'I have just parted ways with him' – Palgrave confirms Wontumi's transfer to Nsawam Prison

Read Comments Comments (114)

• Truth Table 4 days ago

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. (Matthew 11:28) ,,,,, ..
    ... ,,

• TAKE OR PAY DEMON 4 days ago

The judgement of the court shows there was travesty of justice. How the judge raised the veil of incorporation with a flimsy excuse is baffling. This trial should have been handled by a commercial court.

• Konkontiba 4 days ago

Onyaaye gbemi Twenedurase. Do you know more than Wontumi"s lawyers?? Gyimifuor kromfuor, when are you idiots going to stop hailing irredeemable thieves??

• Paul Afoko 4 days ago

Cry blooood Cry blooood. NPP Nkwaseafour Cry blooood. Animals Cry blooood. Cow face Bawumia Cry blooood. Animals party. Gyimie Gyimie Bawumia cry bloood. You can't do foko

• AK 4 days ago

@Paul Afoko and Konkontiba, I am sure your trainer is Kevin Taylor. Go ahead with your unbridled tongues. Your insults will come back to you one day. Remember the law of karma? Wise up.

• DotCom 4 days ago

Although I do not believe in a long time incarceration, I am glad that the government is holding criminals accountable. Let the public see the evidence against Wontumi to help dispel the perception of political interference.

• Your abuse back to you in droves 4 days ago

. The law court has found him guilty. The illegality he was doing affected your own people. Sit there and cry for nothing. He will pay the price for what he did. Simple as that. Crime does not pay.

• Senseless Nonsense 4 days ago

You are citing the Law of Karma, AK?AK47 rifle bullets were riddled fatally into 18 human beings in Techiman. Did you know of Karma that time? What a grave Senseless Nonsense!

• BUILDING THE GHANA WE WANT 4 days ago

Clearly this judgement was politically and tribally motivated. If this is the Ghana we want, then it's very sad and very dangerous. The next general election could easily turn Ghana into a civil war. Because no political par ...

• COBBLERS 4 days ago

You cannot be serious! Why are fools like you still allowed to comment on social media in 2026?

• Ghana ba 4 days ago

Building the Ghana we want are u a serious person at all? Were u in this counter when the former minister of lands under Akuffo Addo said akonta mining was engaged in illegal mining just for the president then came to rescue ...

A phool like you.Putting a spin on the judgement will not work. Playing the tribal card? Galamsey hurts your tribe more- Think small- ok?

• Efo Kofi 4 days ago

Kokotiba your useless father and mother should have raise you well aboabiba yakame

• Ablaze Word Assem. 4 days ago

The NPP is the most dangerous organization in Ghanaian politics, these bunch hypocrites must be under constant scrutiny to prevent Ghana from descending into chaos and anarchy. These people must never be trusted.

Clearly this judgement was politically and tribally motivated. If this is the Ghana we want, then it's very sad and very dangerous. The next general election could easily turn Ghana into a civil war. Because no political par ...

• Nsiboye 4 days ago

Couldn't have said it any better

• Koo Manu 4 days ago

@Take or Pay Demon
    There is no trade-off to support Wontumi as a political leader. What kind of tangible results makes you support a politician who has infiltrated a virgin forest to destroy the water bodies and the land.
    I ...

• Ghanaman 1 4 days ago

@ Koo Manu. Very well said. All sensible clear thinking Ghanaians will applaud your comments.

Clearly this your comment is one sided approach to the canker at hand. Admitted this illegal mining is a national emergency, but simple singlling out one person ,a major opposition political personality to used as a sacrifice ...

• TWEAA DC 4 days ago

KOCUVIE-TAY?...NO DOUBT ABOUT THAT...HOPE JOHN MAHAMA RULES FOREVER...TWEAA.

• Kwabena Duku 4 days ago

The issues does not end here Procedurally he has a right of appeal if the legal team thinks fit that is to say have a solid ground

Go and release him from nsawam. Eediort.

• Kom 4 days ago

Gerrout

• Kofi 4 days ago

Glorifying thievery. The man has done wrong but his friends and cronies see nothing wrong with it. Eiiiiiii Ghana

• CHAUCER 4 days ago

AYIGBE JUDGE
    With an ayigbe judge superintending over Wontumi’s case, he had no chance being declared innocent. Ayigbes hate Akans for no reason. It’s a fact.

