    Apparently not the case with this kingdom.Either I must be silly or it must be a strange or most unusual kingdo ...

• Andrew 1 day ago

You are clearly undereducated! It’s common Akan practice not just Ashanti

• Kotipo 1 day ago

It is not a strange kingdom. The Asantehemaa is the Queen Mother of Ashanti.

• Has There Being a Law to Overcome Custom?! 1 day ago

The Chieftancy customs were in existence before Ghana so unless there is a specific law enacted to deal with a particular custom, that custom stays put!

• Link up for bank loading mt103 Flash your usdt here German banks loading loading ceredit cards in usa German UK fixed credit score meet Russian hk in German 1 day ago

Bank wire transfer to all countries wasap +447853053870 wasap me or E-Mail me hamzaben.d@hackermail.com
    Chase bank
    UBA bank
    First bank
    Capital one bank ...

• Fatcobra 1 day ago

Aaah Nana, why do you select older women

• Of 1 day ago

Young people must be encouraged to serve as kings and queens for the age of Metusilla has nothing with wisdom. Please avoid plenty funerals

• SURVIVAL. 1 day ago

This modern world,why always enstoolling grandmas as leaders whilst the young ones are there?A typical archaic culture.Bullshit.

• AK 1 day ago

Great. Tradition continues. Here, nobody can have the audacity to say no.

• Kofi One 1 day ago

She is the granddaughter of Asantehene Agyeman Prempeh I so she is a descent from the male line. Why was the asantehema not chosen from the matrilineal side as is the custom?

• Kwa 1 day ago

But you don't know who her mother is. So how can you ask such a question?

• Kofi One 1 day ago

I am not asante, I am asking so someone can provide clarity. Is there anything wrong with asking a genuine question without malice? Why are people so hostile these days

Maybe she's more qualified from a maternal background.

• Ivory Mensah 1 day ago

How many years can a 129years old lady rule. Or its a strategy.

• Kwa 1 day ago

Some fools here are more interested in who the next pope will be, but will insult those who this installation is of fundamental importance to.

Simply because they are brainwashed imbeciles

• Yaw Sango 1 day ago

Otumfour want to do another big funeral and cash out he will never chose young lady who will be there for long, God will decide who will go first.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 1 day ago

I am glad for the Asante people. There was no fight or drawing of weaponry here. Let the other ethnic groups learn from here.

• SHORT MEMORIES 1 day ago

We the Ashantis say Otumfuo is our KING. So what is the problem with these fools who don't us to call him KING? Is it jealousy or stupidity? LONG LIVE THE ASHANTI KINGDOM AND LONG LIVE OUR KING.

• Jefie 1 day ago

The Assmthene is a paramount chief and has no majestic al title and furthermore the Ashanti region is also not monarchy’s to claim the region as a kingdom the UK deserve to be called Kingdom because it has monarchy and a m ...

• OZYMANDIAS 1 day ago

Why always an old woman? Aren’t there any younger women in the Asante Royal family?

• Paa Pee 1 day ago

The Asantehemaa is supposed to be the mother of the King and the mother of the clan. She can not even be called a Queen in English circles as she is not the wife of the queen. But we do not care as it is their custom.