MP under fire over 'I will marry you' comment to underage schoolgirl in Parliament

Read Comments Comments (101)

• OZYMANDIAS 1 week ago

Pardophilial mentality. And this potential child rapist is a member of Parliament. Ghana is finished.

• Nana Addo 1 week ago

I think he said, I’ll marry you when u grow up. He didn’t say I will marry you today.

Well I don’t think he said something wrong.

• Travel GOAT 1 week ago

Hahaha moron muslim. This to be expected.

• AKABENEZER 1 week ago

Yes, he was out of line. But, will we have the same reaction if a woman MP has said this to one of the boys?

• AKABENEZER 1 week ago

Eitherway, it will be unprofessional.

• Useless Ho Airport 1 week ago

I cannot imagine any female MP making such a stupid comment to a young boy.

• Mr. Smith 1 week ago

Thank you Nana, such statements or comments are common. Especially within our chieftancy circles. It depends if he gave the girl his contact. Beauty must be complimented after all.

• Benjamin Netanyahu 1 week ago

What about Mohammed and 9 year old Aisha of Ssudi Arabia?

• Titus 1 week ago

Does it mean he must say he would marry her ? Complimenting shouldn’t always come with marriage , you get ? The man has an abusers mentality and trust that he does worse in his constituency to some local girls perhaps .
    S ...

• JK 1 week ago

He said i will marry you he did say when she grows and even in the miss of her colleagues he specifically said she is beautiful.

• Kwaku 1 week ago

Well, this is on camera so off camera? Oh he is just joking. There's a proverb about the joking tongue.........

• Esther 1 week ago

So now Ghanaians don't know how to accept a joke? When in Class 5 a Pentecost elder used to call me his wife, encouraged me to learn hard and become a nurse so he would marry me. Today I'm a midwife, the man meant no harm.

• Barko osae twum 1 week ago

Esther wait till its the aboboyaa rider who operates near your daughters school telling your daughter this. You seem to thinks its a joke because its from an MP. Let me know if it was otherwise. Women like you need to attend ...

• Francis 1 week ago

How many people have raped those they told they're wives? Those that do that don't joke that they're their wives.

• Alhaji 1 week ago

It is joking joking penis that enters joking joking vagina

• Francis 1 week ago

The evil ones are the one making this sound this way. I don't why that immature Israel will post that stuff on his social media handle.

Esther, the situation you are describing was in private circles. The man is an MP and the venue is parliament. The MP is proposing marriage to a vulnerable underaged girl at a workplace. The Speaker should report the MP to ...

• Joe 1 week ago

Yes oooo.

• Titus 1 week ago

How do you term this as a joke Maame ?

• Name 1 week ago

Esther, an MP should know when and where to make jokes. You cant make jokes everywhere.

This is pure sexual harassment.

• Adwoa 1 week ago

Waaaa look the man of few words, embarrassing himself again. He should apologise to the school and the girl for embarrassing her.

• Oprege 1 week ago

Dude looks a member of the LGBT community in GH

• CRY FOR HELP 1 week ago

Please save me my fellow Ghanaians, i'm a 28 years old Ghanaian lady that was scammed and ruined by some Nigerian scammers, i'm currently serving a 2 years jail term in a Nigerian prison, it all started few years ago when i r ...

• No nails 1 week ago

What an idiot MP, he can only be an MP in Ashanti Region

• OZYMANDIAS 1 week ago

Paedophilial mentality.

• Bolaweb 1 week ago

His religion sees nothing wrong with pedophilia as long as she can bleed. Their religion says the way to determine womanhood is by menstruation no matter your age.

You can't do this in official circles in Saudi Arabia. It will be a criminal offence. You might be canned in public.

• Benjamin Netanyahu 1 week ago

What about Mohammed of Saudi Arabia? Who chops children more than that bastard?

• Ahene 1 week ago

Stupid fool. You can only get this from the NDC stock. Is this not the the galamsey 'MP' who consulted Dauda? Woa wh3?

• Matilda 1 week ago

Has the anus washing baboon Bawumia washed his anus this afternoon?

