I guess you are right...why targeting hostel alone
@Shithold. As your name is so will you truly bea shithold. If the RCB is targeting hostels it is because that's where the evil is more. I know you might be a benficiary hence you're not happy. The country must regulate privat ...
No one put guns into your head to rent from them. Ask the govt to provide you accommodation. Better still, let your parents rent a hotel for you if you feels such entitlement. You can stay home and drive to school everyday as ...
I'm sure that is coming soon and then you will hear the same hostel owners calling for a government support.
We shall remember this day!
Most of these people were getting allowance when they were in university in the 70 ...
It will happen! Others reason as if they come from a different planet. I wonder where some had their education. It will surprise you to know that those talking shit were once products of government school but they forgot thei ...
This is total silly talk.if ever body said they will increse the prices of goods and services in the country where will the country be.
What a stupid question from an uninformed mind yours is!
@Cookies.. you are acting like cookies indeed.
John's rhetorical question is very varied and makes sense.
valid.
When in your esteemed opinion has that prepostetous thing ever happened since the beginning of time? Think before you comment if that's possible in that efuom head of yours!
Where you there in the beginning of time?
Were you there in the beginning of time. Preposterous indeed.
Nkwaseas3. Go and cotrol prices of stones, sand, iron rods, wc,hand wash basins, wood, tiles, masons, capenters, laborers ,kkimming, tile chemicals, cables.
Nee, you are very stupid. Lorry fairs, fuel ect are regulated. We can't just do what pleases us
You have built a house so you have the right to charge students anyhow?
Did you just land from Jupiter?
How do you start from East Legon when this man speaking and his kind use the money from the hostels to build in the rich areas like Legon.
His accounts of structural adjustment is nonsense. Ghanaians were hauding long befo ...
Okwasia, Think Again . Yes Hostels bcos it affects the vulnerable. Every child can pass Shs exam to go to university and so will need affordable accomodations.
Lining in east legin is a l"exury" choice the rich can make. ...
See mumu! Your brazen ignorance precedes you yet again! Ghana is a free economy so control prices are illegal unless there are across board. When the government has the balls to introduce CONTROL PRICES in makola, ghacem, gya ...
No chop your seed money o. USE IT TO EMPOWER YOURSELF TODAY TO €ARN CASH DAILY before the month ends! Exchange a service for money. BE URGENT in your quest to turn your life around through technical skill acquisition. Do it ...
Right about what? So the government should leave them to kill students with their cut throat price. It is really absurd what they are charging students. I blame our clueless leaders who are there to loot the nation
i can Link you to rich sugar mummies and sugar daddies in any part of Ghana,Nigeria,UK,Canada and many countries around the worLd, chat me on WhatsApp via +2349137583449 to Learn more, i'm an onLine matchmaker, i can Link you ...
it all started few years ago when i received a facebook message that a travel agency in Nigeria was recruiting Ghanaians and Nigerians for jobs in Canada, i sold everything i had and borrowed money from a lot of people and ke ...
You're a disgrace to the Body of CHRIST. A so-called bishop talking this way. So, you're happy that you and your members are engaged in this of exploitation? How can you be charging such fees. Very insenstive and terribly gre ...
He is absolutely right, the rent control should start regulating the prices of cement, iron rods, sand, masons and electrical materials before controlling rents.
Thank you. The bishop is a foolish man to make that comparison. Private University hostel is a long term investment with ready market all the time. So why making it expensive to be rich overnight. Every student can pass Shs a ...
Nothing stops you from staying at hotel instead of hostel. Keep the church out of this.
Stupid DUC
Self imposed Christian police.
Study to approve yourself as Paul told Timothy.
Sometimes just read nd pass quietly
I read almost all the comments but will answer specifically to you because you said that the chairman is a disgrace to the body of Christ. I presume that you are an ignorant Christian. For starters, the minimum cost of land ( ...
