Chairman Wontumi apologises to President Mahama and First Lady

Read Comments Comments (92)

• Donatus 4 days ago

Where is the recording of the apology?

• Senseless Nonsense 4 days ago

Elephant News. The news~~~

• FIELD MARSHALL 4 days ago

NONSENSE .... WERE U JAILED BCOS OF GALAMSEY OR INSULTS .... MASA GELLAWAY ..... APOLOGY NOT ACCEPTED !!!

• GHANA MUST INVEST ALL THOSE LOANS IN HOLDING OVER 51% CONTROLLING STAKES IN ALL ITS STRATEGIC NATURAL RESOURCE BUSINESSES. WTF IS 30% MINORITY STAKE? DO GHANA LEADERS THINK AND THINK ABOUT THE FUTURE? 4 days ago

NA APOLOGY WE GO CHOP? THAT IS BULLSHIT! HAT ILLITERATE FOOL MUST RESORE ALL DAMAGES DONE TO GHANA'S ENTIRE WATERBODIES AND THE FRAUDULENT LOANS HE SCOOPED FROM CHINA EXIM BANK. AFTER THAT, HE MUST BE SHOT AT THE TESHIE MILIT ...

• Rex 4 days ago

Too late fool,Mahama holds no grudges with Wontumi,He should go and apologise to the reserved lands that he destroyed and stole a lot of gold meant for future generations from,he should apologise to EXIM bank and its staff f ...

• Nana 4 days ago

President Mahama is in a big dilemma and in a fix. How could he instruct his AG to file for a Nolie Prosequi for NDC Thieves, give Damang Mine to Ibrahim Mahama and imprisoned Wontumi? Bernard Antwi Boasiako is now demanding ...

• Game Changer +447935009178 4 days ago

The last time I checked, every fool from the bush region is called Nana. Why did your useless NPP couldn't complete those "nonfa" cases in 8yrs if they were indeed prosecutable? Kwaseato

• Afia 4 days ago

Why didn't you break the 8 ? Kwasea

• New order 4 days ago

Some of you npp dogs are not human beings,

• Blaze Word Assem. 4 days ago

Chairman, those around you and advising you aren't smart at all, they're failing in their duties of guiding you in sound decisions making. You weren't jail on the orders of Mahama, your apologies should be directed towards ...

• Kwame King 4 days ago

Ofui in a ofui Krom. U people still don't want our democracy to work. So u are trying to tie the judiciary to the executive, right? Ok we are watching from the side benches if you political neophytes think the country is for ...

• Jacob 4 days ago

@Kwame...you real owners of Ghana? You're uninformed idiot! Do you even know where you originated from? Chimpanzee!

• Sam Fante warriort 4 days ago

You're are very foolish Ghanaian. The owners of Ghana is a Ghanaians and Kwame is an Ghanaian too. You're too stupid to understand common word, sad.

• SAEED OSMAN 4 days ago

Can someone explain to him in Twi that he's not in prison because of 8yrs unrelentless abuse and denigrating of Mahama and his family, urged on by Nana Addo and Bawumia, very unpleasant and alien in our culture and democracy ...

• Goodman 4 days ago

WE DONT NEED AN APOLOGY FROM A BUNCH OF IDIOTS

• Niger 4 days ago

THE LAW IS THE LAW ,ALL THE INMATES IN NSAWAM PRISON SHOULD ALSO APOLOGISE TO PRESIDENT MAHAMA SO THAT THEY CAN BE PADONED ,NDC WILL LOOSE OUR SUPPORT SHOULD HE BE PARDON

• Kwaku Tee 4 days ago

What has he done to President John Dramani Mahama for him to apologise to him? Was he imprisoned bcoz he's hurt the President? I don't think Chairman Wontumi & his followers have regretted for mining in a forest reserve, his ...

• Johnny 4 days ago

Freeing Wontumi by President Mahama will mean he's conniving with Criminals to hurt the state which will not speak well for him. Again it will be explained by many as the fear of President Mahama's brother Ibrahim losing Dama ...

• Spintex 4 days ago

It is not President Mahama who filed for the the Nolle prosequi ooooo. The AG reviewed the docket and found there are no merits in the cases thus the filing of the nolle prosequi. The former AG was just running to court witho ...