• POURFENDEUR DE LA CORRUPTION/ANTI CORRUPTION 1 week ago

Why do we have too many nonentities in the NDC. Toilet self is better and useful than clueless tyrant drankard dictator Idi Amin Ford Airbus Deadgoat Dumsor. Felix Ofosu Kwakye's halitosis mouth attracts flies all over anytim ...

• NzemaK- Use Sec'ty Recruits to build affordable houses 1 week ago

The Gender ministry must take this mp on and get him sacked for a new election to take place.

Class one children come for a tour of Parliament and all one of them could received was marriage proposal..haba Mr MP

• Voice from SA 1 week ago

Any wonder? With his background as I checked this is quite acceptable. They and their brothers from Volta sleep with their own kids, sisters and other family members and it is very much accepted and celebrated. Your speaker, ...

• JAMES (USA) NYC METROPOLITAN 1 week ago

awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww this is a pure Pardophilial mentality.The speaker of parlieament must make him apologise to the parents of the child.The kids even felt uncomfortable.Awwwwwwwwwwwww this is disgusting.He must be punis ...

• GH. CITIZEN 1 week ago

This was just a joke. He did not do that in a hiding place.
    Please let us learn to distinguish a joke from reality.
    My humble opinion.

• Frank Agyena-Karkari 1 week ago

GH. CITIZEN is a stupid man. How can an MP joke with kids like that? Go and do that in the US or Europe and see the repercussions.

The MP is a muslim and perhaps thinks it is accepted in his religion. If you do this in a government office in Saudi Arabia or Iran, you will be whipped in public.

• Name 1 week ago

My friend, an MP must know where and when to make jokes.

This is pure sexual harassment.

Let an MP in any European say such a thing (be it public or private) and I bet you, that would be his last day as MP: either he v ...

• 19th steps Aluta! 1 week ago

I have a safeguarding concerns here,if it were to be in an advanced nation such as the UK,this man would have resigned

• Tawiah 1 week ago

This MP must be picked U immediately. Who's the gender Minister? Would he be happy if a grown man like him makes such comment to his daughter? Absolute nonsense. Wisdom can never be synonimous to old age ampa

• SAHIMA 1 week ago

INFORMATION GATHERED HE SLEEPS WITH UNDERAGE GILRS IN THE VILLAGES.SO ITS PYSCOLOGICAL ,SO HE NEEDS MENTAL HELP.Especially Senior High school students.Well you cant blame him in the north 13years a given out in marriages

• Ata.yaw 1 week ago

Any other jurisdiction he would be forced to resigned because what about other girls are you saying they are not equally beautiful. This inappropriate statement coming a law maker.

• Mt103 USDT USA loading banks Canada link upTO up with all usa canada banks loading german too fixed crefit Scott mt103 1 week ago

Black Jesus: Bank wire transfer to all countries
    We are sending wire transfer and direct wasap him hamzaben.d@ hackermail. Com email email me your number I will wasap u or lawyer@presidency.com flashing to any country
    Ch ...

• JJ KUFFOUR AKUFO ADDO 1 week ago

Stupid fools. When did we get here as a country? Go to our towns and villages. Even our traditional rulers call little girls as their wives. This is common in Ghana. Why are trying so hard to be who we're not?

• BigMouth 1 week ago

The makings of a Kojo Sardine.....do you know who he was or perhaps you are too young ??

• Nana Boat. 1 week ago

All these people are making laws for us hmmmm. . . .

• Issah Nuhu 1 week ago

Aaaha, Ghana web, this one too be news. I'm disappointed in you

• Unserious people taking everything from others serious 1 week ago

In Ghana today, we cannot play with anything. Why do we have to take everything from others serious but we are not serious ourselves?

• CB Agyeman 1 week ago

His name,his cultural social and Religious back ground tells it all.There should be an by-election in his constituency. A fool of his nature is not qualify to be in that honourable house to be addressed as honourable. .

• Cooli0 1 week ago

Ghanaweb ans stupidity. Is this news?

