Domestic Gold Purchase Programme drained Bank of Ghana's finances - IMF

Read Comments Comments (52)

• Metrumu kankaen 1 day ago

But it brought billions of dollars and increased our reserves right?

• JESUS IS GOD 1 day ago

Behold, today is the day of salvation”
    — 2 Corinthians 6:2
    Come to Jesus today; He is ready to receive
    you.

• Ablekuma Van Damme 1 day ago

IT BROUGHT IN BILLIONS FROM WHERE TO INCREASE WHICH RESERVE? HAVE YOU SEEN THAT RESERVE YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT WITH YOUR OWN EYES??? NDC RASCAL

TODAY NDC DOES NOT TRUST IMF REPORTS AND QUESTION IMF. MMOAA!! THE SAME IMF THE ...

• Where is Sammy Gyamfi? 1 day ago

We are waiting for your insults and attack on personalities for speaking the truth.

• Wisdom 18 hours ago

It even maintained our inflation and our currency is stable than before and of our food prices has come down compared last 4yrs
    Is a positive policy.
    Npp are criticise the same program that made loses of 400mil dollars an ...

• Kwame not Quame 1 day ago

Billions of dollars and the government could not pay it's nurses,cocoa farmers and others
    .Give me a break

• AKP 1 day ago

Government has also borrowed billions of dollars in the past that could not also do anything end up giving pensioners haircut to survive the country

• POURFENDEUR DE LA CORRUPTION/ANTI CORRUPTION 21 hours ago

Ghanaians made a mistake by bringing back unrepented government official 1. He deceived Ghanaians like how Satan desuaded Adam and Eve. Government official 1 is worse than before

• POURFENDEUR DE LA CORRUPTION/ANTI CORRUPTION 21 hours ago

Ghanaians made a mistake by bringing back unrepented government official 1. He deceived Ghanaians like how Satan desuaded Adam and Eve. Government official 1 is worse than before

• Borrowmia Nana Addo Kokain 1 day ago

IMF is just mischievous. They are not happy that Ghana is not borrowing from the cronies of the Bank. Why would they keep describing valuation losses as trading loss and not policy cost? UAS national Debt is more than US$$43 ...

• Mr. T 22 hours ago

Great observation. We need young people like u contributing to this platform. There are so many ignorant people on this platform and its sad. Great job

• Osei Kwabena 21 hours ago

Just sit in your chamber and defend Satan Gyamfi and the Mahama government. Ghana is in trouble.

• Brian 21 hours ago

Cost benefit analysis could we have gotten the built up at a lower cost?Was snk of Ghaba Supoosed to be trading in Gold ir buy and sell?

Ghanaians are complaining of boss Sammy Gyamfi he thinks he knows more Economics th ...

• i can Link your workers,husband,wife,boyfriend,girLfriend's WhatsApp to your own WhatsApp and you wiLL be getting their chats secretLy on your own WhatsApp, chat me on WhatsApp via +2348140725576 to Learn more. 21 hours ago

i seLL aLL Ghana networks MOMO(mobile money) hacking Link, with the Link you can hack anyone's MOMO account and be abLe to transfer or withdraw money once they open the Link you wiLL send discreetLy via SMS to their mobiLe nu ...

• Kiki 1 day ago

Nonsense. The IMF doesn't want the Gold purchase program to succeed, so that Ghana will continue borrowing from them. It is time for Ghana and other African nations to establish strong institutions that arrests and punishes p ...

• WATCHMAN 1 day ago

When did the IMF become Ghana's minister of finance? The IMF is not in favour of the creation of Gold Board. They would rather want Ghana to liberalise gold trade even if it means Ghana's enslavement to the West.

• Rose 1 day ago

We sabi say IMF no go say e good for Ghana NANIAMA

• Oko 1 day ago

Dr. Alter. Shut up!

• Zargon 1 day ago

I NOW BELIEVE THAT THE IMF IS ON AN AGENDA.. EVIL ORGANISATION... IT ONLY TAKES NPP TO ALWAYS SLEEP WITH THE ENEMY. GULLABLE PEOPLE.

• Peace 1 day ago

These IMF guys want to keep us always indebted to them and NPP is giving them oxygen for it. Look at the nonsense they're spueing out.

• S H A M E SHAME Shame 1 day ago

The Imperialist Mo Fackas are trying to befuddle us for their benefit! All well meaning Ghanaians must ignore their bullshit narrative!

• Sally UK 1 day ago

International Institutions like the IMF, World Bank etc do not solve any country’s problems. They rather create problems for them so that they will continue to have relevance. If they solve all the countries’ problems w ...

• Wise Man. 1 day ago

IMF.Leave Ghana alone.

• Kwesi 23 hours ago

But when you collapse your economy with corruption, reckless spending and over borrowing who do you turn to for help?

• The Last Don 1 day ago

I would want to know, what is IMF problem, because we are not willing to take their cut throat loans that's why they are saying all this things, have they ever said anything about tthe US?

• Kwasi 1 day ago

Does Ghana's gold belong to the IMF? They never wish prosperity for any African country.
    Pushing their borrowing interest on African countries to make us their slaves.
    Is that what they do to the oil rich Arab countries?

