Rare photo of Acheampong, Utuka moments before execution resurfaces

Read Comments Comments (75)

• OGyam 1 week ago

@Evil Kalabule thrived under them. Thousands of innocents Ghanaians died under that rapacious and greedy system.. I will never shed a tear for those who were executed. I will scream "Let the blood again" if eco-terrorists s ...

• Atta Kay 1 week ago

Ghanaians need more of these pictures to remind us of our bad history.They Govt shd make Portraits of these pictures and paste it in front of Jubilee House & Parliament to remind us of the Zoo where Rawlings took us.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 1 week ago

WHAT DID ACHEAMPONG, UTUKA, AKUFFO, ODARTE WELLINGTON, AFRIFA AND A HOST OF OTHERS STEAL?????
    TODAY SAME NDC ARE SEEN THROWING/DISHING OUT DOLLARS ON OUR STREETS LIKE CONFETTI AT THE SAME TIME FILING SOMETHING CALLED “NOL ...

MAY GOD FORGIVE NDC FOR THEIR CRIMES AGAINST THE PEOPLE OF GHANA!!!

#24-HR ECONOMY, OBIARA BEDIDI!! 1-3-3 GAME CHANGER. NDC ARE JUST SCAMMERS!! HOOLIGANS!!! LIARS!! PROPAGANDISTS!! FRAUDSTERS!! CORRUPT!!
    MAY GOD FORGIVE NDC FOR THEIR CRIMES AGAINST THE PEOPLE OF GHANA!!!
    LONG LIVE THE DIGIT ...

• Dr....Mumbi Seraki 1 week ago

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own .life or someone's .life with medicine. For instance 15 tramadol at once.....or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.

I CAN SEE SANGLEMI WITH MY EYES!! WHAT DID THOSE PEOPLE NDC KILLED STEAL???? I WANT TO KNOW!!

• TRUTH 1 week ago

Our problems started in 1966 not 1979. 1979 was just a result of 1966.

I can also see more stealing from Agenda 111, school feeding under the free shs, in fact, millions of dollars found under Cecilia Dapaah's bed, money b ...

• Mark My Words 1 week ago

Don't worry, the day of reckoning is coming!

• AND WHERE IS JJ RAWLINGS TODAY? 1 week ago

Killing them was pointless and wicked.

• Ayigbenii kwaseato 1 week ago

You Ayigbes steal and turn around to blame others to take attention from you thieves.

WHERE ARE THE NDC AMBULANCES. IT IS CLEAR THEY ARE NOT HERE!!! LET US BE CAREFUL IN THIS COUNTRY!!!!

• SHORT MEMORIES 1 week ago

J.J RAWLINGS was asked by a journalist why Afrifa was executed and the answer was because he was provocative. When I compare Afrifa's small house in his hometown and JJ's houses in Accra and in the Volta region, I always ask ...

• The Spear 1 week ago

Get away, Afrifa was a gold thief, so stop boring our ears! We were around when those things happen even being very young. Didn't he sign a loan agreement with the US immediately after the coup that ousted Nkrumah? Why was he ...

• Ayigbenii kwaseato 1 week ago

Kwaseato. Afrifa stole your gold, ofui. Even if what you are alleging has any scintilla of credibily, he stole Asante gold, and not Trokosi gold. The only gold Trokosis can boast of is Keta school boys.

• ROMOLUS 1 week ago

Why is a toerag like you still allowed to comment on social media in 2026?

• Azure 1 week ago

The Akans prompted Rawlings through his Akan wife to kill their own people. Utuka, Amedume and others were mistakingly added to them. Ghanaians don't learn, they can only talk blablabla like the parrot.

• EFO KOKU 1 week ago

JEALOUSY LEADS TO BEING A MURDERER
    @OGyam———-The jealousy that made those junior officers killed those Generals still lives in members of the same Ndc today. If I ask you what these generals stole, can you tell me? Ac ...

• SHORT MEMORIES 1 week ago

All those murderers are now burning in hell.

• OGyam 1 week ago

@ EFO, you are definitely not intellectually inclined to realise that
    "Bad governance " led the loss of thousands innocent lives. Revolutions do not occur in a vacuum. It happened in France, England, Russia etc someth ...

• The Spear 1 week ago

Leave him. If he wants a list of what those guys stole, he will get one. But for the coup, Ghana would probably have been sold to the Lebanese and Indians in the country. They were ferrying millions of dollars whitewashed in ...

