Okoe Boye sets record straight on Ghana Scholarships Secretariat funding for his PhD

Read Comments Comments (102)

• EFO KOKU 1 day ago

DEP. ATTORNEY GENERAL
    Srem Sai took everything including belt allowance.

• SAEED OSMAN 1 day ago

Bunch of thieves. Yet to see a single NPP politician who's clean. Too much. Criminals

• Ivory Mensah 1 day ago

Which PhD takes 5 years?

• Frank Agyena -Karikari. 1 day ago

Hmmm. In Ghana, it can take that long because of frustration and jealousy. I remember a Guy at UCC in the mid eighties who took more than five years for his Master's Degree but wasn't awarded it. He finally befriended a Peace ...

• Scholarships for Sale 1 day ago

@ Frank Agyena-Karikari. Even though you sometimes type trash you also type sense some other days. Are you seeing the light small small. Massa be brave and jump ship. NPP Titanic is in Icebergs waters oooo. The earlier th ...

• AKABENEZER 1 day ago

This scholarship secretariat needs to be shut down. It is a scam perpertrated against the poor people of Ghana to benefit politicians and the well connected. Over archieving children of the poor Gɔbɛ, Kenkey, Waachey, AND a ...

I am not an active Politician and not an opportunist. If I were, I would have joined the PNDC and NDC at the time of Rawlings became my friends occupied higher positions in those Governments. Yes. Nuamah Donkor was my playing ...

• KOFI 6 hours ago

You have posted some tribalist things unfortunately.

• kwame 1 day ago

This was a distance version, reason why was not entitled to the monthly stipend. How do we pay monthly stipend to someone who is working full time for the Government of Ghana in Ghana and at the same time taking a monthly sti ...

• POURFENDEUR DE LA CORRUPTION/ANTI CORRUPTION 1 day ago

Srem Sai, Asiedu Nketsiah's children, Spio Garbah and his children, all JJ Rawlings children benefited from this scholarship to the detriment of the poor Ghanaian. Now, John Mahama is doling out our money to criminals who cal ...

• POURFENDEUR DE LA CORRUPTION/ANTI CORRUPTION 1 day ago

Srem Sai, Asiedu Nketsiah's children, Spio Garbage and his children, all JJ Rawlings children benefited from this scholarship to the detriment of the poor Ghanaian. Now, John Mahama is doling out our money to criminals who ca ...

• be wise 1 day ago

Yes some PhDs can be 6/7 years depending on some circumstances, five years is normal although the standard for most none technical PhDs are within 3/4 years.

• Please save me fellow Ghanaians,i'm a Ghanaian lady that was scammed and imprisoned by some Nigerians,i'm currently serving a 2 years jail term in a Nigerian prison,i can be reached on WhatsApp via +2348140725576 to explain more 1 day ago

it all started few years ago when i received a facebook message that a travel agency in Nigeria was recruiting Ghanaians & Nigerians for jobs in Canada, i sold everything i had and borrowed money from a lot of people and kept ...

• DJ Kapito 1 day ago

If Okoe Boye's claims are true, then he needs to be celebrated, because it would mean he is just one of the few honest people left in the moribund NPP.
    How evil can a group of people be?

• TRUTH 1 day ago

Dr Boye is so far the only honest man in NPP.

He reminders me of Glades Asmoah, and Da Rocka.

Those were the days some of us loved to be called an NPP supporter.

I think he should join Alan's UP Party if he is to ...

• Felicia 1 day ago

A seasonal student who is working in Ghana shouldn’t have been awarded any form of scholarship, not tuition fees not spouse allowance and certainly not children, allowances of £8160 monthly per child is outrageous! Even Br ...

• Abbey 1 day ago

Herh Nana Addo government have cost Ghana heavy. Imagine paying tuition fees for individuals to do their PhD and paying their wives and five children too to stay with their parents. We were borrowing money to do these lavishn ...

• Pip 1 day ago

So couldn't you have done your studies in Ghana instead of depriving needy students of this benefit?

• Kwame 1 day ago

We are just not serious as a nation. Government doesn't have much resources to cater for the needs of the nation. Meanwhile, she keeps adding more burdens than it can carry. Why free SHS when some parents are willing to pay f ...

• Pip 1 day ago

So couldn't you have done your studies in Ghana instead of depriving needy students of this benefit?

• Pip 1 day ago

• Gonja Mafia 1 day ago

What you're asking should be put to Sammy Okudzeto Ablakwa. He was trekking from Accra to UK every weekend ate expense of the tax payer.

• This is why bawumia shdnt lead ghana. Thank God we stopped him 1 day ago

A few moments later... i will speak to my law

Massa stop all scholarships in ghana

• Yaw Wontumi 1 day ago

Just hear him. Nonsense. You could buy your own air ticket sleep in AirBnB but cannot pay for tuition? Thieves. Gbemelawo.

