EXIM Bank Fraud Case: Attorney General's office rejects Wontumi's plea bargain deal - Report

Read Comments Comments (86)

• Ben 4 days ago

What more evil can you guys do? Firing squad? Hello to Kwabena Duffuor.

• WAA LOOK! GHANAIAN LEADERS AND OTHERS HAVE COMMITTED AND CONTINUE TO COMMIT MORE SERIOUS ECONOMIC CRIMES THAN GALAMSEY. WHY ALL THE FOCUS ON GALAMSEY ONLY? 4 days ago

GHANA IS NATURALLY FAR ENDOWED THAN TAX-FREE SAUDI ARABIA, THE UAE, QATAR AND OTHER GCC STATES BUT THESE ARAB STATES RESPECTIVELY COMMAND MASSIVE SOVEREIGN WEALTH FUNDS YEAR-IN, YEAR OUT IN TRILLIONS OF US DOLLARS AND STILL C ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 4 days ago

WILL THAT GIVE US THE 24-HR ECONOMY????
    “WHOSOEVER ‘DIGGED’ THE PIT SHALL FALL IN IT” ——- Bob Marley.
    LONG LIVE THE DIGITAL BAWUMIA!! LONG LIVE KWASI ADADE, THE ARCH DEFENDER OF THE POOR AND THE DISADVANTAGED!!! ...

• Governer of THE Kumasi. Oyiwaa 4 days ago

Slap on Wontumi, Governor of THE Kumasi, additional 15 years. This must NOT run concurrent, but in sequence. This daylight robbery and the awfully fooiish glorification of it must end!

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 4 days ago

@ WAA LOOK. DO YOU KNOW WHO BE EXECUTED FOR FLEECING GHANA? YOU MUST BE OUT OF YOUR MIND.

MERCHANTS BANK PILLAGING IS STARING RIGHT BACK AT THE MAHAMAS: THE GHC 300 MILLION INVOLVED IS TEN TIMES BIGGER THAN THIS AMOUNT.

• DOMINIC NITI-EWU 4 days ago

Ahh...!!! Ahhh...!!! Ahhhh...!!!! @Stephen -- Wo y3 BEAUTIFUL DONKEY ampa!

So, you wrote all these long nkwasiasem, and you think you have written something aaaa-ma..?? Foolish boy @Stephen Donkey, I can see clearly that ...

• Ahene 4 days ago

No wonder wo ti ewu.

• Kwasi Addai 4 days ago

If God had not stepped in to bring the NDC to power, who could have known all these attrocities? Which prosecutor could have dared to raise a finger in the face of Wontumi? Which judge could have dared to entertain the docket ...

HEERRHH, @BEN.... WÒ MAAME TW3 KANKAN NYAME WATI...!!!!

CAN YOU FEEL WHAT WE CALL PROPER PRESSURE NOW...???? KWAAAASIATO GYIMIFUO BA KRONFUOR. THOSE TIMES WHEN YOU NPP DEMONS WERE CHASING JAMES GYAKYE QUAYSON & STEPHEN O ...

• ~ DOMINIC NITI-EWU 4 days ago

HEERRHH, @BEN.... WÒ MAAME TW3 KANKAN NYAME WATI...!!!!!

CAN YOU FEEL WHAT WE CALL PROPER PRESSURE NOW...???? KWAAAASIATO GYIMIFUO BA KRONFUOR. THOSE TIMES WHEN YOU NPP DEMONS WERE CHASING JAMES GYAKYE QUAYSON & STEPHEN ...

@ NDC NITI-AWU:
    MERCHANTS BANK PILLAGING IS STARING RIGHT BACK AT THE MAHAMAS: THE GHC 300 MILLION INVOLVED IS TEN TIMES BIGGER THAN THIS

WONTUMI HAS EVEN OFFERED THE BEST DEAL!

THE AMOUNT INVOLVED IN THIS OBVIOUS P ...

Ahh...!!! Ahhh...!!! Ahhhh...!!!! @Stephen -- Wo y3 BEAUTIFUL DONKEY ampa!

You wrote all these long nkwasiasem, and you think you have written something aaaa-ma..?? Foolish boy @Stephen Donkey, I can see clearly that you ...

• Keke Driver 4 days ago

Andy Appiah Kubi is at it again. He is misleading Wontumi into serving more years in jail.
    The plan is that Wontumi should refuse to co-operated an md the worse that can happen is a jail term which would run concurrently w ...