• Cool 4 days ago

President Mahama cannot dribble his way with legalities he's deeply involved in criminality by instructing the AG to file for Nolie Prosequi. He's lost the moral conduct test.

• Keke Driver 4 days ago

Is he apologizing on his behalf or what? If Wontumi really regets saying all that he said, why can't he make a recording of his show of remorse and apology?
    In any case, he is not in jail for insulting the president, so wht ...

• Abbey 4 days ago

What kind of apology is this. Have you heard from Wontumi himself. When Ken Agyarpong apologised, he did it publicly and did it himself.

• Arrest Him. 4 days ago

But for his current circumstances would he have apologized. Apology not needed!

• Arrest Him. 4 days ago

But for his current circumstances would he have apologized. Apology not needed!

• SKMD 4 days ago

Did I read well? "... if at any stage, the conversations went overboard..." Really? If, so it means Palgrave and Wontumi do not know whether the "conversations" went overboard or not. You see the arrogance and dishonesty? The ...

• We are NPP 3 days ago

Chairman Wontumi should rather appologise to Ghanaians for destroying our land, forest reserves, water bodies, stealing our natural resources unappolegetically. Oh my party NPP I cry for you

• Senseless Nonsense 4 days ago

Elephant News

• Frank Agyena-Karikari. 4 days ago

Hmmmm. Chairman Wontumi be this? He has been humbled by the Laws of the Land. Wontumi the brave, rich and famous and untouchable rendering an apology? Hahahaha. Unbelievable. Where is Ken Agyapong? He has learned to keep mute ...

• Jay in London 4 days ago

THERE ARE NO INFLUENCES, YOU STUPID MAN.

THERE ARE LAWS. IF WE ALL OBEY THE THERE WILL BE PROGRESS IN THIS COUNTRY.

WHAT INFLUENCES. THE LAW IS WHAT BUILDS A SOCIETY.

• Somakosa 4 days ago

You are apologizing with "if". It means the apology is NOT a sincere one. JDM should NEVER make a mistake of granting him pardon because of what the level of destruction he has meted out to our environment including the water ...

• Yaw, kumasi 4 days ago

The prime minister of Ashanti kingdom begging.
    I will tell the President.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari. 4 days ago

Hahahaha. Who said Laws no Dey? NE KOTE AYE KETEKETE WO NE NSA MU. Hahahaha. Let him continue to brag now.

• Azure 4 days ago

Can an ordinarily convicted goat thief apologise and ask for justice to be tempered with mercy?

• Paulo 4 days ago

Please President Mahama, never get yourself embrouled in this Wontumi mattet. Gjanaians know you have no hamd in hos imprisonment. He is payong for his own deed which he undertook with impunity during the npp eight year rule ...

• Wiseman 4 days ago

Why now, not then

• Kofi 4 days ago

Wontumi deserves to be in prison. Let him stay there, apology or no apology.

• Danidan 4 days ago

When did you realized that making amends makes a better society for all of us. When you guys have allowed partizan politics to engulf you and deliberately tell lies and insult your opponents. Now that Wontumi wants favors aft ...

• Three60 4 days ago

I don't even understand this Palgrave . He's choosing personal interest over judgement . Eii NPP u go stay for opposition for long oo

• Hanson K.K 4 days ago

Please don't disturb the President on Wontumi's arrogance.
    The NPP is championing the course of his release, the world is waiting on the party's stubbornness.
    The law that put Wontumi in jail for 20yrs. was championed in ...

• The law is the law! The law is no respecter of the wise nor the foolish! 4 days ago

The law is no respecter of the wise nor the foolish! The law is no respecter of the Most educated and well refined or the semi illiterate. Therefore any attempt by the Presidency to parden Wontumi will amount to undermining t ...

• Akwesi NyameAdom 4 days ago

It's absolutely nonsense for this convicted criminal to apologize to the President as if the President sent him to jail.

• Tosh 4 days ago

Apologize to the rivers, and the numerous forest reserves you destroyed in pursuit of your selfish interests

• Kofi Manu 4 days ago

We will protest against President Mahama if he ever gives Wontumi a pardon for his crimes against Ghana. Walahi!

• Wgoku 4 days ago

ABOA. Apology not accepted.

