'If you open your shop, you will be on fire' - Minister warns ahead of clean-up

Read Comments Comments (68)

• AK 2 days ago

This is an ad hoc measure. By Monday, the gutters will be choked again. What matters is that there must be comprehensive education on sanitation, starting from kindergarten. It's about time people are jailed for irresponsible ...

• Omanbapa 2 days ago

You are simply stupid, @AK. Who in Ghana today can claim that they have not heard, or do not know the hazards of dumping refuse everywhere? Village boy like you!

• Kwaku 2 days ago

Omanbaoa, it the same thing as insults. Who doesn't know insults are bad. But you are proud to pick up your phone to tyos insulting comments. You see that you are embarrassed now?
    AK is right, sanitation education must be ta ...

• Ghanaman 2 days ago

May God give our leaders wisdom and common sense to run this country. No government can force anyone, except prisoners and its employees, to do any work at any time. The government doesn't feed, clothe and house me and my fam ...

• Osei Kwabena 2 days ago

Yes, you have said it all.

• Useless Ho Airport 2 days ago

This is military government foolishness. The president has spoken, but only law can force somebody not to open his shop. The military can only be there if they are part of the cleaning exercise. They can't be there just to ...

• Karikakchar 2 days ago

It's great for us to adopt a clean environment culture and great if that's led by the president but has the president got the constitutional right to impose that?

• Kwaku Tee 2 days ago

This behaviour will surely provoke ppl not to come out and take part in the cleanup, just sell the idea to them and let them feel how important it's. If JJ Rawlings Military style approach did not work in his 19yrs rule how d ...

• Kisangani 2 days ago

Hey, @Kwaku Tee kromfuor. Did you say this directive will provoke people ?? Aaaahh, foolish boy you! Have we not provoked you already with our electoral tsunami that we visited on your collapsing party? You idiots have alread ...

• Nee 2 days ago

Those of usni villages have more sense and dignity than you who thinks being in the city makes you wise. The first thing you did on someone post is to insult him.

• Nii 2 days ago

Same old practice that late KK Rawlings used to do in the 80s which never solved our sanitation problems..NDC just do not have critical thinkers All they know is how to amass wealth

• THIS MONEY-MAKING SKILL GUARANTEES DAILY CASH FLOW FOR YOU- LEARN HOW 2 days ago

BE URGENT about turning your life around throughtechnicalskill acquisition. Do it today, not tomorrow. Smart people are cashing out fixing what everyone uses: Smart Phones! Think about it - everyone has a phone, and everyone ...

• Lori 2 days ago

Impotent idiot.

• Owan Yaw aka Teteman Ubi 2 days ago

So nobody should open their shops simply because President Mahama will be involved in a cleanup operation? Will the President be feeding those whose shops remain closed? And will opened shops impede the cleanup exercise? Ghan ...

• Kimono 2 days ago

Odompo Kwasia ba @Owan Yaw! Go and open your shop and let me catch you there. Foolish NPP dogs

• Kwaku 2 days ago

Can you not express your views intellectually? Must you resort to savagery comments?

• Ruthan 2 days ago

NDC party just do not have CRITICAL THINKERS. When you match the entire Jubilee House staff to 14 year old Japanese or Russian kids They will fail miserably

• Araba Kwantsima 2 days ago

Was it not your darling idol.... Nana Akuffo Addo... who failed every single exam that he wrote in his lifetime..?? What does that tell you? Bodamfuor ba @Ruthan

• GB 2 days ago

Thanks bro. He think like a kid. Where is the tax taken from the landlords and land ladies?
    Aside that you taxed all the street sellers without providing bins for them. Now you want use force for something they have alrea ...

• POMPEII 2 days ago

@GB bodamfuor ba! Onyaaye gbemi kafu-kafu..%%.

Under your your stupid and criminal chimpanzee Akuffo Addo's dictatorship, we were fully paying our taxes, as well as participating in every national cleanup exercise that wa ...

• Log d 2 days ago

I'm seeing Fumigation contract over bloated by 500 million dollars, after that committee will be formed to investigate the over bloated contract.

• THIS MINISTER IS A BOOTLICKER 2 days ago

The cleanup is not compulsory but voluntary you dumb arse licking minister! We live in a democratic dispensation where the president's authority must be backed by law and not authoritarian decrees.

We pay all these taxes ...

• KO 2 days ago

The SDA Church members will do their work on Friday and go to worship the Creator God Almighty on Saturday. Thank you.

• Traders, next time vote wisely 2 days ago

To avoid such blatant misuse of power. Instead of releasing funds for desilting of drains by the NDC govt, now traders are being punished.

• Kotipo 2 days ago

So, how are traders expected to make money to feed their families? Asɛm ohhh.

• CUSTOM AUCTION IS UP AGAIN AND GRANTING ALLAFRICA THE PRIVILEGE TO GET ANY CAR OF MY CHOICE AT AFFORDABLE RATES . 2 days ago

To all the "Clearing Agent, Dealers And Individual Buyers",
    This Is The Privilege you have been looking For To Own a Vehicle Of Your Choice At Affordable Auction Rate Approved By The Federal Government.. .. CALL OR WHATSA ...

• Yaw 2 days ago

I don’t understand the minister, , why should the traders shut their shops tor two days, is the government going to feed them and their families for two days and pay their bills as well. At least they can help to clean fro ...

• Citizen Vigilante 2 days ago

I hope the directive is backed by law. Because the fact that the president has spoken alone doesn't make it a law art 1:1of the 1992 Constitution. The speech of the president alone is not justifiable

• June 2 days ago

Master stop this law law matter. Our eye red.

• June 2 days ago

Master stop this law law matter. Our eye red.

