Why Ghana is moving from grid-powered streetlights to solar

Read Comments Comments (21)

• CANADA AGANCY 1 day ago

A TRUSTED, HONEST, SINCERE traveL agency IS in Lagos Nigeria is recruiting Ghanaians and Nigerians for job openings in Canada, aLL the traveL Logistics wiLL be taken care of by the agency for aLL appLicants on the condition t ...

• URGENT:To interior minister-demolish the prostitution structures and shacks 1 day ago

This has encouraged the influx of nigerian prostitutes and human sex traficking endangering the national health security of the country.
    What attracts flies? When there's no shacks or structures for them to work in, they don ...

• Frank Agyena -Karikari. 23 hours ago

Here comes the scammers again. All Ghanaians should avoid this advertisement because it is a scam. Don't pay any money to them or respond to any information to meet you somewhere for your documents to go and work anywhere in ...

• i can Link your workers,husband,wife,boyfriend,girLfriend's WhatsApp to your own WhatsApp and you wiLL be getting their chats secretLy on your own WhatsApp, chat me on WhatsApp via +2349137583449 to Learn more. 20 hours ago

i seLL aLL Ghana networks MOMO(mobile money) hacking Link, with the Link you can hack anyone's MOMO account and be abLe to transfer or withdraw money once they open the Link you wiLL send discreetLy via SMS to their mobiLe nu ...

• Kwame panin 1 day ago

what happens to the street light levy we pay? What also happens when we do not have continous sunshine as is happening now?

• Slyly. com 1 day ago

Good question

• Nene Sackitey 22 hours ago

Good question. However, because of 11% of the time we experience cloudy and rainy weather in the year, we cannot forgo harnessing of the huge energy potential of the sun. Ithis is more than overdue for a tropical country like ...

• Susan Djan 1 day ago

WOW. THIS IS BRILLIANT. NDC SHALL REIGN FOREVER AND EVER. AMEN AND AMEN

• Frank Agyena -Karikari. 23 hours ago

Are you sure a one Party rule is good for Ghana? It can easily lead to IRREVERSIBLE CORRUPTION. That can be extremely dangerous.

• Francis 22 hours ago

This is common sense. We should have done this (Solar streetlights) many, many years ago. Unfortunately, we live a country where we do not sit to plan our national development but act on ad hoc basis. I ask the question is th ...

• Kwamina 21 hours ago

@Francis. Just to add to your words I also ask: Is there any institution established to ensure that the solar streetlights which are not working are fixed as quickly as possible? Do we have an agency for that?

• Roadrunner 21 hours ago

You do realize that solar power lighting only works when the sun shines to energize the lighting.No sun,no lighting.

• David 21 hours ago

@Roadrunner. They have solar power lighting in the temperate zones of the world where there is winter
    with snow and very little sunshine and you are in tropical Africa lamenting over sunshine for lightning the streets?

• Tsotsoo 21 hours ago

I support this initiative paa. I hope those who tamper with our streets lights will will leave the solar streetlights alone. Especially those put on the Accra Tema Motorway.

• Ghana man 19 hours ago

It is time for African leaders to act with greater intelligence and foresight. The shift toward solar street lighting is a commendable step, but we can aim higher. Beyond installation, the government should establish a local ...

• Charles 15 hours ago

@Ghanaman. Very good submission. I can not agree with you more. Well said!!! I hope our leaders will read your beef and implement your proposals.

• Mr Green 17 hours ago

This is not new,as a country we have not been thinking.Only politics in everything

• CisCo 15 hours ago

The problem will be if they don't procure the correct ones but go for sub standard once the value will be the same.

• Goodman 13 hours ago

This is already in the system oo. It is everywhere in Kumasi From Dichemso ,Yennyaso, Mosi zongo , you can find them on that stretch. They installed it Two years ago koraa

• Kwaku 3 hours ago

Why reinvent the wheel? Barbados has tried solar street lights for years and it is not efficient. There is not enough light on the darkest days.and nights. C

• Joe 2 hours ago

It will give them surplus power to sell to Nigeria.