'Did democracy matter when you were in power?' - Manasseh Azure tears into NPP-backed protest

Read Comments Comments (97)

• Owusu 2 days ago

NPP live in a different world compares to other Ghanaians. They live under and illusion, where abnormal things are normal to them and vice versa

• Bitter truth 2 days ago

@ Owusu stop the nonesense..during Npp time, ordinary Ghanaians were insulting nana Addo left and right without any harassment and arrest..ndc is governing Ghana like autocratic leadership..they don’t want anyone to critici ...

• TRUTH 2 days ago

What is worse than killing a journalist for investigating government officials.

By the way, it is a lie to say people insulted Nana Addo without being arrested.

If Kevin Taylor was in Ghana, do you think NPP will have ...

• Kwabena Agyei 2 days ago

Stop fooling.
    Was Kelvin Taylor the only person who insulded President Akufo Addo?
    Were you and your likes not in Ghana then?
    Were you arrested?
    Ofui.

• TRUTH 2 days ago

If they did,they would get a conviction against me.

I believe presidents represent the nation and any insults on them is directly against the nation.

Only unpatriotic people insult the land of their birth.

I have a ...

• TRUTH 2 days ago

If they did,they would not get a conviction against me.

• Concerned Ghanaian 2 days ago

Manasseh please keep doing what you do, providing the trusted shield of truth which virtually all your so called contemporaries here in Ghana media have sold their souls to the devil of our political parties so cheaply. This ...

• Apraku 2 days ago

l really sometimes wonder if these pseudo journalists also resides in Ghana? How many times did Sammy Gyamfi and his cohorts demonstrate against Akufo's government? They've forgotten when they were singing "Kum Nana Addo ma y ...

• Joe 2 days ago

You are like your president

• ASEMPA 2 days ago

Stop ur sycophantic nonsense, was Captain Smart alone not arrested 38 times in 2yrs, if ur NPP had won the 2024 elections, half of Ghanaians would have been dead by now thru ur thievery, corruption, mismanagement etc etc

• Father land 2 days ago

Because you're ignorant and blind ,you don't know any better person but captain Smart the chimpanzee. Foolish

• THE PARTY IN DECLINE 2 days ago

I have always maintained the npp as it is now cannot fool anybody with their abject hypocricy. Today the jubilee house is no longer a security zone and the npp can march to the jubilee house to deliver a petition with no one ...

• Lydia 2 days ago

Please respond to the painful truth Manasseh spoke about. Is it not the truth under NPP for 8 years in power?

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 2 days ago

@Bitter truth

Stop fooling yourself bro for there's no panic and fear in ang ordinary citizen. You can't be on a different ppatform showing your disapproval of this kind of politics only to demonstrate against same the n ...

• DUC 2 days ago

@Bitter truth. Are you using only insults as the criteria to measure democracy? Comment on statistics on the presented and stop making foolish assessment to conclude that democracy is under attack. If democaracy is under, you ...

• UNTIL AKUFO-ADDO AND OFORI ATTA-AYI ALSO LANDS IN PRISON WITH HARD LABOUR, WITH ALL THEIR GLOBAL ASSETS CONFISCATED TO GHANAIAN TAXPAYERS, WONTUMI'S SENTENCE AND IMPRISONMENT WILL BE DEEDMED SELECTIVE JUSTICE. 2 days ago

GHANAIANS CANNOT DO ANYTHING WITHOUT HYPOCRITICALLY MENTIONING GOD'S NAME.

WHAT DOES GOD'S NAME HAVE TO DO WITH A DEMONSTRATION WITH THE OBJECTIVE OFFORCING THE GRANTING OF FREEDOM TO ESTABLISHED STATE CRIMINALS IN GHANA' ...

• TRUTH BE TOLD 2 days ago

BITTER TRUTH INDEED....YOU CANNOT SWALLOW THE BITTER TRUTH YOURSELF.

You and your goons with your foul smelling stinking mouth , should be humble and learn the useful lessons from Mannaseh

• Be Honest 2 days ago

So you mean we should allow insult to continue? You can criticize the government on policy you did not agree but to insult and threatening the president and his wife, i don't think that is the right way to go.