• Wgoku 1 week ago

He is the most stupid person. The child parents have right to sue his idiot so-called MP. He is the type who can possible rape the child if left alone with the girl. ABOA.

• Petty 1 week ago

The UK and the US have all this safeguarding in place but there are still more cases of Child sexual abuse than in Ghana. Growing up, older people used to call children “my wife” or “my husband” but the cases of child ...

• Name 1 week ago

My friend, don't try to compare apples and mangoes: we are talking about an MP at WORK humilating a kid.

• Kk. 1 week ago

Awignaaa MP

• Kay 1 week ago

He should be removed from Parliament. He is a paedophile.

• BigMouth 1 week ago

Some females are even supporting this shameless MP......I guess they also suffer domestic abuse or get beat up by their boyfriends and they see that as a sign of love!!

• citixen 1 week ago

THAT IS HOW THE npp MP ARE !THAT IS WHY THEY ALL DONT MAKE SENCE WHEN IT COME THE MATTERS OF DEVELOPMENT ,ONLY FOOLS , THEY MAKE PALIAMENT LOOK SOO CHEAP ! GO ABOUT TAKING ADVANTAGE ON SMALL GIRLS IN TOWN FLIRTING IN THE NAME ...

• Three60 1 week ago

Oh from the statements i read , there is nothing wrong with the MP's remarks !

• Danny 1 week ago

Why is this an issue. I think I agree with @ Nana Addo

• Kwame 1 week ago

As a youth organizer I was in a secondary school for two days, some girls came to serve me.
    I asked which of you will marry me when you grow. They said both of them.
    But I never proposed love to any student who came for sc ...

• Ghana boy 1 week ago

Unfortunately Israel Laryea is majoring in minor issues. Look at the issue in context and stop trying to please your paymasters.
    As grandchildren our grandmothers called us their husbands . Does that make them paedophiles.

• NAG 1 week ago

CAN I CALL HIM "SHITHEAD"?,
    HOW MANY OF THEM ARE OVER THERE?
    USELESS HONOURABLE .

• Kwesi 1 week ago

So all such characters are in this parliament. Ghana has a long way to go.

• Leko 1 week ago

By their names, we shall know them

• Lol 1 week ago

Hahaha! You paaa!

• Jeff 1 week ago

I see nothing wrong with what the MP said. People always say things like this as joke. He was just joking.

• Joan 1 week ago

Those calling for the head of the Mp should pack off. The comment wàs on a lighter note. The journalist who posted this thing should bow his head in shame

• Ha! 1 week ago

Are people really surprised? Hahaha.

• Jimbo 1 week ago

Too bad. I will not be surprised if he is pedophile.

• Ken 1 week ago

So,in Ghana it is wrong to describe anyones' physical appearance right,cause the others making it so uncomfortable in a sense like he's lying about her beauty,only rapist will think his intention is to rape.

• Name 1 week ago

You seem to be a big idiot,

Did the children go there to be judged on their beauties?
    Hell no: they went there on educative trip: to experience how MPs do their work.

That is not the place to be praising the beauties o ...

• Joe 1 week ago

This us what happens when you mix Whiteman lifestyle with tgat if a Blackman.

You gerrr it?

• Gaga 1 week ago

The fool said she's my wife. Hmmm. That's enough to put his ass in jail. In Europe, the parents would sue him for these inappropriate remarks to underage girl and in some cases even causing trauma to the minor.

• Nii Joromi 1 week ago

We don't have any real leaders in Ghana. The village mentality and mediocrity is deeply rooted in these misleaders. This SOB of a parliamentarian has to be sanctioned.

• Sonya 1 week ago

Folks making such comments in unofficial environment is different. I have not heard of an official officer telling underage girl on an official visit which we call excursion to official premise being told when you grow up I w ...

The Minister of Gender Affairs should step in. This is serious. He is a moslem. You cannot do this in official circles in Saudi Arabia. So this one too is an MP? How did we come so low?

• Kwame 1 week ago

You can not do this in the US UK or any of the Western countries and not face any consequence.Outright resignation.