• Andropov 4 days ago

Apologies had got nothing with the charges that got him in the cooler. Mr President, you should not be seen to be meddling in judicial matters. Leave the guy there to serve as a deterrent to those who degrade the environment

• Our Laws Are Non Respects Of Any Persons 4 days ago

Npp Believes Every Ghanaian Is FoolishPerson, Npp Took Ghanaian People for Granted, They Proven Demostracted Exhibited Hates For Ghana Socio Economic Transformative Devolopments Acroos Ghana.

• Stone 4 days ago

Law build a society, not influence.

• SA 4 days ago

All criminals in Ghana should apologise to the president and first lady to be pardoned, set free from prison. Criminal and evil politicians behaves like Ghana belongs to them alone, they are all corrupt, they are all greedy a ...

• Kwame K 4 days ago

Please Mr President do not fall for this.Wontumi is an unrepentant idiot,he will later go and stand somewhere among his NPP folks and hurl insults at you.By the way was Wontumi jailed for the things he said against the Presid ...

• Jake 4 days ago

Why are you making everyone believe that President Mahama is behind Wontumis incarceration?
    He was jailed because he's a notorious galamseyer.

• Antwi 4 days ago

If you're a political prisoner, what are you apologising for?

• Nima boy 4 days ago

Was it President Mahama who jailed wontumi or the laws of the land he went against sent him to jail.
    More years await him in the Exit Bank case.
    Nation wreckers should be to face the law and if find culpable must be jaile ...

• COMMENT 4 days ago

JD Mahama insulted and he he got insulted back. No need for one sided apology. Mahama is as a human being as those who he insulted. Any retribution which he exacts revolves upon him, too.

• Nana Kesse 4 days ago

Dr Danquah please spare us thi gimik. If NPP were in power, would you ever have done that? This so called 'apology ' doesn't come from Wontumi 's heart and neither you. President Mahama accepts the apology but the law is th ...

• The orangutan state 4 days ago

If you are aware there are influences why didn't you influence him as a friend that what you are doing is wrong. Where were you? Master ,you arena lawyer go file your appeal and forget this tears of the crocodile drama. Apolo ...

• The Devil’s Advocate 4 days ago

When was building a better society a consideration of the NPP? It was always about their insatiable corruption and greed.Nothing else mattered.From the slave trade to looting the modern state of Ghana it’s always been how t ...

• Quame 4 days ago

The saddest thing to have happened is what these NPP guys are making us to believe. They’re finding every reason to tell us that someone tried and convicted by a court of competent jurisdiction is as a result of personal an ...

• NMG 4 days ago

AGRAADAAA DID THE SAME THING AND THE NEXT WE HEARD WAS HER SENTENCE WAS REDUCE TO 5MONTHS GOD GO PUNISH ALL OUR LEADERS NPP AND NDC ALL GOD GO PUNISH YOU LEADERS ALL KWAAAAAAASIAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAFUORRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

• Gra 4 days ago

Nonsense. U guys are confused

• Ghana s.hi.thol.e 4 days ago

So, those in prison for stealing cassava 50 cedis, banana 100 cedis, etc., who will plead for them?

• VINCENT 4 days ago

Hypothetically apologies and crocodile tears of trying to be remorseful. Is he now thinking sensibly or what for or he is no longer the Governor for Ashanti region. Demi god.

• NANA TRUMU TRUMU ADDO 4 days ago

MAHAMA DARE NOT PARDON WONTUMI. THAT ATTACK MILLS FATHER FOR ALL WILL NOT WORK THIS TIME AROUND.

• Chai!!! 4 days ago

What apology?
    He should keep his sorrows.

• Chai!!! 4 days ago

What have the insults got to do with the jail sentence?

• Of 4 days ago

I hope this is not npp.what has his jail got to do with the apology. Politicians are gradually exposing themselves. The judiciary is not as independent as we are made to believe and how can the president has power to grant a ...

• Chai!!! 4 days ago

Apology?
    Wontumi, woboooooooooooooooooooooa!!!

• bisa 4 days ago

YOU ARE NOT A SERIOUS MAN,YOU WENT TO PRISON FOR 3 DAYS YOU WANT A PRESIDENTIAL PARDON,NOW THE PRESIDENT CAN NOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT YOUR CASE?YOU DID ILLEGAL GALAMSEY AND THE LAW HAD COUGHT UP WITH YOU

• Nana Yaw 4 days ago

For his insults to the president his wife and the vice president, he ought to spend the rest of his earthly life in prison!
    More shocking was that there was no sensible person in his party to advice him!
    You can always play ...