• K. AKWASI 1 day ago

ORAL IS EXPOSING THE CHEATS IN SOCIETY
    Oh! Dr. Okie Boye!!! Aren't you ashamed that they had to use state funds to sponsor your studies that also covered your wife and three children! What a vampire you are.

• Konkonsa 1 day ago

Are you daft, stupid, deaf or illiterate? Was the wife a beneficiary of the scholarship? Clearly, learning is not your thing. Is it?

• Twe 1 day ago

Review all scholarships since the PNDC era till present , good job madam High Commissioner, May God bless you

• C.q 1 day ago

How did you pay for Airbnb for all those years? Renting is cheaper than Airbnb so I need education here, Doc. Stop the nonsense!! We are not kids here. I dare you to prove those payments. I’m sure Airbnb accounts maintain t ...

• KK Oduro 1 day ago

@C.q
    In this scenario Airbnb is cheaper than renting an apartment.
    Airbnb could be for 2days or 5days depending on the number of day he want to spend in UK. He was a siting minister in Ghana and at the same time doing Phd. ...

• David Arvid Amuzu 1 day ago

Congratulations. It's because you know who you are and the consequences. You are a clever and genuine politician.

• Chief 1 day ago

Ordinary citizens work their way through, obtain scholarships to fund their studies. A whole medical doc cum politician, couldn't you have done same? Must it come from the scholarship secretariat? Ama ghana dey bleed too much

• Esi 1 day ago

An Airbnb for 5 years you say?

Airbnb's are not cheap!!

• KK Oduro 1 day ago

KK Odurojust now
    @Esi
    In this scenario Airbnb is cheaper than renting an apartment.
    Airbnb could be for 2days or 5days depending on the number of day he want to spend in UK. He was a siting minister in Ghana and at the sam ...

• KK 1 day ago

This is greed, you were a minister and later CEO of NHIS and an MP yet you used state funds to finance your PhD. Greedy man.

• Ghana is 69 years 1 day ago

Ghana is 69 years old, and the NDC has governed Ghana for approximately 35 years, while the NPP has governed for about 16 years. If these scholarship rules have been in place throughout this period, then NDC ministers, offici ...

• Kwame Nkrumah 1 day ago

Shut up

• Kwame 1 day ago

We are just not serious as a nation. Government doesn't have much resources to cater for the needs of the nation. Meanwhile, she keeps adding more burdens than it can carry. Why free SHS when some parents are willing to pay f ...

• Asantehene ba 1 day ago

Politicians create and loot for their own benefits....hmmmmmm...One day one day

• David Arvid Amuzu 1 day ago

Ghanaian universities too are punishing applicants who want to pursue postgraduate studies. Lectures deliberately delay work and frustrate applicants.
    Most of the foreign countries are even more equip than ghann'd universit ...

• Kooko 1 day ago

Tiif politicians.. one day second JJ. Will come for you all.

And JJ was not the "THIEFEST" of them all? He was worse. Was he ever able to declare how he financed the education of the University Education of his children (including Medical School) to Ghanaians. He lied by saying his fri ...

• MV 1 day ago

So the GETFUND is strictly for politicians and their families. Wow!

• Ntsiful 1 day ago

What was so special about your research topic that you needed to do it outside for its implementation in Ghana, how!
    You wanted to know what incentives Ghanaian health workers needed to make them accept postings to rural Gha ...

• Torpodela 1 day ago

ANIMAL ANIMALS ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ANIMAL ...

• James Kwashitse 1 day ago

we struugled on our empty stomachs in legon in our poverty, whicle they enjoyed from our toil.
    God is watching you all Politicians.
    Shame shame

Rawlings was specially punished for stealing Ghana' money to finance his children's education in England for Courses that could have been taken in Ghana. Yet, he killed the Airforce Commander at the time for TAKING A FIFTY TH ...

• Kissangani 1 day ago

Are scholarships designed for people like you? Why should the tax payer fund a politician like you who is already stealing government money to go sit in another country and study?

• Kojo 1 day ago

Shame on you! This is the reason you greedy bastards go into politics. These schorlaships are supposed to be for the needy. We dont care if you paid for whatever. Foolish Criminals

• HOLALA 1 day ago

This people can easily speak like this but let us conduct investigation you will find him on the other side of telling liars.

• Yaw 1 day ago

We need serious reforms at the Scholarship Secretariat. The root of this problem is our politics. Corruption is so pervasive in our society. Any political party that comes to power puts their person there to give Scholarship ...

• Kofi YoHannes (Houston Texas) 1 day ago

Politicians are nation wreckers.
    With all the juicy opportunities they have, they still go the length to deprive ordinary citizens the opportunity to also study abroad to brighten their chances of also making it in life.