• June 2 days ago

Master, stop this Law Law matter. Our eye is red.

• Nana 2 days ago

Lazy and confused jornalisym..no date of the said clean up to update the people

• COR BLIMEY 2 days ago

Mr. President, please ensure that EVERY STRUCTURE AND HOUSE on the waterways and wetlands is DEMOLISHED at once without fear or favour! Everything else is secondary or nothing but lip service and settings nkoa!

• Dictionary 2 days ago

"Lip service" is an idiom for publicly supporting or agreeing with an idea in words, but taking no actual action to back it up

• OZYMANDIAS 2 days ago

Are we now in the military regime era?

• Nee 2 days ago

The minister should tell Ghanaians under what law is he speaking with arrogance and threatening citizens.

• DSTV Minister 2 days ago

This reminds me of Military rule eras in our country. This must have been planned with representatives of traders associations and the like which coupled with public education. A typical stop gap measure which in the long ru ...

• Koti 2 days ago

He's jokingly joking, is this a solution?

• Bukpo James 2 days ago

The President should release the Military to the streets to monitor the clean up excesses. That will enable market owners not to open their shop

• Roasted dragon tail and banku 2 days ago

This guy always rants like a cuckoo. Very very stupid , rubbish coming out of his mouth always

• Afriyie 2 days ago

This is one of the most foolish things to say to Ghanaians. Do they think Ghanaians have been waiting for them to come and clean up after the floods? People have already cleaned their homes and shops and have moved on, trying ...

• Mr Green 2 days ago

There's no country under the sun that has to close it's capital for cleaning up the city.This shows we are failed nation.There have to be a systematic cleaning everyday in the capital.Do we even know that we can generate powe ...

• Sansiro 2 days ago

The shops and market should close the whole 2 days or 8am -10am.?

• Tricky Pandy 2 days ago

Who will be doing the cleaning with all stores and shops closed. I hope the minister will find a way to 'force' people out to carry on the cleaning. Cheap shot indeed

• Esa 2 days ago

Listen to the idiot. Put in proper measures and stop your idiotic comments.

• Kk 2 days ago

Yhis will not solve the flooding crisis. Cant our so call leaders think? This nationsl cleaning has been implemented before , but did not solve the problem.

• Citizen 2 days ago

Good initiative but l think public education is most needed to improve upon sanitation issues in the country. 5 hours a week must be devoted by every media houses, from kg to universities, government institutions, ngo’s and ...

• KWASI IN EUROPE 2 days ago

He is exaggerating the small political appointment he has.

• Peters 2 days ago

Too big head Need to speak professionally aba

• Peters 2 days ago

Mr Ahmed did you take shower this morning?

• Joe 2 days ago

Which law?

• CV 2 days ago

YOUR MORDA'S LAW,,,,,,,

• Joe 2 days ago

The president is the commander in chief so he's the law and the constitution?
    If you have a minister who can only operate under the dictatorship of a president, this is what you get.
    You shallow brain didn't allow you to ...

• Ksth 2 days ago

Old school theory nnkoaaa! Rawlings did all that and where are we today?. Just don’t be a one day dictator!

• Amusing Shameeeee 2 days ago

Confrontational. Bad precedent. Another party has internal elections and you chose same day for your exercise

• KOFI tamale 2 days ago

WE ARE NOW IN APOLICE STATE. GOD HELP US

• Milestone 2 days ago

Am hoping otumfuo can also tell Kumasi people to go out and clean the environment. Paul archived the cleaners country in Africa right now by asking his people to come out once every month to clean. Is very sad that most of o ...

• Efo Kofi 2 days ago

This man is mad close shops and market for 2days KWAASHIAA BUULU

• Bbk 2 days ago

You guys should stop these stupidity. This thing is simply waste collections is the issue and you guys are the problem. Allow companies with capacity to handle collections.

• Stan 2 days ago

$WORK & PAY CARS.

☎️0544951674☎️

* 3 years Payment Plan.

* ⁠No Deposit.

* Toyota Vitz : 90000(Total Cost) / 600(Weekly) / 2500(Monthly).

* Toyota Yaris : 120000(Total Cost) / 700(Weekly) / 3500(Mont ...

• Dzool 2 days ago

Absolutely nonsense ghanaian mentality Mahama almighty has spoken so every one must bow down. Mahama has no clue what he is doing. Where are they going to empty garbage collected from the drains. It is the responsibility of ...

• Dzool 2 days ago

Absolutely nonsense ghanaian mentality Mahama almighty has spoken so every one must bow down. Mahama has no clue what he is doing. Where are they going to empty garbage collected from the drains. It is the responsibility of ...

• Kwab 2 days ago

The minister, the president and all public personel will surely collect their salaries at the end of the month, what about the shop owners whose pays tax to pay the failed institution that is responsible for the sanitation sh ...

• FOX 2 days ago

The clean-up exercise is very good but the Minister should tell majority of Ghanaians how to dispose of the rubbish collected. I live at Danfa but there's no single container there to pour rubbish into, nor have I ever seen a ...

• Nana 1 day ago

This should not be a 3-day wonder. They will talk about it as if Jesus is coming. After one or two times, that will be the end of it. It should be a continuous exercise each month. I remember during one of the military regime ...

• kwame niger 1 day ago

the only issue i have is they will leave the rubbish u attended after the task and wash back in to the drainage system again. that has been the major set back over the period

• Omanba 1 day ago

Is our the Country Ghana sick or the leaders that don’t know what they are doing? Will the ministers be paid for those two?Remember most people work in the informal sector. How would they feed themselves or and the families ...

• Sam, Bern 1 day ago

Nonsense! How do we pay our workers and taxes. What has the MMDAs doing with business permit fees that they collect?