• Kojo poku-London UK 4 days ago

To be frank and fair, Wontumi sentence was too HARSH. This is because he was NOT involved in illegal mining galamsey. He has a legitimate mining licence and so by subletting or giving it out is NOT a serious crime despite th ...

• SKMD 4 days ago

Kojo Oku- London, please I want to find out. What did the guy do with the sublet land? And did I hear you say he sublet the land without approval is not a serious crime? If you have a licenced gun and "sublet" it to a third p ...

• Great one 4 days ago

@Ben, why does it seem like you are unhappy that justice is being served in this case, would you have preferred that Ghana were an azonto republic? Bosiako himself knows he committed fraud which was why he fought hard to prev ...

• sotrue 4 days ago

throw the criminal Wontumi in for another 25 years. Nana Addo supervised the loot and be called to answer as well

• Governer of THE Kumasi. Oyiwa 4 days ago

So True! Akufo-addo messed up Ghana into toxic mafia climate. Kofi Coomson, ought to have been more forceful in his warnings. To entrust Ghana into his hands was a huge calamity of all time

• NzemaK- Use Sec'ty Recruits to build affordable houses 4 days ago

Asem brn kora nie. Ahhh wontumi. Wakum Osono anaa

• NzemaK- Use Sec'ty Recruits to build affordable houses 4 days ago

As3m b3n Korea nie,

• Zargon 4 days ago

So he should be allowed to keep the money? You people should tell us?

• Yaw Manu 4 days ago

Ask and ask again, my friend.

• Ben 4 days ago

Unfortunately, arguing with your type with no education is difficult. FYI Wontumi went for loan. Loans are to be paid back. Nobody is saying he should keep the money. We are saying he should be made rk refund the money.

@Ben. Before you shoot your mouth off, make sure your 'educated' brains are loaded. Don't talk by heart. A default can't go unanwered. The likes of you can float Ghana on auction

• Romeo 4 days ago

Loans are taken using proper channels not using forged documents, crooked means and also not using the loan for the purpose for which it was given to them. That becomes deceptive and criminal. He must be made to pay all the l ...

@Ben. Self-styled educated man. Enlighten yourself better to stop exposing your educated-hollowness

@ NDC ATTORNEY GENERALS.
    BRING BACK THE MERCHANTS BANK, OTHERWISE STOP THE POLITICAL PERSECUTION! AKROMFUO ! FAFRI HO KO!

Tell us what happened to the Merchants Bank! Or this
    Shameful political and publicity stunt. ...

• Abena 4 days ago

I will not vote for Bawumia. Not because of anything but just because Bawumia is an idiot with his face like a dog.

• Yaw 4 days ago

A hypocrite as you are and you could not even write your real name.

• Ahene 4 days ago

I'm just wondering what you look like? Obviously beautiful ladies don't from their smelly pussies.

• SKMD 4 days ago

Abena. Please be civil. How can you talk like this?

• Ahene 4 days ago

What money? Wait till Mahama faces the music then you'll know all that glitters is not gold. Time is ticking backwards.

• Mohammed idrisu 4 days ago

We don't even understand this people

• Yaw Manu 4 days ago

All these theatrics and he will be out in few months like Agradaa.

• Nana 4 days ago

So intelligent & very smart. President Mahama and his govt are only engaging in comedy as if they are doing the right thing. Soon Wontumi will run away with everything bcoz Mahama is being haunted by Damang Mine. He's aware e ...

• NANA TRUMU TRUMU ADDO 4 days ago

ANOTHER 20 YEARS. NPP THIEVES

• anokwale 4 days ago

BREAKING NEWS! Our Frank Agyena-Karikari has been arrested for trying to steal in a grocery store. Let us pray for him.

• Nkwantabisa 4 days ago

Oh, that foolish idiot...... (@Frank Agyena-Kwasia-Kwasia) has been an all-round thief since the days of the Great JJ Rawlings. He was constantly stealing around during the 1980s, and that was why Rawlings and his "Abongo Boy ...

• Lori 4 days ago

Hahahshahahaha. Thief man.

• Mims 4 days ago

Thieves, you no see anything yet. Criminals

• Kwam 4 days ago

Hmmm another jail term awaiting, this time around, patriotic Ghanaians want the maximum sentence. 50yrs plus
    We don't want any accusations of political witch hunting or persecution. Let's allow the to take it's course . Aft ...