• Chris 4 days ago

Where were you when he was spilling those garbage, please Mr President don't mind him.

• Matete 4 days ago

APOLOGISE FOR WHAT. ITS THE LAWS OF THE LAND.
    AND MUST BE RESPECTED PLEASE. THE JUDICIARY JAILED HIM AND NOT THE PRESIDENT PLEASE

• Konkonsani 4 days ago

Apology accepted.But as for the 20 years he will serve time.Foolish things

• Hmmm politics is a big problem in Ghana 4 days ago

It's not about Mahama and His Wife it's about Ghana

• Sani 4 days ago

Coward bustard!

• Travis 4 days ago

After the apology ...so what are you expecting

• Odapajan 4 days ago

Any apologies to the poisoned land and rivers, the generations that won’t be able to farm or drink water from the river, the generations that will get sick and die a slow, painful death from the toxic mercury and arsenic?

• Alhaj 4 days ago

Was it President Mahama who jailed him? Wuntumi was jailed because of galamsey and not insult. If the president pardon him then all people who were jailed because of galamsey should be released.

• Kwaku 4 days ago

If ever Mahama listens to this fool, Mahama and his NDC will lose my vote. Did this useless fool called Wontumi ever think he will apologise to Mahama if he had not been imprisoned? This stupid illiterate used his radio stati ...

• Jah Alone 4 days ago

Let us assume that the president will grant Chairman Wontumi pardon,my next question is ,is he going to be pardoned again for the Exim Bank Loan Case and Akonta Mining case(Tano --Nimiri Forest Reserve Case) ??
    There is tim ...

• KS 4 days ago

Wontumi’s predicament had nothing to do with President Mahama. He has committed a crime against the state and has been convicted by the state. His apology to the president will not have any impact on his jail term. It is ti ...

• La jla 4 days ago

Mahama i A Great Man I Know,he Is A Kind Man From Where he Is From,character and I Think He Also Have People he Respect Most In The Country.in Fact i'am NDC BUT SOO Sad.please

• Kanewu 4 days ago

After two years and counting, when did you guys realized this?, but for his sentencing . the future is indeed pregnant

• Talk the truth 4 days ago

Nonsense apology, where in wontumi’s prosecution was it stated that he insulted the president? Wontumi was convicted because of galamsey is wontumi above the laws of the country? Go and come again. Wontumi could only be par ...

• Lousy talk... 4 days ago

Ignore this...the politucs is tk

• Arab 4 days ago

Masa JM is a busy man and besides youve already tarnished his name already so this stupid apology is of no use

• Odjame 4 days ago

Better society is not built through favouritism and who you know , the law must just like any other citizen . If influence is used to pardon him then all prisoners must be pardon. He can apologies for any wrong done to the pr ...

• Mandela 4 days ago

Mahama pardons the disgusting Ashanti Governor at his own risk. Wontumi punished millions of Ghanaians by his singular greed, selfishness, and criminal stupidity. Mahama has no mandate to pardon him.

• Nii Zamramah Kotokoli Ayegbey 4 days ago

What do you mean by IF AT ANY STAGE THE CONVERSATION WENT OVERBOARD. It simply depicts arrogance with no intention to accept that the invectives Convict Wontumi irresponsible spewed out constitute not only verbal abuse & also ...

• Tom 3 days ago

Apologies heard forgiveness denied.

• Blow 3 days ago

Ooo Dr it's better to withdraw your apology not to be added for his mistakes, if U hv a wayward boy abusing people left and right and don't courting him till he had a problem u are to be blamed. Dr Amoaku Baah once asked if w ...

• Koki 3 days ago

"IF the conversation was overboard...."? So you really don't admit it was overboard but that in case the President found it so? Can we call this an apology or public stunt? A sincere apology is naked, plain without ifs and ma ...

• Dr. Sulley 3 days ago

That in my humble opinion is very very stupid! Apologizing for what? As what he said was not the truth, and he intentionally said it to maligned the Honourable President, or that he is sorry now that he has found himself in a ...

• Daakyehene 1 day ago

Apology accepted, prison duty continues