• You’ve run out of excuses 4 days ago

Every thief uses tribalism to shield wrong doing.

• Azerbaijan 4 days ago

Nobody hates the Akans. Only an idiot like you will make that erroneous comment. The Law is the Law.

• Kwesi 4 days ago

Assuming without agreeing that, that’s the law as you put it, what Law set FREE all NDC POLITICIANS who had cases pending in the courts on the assumption of NDC into office in January 2025?

• Grandpa Eric 4 days ago

Are super sure this is tribalism?

• KKX 3 days ago

Yes, this ayigbe judge is the best. She hates thieves and nation wreckers. She must be given the highest honor of the land.

• Abbey 4 days ago

The defence were shocked because they believed Lawyer Atta Akyea delayed tactics of filling appeal at Supreme Court and writing a letter to say they should wait for him to come back from his trip abroad. They deceived Wontumi ...

• Bad_fa 4 days ago

Atta Akyea is a suspect himself & must be brought to book.Npp caused so much to this rich but poor country.
    The politicians are raping the country & the system is allowing them to go freely.
    The justices must help cleanse t ...

• K Poku-London-UK 4 days ago

In 1964, J B Danquah was caught conniving with the CIA to overthrow our democracy. J B Danquah had a speech prepared when Dr Kwame Nkrumah was nearly assassinated and bombed several times-leading to several Ghanaians dying th ...

Akuffo Addo used us ASHANTIS 8000% for the 8 YEARS. Yesterday- I WAS VERY SAD. IF I GET THE CHANCE TO MEET TANI, ARROGANT, WEE SMOKER DISMISSED FROM THE OXFORD UNIVERSITY IN HIS FIRST SEMESTER, After attending Lancing College ...

===AKUFFO ADDO STOLE GHANA MONEY £900 MILLION POUNDS STERLING

KEN OFORI ATTA STOLE GHANA MONEY £400 MILLION POUNDS STERLING

ATTA KYEA-AKUFFO ADDO BROTHER STOLE GHANA MONEY £650 MILLION POUNDS STERLING

EDWARD AKUFF ...

• L€ARN A MONEY-MAKING SKILL THAT GUARANTEES DAILY CASH FLOW FOR YOU- LEARN HOW 4 days ago

EMPOWER YOURSELF TO €ARN CASH DAILY! Exchange a service for money. LET there be URGENCY in your quest to turn your life around through technical skill acquisition. Do it today, not tomorrow. Smart people are cashing out fix ...

• NANA TRUMU TRUMU ADDO 4 days ago

NPP NKWASEASEM. NPP. JAILED NDC MEMBERS AND THEY DIED IN PRISON. WONTUMI HAS CAUSED SO MUCH ATROCITIES IN THIS COUNTRY AND WOE BETIDES ASANTEHENE OR MAHAMA SHOULD THEY PLEAD FOR HIS RELEASE

• Frank Agyena-Karikari. 4 days ago

I don’t think any person in Authority will plead for his release. He has done the crime so let him do the time. Is he happy that all water in our rivers have turned brown and he keeps on making more babies without thinking ...

• anokwale 4 days ago

@Frank Agyena-Karkari. Please show me where you live in the US. I want to fly and come and exchange hot blows with you, because you are so annoying.

• JANKROMAH 4 days ago

@anokwale
    He lives at
    1601 Pennsylvania Avenue in DC (next to Trump)
    Now hurry up, before he changes his apartment wae.

• anokwale 4 days ago

What is the Zip code?

• Frank Agyena-Karikari. 4 days ago

Hahahaha. My zip code is 911. Hurry up because Uncle Sam’s Kofi and immigration agents will be waiting to ship your arse back to Ghana. I now live in Toronto, next to Asiedu Nketsia’s house where his wife and children liv ...

Thats if you are strong enough.

• Link up USA Canada Australian for bank loading mt103 Flash your usdt here German banks loading loading ceredit cards in usa German UK fixed credit score meet Russian hk in German 4 days ago

This content has been reported as offensive. Click to read at your own peril.