• James 1 day ago

Rubbish. Why should the taxpayer pay a politician to educate himself? Utterly bull shit.

• Mt103 USDT USA loading banks Canada link upTO up with all usa canada banks loading german too fixed crefit Scott mt103 1 day ago

Black Jesus: Bank wire transfer to all countries
    We are sending wire transfer and direct wasap him hamzaben.d@ hackermail. Com email email me your number I will wasap u or lawyer@presidency.com flashing to any country
    Ch ...

• Change the rules 1 day ago

Change the rules. These privileges have been enjoyed by both the NDC and NPP. The only thing that can be done at the moment is to change the rules. The High Commissioner should stop blackmailing people and tarnishing their im ...

• Zakarakis 1 day ago

Oh. Ghana. At the least opportunity, almost everyone CHEATS TO GET AHEAD.

• Nana 1 day ago

The sad thing is, some of these people return to Ghana and steal from us after enjoying these benefits. Wicked people.

• Eddie 1 day ago

What is the point of even financing his PHD? School children under tree, no furniture for them, roof leakage when rain, etc. Why we can put such money in good use. The country is very sick and it shows that only few top peopl ...

• Don 1 day ago

Who came up with such a policy or arrangement where public funds meant to support an individual’s education abroad are extended to their spouse and children? A scholarship should primarily support the beneficiary to acquire ...

• Ask NDC 1 day ago

They started it

• ewi 1 day ago

HONEST PERSON HE DO BELONG TO LOOTING SHARING NDC.

• OSAFO KANTANKA 1 day ago

WHY didn’t he do this PhD program in Ghana? What is he talking about?

• JKA 1 day ago

OKoe Julor
    You are a politician, your friends paid for your ticket sometimes, what have you done for them in return?

• Kroffa 1 day ago

Sometimes I dont understand politicians.. You're a medical Dr. You have two other Masters Degress, and the Deputy Minister for Health. Why do you have to take a scholarship to get another PhD? All because you party is on p ...

• Nick 1 day ago

how many poor students in your constituency did you help in securing scholarship for to even study in Ghana??? A bunch of greedy wicked corrupt politicians!!!

• Truth stands 1 day ago

Very very wicked politicians??? Why should okoo boye benefit from a government scholarship? The poor lecturer who should benefit, will never benefit.
    I don't respect such terminal degrees, because it is not competitive. Sta ...

• Sam 1 day ago

Am done with this stupid thing called voting, I swear!

• Jokers Republic 1 day ago

Shame on you. Another thief. So you are proud because you were able to pay other expenses. When real needy students have absolutely no chance of getting this scholarship.

• Kennedy Agyepong 1 day ago

Thieves, NPP and u guys want to return again. Adwoa Tupac Sarfowa is part of the stealing train. Many of them took the money while still in office. Bunch of Thieves. Fatman Nana B, organize a demonstration and tell us the tr ...

• PROBLEM CHILD 1 day ago

YES! Adwoa Safo and NAPO went to Harvard to pursue some courses that could be done in Ghana just because they could......AT HUMONGOUS COST.

Almost all governments in Ghana and africa are corrupt, but Akuffo Addo's NPP took ...

Can you talk about the corruption that went on under Rawlings? Akuffo Addon was not involved in any Aircraft purchase scandal. What about Mahama? How did President Mills die? WALLS HAVE EARS.

• Ivory Mensah 1 day ago

Which PhD takes 5 years ?

• Innocent Ghanaian 1 day ago

It Is More Than WORTH It To Speak Up, When The Time Is Right And Perfect. And So Have You Spoken Regarding Your Scholarship. Therefore, Ghana ; I Cannot But Speak .. (Acts 4:20). It Was A Broad Daylight Cowardly Secret Assas ...

• The Devil’s Advocate 1 day ago

Show your records to prove what you’re saying. You are not ashamed as a minister on a comparatively huge salary and benefits to receive a scholarship from your own government on top to the disadvantage of the less privilege ...

• PROBLEM CHILDren 1 day ago

PROBLEM CHILD7 minutes ago
    YES! Adwoa Safo and NAPO went to Harvard to pursue some courses that could be done in Ghana just because they could......AT HUMONGOUS COST.

Almost all governments in Ghana and africa are corrupt ...

• Agondrie S 1 day ago

Look at this criminal trying to justify his thievery.
    Kwaaasiaa, Avuvi, GBEMELA.