• Sexy Sexy 4 days ago

I wouldn't pay back the money if I were Wontumi, as I would be convicted and serve my sentence concurrently with that of the Galamsey case.

• Paul 4 days ago

Sexy Sexy, just wait till all his properties are identified and sold to recover the money or jailed additionaly to Samreboi for him to die, rot and spend the criminally acquired loan from the Bank in jail. He couid also be de ...

• Koppong 4 days ago

Theses Ewes have bad mission

• Jomo Kenyatta 4 days ago

Hahahahaha. So, who is "The Chwompian" now? Kwasiampanin ba. I thought you said you were going to deport all the Ewes out from Ghana.

• Yabi Yabi 4 days ago

It is truly sad but I have a novell idea; how about a class-action legal suit/action against majority of the media houses in Ghana, including those claiming to be social media watch dog agencies? Due to their due diligece fai ...

@ Yabi Yabi.
    ASK YOUR MAHAMA ABOUT THE MERCHANTS BANK PILLAGING!
    YOU POLITICAL NOVICE.

IF IT WAS OKAY FOR MAHAMA BROTHERS TO DEFAULT ON $ 28 MILLION LOAN TO THE BANK AS WE ALL KNOW.

WONTUMI WHO IS ALSO A GHANAIAN S ...

• Sexy Sexy 4 days ago

This might be another Appiah Kubi strategy

• NANA TRUMU TRUMU ADDO 4 days ago

THESE NPP MEMBERS ARE ALL THIEVES AND SHOULD GO TO JAIL: AFENYO KOTEBOTO MARKINS, OTCHERE DARKO, BEDIATUO, OSAFO MARFO WHO STOLE ONE MILLION DOLLARS, EUGENE ARHIN, EKOW EWUSIE, SAMMY AWUKU THE LOTTERY THIEF, AMERI THIEVES, PD ...

@ NDC TRUMU MAN.
    THE MAHAMAS ARE BIGGEST THIEVES.
    BRING BACK THE MERCHANTS BANK, OTHERWISE STOP THE POLITICAL PERSECUTION! AKROMFUO ! FAFRI HO KO!

Shameful politica ...

@ NDC TRUMU MAN.
    THE MAHAMAS ARE BIGGEST THIEVES.

Shameful politica ...

• Kamajorr 4 days ago

Blaa @Stephen yarefuo, please what exactly have you drunk this evening? Or you are heavily on "herbs" just like Akuffo Addo? If you wanted to know anything about Merchant Bank, then you should have enquired from your PICCADIL ...

• Adamafio 4 days ago

EVIL MAN JJ RAWLINGS SIAD THE SAME BY KILLING INNOCENT GHANIANS.TODAY,JOHN MAHAMA AND HIS CROOKS WHO ARE ALSO THIEVES ,ARE REPEATING THE SAME NONSENSE..

• Nurse 4 days ago

@ Adamafio. And what can you do? Foko. Your father is a drunkard. A very useless man. Animal boy you are a big fool. You can't do foko

• Oh 4 days ago

Is it getting into an OVERKILL
    Public sympathy will sway to the side of Wontumi
    Are you sure some persons within a particular party are not behind these?

• Kofi BA 4 days ago

Let me wish Audrey Kocuvie-Tay a sound sleep

• Ahene 4 days ago

Now we know what that political bitch presider looks like.

• La Pleasure man 4 days ago

Stephen Donkey Donkor, certified asscleaner of white pensioners in NY is now also trying to pronounce political persecution.. policitah persecushion..
    That idiot exposed himself when commenting on the national cathedral.. A ...

• @Godisking 4 days ago

Hmmmm sorry oooh wontumi. Should you come out of all these. Please go down low in politics.

To be frank and fair, Wontumi sentence was too HARSH. This is because he was NOT involved in illegal mining galamsey. He has a legitimate mining licence and so by subletting or giving it out is NOT a serious crime despite th ...

• Great one 4 days ago

@kojo poku, unfortunately for you the court saw things differently, he was found to have been engaged in environmental terrorism, he's lucky that the sentence is to run concurrently, what if it was to run consecutively? you g ...

• Sam 4 days ago

Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord

Acts: 3:19

• Diasempe George 4 days ago

Whether Wontumi is convicted or not the loan would have to be repaid. After the criminal prosecution a civil action can be commenced to recover the loan. The criminal prosecution is intended to punish the wrong doing only.