• Peter Siaw 1 day ago

Under NPP, Paul Afoko, the then NPP chairman was kept in prison for a long time even though a competent court acquitted and discharged him. Where were all these NPP people demonstrating now, that Democracy is under attack. NP ...

• Manasseh NDC 2 days ago

Manasseh, we see your true colours now just shut up !

• Arrest Him. 2 days ago

Eii Ghanaweb, an event happened on the 7th August and you held commentary on it on the 6th.

• TRUTH 2 days ago

What around you talking about¿????????

What event are you talking about???

• Oprege 2 days ago

Azure is a smart opinion writer that gets unnecessary partisan sometimes and his comments here is a pragmatic example

• Atta Kay 2 days ago

Manasseh Azure is an attention seeker. When JJ Rawlings and his Gang were brandishing AK 47, Machine Guns & Canes on the street telling Ghanaians we would not go to Multiparty Democracy where was he Manasseh and his parents?

• Mponua 2 days ago

@Atta Kay, why are you drunk this early morning..??? Your question doesn't make any sense at all.......

• Blue Pen 2 days ago

@Atta Kay. Where do NPP gather characters like you from? I guess, in your mind, during Rawlings' era Manasseh was of the same age he is today and had the same kind of influence he has today.

• L€ARN A MONEY-MAKING SKILL THAT GUARANTEES DAILY CASH FLOW FOR YOU- LEARN HOW 2 days ago

5 months to end of year and you haven't learnt a new skill to better your income? Ha! EMPOWER YOURSELF TO €ARN CASH DAILY before the month ends! Exchange a service for money. BE URGENT in your quest to turn your life around ...

• Blade 2 days ago

MAY THE ALMIGHTY GOD CURSE THE DAY THE NPP WAS FORMED. THE MOST REALISTIC OBSTACLE TO GHANA'S DEVELOPMENT IS THE NPP. HOW CAN YOU BERATE THE PRESIDENT FOR FIGHTING CORRUPTION? I WONDER WHAT'S WRONG WITH THESE PEOPLE.

God will actually reverse the curse to the useless wicked party Ndc..ndc is a curse to mother Ghana..2028, Ndc is heading straight to opposition..mark it everywhere..a liter of fuel is 16 cedis per liter..dumsor everywhere in ...

• WONTUMI'S SENTENCE AND IMPRISONMENT WOULD BE DEEDMED SELECTIVE JUSTICE IF AKUFO-ADDO AND OFORI-ATTA CONTINUES TO WALK FREE. 2 days ago

GHANAIANS CANNOT DO ANYTHING WITHOUT HYPOCRITICALLY MENTIONING GOD'S NAME.

WHAT DOES GOD'S NAME HAVE TO DO WITH A DEMONSTRATION WITH THE OBJECTIVE OFFORCING THE GRANTING OF FREEDOM TO ESTABLISHED STATE CRIMINALS IN GHANA' ...

• Please save me my fellow Ghanaians,i'm a 28 years old Ghanaian lady that was scammed by some Nigerians, i'm currently serving a 2 years jail term in a Nigerian prison,i can be reached on WhatsApp via +2348140725576 to explain what happened 2 days ago

it all started few years ago when i received a Facebook message that a travel agency in Lagos Nigeria was recruiting Ghanaians and Nigerians for jobs in Canada, i sold everything i had and borrowed money from a lot of people ...

• Please save me my fellow Ghanaians,i'm a 28 years old Ghanaian lady that was scammed by some Nigerians, i'm currently serving a 2 years jail term in a Nigerian prison,i can be reached on WhatsApp via +2348140725576 to explain what happened 2 days ago

it all started few years ago when i received a Facebook message that a travel agency in Lagos Nigeria was recruiting Ghanaians and Nigerians for jobs in Canada, i sold everything i had and borrowed money from a lot of people ...

This uncivilized uncircumcised Manasseh Azure is one of the problems in Ghana..i thought he was a genuine journalist until the zoomlion case..people like this will destroy others just to feel important..destroying the hardwor ...