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 4 days ago

NPP TREATED MAHAMA AND HIS FAMILY WITH KIDS GLOVES. NOW BLAME THIS ON YOUR OWN NEGLIGENCE!

WHOSE MINING CONCESSION WAS MAJOR MAHAMA AND HIS TEAM OF MILITARY OFFICERS GUARDING BACK IN 2017 WHEN HE LOST HIS LIFE? WASN’T T ...

• Konkontiba 4 days ago

Heerrhh, @Stephen Donkey Julorbi....!!!! Wo ho fii s3 "I Shall Return...!!!!."

Kwaseato gyimifuor! You don't have any better use of your time. See the long nonsense that you have poured out here, when you could have spent ...

• Bad_fa 4 days ago

So, Julius Debrah the Chief of staff helped Ofori Atta run away from the country to face justice.
    Mahama allow the system to work & don’t protect anyone.
    Samira Bawumia & co. took monies from Masloc & Exim bank & the stat ...

• NAG 4 days ago

In every situation, there must be sacrifice lamb, your wontumi have sacrifice himself for galamsey, had fool a lot.
    Maybe he can brag better in prison.

• Konfo 4 days ago

@Sephen Donkor. Where were you when Kuffuor was putting NDC members, not to say ministers in jail? Tsatsu Tsikata was arrested in church, fast track judged and sent to jail. For what? It's only Kuffuor and your evil NPP party ...

• Yao 4 days ago

Not too long ago, Chairman Wontumi sais he would purchase Chelsea FC of England for 3 billion pounds !!! Now he is in jail for engaging in galamsey.

• James 4 days ago

This must be a lesson to the political actors who think that as soon as their parties are in power they must break the laws to their undue advantage. Wontumi deserves no sympathy. If the NPP has remained in power his Exim ban ...

• Nana Malik 4 days ago

Well, with life on our side, NDC members day will come around again and nobody should cry foul.

• BAYA 4 days ago

THIEVES

• IF YOU DISAGREE APPEAL JUDGMENT 4 days ago

Case was adjudicated by a court of competent jurisdiction. If you disagree with the verdict/sentence, appeal to the Appeals Court & even the Supreme Court. He is the siting regional chairman of a political party, so that make ...

• Lhogikal 360 4 days ago

Eii this lecturer dey talk . I wonder how dem close demma eyes for the truth and dem dey throw trash on Ghanaians .

• Gbetia 4 days ago

@TAKE OR PAY DEMON the trial should have been handled by a business court rather not commercial court Your head rationally ok? Overhaul your brain!

• John K 4 days ago

You guys are talking for Wontumi because he said he has millions ways of winning elections for NPP which unfortunately all the million ways failed in 2024 general elections, because of vigilance by the likes of COP.......JAKP ...

• Naomi 4 days ago

Let me pour urine on Wontumi before the thief is dragged to Nsawam

• Samsayer 4 days ago

What did this fool did to his hair? He looked uglier.

• La jla 4 days ago

Remember What He Said In 2023.

• COMMENT 4 days ago

OPEN YOUR EARS AND MINDS
    Wontumi did not do any galamsey. He had a valid mining license.

• Bad_fa 4 days ago

Npp instead of you guys to tell Ofori Atta to come you are there talking about when the tables turn.
    Ghanaians will destroy that table so any politician in this country should be ready to face justice.The impunity is getting ...

• Citizen 4 days ago

Did he cry and wailing?

• Amazing Grace 4 days ago

NPP has become a group of comics. That is why it is called a law court. It’s always better to know the law than knowing the judges. NPP has long depended on influencing judges when they were in power and now cannot understa ...

• Ethical Dilemma 4 days ago

Is Everything in Ghana politicised? Why is it always deemed criminals in opposition that go to jail? Are thieves hiding in ruling parties safe until the ballot boxes kick their parties ugly ass-holes? When your fortunes turn ...

• Austine 4 days ago

Masa wake up so because of his position as regional chairman , must he get rid of the law

• Obroniba 4 days ago

You thieves think you are the only intelligent people in this country so therefore can defend every rubbish, crime and corruption. Majority of us intelligent Ghanaians saw what wontumi did to our environment and he was embold ...

• Johnson 4 days ago

As the chairman of the NPP party in Kumasi he should have conducted his business dealings above board. It is surprising when you see people trying to defend him when they are fully aware that what he has done is against the l ...

