Money Over Life, Missed Diagnosis: Michael Blackson rants after his mother dies at UGMC

Read Comments Comments (64)

• Farouk 1 day ago

My friend the greatest mistake you ever made was to go back to Ghana to do charity works,Ghana is not worth your sacrifice in helping the needy.
    A famous person like you look at the system has dealt with you imagine what the ...

• Kwasi Addai 1 day ago

Why didn’t you whisk your mum to the US for medical treatment?

• FRANKIE 23 hours ago

People die every day at Mayo Clinic, Cleveland Clinic, Karolinska Universitetssjukhuset, Massachusetts General Hospital, Johns Hopkins University Hospital, Baylor University Medical Center etc, and yet these hospitals are reg ...

• Franka 18 hours ago

Very foolish @FRANKIE making a ridiculous argument. People die at koomininin and mother was 83 and so what? He has provided his facts including callous black people begging for money; what’s your problem?

• Bayor 16 hours ago

Some of you are the problem here in Ghana, he in fact said exactly what has been going on here gor decade, ask yourself the reason why our politicians fly abroad for medical treatment when we have the facilities and good doct ...

• Monkey see, Monkey do 13 hours ago

They can't do anything right over there..
    They lack professionalism. It's disappointing you did your best. You can't even trust God in Ghana

• Kwaku Tee 23 hours ago

@ Kwasi Addai
    A big FOOL with no brain in the head. A friend of mine from Mauritius Africa would never make such a comment. They are so proud to go back to their country after studies abroad. All their important leaders hav ...

• Nosacrilege 19 hours ago

Kwasi. Why should he take the mother to the USA when Ghana say we have a world class Healthcare? Why should we do that?

We have a problem in Ghana. Human life means nothing is almost all the so called Healthcare facilitie ...

• Shamsi 18 hours ago

Even in USA poor suffer from inaccessible health care. Blame big pharma

• Monkey see, Monkey do 13 hours ago

In America it's about health insurance. I knew a family in New jersey. The wife was pregnant but because they had no health insurance he couldn't call an ambulance and had to drive speeding honking the car horns and all strai ...

• Afful Atta-Doctor 12 hours ago

There is free medical care in the USA if you have no insurance. Have you heard of Medicaid.

• Gamin.. 18 hours ago

I was thinking about the same. If I'm not mistaken, his mom is a US citizen, so why let her go through a sub-par medical treatment in Ghana?

• The Spear 18 hours ago

It's a sorry situation being dramatized, and this is because of the unattractive and weird behavior patterns of Ghana hospitals. On the other hand, misdiagnosis happens in the US, too.

• sotrue 16 hours ago

UGMC ???

• Who Born Dog 7 hours ago

83 yrs wat do u think God should do again. Fa w0 gyimi firi h0 k0

• Sam 1 day ago

You are even lucky she had a bed to be nursed on.

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 1 day ago

@ Sam:
    YOU ARE BLAMING IT ON MISDIAGNOSIS BECAUSE OF HOW ATTACKED THE PREVIOUS ADMINISTRATION. YOU DON’T WANT TO REVEAL THE REAL CAUSE OF MOTHER’S DEMISE, GOOD LUCK .

I thought you said Akuffo-Addo’s government wa ...

• Nana Akoto 21 hours ago

See another what has politics got to with this

• ONNIPANUA PAA 1 day ago

Shut up my friend Owuo nnim hospital papa ne hospital bonie America nnipa enwu anaa?

• Lol 1 day ago

Low IQ'S like you are the reason why Ghana is like this. Have you ever seen . They talking about the issue and all you see us stupidity

• ONNIPANUA PAA 9 hours ago

Ofui shut up

• Very bad new for Ghana medical Association 1 day ago

This young Doctors are not in their profession to serve lives anymore. They are desperately looking for money by all means. A family member of my mother was due for a procedure, they charged them huge amount of money and afte ...