• Nyameasem Nyasasem 2 days ago

What are you implying; that Manasseh Azure is uncircumcised? C'mon, let's be serious! My friend, check, how many of your people have been circumcised? It's an irony .

• TRUTH 2 days ago

Manasseh is not the problem. NPP is Ghana's heavy cross and Manasseh just like many of us who started with NPP have seen the light.

NDC is not perfect, but they are far, far better than NPP.

• Kwaku Tee 2 days ago

Where were you Manasseh Azure when founders of NPP were fighting PNDC for democracy in the 80s? I remember late JJ Rawlings telling Ghanaians there was nobody to handover power to when questioned about Democracy. Did you know ...

• Osaberima Mensah 2 days ago

Just answer the simple question from the guy and stop going to the 80s for a lot of your own criminal gangs dont know anything about that time, they know more of you criminals from 2000s. Answer the question and stop your rus ...

• Kwaku Tee 2 days ago

@ Osabarima Mensah
    Too young to understand the topic. Many sacrificed their life for us to get to this stage. I first met late JJ Rawlings as a Primary school kid in Aburi Botanical Gardens in 1979. He was then around 29. I ...

• Osaberima Mensah 2 days ago

Weldone, clap for your self, and then what happend? I was among the national task force when JJ Rawlings organize university students in 1983 to help harvest, transport, and evacuate massive stockpiles of stranded cocoa from ...

• atia 2 days ago

So, if it was bad under NPP, it cannot be bad under NDC? What kind of warped logic is that!
    Did the NDC equally not demonstrate and criticise the NPP for it? Hypocrite!

• Torgbe 2 days ago

The truth is bitter

• Owusey 2 days ago

Manasseh,you people don't want to condemn bad things in the Country, Only interested in comparing
    With all that you've listed to bunter your aguements, let me ask you one question and be kindly and answer me.Were you ok or h ...

• JOHNk( The NPP is too much in a harry. They will keep on scoring own goals till the party collaps) 2 days ago

The NPP is not strategic . They have soo soon forgotten all they did with the power for 8 years. They are making things easy for the NDC communicaters . The NPP should get onething clear in their heads,Ghanaians are wide awak ...

• Afram 2 days ago

You Do The CRIME, You Do The TIME... ??

• Kweku S 2 days ago

Oh bitter truth, Nana was insulted left and right without harrassment? You are embarrassing, ignorant and delluded. What happened to Bongo ideas when he criticised Akuffo Addo 's wife? Didn't Akuffo sent his thugs to pick hi ...

• Sp 2 days ago

We offer specialized Website, Mobile Apps and Software Development plus social media services for Organizations, Companies, Institutions, Unions and Associations. Whatsapp or call: 0242161130

• MOG 2 days ago

Mr.Azure! Ehuuuuu!!

• Donatus 2 days ago

NPP highest score was 4.3 which was Mahama lowest score.

• Me 2 days ago

As a neutral Ghanaian watching from the UK, it seems both NPP and NDC deliberately avoid building strong institutions so that whichever party is in power can easily exploit the system’s weaknesses when it’s their turn.”

• Ghana's laborer 2 days ago

So with Azure's post, did those issues he highlighted really happen or not. Sometimes we feel guilty inwardly anytime we are defending wrongly to facts presented by someone. What are you telling those who were handled those d ...

• Kulinoli Dinviela 2 days ago

If under Nana those things happened, NPP suffered the consequences through rejection by Ghanaians. Logically, should the NDC repeat those same mistakes especially as they promised to reset the country? If we continue with thi ...

• Mandela 2 days ago

Make no mistake the Republic of Ghana is under attack by a gang of NPP Ashanti corrupt, megalomaniac, entitled, illiterate low IQ fools. Those lunatics who invaded Accra, the ugly Nana B, the quadrilateral-headed Oppong Nkru ...

• Alkabuland 2 days ago

This same criminanl corrupt good for nothing group canll npp shot and killed 8 Ghanaians including kids in 2020 elections till date nothing happen so which democracy are they npp piklees talking about.

• Kwabena Agyei 2 days ago

God will punish you for your hypocrisy and double standards.