• MR AVU 4 days ago

Position riddance, politics should be a ground for misbehave.

• 2029 is just around the corner 4 days ago

This is politics at its worst. How can a country like Ghana be governed by leaders who appear more focused on imprisoning their political opponents than on promoting peace, unity, and national development?
    The NDC government ...

• Agahowa 4 days ago

Ofui. Go and release him from Nsawam

• The Devil's Advocate 4 days ago

Instead of tribalist insults ,people should take a chill pill and then comment to the facts as presented to convict Wontumi.It was a lengthy and exhaustive trial and enough would have come out to exonerate him if he had not d ...

• John Mahama 4 days ago

John Mahama says he knows his own party people are actively involved in galamsey! So why imprison only Wuntumi? Is it because he's an Ashanti or what ? John Mahama, I am ashamed of u ! This is purely selective justice and si ...

• OSONO 4 days ago

SO YOU'RE HURT BECAUSE YOUR PARTY IS JAILED?
    Very weird reasoning. Are you ok defending a criminal like Wontumi? May God let you eat the mercury-contaminated food and drink the water caused by Wontumi’s mining activities t ...

• Addom Ye 4 days ago

Wuuaaa look. Is you being ashamed or not of JM also part of the law or evidence before the court? As for Palgrave and the NPP outbursts, the least said about them the better. God have mercy on Ghanaian who have to endure this ...

• Trus 4 days ago

This statement should be corrected. Either Palfrave or the winter is wrong. Prison is the correct word and not correctional facilities. Correctional facility is for juveniles

• Black sheep 4 days ago

Confused nation. You cry against calamity and when one is convicted for the act you cry against in justice. No wonder poverty abounds

• TeeeeY 4 days ago

#StopGalamsey# What do some of Ghana lawyers seek to teach the younger generation with legal gymnastics. #SaveOurPlanet#

In 1964, J B Danquah was caught conniving with the CIA to overthrow our democracy. J B Danquah had a speech prepared when Dr Kwame Nkrumah was nearly assassinated and bombed several times-leading to several Ghanaians dying th ...

• K Duah 4 days ago

Those who are insulting on this platform jailing him will not put money in your pocket .So many NPP members are okay check NDC areas they are suffering and poverty because of envy . No body knows what tomorrow brings.Man bow ...

Akuffo Addo used us ASHANTIS 8000% for the 8 YEARS. Yesterday- I WAS VERY SAD. IF I GET THE CHANCE TO MEET TANI, ARROGANT, WEE SMOKER DISMISSED FROM THE OXFORD UNIVERSITY IN HIS FIRST SEMESTER, After attending Lancing College ...

• Kwame 4 days ago

We got to thsi stagr as a country when Tsikata, salormey, Sedinam, Ibrahim, etc started going to prison. We got to this point as a country when Atto Forson, Dr. Opuni, Seidu Agongo etc were all prosecuted in this country. Rul ...

===AKUFFO ADDO STOLE GHANA MONEY £900 MILLION POUNDS STERLING

KEN OFORI ATTA STOLE GHANA MONEY £400 MILLION POUNDS STERLING

ATTA KYEA-AKUFFO ADDO BROTHER STOLE GHANA MONEY £650 MILLION POUNDS STERLING

EDWARD AKUFF ...

• kwame niger 4 days ago

so be an executive and so what the law is the law. period, no need to pass an insults let him go and enjoy the what the unlawful people enjoy, when they commit crime. the law has no respect

• Bòire 4 days ago

Wontumi's going to jail has solved a big problem for NPP because they did not know what to do with him. They are pretending to be sad.

• Kofi 4 days ago

This is not how justice works or supposed to feel like.
    I am asking myself this morning how would the current government or any well meaning Ghanaian call this verdict justice and fair after cancellation of similar case’s ...

• Ghanaman 1 4 days ago

According to AI : Mercury persists in the environment for decades to centuries. Because it is an element, it cannot be destroyed. It cycles continuously between the air, soil, and water. Toxic methylmercury can remain in soil ...

