Ati-Zigi emerges as best World Cup goalkeeper with highest goals prevented

Read Comments Comments (68)

• ABC 4 days ago

Yes. The truth be told. AtiZiki is far better than Benjamin Asare.

• ABC 4 days ago

As simple as ABC.

• TRUTH 4 days ago

As simple as A-Z.

• Travel GOAT 4 days ago

Writer, how much was your share from his $100,000? Stop the nonsense. Have your and did you watch Vorziha's matches? Charlatan!

• Samurai 3 days ago

was wondering the same thing

• Monkey see, Monkey do 3 days ago

Hoop there it is. I watched him vs Panama in the first half and his strength and athleticism helped to keep Ghana in the match Ghana should have been down at least by 2 goals before the first half and also against Colombia At ...

Unai Simon saved 0 shots against Argentina because Argentina had 0 shots on goal against Spain in the final..the metric used was based on total number of shots saved. Had unai Simon conceeded the same number of shots like Ati ...

• GH 4 days ago

Wrong analysis. How many games did he feature in compared to other keepers?

• Kojo 4 days ago

You know better. Tell us your findings? Useless mind

• Kojo 4 days ago

• Emperor Rasheed 4 days ago

@GH.?The most sensible comments.

He featured in less matches but conceeded more shots on goal and that tells u how weak gh defence was compared to other teams..Argentina had 0 shots on goal vs Spain in the final

• Oprege 4 days ago

Where does GhanaWeb get this kinda stuff from ? Gosh !!

• kiki Musampah 4 days ago

ChatGPT

• Gbetsimu 3 days ago

Ask again ooooo

• STONEBWOY WILL HAVE HEART ATTACK P33. WOGYIMI ROUGH. APAKYE JEALOUSY 4 days ago

GIVE US BETTER NEWS AND STOP THE NONSENSE. HE WAS IN A GOAL POST FOR JUST 1 MATCH. MODE3 GYIMII NKOAA

• Daakyehene 4 days ago

Moron, you are the type of people who tells ladies that,we had sex just once so the pregnancy is not for me. Idiot

• Cheap Lies 2 days ago

We all saw Spain's Unai Simón receive the Golden Glove award

• Cheap Lies 2 days ago

We all saw Spain's Unai Simón receive the Golden Glove award

• Ougrabako 4 days ago

Yes, but don't forget to mention that it is because of your team PARK THE BUS high percentage style. Play open game style and see how many serves Ati-Zigi will make.

• Nigerian internt scammer 4 days ago

Your team couldnt even qualify stupid cunt!

Open or tight defence has no bearing on how many shots the goalie saves..whats wrong with you?

• God will elevate Nigeria 4 days ago

Whats the source of this news Ghanaweb? Lies nkwa Emiliano Martinez against Spain had more saves so stop your falsehood Anti Asare campaign.

• PITO 4 days ago

Omo Naija get sharp brain oo. I am Ghanaian but we can’t think far.

• Nigerian internt scammer 4 days ago

How many saves had the nigerian keeper in this wc?

• PITO 4 days ago

Looking at this record relation to how far we reached in the tournament, Are we supposed to be proud of this metric? Dum Niggaz!

Yes. Ati saved more shots that other goalies who saved less shots. Unai Simon saved 0 shots against Argentina in the final because ????? Had unai Simon gpten more shots towards him im sure 1 or 2 may have slipped in..teams ca ...

• One more 4 days ago

Not the best

• Agboglimate Wolefiatem Zuborborm 4 days ago

We are not kids. You are the father of lies. We all watched the world cup matches. Ati Zigi will be heading to 40th. Didn't you see experienced goalkeepers there? Please stop the lies. These selfish black stars players, only ...

• Martin Kreisler 4 days ago

Congrats for the splendid display Mr. Zigi.

• Princeton 4 days ago

Ghana’s Lawrence Ati-Zigi finished the 2026 FIFA World Cup as the goalkeeper with the highest goals prevented, registering a tournament-best 2.35. He achieved this statistic by facing a high volume of dangerous shots over 1 ...

• No Name 4 days ago

The guy only kept one full match and conceded even, and he's been considered against keepers who played 5 6,7 etc full matches and didn't even concede zero. For example Unai Simon played about 7 or 8 full matches for Spain an ...