• kwame 1 day ago

From Teshie,not from --------------------thanks Dr.okoe Boye

• kwame 1 day ago

the only person who can save NPP FROM THE HOOD

• Andropov 1 day ago

Oko what about if someone was taking what was due you but you refused to take. You know it's possible

• Mr. T 1 day ago

Thats not true. No university pays ur fees unless u have a scholarship from them. My small boy Oko be truthful

• Kwame 1 day ago

NPP leaders were greedy and fools. Even promotions and appointments at NHIA were sold by Okoe Boye. NPP my own party will be punished in opposition for long time. No rational being will die for NPP again

• MALARIA! 1 day ago

I wonder how these politicians chose to treat ghanians like this! I saw them runing for their dear life cos we're tired of them,we'll chase them in parliament! That time will come!! SURELY!!!

• Efo Kofi 1 day ago

Don't worry yourself about that evil demons party KWAASHIAAFO

• Test2 1 day ago

OOOOOOH AMA GHANA YOU ARE BEING USED BY USELESS POLITICIANS
    PHD IN HOW TO DISPERSE NURSES INCENTIVES BETWEEN ACCRA AND VILLAGES
    WELL DONE ONLY I SHITHOLE COUNTRY CALLED GHANA

• Let Okudjeto Ablakwa tell how he financed his 1 day ago

Let Okudjeto Ablakwa and Fiifi Kwetey tell Ghanaians how they financed their education in the UK, while they were MPs. Even the arrogant Nigerian pretending to be Ghanaian, Sam George, benefited from this same corrupt arrange ...

• kwame 1 day ago

I think Okoe Boye has intentionally sought to misled people and obfuscate the truth. He was a distance student, and distance students are NOT entitled to the £15,000 a year stipend. That is for full time students who live in ...

• Ghanaba KK 1 day ago

£15,000 maintenance allowance for one person? And the family or excluding the family? Hmmmmm. And this had been going on for years ? Oh Ghana! Oh Ghana!!!

• Needy ? 1 day ago

But was Dr Okoe Boye needy then?

• Joice Kwarteng 1 day ago

Dr okoe if you guys don't come out set things straight ur will be doomed, They did the same thing at kasoa about Hawaii koomsen, Sammy gyamfi lie ,sam George too now if you say something they catch you ...

• KB 1 day ago

The question is if you did not need the living expenses allowances and that your friends paid for your plain ticket, why couldn't you ask those "generous friends" to pay for your tuition fees?

• Ray 1 day ago

Oko Boye is talking fast and lying. Politicians using their offices to access public funds to study abroad. Politics has now corrupted this hitherto, noble Presecan. Very sad. Our roads, street lights, water, gutters n sanita ...

• Northern Boy 1 day ago

After all that the state sponsored you to study for 5 years you are here struggling to become npp Regional chairman. What's the benefit the state gets frame your 5 yeras study in the UK? Shameless people

• Tosa 1 day ago

How on this earth a Country that needs to develop sponsor such an elderly person to study abroad what benefit will the Country derived from his study abroad it is better we abolish these so called scholarship, scholarship mus ...

• Watchman 1 day ago

How much was the cost of the PhD? Dr Okoe Boye took advantage of his political position and the support of the NPP government. How many Ghanaians can have their PhD tuition fully paid for by the government?

• Nana Owusu 1 day ago

With all the stolen moniez you people couldn't leave the Scholarship scheme for Brilliant but Needy Students alone. Oh wicked NPP ! Your Insensitivity and Thievery was too much

• Let’s be serious 1 day ago

So NPP only came to loot? Look at the caliber of people who enjoyed scholarship in their regime. Oko Boye too?

• Dzool 1 day ago

NDC should give account of how much was spent on Jerry Rawlings children education abroad, before going after people accused of scholarship abuse. Enough of the double standard being displayed by this P/NDC government. You do ...

• Florida woman 1 day ago

What a joker! He thinks it’s ok because he and his family did not take allowances. What kind of idiots do we have in this country? Are the scholarships for people who can afford? That’s the point you nimrod!!!

• THE FOOL IS NOT EVEN ASHAMED!!! 1 day ago

He is admitting that while he was a senior government official he took a scholarship for a PhD but only for tuition. Such nonsense!!! You couldn't leave that to the genuinely poor in society? You pigheaded scum! You were taki ...

• Disgusting 1 day ago

Scholarship for the good students who are less privileged not u a whole minister .
    It wasn’t on merits but nepotism..
    And u are here saying what ?
    Disgusting.. NPP paaaaaa u do some ooo.
    Even to the extend of bringing ...

• Achakanapaya 1 day ago

Thieves and lair's brigade never again WALAHI.

• asonaba asiedu 22 hours ago

the waste in the system is alarming. why should someone going to study on scholarship need all the extras attached? meanwhile we`re borrowing money from left and right. we must all help to make mahama`s reset agenda succeed, ...

• Odai Joshua Ayi 20 hours ago

I'm happy for you and your dream for the people of ga God bless you for your patience