THESE DAYS, BECAUSE OF BAD MONEY .WE HAD BAD LEADERS. WHAT A BIG SAME
You can utter such rubbish, because our institutions are so weak, our laws so disregarded.
Rent Control ? No Problem. We parents will have some respite in supporting our wards in these hostels. The control must be extended to the number of MP's from 276 downwards as well as the obnoxious Ex Gratia
Thank you Bishop. Dont sit down and allow that too known LAND COMMISSIONOR to treat you as fools. Indeed, he should go to EAST LAGON to make his too known there. That man is making too known too much. He should give hôt ...
Did you say thank you to this foolish man calling itself man of God. See the comparison he is making..
I dont know if you have built à house or not so i will be mindful about my comment. You called the man foolish, May God have mercy on you. What prévent the government from building more hostel? This rent control man and ...
Shut your dirty mouth
As much as I agree that prices are very high, I strongly agree with the Bishop logic that govt cannot and should not regulate housing rent. If it is that easy , what stops the govt from building hostels for the students. Cost ...
@ Nee Massa, it works in all these countries.
Countries with Rent Control and Stabilization Policies Germany: Uses a "rent brake" (Mietpreisbremse) to cap initial rents in tight housing markets and limits periodic increase ...
Teachers and profs at decondary and tertiary institutions should seek help from parliament to carve oit an exemption for them on their SSNIT contributions. They, as a bargaining unit, should have the option of what percentag ...
Before enforcing rent control the Mahama government should make Dzata cement to sell a bag of cement for 30 cedis. Ghanaians must rise up against the nonsense going in the country. Rawlings came with the gun to control price ...
Useless man, you are a thief.
U will spend all your profit at the Hospital fool
The lands on which the hostels are sitting belongs to the Universities and by extention the state this means the operation of the hostels is a partnership between the hostel owners and the state,therefore the RCB which is an ...
This rent control guy is talking too much these days just for popularity. All the rants he has been making these days cannot be effected
He is Just à too known man. Leave him to rants
.WORK AND PAY CARS
☎️☎️ 0205207457 ☎️☎️
• No Deposit
• 3 Years Payment Plan
• Toyota Vitz & Nissan Note : Total Cost(90,000) / Weekly(650) / Monthly(2500)
• Toyota Yaris : Total Cost(12 ...
Ghana is a free economy so control prices are illegal unless there are across board. When the government has the balls to introduce CONTROL PRICES in makola, ghacem, gyata cement, kantamanto, Ktia market, and everywhere else ...
Another mental illness
Why are village idiots like this still allowed on social media in 2026? If you have nothing constructive to add to the debate, SHUT UP!
Ask how to compete them and beat them rather than handicapping them. Free market is for those ready to think, grow and sustain.
Ghana, politicians create loopholes everywhere and later pretend they are helping the citizenry. Did they over the years expand accommodations on our campuses? Did they see that our population was growing? Most of these hoste ...
The Mahama government is a clueless government.
Please l don't agree with you, we have to start somewhere
Who is this fool, he is benefiting from the hostel's, tell Rent control Board to start from East Legon.He is in Kumasi and talking of Accra. How can a Ghana develop with people like this!!!
Bishop Owusu-Bi has a point price controls create shortages, they don't create value. The better route is to attack the cost drivers inside the hostel itself.
Internet is one of them. Right now most students on this campu ...
How many rooms has he been able build in his entire life? Cost of Building materials is unbearable. It's not about sand, blocks and cement. The cost of finishing the whole project is never ever easy. Government must come with ...
That's all propaganda...if these rent people mean business then indeed they have to start with even the prices of building by the likes of SHC, let's stop these things cos it won't last and it will be a zero sum game...preten ...
See this educated fool, his brain is full of shit.
How dare you back like a dog?
Hostel fees is too much in Ghana, especially Legon, KNUST & UPS which i think the owners must do something to reduce the prices but what the man also said is true. Why targeting hostels with cameras following you to show the ...
