IMF identifies political appointments as major weakness in key SOEs

Read Comments Comments (40)

• Richard 1 day ago

These stupid political appointments should stop. Competence should come before political affiliation. We can not put incompetent people in sensitive positions. The black man should learn to do the right thing. Away with sycop ...

• p.r.o.p.h.e.t... M.o.h.a.m.m.e.d..was a s.i.c.k..d.o.g 1 day ago

Say no to i.s.l.a.m. and look for a real religion. B.u.r.n. .......the q.u.r.a.n.....!

• Divine Ninja of America 7 hours ago

Most Politicians in Ghana are either corrupt, ignorant or a thief and that is why they do not think about abolishing the practice of Political Appointments. If I was in Ghana, I would make sure that either Parliament start pa ...

When I hear any corrupt politicians in Ghana making promises to deceive ignorant people for votes, I feel like praying to allow armed robber go and "twa ni ti" off for being that deceptive and repeating the nonsenses that cre ...

The only thing, I can hate in my life is intentional; indiscipline, corruption, wickedness, thefts, abuses, deception, lies and manipulations by acts of selfishness or greed that ruin the lives of other innocent people. I can ...

This is the #1 clear solution to most of the problems in Ghana: Pass laws in parliament to; (1) abolish practicing "POLITICAL APPOINTMENTS" in government! (2) ensure that henceforth, all top officials in Government at every s ...

All "POLITICAL APPOINTMENTS" must be abolished, not only those in SOE. The IMF itself appears to be the mastermind behind the corruption in the politics of Ghana to retain most Ghanaians as slaves. All top positions in Govern ...

• SE280EY 1 day ago

Nonsense promax. This is no peculiar to Ghana, it's the norm all of the world! C'est la vie and that's a fact!

• SE280EY 1 day ago

This is not peculiar to Ghana

• Pas Kwesi in The Bronx 23 hours ago

This IMF country team should stop the nonsense in Ghana.

Indeed the IMF has a mandate to scrutinize the economic consequences and governance quality of SOE appointments, but not a general mandate to police the political ch ...

• COD 22 hours ago

@ Richard: Cool it, please !
    In USA where both the IMF & World Bank are headquartered, it is the same practice going over there.
    Our problem is corruption but not necessarily political appointments.
    IMF is doing all it can ...

• Grandmaster 1 day ago

Must we continue to trust these Britonwoods institutions.?

• KO 1 day ago

I agree 100% with the IMF on this particular issue. our boards are made up of MPs and party members. The appointment of Boards and CEO by the president should stop. We have to find a way of making these appointments devoid of ...

• Shege 1 day ago

You're mentally enslaved and ignorant that's why you're so gullible!

• Stone 23 hours ago

Then you also have a problem. Who is a politician in Ghana. When did they realize this? Hackman owusu Agyeman was the Board Chairman of Cocoa Board, you were asleep. Mark-Manu was the Board Cgarman of Ghana Ports and Harbours ...

• Pelicles 1 day ago

Gyampo, the sexual predator is now head of a government agency, and what exactly will happen? Look at West Africa, and the time we had our independence, but due to our dirty politics into everything, we are still lagging behi ...

• MORONS ABOUND 1 day ago

Even your empty headed akyempanzee god ruled Ghana for 8 horrible years, kwaseato like you!
    Where do neanderthals like you get the drivel you post here daily from?

• TRUTH 1 day ago

For once, IMF are absolutely right.

If we want results and performance, then jobs for the boys must end when it comes to appointment into the SOEs

• Stone 23 hours ago

Who cares about the IMF? THEY ARE NIOT, WE SHOULD NIOT WAIST OUR PRECIOUS TIME LISTENING TO THEM.

• ONNIPANUA PAA 5 hours ago

And what about job for enemies? Empty outcome abi?

• Roadrunner 1 day ago

Well this should be no surprise to anyone.... Political appointments in Ghana ,are of who you know and not by what you bring to the table.And has been the case for nearly 70 years.
    Clearly,it's a part of Ghana's inability to ...

• Kwame Angel 1 day ago

IMF can go to hell. How many Democrats has the sick Donald Trump left in positions in SOE and Federal Departments since he came to power. How many of his hamily members (even his son-in-law) have not had positions in the Dona ...

• MORONS ABOUND 1 day ago

Bravo! 10/10 that's the correct answer for ten points!

• truth 1 day ago

We can't trust wicked people in high places(IMF)

• Jo Alaa 1 day ago

IMF personnel are NOT competent that our leaders. They have been stealing millions of dollars from many countries but now they have been exposed big time. Let them find their operational tactics because now they have been exp ...

• Truth 1 day ago

Is all over including toilet not only SOEs... Every lazy country this is what you see!

• Kwasi 1 day ago

The IMF is right. There are too many square pegs in round holes, political interferences and manipulations all over the SOEs. Appointments and recruitments to SOEs should be handled professionally by the Public Services Commi ...

• KOFI CASH 1 day ago

IMF= I MILK FAMILIES
    Useless institution

• USDT USA loading banks Canada link upTO up with all usa canada banks loading german too fixed crefit Scott mt103 1 day ago

Black Jesus: Bank wire transfer to all countries
    We are sending wire transfer and direct wasap him hamzaben.d@ hackermail. Com email email me your number I will wasap u or lawyer@presidency.com flashing to any country
    Ch ...

• Kojos 1 day ago

You dont need miracle to tell you. Job for the boys. Party communicators are CEOs. Ghana is good for nothing

• kakabo 1 day ago

The assertion by the IMF is true in all sense . IS TRUE

• kakabo 1 day ago

The IMF's assertion is true; however, the problem did not start with the NDC government. All Governments in the 4th Republic are guilty. The painful thing is that they appoint people to the Board who are not even qualified to ...

• ONNIPANUA PAA 5 hours ago

Kakabo is an animal that hoot

• Good News 1 day ago

We are now tired of you this IMF bullies,enough is enough

• J-Tec 23 hours ago

That's true then as it's today and would always be. You made no comment why now?

• Stone 23 hours ago

NPP/IMF go to Hell. As our gold, hands off. When npp is in power you to bed. This time aroun we woukd not beg you any Bailout.

• D. D. 22 hours ago

IMF with keen eyes had observed what Ghanaians are watching. There was a period NDC had prominent members and names. All such names are never mentioned now. Reason unknown. One which had created enough anger within municipali ...

• Kwaku 12 hours ago

Whoever in his right mind would handover a facility that is worth millions of dollars into the hands of a political CEO who has never built a doghouse or run a momo shop? How much Chemistry does Kofi Jumah know to run a dist ...

• Kwame 6 hours ago

Don't we know this as a country?

Now we hsve have a low grade white guy telling us.

• Mubarak 2 hours ago

I've never heard the IMF identify such weaknesses in political appointments in the Trump administration.