How many shots did unai Simon conceed against Argentina in the final? 0
    .Argentina had 0 shots on goal

• ZAPATO 4 days ago

Ha ha ha jandam nkoaa

• Od 4 days ago

Stop this information because Ghanaians are not dumb, Ghanaweb

• NMG 4 days ago

CHALE IF NOT COS OF HIM COLOMBIA WILL HAVE SCORE GHANA 10 GOALS BITTER TRUTH HATE IT OR LOVE IT

• Darius99 4 days ago

That is correct.

• Sharon 4 days ago

This is fake! Ghana goalkeepers in 2026 world cup are nowhere close to the best goalkeepers in this year's FIFA world cup. Benjamin Asare is more than 50 years I guess.

• Mat 4 days ago

Ghanaweb and their lies. You receive monies from foreign based players to campaign for their inclusion in the national team.

• THIS IS NOT COMING FROM FIFA ITS FAKE 4 days ago

THIS NEWS IS FAKE! IF YOU DOUBT ME GO AND BROUSE THROUGH THE FIFA RATINGS AND YOU WOULDNT FIND THIS NEWS. FAKE AND PROPAGANDA NKOA!

• Fake news from Ghana 4 days ago

Then what about the Cape Verde goalkeeper Egypt goalkeeper and Argentina goalkeeper

• Naneama!!!! 4 days ago

The best goalkeeper was selected, announced and awarded many days ago. Stop fooling yourself and everyone else

• Naneama!!!! 4 days ago

The best goalkeeper was selected, announced and awarded many days ago. Stop fooling yourself and everyone else

• Ken 4 days ago

The assertion that Ati-Zigi is the best shot stopper in the 2026 FIFA World Cup is false.

The correct ranking sourced from FIFA is shown below for the top ten. Ati-Zigi came nowhere near except Benjamin Asare.

Top 10 ...

• AK 4 days ago

Where from this nonsense? Why was he not recognized by FIFA? This useless attempt to cause hatred between Ati-Zigi and Benjamin Asare must stop. They are our national assets. After all, the next four years will see our young ...

• Sam 4 days ago

The best goalie won the golden glove

• Jay 4 days ago

For someone who was only in two games the whole World Cup isn’t this too far fetched

• Ken 4 days ago

The assertion that Ati-Zigi is the best shot stopper is false.

The correct ranking sourced from FIFA is shown below for the top ten goalkeepers.

Ati-Zigi came nowhere near even Benjamin Asare's sixth position with a s ...

• Jazz 4 days ago

That is a big lie.Ghana needs a good goalkeeper

• POURFENDEUR DE LA CORRUPTION/ANTI CORRUPTION 4 days ago

The OSP has suddenly become deaf and dumb. He has developed mumu syndrome over the many rots and corruption scandal happening in the NDC. He fears when he says "pliiii" under the NDC, he will be sacked.
    Under the NPP this OS ...

• Dickson 4 days ago

From my side I think the Cape Verde stopper should be awarded. He was brilliant and courageous.
    However l have no knowledge in the method used in the determination. Notwithstanding am proud the Ghanaian stopper won this ca ...

• Silk 4 days ago

Cocoa ase write-up....Nkwasea article paaa!!!!

• CUSTOM AUCTION IS UP AGAIN AND GRANTING ALLAFRICA THE PRIVILEGE TO GET ANY CAR OF MY CHOICE AT AFFORDABLE RATES APPROVED BY THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT . 4 days ago

SOME CAR LIST BELOW.
    Golf 3K GHS __ 5K GHS

TOKUNBO CARS BELOW :�

2008 TOYOTA Corolla Sport 9K ...

• NAB 4 days ago

Gudos to ati zigi Ghana is proud of you
    #NABROOFS

• Citizen 4 days ago

Did he win the Golden gloves? Ghanaweb, stop fooling.

Journalism is one of the problematic areas in Ghana.

• Ougrabako 4 days ago

Who invented this ratings to make that tuk-tuk goaly look good. I will not be suprise to hear one day that these two are SOULMATE. LOVE IS LOVE BABY.

• Kwaku-Holland 4 days ago

Baseless and fact-free article. 2 games played and he was the best. Chale nokofio nti amanfo dey write nonsense. Ahead of Vozinha or Unai Simon? Lol

Unai Simon saved 0 shots against Argentina because Argentina had 0 shots on goal against Spain in the final..the metric used was based on total number of shots saved. Had unai Simon conceeded the same number of shots like Ati ...

• Citizen 3 days ago

Ghanaians just sometimes hate people of what someone has told about others. After watching this World Cup, I got to know that Atizigi is one of my best keepers.

• Gbetsimu 3 days ago

FROM FIFA?

• ANA 3 days ago

So, did he win the GOLDEN GLOVES?