He called himself Bishop with wicked mind,extorting money from poor parents. We need price control in dis Country
This is unfortunate.He could have given a better response.That is why you should Not talk when you are angry
The rent control man just want popularity. What is he doing about hotels who charges dollars?
Freeloader jackass
I'm still wondering why, after so many years, the universities have not been able to build more halls or hostels on campus. It is clearly not a question of availability of land or financial constraints... judging from the fee ...
Let us start from you because they are students, then we go to East legon. Greedy and insincere hostel owners. The university authorities are part of these, that is why the hostel owners have the gut to talk like that.
I get ashamed when grey men who should know better speak like this. Rent Control is a regulator of rent and not to control prices or rent. They are in the space to regulate and check excesses. There are rules and laws governi ...
This old igorant living the past..Government and rent control commisioner should control these private hostels
GOV'T ECONOMIC POLICY NOT LOWERING PRICES
The back and forth on rents hang on the truth that there is scarcity of housings in the country. It is expensive, overburdeningly expensive to build a house in Ghana. Building mater ...
Bishop indeed?
Leveraging on the floors of a system against the fragile people!!!!
Hmmm, in a country called Ghana!!!
Old man with the sense of a housefly.
Imagine what a greedy Bishop is saying???!!! We continue to blame politicians for all the bad things that happens in Ghana but providers of goods and services are our problems. They don't have any sense of doing the right th ...
I blame the government instead of building more hostels on compuses,they say private sector participation,see how these greedy Ghanians are exploiting poor students.if not because of school who will come to Kumasi to rent the ...
That's not what rent control sort to do. Rather to properly regulate rent prices across board.
How can land be sold in foreign currency and he is silent on that. The whole country is a crime scene. We are only practising fraud and corruption. TDC, a State agency sells land in Dollars .
COMMON SENSE SHOULD HAVE MERCY.
Rent control is at Tudu. He should start the streamlining process from the shops in Tudu and Makola. He is a failure with the tone at which he addresses hostel owners. He lacks decorum in speech.
Because you guys are seriously ripping off these student's with high hostel prices
In advanced countries, prices depend on demand and supply. The cost of building materials is nothing compared to labor. In addition, the high interest rate of 25% makes it very exorbitant.
The price is worth the investment ...
The rent control board is a useless entity.
Why don't they advise the government to stop building a super highway which will benefit a few and spend the money on housing which will benefit the masses.
The president said ...
The rent control laws are not new so allow them implement it fully. It looks like new because he is the first commissioner appointed by any president. The bishops is comparing apples to Cassava; a building is a long term inve ...
In any civilized country price control is utmost important. What is this bishop saying? A bishop supporting impunity? Price control is the way forward if Ghana wants to thrive and have a fair and standard system. Government s ...
This is not about price control,this is a PPP project which more of a public service than a simple pure business ventures,the land belongs to the state and the students are the offtakers with very little choice that is why th ...
The quality and services provided by these hostels leave much to he desired. It seems the students are at the mercy if these hostel owners who want simply to maximise their profits without adequately providing facilities cond ...
Do we have price control system in Ghana. This is stupid! How much do we pay for electricity and water in a month? Are prices of building materials being regulated by government? Fools!
Shortage of student accommodation on campus has shot up the rents. Simple demand and supply analysis. The best action isn't price control rather providing more affordable student hostels.
If the state is so concerned about ...
THE PROBLEM IS NATIONAL AND UNIVERSITY LEADERSHIP
KNUST HAD A PLAN FOR 25 HALLS.
After Nkrumah was overthrown, the plan died and the violent took the campus by force. Assuming there are enough halls, hostel use will ...
I don't know what business, social sciences, law, mathematics, actuarial science, and those non practical/laboratory students are doing in a regular programme.
WHEN DEMAND IS LESS, PRICES WILL COMPLY.
All those bachelor of Arts students, what are they doing in hostels?
BA ENGLISH
BA COMMUNICATION
BA SOCIOLOGY
BA HISTORY
BA RELIGIOUS STUDIES
Etc
Etc