• Mercy 4 days ago

He should be sentenced to 30 years this time, to run consecutively. He'll then come out at 100.

• Raphael Abeam US 4 days ago

Is it Chairman Wontumi alone who owns the Exim bank..So apart from Wontumi nobody owns any bank.

• Kay 4 days ago

No we all owe banks but the loans were not deceitfully obtained. We did not forge receipts and other documents to deceive bank officials. That is the difference please.

• The orangutan state 4 days ago

More Ghanaians are idiots and lack understanding. You cry that things are hard because some few takes the country for granted because of political power,now that needed to be fixed then you turn around crying again. If some ...

• Atsu 4 days ago

You can decide to kill Wontumi to satisfy your paymaster
    Your party will not be in government forever.

• Kamajorr 4 days ago

@Atsu Ofui bankye! Now this has become your foolish mantra...... "You Will Not Be In Power Forever." Kwaseato boy like you! We were the ones who kept warning you that you will not be in power forever when you were chasing Jam ...

• Yaw 4 days ago

Why is to yardstick used for Duffuor and others not used for Wontumi. NPP must note this down and resurrect all these cases and also make sure EVERYONE from NDC involved in any form of corruption is tried. No akrachie sem, no ...

• Ahene 4 days ago

Already Ibrahim issued bounced cheques, borrowed and collapsed UT, has not declared his sources of income... many more. Time is ticking backwards. Silvester Mensah's case at NHIA will be revisited. By the way Ayina and his Sa ...

• Zuba 4 days ago

Initially, I thought the law was working but it seems it's turning to witch hunting. If he gets another jail term, what benefit will the state get?
    Opuni, Kwabena Duffour, Woyomi are all walking freely. Hmmmmm

• Dr Sam 4 days ago

Ghana is shitehole country. John Jandam Mahama aka Papano community husband 24hr economy Director was bound to prison woutumi. Ndc foo nyina y3 nmoaaa including John Jandam Mahama aka Papano community husband 24hr economy Dir ...

• Paul 4 days ago

Dr. Sam, a few moments later.

U should soon be Camilla Alhassan's mate

• Asantehene ba 4 days ago

IF POLITICIANS WHO HAVE STOLEN MONEY FROM THE STATE WILL BE PROSECUTED LIKE THIS, THEN WHO WINS.. Is it not Ghanaians? We love what's going on

• Martin B 4 days ago

I'm so so so happy about these developments with Wontumi. Ghana does not belong to any one person. Ghana belongs to us ALL Ghanaians. This must be a lesson to corrupt citizens. If you steal the resources belonging to us ALL o ...

• Donatus 4 days ago

This guy told the nation he has 100 houses in Kumasi.

• Daniel Boateng 4 days ago

Black Jesus: Bank wire transfer to all countries
    We are sending wire transfer and direct wasap him hamzaben.d@ hackermail. Com email email me your number I will wasap u or lawyer@presidency.com flashing to any country
    Ch ...

• KWASI IN EUROPE 4 days ago

We all know that if you take a loan in Ghana the bank officials share the money with you. Allow Wontumi to explain. When Government Official One in the Airbus scandal going to jail? What about Cecilia Tamakloe?

• Esa 4 days ago

NDC will not be in power forever. They may even lose the 2028 who knows. This targeting and bias political witch hunting will blow up in their faces. Rather let him face the firing squad. Idiots from top to the bottom.

• Kwame panin 4 days ago

Put him in prison forever and expect to live forever. Give a dog a bad name and hang it. Political persecution.

• Young man 4 days ago

This 20 years sentence will end no where ,it will be just like that of Agradaa case because there's no trust in the judicial system, just mark my words

• Bad_fa 4 days ago

The state must go after Mustapha Ussif,Samira Bawumia,Mustapha Hamid also.Why are they walking freely?
    These people stole from the state & Samira took so much from Masloc which she has not paid.Why is she not been prosecuted ...

• Of 3 days ago

If Wontumi has committed those crimes he should serve the sentence if not the ultimate judge is God and not man

• CUSTOM AUCTION IS UP AGAIN AND GRANTING ALLAFRICA THE PRIVILEGE TO GET ANY CAR OF MY CHOICE AT AFFORDABLE RATES APPROVED BY THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT . 3 days ago

SOME CAR LIST BELOW.
    Golf 3K GHS __ 5K GHS

TOKUNBO CARS BELOW :�

2008 TOYOTA Corolla Sport 9K ...