• K 1 day ago

There is no healthcare system in that country. If you don’t have a personal relationship with a doctor or nurse, you will never get professional care. I weep for my family still in that country.

• Katekastyle... 23 hours ago

Yeap, Ghana is a mess all around every sector. Shameful !

• Tee Kay 22 hours ago

There is DYING and there is KILLING.
    The sad truth is that people in Ghana are not DYING, but are being KILLED by the wicked system, especially the medical system put in place by some inhumane and wicked human beings who cla ...

• Peter 23 hours ago

Why don't you come take your family and join you as economic refugees?

• oo6 1 day ago

hhhmmm it is a known fact that our hospitals are only there to milk Ghanaians.
    The personel do use all kind of tricks to syphon poor ghanaians when a family member get admited at various hospitals

• Babalawo 1 day ago

Massa, stop the nonsense, even in the USA if you don't have insurance, your treatment stops with painkillers.

• Naneama!!!! 1 day ago

Eii! Arrogance and ignorance runs through all you've I read. It's sad and unfortunate that you've lost your mum but your rant is all empty. I read nothing meaningful or factual. A health personnel told you your mum isn't stab ...

• Awine 18 hours ago

He paid with his mother’s life you stupid bastard child of an ashawo whore. Wait until it happens to you, you ignorant fool

• Naneama!!!! 14 hours ago

It will happen to you first. In fact, you will pay with every single soul in your family and still not save the 1 life.
    Must you believe every story? Have you analysed his story very well? If he thinks he has a point to prov ...

• Oklemekuku¹ 1 day ago

When you talk about this, they claim you're envious of doctors. Fact is , we can all not be doctors

• Kwesi Bruce 1 day ago

It's an unfortunate situation and we're all sorry for your demise but please, misdiagnoses do even happen in high profile hospitals in Europe and the Americas.

• Don 1 day ago

You are super right bro, Ghana is a good domain but attitude of some service delivery providers are damn poor. Always on their phone even at work. I remember one time had surgery at 37 military hospital and on admission, a nu ...

• Don 1 day ago

You are super right bro, Ghana is a good domain but attitude of some service delivery providers are damn poor. Always on their phone even at work. I remember one time had surgery at 37 military hospital and on admission, a nu ...

• Peter 23 hours ago

It's an attitude problem. Even in the US you are likely to encounter low level attitude from Ghanaian or Nigerian nurse once he or she finds out you are one of his own. They spend all their time fo overtime and go to work at ...

• Shamsi 18 hours ago

Peter the fool. Whose DNA. You probably praise other races and reduce your own. Disgusting human

• Maxwell - UK 1 day ago

All what Mike said are allegations. If he has evidence he needs to proceed to court to test the Ghana legal system before ranting. He should stop denegrating Ghana.

• Franka 17 hours ago

@Maxell, did you not pay attention to what he said about the legal system????

• Delali 1 day ago

UGMC focuses on money than health care.
    The only faclity that charges 2x the amount for consultation on weekends and holiday as if a person can chose the day he gets seek.
    The earlier they stop the extortion, the better.

• Peter 23 hours ago

How do you expect them to cover their cost. You can go to Mamobi polyclinic at the weekend.

• Mt103 USDT USA loading banks Canada link upTO up with all usa canada banks loading german too fixed crefit Scott mt103 1 day ago

Black Jesus: Bank wire transfer to all countries
    We are sending wire transfer and direct wasap him hamzaben.d@ hackermail. Com email email me your number I will wasap u or lawyer@presidency.com flashing to any country
    Ch ...

• Kyeiwaa Vida 23 hours ago

Hmmm. I now side with some of my relatives who don't want their kids to ever set foot in Ghana till they are adults to decide for themselves if they want to visit this godforsaken country.

• Peter 22 hours ago

But who really cares about where any individual decides to live and have a life. Have you seen any Norwegian or Japanese or British family that aspired to let their children go live abroad. Your poverty mentality makes you th ...