• Mark My Words 1 week ago

Afrifa was far worse! He went from Major to Lieutenant General in one fell swoop! Shocking!

• kwaseato 1 week ago

Didn't bad governance under Sasabonsam Rawlings lead to people dying for not being able to pay to receive medical care, odwan. Before Rawlings, going to hospital for medical care was free. I personally know a very beautiful w ...

• EFO KOKU 5 days ago

JEALOUSY GO SHAME
    @OGyam———you’ve boldly mentioned all these countries who have learnt from their mistakes and now practicing conscientious democracy. Democracy that respects the rights of individuals. Has Ndc learnt ...

• Abokyi 1 week ago

Foolish wicked prevailed during that period, and nothing came out of that. Their lives remained the same. God have mercy on Ghanaians.

• Pelicles 1 week ago

OGyam, you are too emotional. Look at then and now, and the evolution of society. How many radio stations do we have in Ghana then as compares to today? What about the internet, social media and its interaction with humans? I ...

• OGyam 1 week ago

@Pelicles, it seems as if you have never understood the word "emotional"
    Kalabule thrived under my own 4ucking eyes under Acheampong" s useless leadership at the expense of many and you are telling me nonsense!What good i ...

• Aponkye 1 week ago

Did kalabule stop after their execution. It became even worse under Sasabonsam Rawlings including himself

• MINOR CASE 1 week ago

So Rawlings came executed these people and solved the corruption problem ? He sold state enterprises to cronies- his wife had the Nsawam Cannery and his cousin Michael Soussoudis had the Aboso Glass Factory, collapsed privite ...

• National funds are holy 1 week ago

Africa must emulate China.
    Any government official who embezzles state funds or steals state funds, plus corrupt politicians must be shot dead if caught.
    This is the ONLY way Africa will change. Look at how much money was r ...

• Cool 1 week ago

Hardly would you hear of any country where Leaders of a Revolution benefited from it. Lenin & Stalin never left behind any house or any property but their work they left behind justified the executions that took place under t ...

• Jaja 1 week ago

Those who took over from them became more corrupt. Animal Farm has played out in Ghana over and over again

• TRUTH 1 week ago

Of course, I would not say some members of the pndc were not corrupt but Ghana needed a break.

Just look at way their kids are back stealing like they don't care.

The house cleaning exercise was very necessary.

I ...

• LET THE BLOOD FLOW 1 week ago

True dat but we need another bloody house cleaning exercise in our politics now to deal ruthlessly with all the leeches who have looted our country since 1992

• Yaok 1 week ago

Get your facts right, Acheampongs NRC was toppled in palace coup by Gen.Akuffo and co.

• Sethoo 1 week ago

I even doubt the educational background he wrote about late Gen I K Acheampong, I read somewhere that he was once teacher

• Afetor Kwasi 1 week ago

You're right. They don't know our history because they don't read.

• Jack 1 week ago

You are telling the Ghanaweb to get its facts right but you're doing the same. Gen Akuffo who was 2nd in command in the to Acheampong did not overthrow National Redemption Council (NRC). In October 1975, the NRC was changed t ...

• AHEM 1 week ago

LET THE BLOOD FLOW! Those were the days when men were men and had balls and bula mataris!

• Kennedy Agyepong 1 week ago

Ghanaweb shame unto u.Are u bringing the pictures to remind us of atrocities committed by Rawlings and his PNDC or to rub salt into the wounds of families of those killed? You are the writing nonsense so that people will buy ...

• OGyam 1 week ago

@Massa, the was nothing called PNDC in Ghana in June 1979.

• Reuben Addo 1 week ago

Ignatius Kutu Acheampong born on September 23, 1931 at Nwamase enlisted in the Ghana Armed Forces in 1953 and rose through the ranks by dint of dedication to duty.

On March 17, 1958, he entered the Regular Officers' Specia ...

• CUSTOM AUCTION IS UP AGAIN AND GRANTING ALLAFRICA THE PRIVILEGE TO GET ANY CAR OF MY CHOICE AT AFFORDABLE RATES APPROVED BY THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT . 1 week ago

SOME CAR LIST BELOW.
    Golf 3K GHS __ 5K GHS

TOKUNBO CARS BELOW :�

2008 Corolla Sport 9K GHS

• Oh 1 week ago

Utuka was Emmanuel not Edward

• Apoo 1 week ago

Do you think we care?