• Ghanaman 1 4 days ago

ANYONE who does harm to the country must be held accountable. We must forget blind party loyalties and think as GHANAIANS

• Afua Iceland 4 days ago

Is the political elite ruling the country by contradiction? Former president Nana Addo said Wontumi "no galamsay". The current president Mahama says Wontumi "yes galamsey" The truth has finally exposed. So if presidents can l ...

• Afua Iceland 4 days ago

We need more galamsey kingpins in jail, AG.

• Kung-ibeu 4 days ago

The 20 years is even small

• Freedom and Justice 4 days ago

Exim Bank

• Oklemekuku¹ 4 days ago

Take him to Wa central prison

• Dante 4 days ago

It is only in Ghana that no politician can ever be guilty of a crime—even when our courts say otherwise.
    It is only in Ghana that when a crime is committed, all you need to do is wave a party card or show your political co ...

• Ivory Mensah 4 days ago

Why didn't this dude accompany wontumi into the prison to give him company?

• Mubarak 4 days ago

Stupid man, you have a PhD degree to your name and you asked such a stupid question. Have you not seen what man has done and have you not read the excellent judgement by the intelligent and brave judge

• Stan 4 days ago

,SERIOUS DRIVERS FOR WORK & PAY CARS

☎️0544951674☎️

* 3 years Payment Plan.

* ⁠No Deposit.

* Toyota Vitz : 90000(Total Cost) / 600(Weekly) / 2500(Monthly).

* Toyota Yaris : 120000(Total Cost) / 700( ...

• Pee 4 days ago

What do you mean? Why did he plead guilty?

• CUSTOM AUCTION IS UP AGAIN AND GRANTING ALLAFRICA THE PRIVILEGE TO GET ANY CAR OF MY CHOICE AT AFFORDABLE RATES APPROVED BY THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT . 4 days ago

SOME CAR LIST BELOW.
    Golf 3K GHS __ 5K GHS

TOKUNBO CARS BELOW :�

2008 Corolla Sport 9K GHS

• Mm 4 days ago

So its painful afterall. You this npp guys were happy when Tsatsu et al were jailed, now that its your turn to taste your own bitter pill, you here complaining. This is just the first out of the 3 charges against him and by t ...

• BigMouth 4 days ago

Having political clout is not a blank cheque to commit offences, civil or criminal. Our laws and their enforcement must bite harder especially when this galamsay menace is causing so much harm. Ghana first, not Wontumi or NP ...

• Jay 4 days ago

Useless lawyer ....what was he accused of??

• Zargon 4 days ago

You people will make his case even worse, yooo... He has two other cases which he is standing trial for.. you are going to piss the other judges off, where they will ensure that they apply the law strictly

• Sammy 4 days ago

What an idiot, you are asking how we got to this place as a country, so anybody that commits crimes and is a public figure should go free right? It's always my people Ashantis defending criminals why why why.

• Sammy 4 days ago

What an idiot, you are asking how we got to this place as a country, so anybody that commits crimes and is a public figure should go free right? It's always my people Ashantis defending criminals why why why.

• Sammy 4 days ago

• Kwame A 4 days ago

Hmmmm, Sammy, say some.It is amazing to hear our Asante brothers speak this way anytime one of them is found wanting; suddenly they all become angels, very innocent.How can Ghana progress with this attitude and mindset. GOD ...

• Efo Kofi 4 days ago

NDC wicked evil devil you said Akuffo Addo was doing galamsey why not take him to court the evil that men do be assure

• Bright A 4 days ago

The only thing Political about this case is that Wontumi is a Chairman in the NPP Party.As for the sentence it was in the right order,Wontumi even from his own statements shot himself in the foot.You guys should stop wasting ...

• . 4 days ago

IS HE ALSO A RASTA MAN? TOOO DIRTY TO SEE

• Ewvevi 4 days ago

Kwasea. Onyayey GBEMI. "How did we get to this state as a country"? Aaaboa. Go and ask yua grandfather. Gbemela. Look at his dirty face bi. Yakame numewvewve. You people don't respect. Was he just thrown into jail, or the cas ...

• Destro 2 days ago

No amount of evidence can free wontumi if you go around displaying solid gold on TV. He himself is the evidence against his own case

• . 2 days ago

U LOOK TO DIRTY, GO AND CLEAN UR FACE, MADMAN