• Obroniba 23 hours ago

Sorry for the lost bro. But this is Ghana for you. Bribery and corruption everywhere. No money, no nothing. Pray for the spirit of your late mum to deal ruthlessly with those thieves and idiots

• Lucky 23 hours ago

Massa, stop running your mouth.Go ahead and sue if you think your Mom was misdiagnosed.

• Bob 23 hours ago

He is right. They choose money over treatment. Most hospitals in Ghana. Recently, I went to Holy Trinity hospital at North Kaneshie near Lighthouse Church. While I was suffering and wanted to see a doctor, the nurses at the r ...

• Kweku 22 hours ago

UGMC must sit up and improve upon its services because it's becoming too much. UGMC was supposed to be the teaching and research hospital for the University of Ghana Medical School but NPP gave it to the Ministry of Health to ...

• CUSTOM has LAUNCHED an online AUCTION of seized VEHICLES , giving everyone in AFRICA the CHANCE to own a VEHICLE at an affordable price. DISTANCES is no OBSTACLE SHIPPING takes place IMMEDIATELY after the order is PLACED . 22 hours ago

A TRIAL WILL CONVINCES YOU

SOME CAR LIST BELOW.
    Golf 3K GHS __ 5K GHS

TOKUNBO CARS BELOW :�

Mitsubishi L200 60,000 GHS
    Hyundai 20K TO 90,00 ...

• Shades 22 hours ago

That UGMC eh,,you are better off going herbal

• Jimbo 21 hours ago

Corruption everywhere in Ghana. No mercy for the cripple. So disgusting.

• Niionii 21 hours ago

This hospital is horrible. I was there last September for 6 nights and had to check myself out. Paid 12000 cedis. I was lucky I had to return to London for treatment. I was surprised this hospital could not treat my problem. ...

• Opoku 21 hours ago

One sided story!

• Yoo 20 hours ago

This country called Ghana has so many deficits to correct but when? A key reset we all need is a change with our mentality.

• Bakogone Tiblisi Honest VIEWS undualized intercity roads 20 hours ago

When you go through, only then would you know how the system has corrupted people.
    He is not lying, is he?
    The behind the scene business deal in the health sector.
    Trust no man. God only. Eat healthy food. Stay fit. Be wi ...

• Benjamin Agortey 19 hours ago

Hell is real,heaven is real,give your life to JESUS

• @@@ 17 hours ago

Masa commit for there are you the only one who has lost a loved one through the GHS even in America where you live worse things happen. Why didn't you fly her to the US?

• K K 16 hours ago

Maybe they have to transfer most of the staff of the hospitals every year to bring sanity into the system!
    These money of life syndrome is becoming a serial killer in our hospitals in the country!
    I have heard a lot of comp ...

• Hendrix 16 hours ago

May her soul rest in peace.

• Shai 14 hours ago

Common practice at most of the hospitals in Ghana. Me I will take herbal from maame fante.

• Araba Kwesi 12 hours ago

Sad Sad Sad. Sorry Bro to lose your mom. However, it is not good to badmouth the hospital which has equally saved people in Ghana. If you have a case, take them to court, as the media bashing will rather mess your case up. ...

• Kofi 4 hours ago

Not any concrete fact, all just accusations in the article. He should get the facts and follow it up in the judicial system. Anger and blaming everybody for the death of a loved one is the first stage of grief. If the hospita ...

• Daniel 4 hours ago

He should give us a detailed account of what actually happened. What was her mother's diagnosis at UGMC.
    Why is saying it is a misdiagnosis. How did he know the alternative diagnosis.
    Health care is not free. Somebody mus ...

• Prophet 1 hour ago

Health care delivery in Ghana is a big challenge. There are young doctors who don't value experience practicing and I wonder what controls or evaluations they use. Steam of surgeons diagnosed a 50 year old of lung cancer and ...