• Johnny 1 week ago

You can do trumu in US, UK or any of the western countries and go free. You idiots like comparing things without thinking beyond your ass

Trumu is done in private and not done at the workplace. The MP was at a government workplace. There is no room for such talk at the workplace.

• Dickson 1 week ago

What is all these fuse about,? Why do we have to politicise everything. Do journalist and content creators don't have anything serious to do. For once let's be serious as a people.
    Read Esther's comments and see how other c ...

• Capt Adabuga 1 week ago

Galamsey MP, now a pedophile MP. Only in Ghana

• Kofi123 1 week ago

That is a peadophile hiding in plain site.

• Kofi One 1 week ago

The people defending his comments are sick. She is a child, there is no way she shoild be referring to her in such a manner. She is not grown up. Saying he wants to marry her is a s£xualising comment and it does not matter i ...

• Osei mensah bonsu 1 week ago

Whats wrong with what he has said? Stupid who have nothing to talk about want to take advantage of this man. When did marriage become a sin? Is she is beautiful and she will definitely grow to become an adult, what's wrong wi ...

• ERLING OPONG 1 week ago

THIS NPP MP PAAA!
    He deserves caning - 12 lashes!

• IDIOTS IN GOVERMENT 1 week ago

This is where the problem starts from. People who should not hold leadership positions being given responsibility.
    This is the main reason why Africa is not moving forward.

• Oo 1 week ago

Mohammed Yakubu !!!!! THE BEST!!!!!

• Filigo 1 week ago

Akpeteshie tanker and pedophile. He needs to be expelled out of parliament but thank God 2028 isn't far. ANIMAL

• Gyan 1 week ago

This is a wisdom comment and it is only those who have that knowledge may understand..
    He said, when you grow up I will marry you.
    When is she going to grow up let alone to be his wife.
    This is purely literature and it is ...

• OSAFO KANTANKA 1 week ago

This Member of Parliament should be immediately Arrested and LockedUp. He is A DANGER to our Children. God has exposed this extremely dangerous and evil man.

• Sheik 1 week ago

GhanaWeb nkwasiafuor, because this fool is NDC, they just wrote MP under fire, anything an NPP MP was in the news for bad reasons, you'd see, "NPP MP under fire," fools

• Stop the silliness 1 week ago

It's a common joke among northerners.
    My grandma used to refer to me as " my husband "

It may be jokes among northerners, but it is unacceptable at the workplace.

• Kwame 1 week ago

I can understand him, those of us who find it difficult to talk often do not know how to crack jokes. I remembered telling a friend's wife who eating banana when I visited them whether she is a monkey. This joke hunts me for ...

• SIR CHARLES NUNOO 1 week ago

We can all see how 'unacceptable' the lawmaker's comments were. Just inappropriate. And it doesn't matter whether we're Ghanaians or not, criticism 'would flow' in any such situation.

Let's, however, give this young man so ...

• Great one 1 week ago

It's called grooming, this lunatic has planted ideas in the head of the little girl, this is flat wrong and a lot of people do this same thing carelessly without realizing the side effects

• Holy Sinner 1 week ago

HE IS A PAEDOPHILE AND MUST RESIGN ASAP.
    I know he is an NPP guy but PAEDOPHILIA must not be tolerated irrespective of party allegiance. Kick him out of parliament.

• Oo 1 week ago

Holy Sinner Fack You

• Holy Sinner 1 week ago

Muhammad Yakubu ? , but I understand Muslims are allowed to marry young under age girls if am right. If so then I see nothing wrong but if not then a serious offence has been committed and the Geezer has to be booted out.

• Oo 1 week ago

Mohammed Yakubu !!!!! THE BEST !!!!! GOD GHANA THE BEST !!!!! FREEDOM!!!!

• Wiseone 1 week ago

If the mp event meant what he said, what is wrong with that? If the girl grows up and says she will marry the mp , can you stop her ? Are you the parents? Did the mp defile the girl? Did he go to seek her hand in marriage ...