• HMM 2 days ago

Look at so called journalist. So you think it is good for someone repeateding statements by a pastor should be jailed while the pastor is allowed to to go Scott free?
    A person jailed for 20 yrs for given land to someone whil ...

• HAPPY DAYS 2 days ago

Manasseh,you tout yourself as investigative journalist,why are you silent on the fact that Nana Addo led NPP government increased Ghana's GDP from ghc230billion in 2016 to ghc1.2trillion in 2024 a 5.1times in 8yrs,this inform ...

• Nana Boat. 2 days ago

So the NPP thinks Ghanaians have forgotten or will forget what the did with Akuffo Addo for 8 years?
    NOTHING WILLIAMS DISTRACT THE PRESIDENT FROM THE GOOD WORKS HE'S DOING FOR MOTHER' GHANA.

• Bug babs 2 days ago

Npp are very good when they are not in government am praying they remain there forever so they can put government in check

• Nee 2 days ago

This idiot have the gust to still talking in Ghana after causing the mess with our sanitation problems all because of his hatred for Akans success. Just wait for few yeats and Karma will definitely deal with you.

• Joe 2 days ago

You travel outside the country for your own leisure time and paint a negative picture that you're under attack, this is the kind of person you're, currently Nana Yaa Brifo and Afia Pokuwaa, and not in Ghana. Should they also ...

• paa mills 2 days ago

If that gentleman thinks Ghana's democracy is well-positioned under the current NDC, notice has been noted; however, he should not write any trash when similar infractions and abuses are extended to the NDC when in the oppos ...

• atia 2 days ago

Good. Let NPP keep quiet, so when they win, they can also arrest any NDC member that says fi about the government.

These so-called journalist with double standards will destroy Ghana.
    If it was bad under NPP, shouldn't i ...

• paa mills 2 days ago

If that gentleman thinks Ghana's democracy is well-positioned under the current NDC, notice has been noted; however, he should not write any trash when similar infractions and abuses are extended to the NDC when in the oppos ...

• paa mills Forson 2 days ago

The NPP government under President Akufo-Addo is far better than the second-term President Mahama. It appears nothing is working for Ghana.
    As for opposition arrests, it will never end because NDC appointees are doing worse ...

• NANA TRUMU TRUMU ADDO 2 days ago

NPP PARTY IS NOW FOR FOOLS. I AM SO ASTONISHED THAT DANKWA/ BUSIA PARTY WILL ALLOW AFENYO MARKINS, A VOLTARIAN TO DESTROY THE PARTY LIKE THIS. WHAT IS MORE WORRYING IS THAT ON THE DAY THAT GHANA WAS MOURNING OUR GALLANT MEN W ...

• Towncrier 2 days ago

NPP = NON-PROGRESSIVE PERSONS
    NPP - NON-PRODUCTIVE PERSONALITIES
    NPP - NATIONAL PLUNDERING PUNDITS

• Aziz 2 days ago

This dog eater too wat is your problem. idiot

• Mohammed Tolon 2 days ago

Democracy is not 'IT IS NOT ONLY AWUNI WHO DRINKS'. There was one AWUNI in Tolon. There was another too but I mean Father Awuni of Mma Ayaglima's husband and father of Akolibla. Father Awuni was very jovial especially when h ...

• AK 2 days ago

Azure, if you don't know, the current democratic governance is seriously under attack by the NDC. When was the last time the Mo Index came out? If it should come out today, your government will score 3%. Don't pretend to be t ...

• Joe 2 days ago

If democracy didn't Matter
    1. You would have been arrested when you said 'it would have been glorious if Akufo Addo had died without being a president'
    2. When you reference Akufo Addo as' Pharaoh let my people go'
    3. Wh ...

• Karma 2 days ago

Azure, you as a journalist, should always stay neutral rather than backing the NDC all the time and address the real issues facing the society..
    These two political parties in Ghana, NDC and NPP repeat the same mistakes when ...

• Lionel 2 days ago

Once a while Manasseh tries to be neutral but we know that his heart is with the demonic NDC.