• Mark Pepper 1 week ago

Rather unfortunate. The offence which they were found guilty of, was tripped by the so called messiah of that day. For what did we see afterwards? Corruption was the main charge.
    There is no need to go deep. Hmm! How many ...

• Pelicles 1 week ago

Where are those who committed such heinous crimes, are they still living and how do they look like? JJ, Kojo Tsikata, Kofi Awoonor, Boakye Djan, are they still alive?

No matter how hungry you are, you cannot eat with your ...

• Papillon5 1 week ago

Bring back firing squad. Ghana needs it badly.

• Ewvevi 1 week ago

Is this necessary at this time? This is a very painful past that we all wish to forget. Please ghanaweb, this is not needed now.

• tinubus saggy testicles 1 week ago

PAINFUL PAST COMMITTED BY
    A TROKOSI IMBECILE WHO
    JUST TOOK US BACK TO THE
    STONE AGE....

• Nana yaw 1 week ago

And corruption still exist in Ghana and among Ghanaian leaders, hmmm

• Nana 1 week ago

This is a sad and shameful history of our country. Rawlings killed these people in the name of a revolution to stop corruption. He, Rawlings ended up being rich, and his family richest right now is an indication of how he g ...

• Twe 1 week ago

WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN WHAT THEY STOLE AND PEOPLE TAKING DOUBLE SALARY FOR SOME TIME ?

• Raphael Abeam US 1 week ago

What was the result after killing all those big men in Ghana. Has things changed. Very wicked people with wicked minds. I wonder why people still follow these people

• Northern Boy 1 week ago

They paid for crime against the state. It doesn't matter whether things have changed or not. A criminal is a criminal and crime is crime.

• Frodo 1 week ago

Who writes this? Acheampong was not ousted in 79. He wasousted in 78 by sycophants led by Gen. Akuffo. Get your facts right

• Shameless Ghanaweb 1 week ago

Why post such an idiotic image? If a mentally retarded kwasea share such images with you, why publish it for the whole World to see?

• Accra is dirty.com 1 week ago

We don't want any memory please

• Northern Boy 1 week ago

All hardcore nation wreckers deserve this kind of punishment. Thousands or millions die as a result of thrir assault on national resources

• Koti 1 week ago

Very callous, things have gotten worse.

• Achakanapaya 1 week ago

And so what????
    If there should be a coup today, hmmmmm.
    Alot of casualties will happen.
    All these so called lawyers who are defending criminals will never go free.
    Some political Judges will suffer, the political class w ...

• Bassaw 1 week ago

It's very unfortunate they were killed that way! Their souls are in heaven by now!

• Manu Dabanka 1 week ago

It isn't true that Acheampong's government was ended by Rawlings's coup. Acheampong's government was overthrown in 1978 through a Palace coup led by General Frederick Akuffo, who was then the Chief of Defence Staff of Acheamp ...

• Kennedy Agyepong 1 week ago

Ghanaweb please remove these pictures. It's very sad in our history

• Ivory Mensah 1 week ago

Why should these hurtful images keep on making headlines. Do the publishers want to keep reminding us of the feelings we're trying hard to heal from ? Why.....Why....why ???

• Kofiga 1 week ago

Acheampong was ten times better than corrupt Rawlings and his evil PNDC/NDC group. He left Ghana with a lasting legacy. Including Keneshie Estate,Nugua Estate, Dansoman Estate, Patasi Estate, Buokrom Estate, Operation feed o ...

• Nsor 1 week ago

What is the rational behind this posting this story. Idiocy and mediocrity

• nii 1 week ago

A REMINDER OF THE TRIBUNAL SYSTEM. PNDC TO NDC

• No Mercy 1 week ago

Please Show this Fotos to Rawlings Senator

• KB US 1 week ago

Well, finally where are those who caused their deaths, accountability is awaiting for us all, may their souls rest in peace.

• Azure 1 week ago

Ghanaweb should stop opening old wounds. Their families will not be happy. We should rather teach our children to be of good conduct.

• Billy Bones 1 week ago

It's very very sad,and I bow my head in shame,their execution has brought no change in fighting against corruption even JJ educated all his children in UK,they went to the best schools,and he had 3 solid mansions,with more th ...

• Sammino 1 week ago

This is inhuman

• Sammino 1 week ago

Kill your fellow humanbeing today and the rest of years of his added to yours evev thousand years , definitely you will also die.

• Kwame 1 week ago

Is their crime different what we’re seeing today. A poor and never worked guy get govt job when their party comes to power and within four years they become so rich. What can explain this occurrence?