• TRUTH PREACHER 1 day ago

I´VE SAID IT MANY TIMES THAT IMF, WHO,UN, WORLD BANK ECT, ARE TOOLS OF THE WESTERN IMPERIALIST EMPIRE TO CONTROL THE GLOBE. ANYTIME SOME LEADER OR NATION RESIST THEIR CONTROL PROGRAMM THEY USES METHOD LIKE NOW TO SILENCE THE ...

• Castro 1 day ago

Why is Sammy Gyamfi not challenging the IMF director? Why is Sammy Gyamfi not organising a press conference to deny what the director has put in the Ghanaian domain? Why is Sammy Gyamfi not insulting the IMF director?

Why ...

• Obibini 1 day ago

The BoG lost GHS60.1 billion under Akuffo Addo administration. Did the IMF say something about it? By the way, how many western countries borrow from them? They should leave African countries alone.

• AKP 1 day ago

Why did the IMF not quantify the gains from the domestic gold purchase in dollars bring it out vis-avis the loss

• Kanewu 1 day ago

Instead of coming together to support our efforts to detach ourselves from this neocolonisation , we are stupidly fighting from some rubbish written by a whiteman. Do you think they are happy with us becoming self sustainin ...

• Kofi 1 day ago

Was this in the model of the present Goldbod which was just recently established that's just our concern

• Kido 1 day ago

Why would you not say that? Remember that because of the GoldBod we have been able to settle our financial obligation, and we are now independent of the IMF's financial hold on us as a nation.

Institutions such as the IMF ...

• Kkasongo. 1 day ago

We are not coming for any loans. We will sell our gold and use the money.

• joebowy 1 day ago

Massa don't take everything coming from the IMF as the HOLY truth. IMF is a private financial group engaged in profit making ventures. If they see a country taking decisions that will dwindle their fortune in that country, th ...

• Arkhosua 1 day ago

Uet we are okay as a country without borrowing from you, IMF. It saddens me that somw political parties are busy pushing for the IMF to recolonise us.

• Arkhosua 23 hours ago

One upon a time, this same bank of Ghana wqs illegally printing money for a certain government and the IMF stayed mumb till our country became bankrupt.
    Now that we are standing our own two feet, they have problems with out ...

• Dan 23 hours ago

President Mahama, Ato Forson, Sammy Gyamfi respectfully. Please, do not listen to IMF. They are not happy with Ghana's economic gains. They want the country to fail so that we can return to them. Now we have stable economy, a ...

• Mr. T 22 hours ago

There are cynical motives behind these analysis. If u incurred a lose of 1.7b and brought in 17b what is the problem with that. Add the fact that the cedi was stabilized, inflation tamed and all its added benefits. We have li ...

• Susubiribi 22 hours ago

These r the very same ppl u go to wen broke.
    Put ur political lenses away

• Black Mamba 22 hours ago

Ghana needs to get out of any dealings with the IMF. The IMF doesn't help Africa at all, the bleed us and as soon as we Africans countries realize it the better off we will be. Now they telling Ghana were they are losing mone ...

• Peter 22 hours ago

Nonsense report. What is the BoG for? The West want the BoG to pile up the money whiles the cedis remains a toilet paper

• IB 22 hours ago

U guys should gerrout. What is the debt levels of US under DJT?

• Sasabronsam 21 hours ago

The comments section is heartwarming

• Nee 21 hours ago

Is this guy also an NPP member?.

• Osei Kwabena 21 hours ago

Can Satan Gyamfi defend the IMF explanation of the losses? Will Satan Gyamfi go after the IMF?
    THIS IS A SHAME TO MAHAMA AND NDC GOVERNMENT.
    WAKE UP GHANAIANS

• Reggae 21 hours ago

Ghana strategy:* Pay extra GH¢0.40 per dollar to miner to beat smuggler — creates BoG loss that grows when volume grows. 39.4 tonnes extra = $214m extra loss.
    *Tanzania strategy:* Cut royalty 6% to 4% — miner keeps more ...

• Reggae 21 hours ago

Ghana strategy:* Pay extra GH¢0.40 per dollar to miner to beat smuggler — creates BoG loss that grows when volume grows. 39.4 tonnes extra = $214m extra loss.
    *Tanzania strategy:* Cut royalty 6% to 4% — miner keeps more ...

• THINK 19 hours ago

IF WE DONT BUY THE GOLD DOMESTICALLY WHO BENEFITS?
    IS THE IMF'S COUNTRY A BENEFICIARY? IF SO DONT EXPECT THEM TO APPLAUD ANYTHING THATS DISADVANTAGE THEM. THINK MY PEOPLE

• francis 18 hours ago

My dear Ghanaians we all should be very careful of IMF they are trying thier best to throw dust into our eyes a word to all is enough

• Kojos 18 hours ago

Did NDC know that. Ghana is good for nothing.

• At least we're enjoying a stable economy 18 hours ago

Thinking about all these noise about Goldbod, I'm enjoying a stable economy with the dollar pinned for 1.5years. One can get a breathing space to predict doing business within a year. Also prices of goods since beginning of 2 ...