• MR PRESIDENT, DUMP THE PETITION IN THE BIN - Ghanani 2 days ago

Ban any Danquah/Busia party in Ghana. They are NATION WRECKERS. From when Ghana achieved independence they have always betrayed Ghana to its external enemies.
    Busia and Danquah were on the payroll of the CIA.The CIA bankroll ...

• Kojo 2 days ago

I thought we came to reset Ghana? Hmm. Ghana needs to move forward Manaseh please.

• Ofori 2 days ago

They talk like Ghana is for them but when you to their home town people drink water with cows.

• GH 2 days ago

What happened to Hamed Suali and MR: Azure himself have to runed for his life

• Mental charter 2 days ago

What kind of stupid question is that

• Ghanaweb 2 days ago

Nonsense

• Gizo Gizo 2 days ago

Thank you Ace Journalist. I was wondering what people you will speak about? Even under that regime, asking simple question in examination called for visit to Accra several time. Now, democracy is under attacked because that r ...

• Nii 2 days ago

Well said.Azure

• Kwame not Quame 2 days ago

Another fool called mannaseh azure.These people. think that Ghana is for them.Go and dig borehole for your people up north and stop your too knowing Mannaseh Ofui

• TRUE GHANAIAN 2 days ago

Ghanaians have short nemories. Thanks, Manessah for the reminder

• Walewale Bob Marley 2 days ago

The more NPP attempt to ridicule this government the more they are reminded of their tenure in office which was worse than any government in history. A simple advice to them is silence

• Walewale Bob Marley 2 days ago

The more NPP attempt to ridicule this government the more they are reminded of their tenure in office which was worse than any government in history. A simple advice to them is silence

• ABOKI 2 days ago

ASK THEM OOOOOOO.

• Ojatanaa 2 days ago

This shit carrier turned journalist just say you are ndc and stop your foolishness

• CUSTOM has LAUNCHED an online AUCTION of seized VEHICLES , giving everyone in AFRICA the CHANCE to own a VEHICLE at an affordable price. DISTANCES is no OBSTACLE SHIPPING takes place IMMEDIATELY after the order is PLACED . 2 days ago

A TRIAL WILL CONVINCES YOU

SOME CAR LIST BELOW.
    Golf 3K GHS __ 5K GHS

TOKUNBO CARS BELOW :�

Mitsubishi L200 60,000 GHS
    Hyundai 20K TO 90,00 ...

• Nana 2 days ago

The NPP has lost any legitimacy and relevance as a party and now resorting to any dubious tactics to stay alive. It's sad the party statesmen have left the party in the hands of rogues.

• Akua Mansa 2 days ago

Thank you Manasseh!
    THEY WILL STAY IN OPPOSITION TILL THY KINGDOM COME!FOR THEIR UNJUSTIFIED PIWER-DRUNKEN ATTITUDES
    Did Democracy matter when they came to Trasacco phase 1 Byron’s gate with at least 3-military pick up t ...

• Mary Mavis Gyamfiwaa 2 days ago

ANOTHER CORRUPT JOURNALIST. ASK HIMWHY HE CHOSE NOT TO INVESTIGATE OTABIL ON THE BANK SCANDALINVOLVING HIM?

• Father land 2 days ago

Look that dog eating stomach journalist. Very stupid Stomach direction guy like. Because ghana have become useless, stupid corrupt dog eater like calls yourself a journalist. Foool

• Efo Kofi 2 days ago

KWAASHIAA look at this idiot kwaashiaa foolish man

• Efo Kofi 2 days ago

KWAASHIAA look at this idiot kwaashiaa foolish man

• Selorm 2 days ago

This people are very insensitive and they will continue to insensitive 4ver.

• Raphael Abeam US 1 day ago

I want to know if Manaase Azure is a judges who has answers to any thing that happens in Ghana. So democracy is when you say something you should be arrested without trial. You have been taking monies from.people and always c ...

• Obrempong 1 day ago

Awuni Azure has his Government in place, and
    he can write and whatever. Ndc governments cannot
    Compare themselves to any governments that has
    Ghana before. If one looks at the Mahama appointees
    and their spokesmen, it t ...

• 38% 1 day ago

Ozigi-zagaaa. Any time this guy talks I start looking for the salt shaker, I may need a pinch.