NDC joinder application: Justice Atuguba laments, Ghana risks breaking down

Read Comments Comments (254)

• Ben 12 years ago

ALL YOUR RECENT JUDGEMENTS CI 78, ETC WERE WRITTEN BY YOUR NEPHEW.

• Ben 12 years ago

The NPP must not allow Mr. Justice W.A. Atuguba to sit. His recent judgements are drafted by Dr. Raymond Atuguba.

• OHENE 12 years ago

BOTH NDC AND NPP JUSGES MUST BE REMOVED.

• Ben 12 years ago

HE MUST BE REMOVED FROM THE SUPREME COURT.

• AKK 12 years ago

NPP makes me sick to my stomach. NDC should also call for theremoval off judges sympathethic to the NPP. The Chief Justice would be the first culprit in this case. Assholes, they think Ghana belongs to them and can dictate to ...

• JATO 12 years ago

Sir,Justice William Anaan Atuguba,please tell NDC to STOP stealing Votes and Natural resources.Sure we all belived in Nationalism,and Ghana have chosen democracy,but The NDC wants take us back to 70s and 80s.THE ISSUE HERE IS ...

• Agyingo 12 years ago

See jato your bias is unimportant to the nation because you might be an illegal alien in some astern european country and u send probably $50 every month to cater for your wife and kids whiles my income tax alone is $500(1000 ...

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 12 years ago

Without Freedom and Justice, there can/will be no peace.

Freedom and Justice is our national motto and it is the task of every sane and discerning Ghanaian to defend the national motto at all cost.

In the absence of Fre ...

• SHAMO 12 years ago

NPPs ARE CALM DUE TO THE COURT CASE! ANY WRONG MOVE BY THESE JUDGES WILL SEE THE RED EYE OF NPP

• Mugu yaro 12 years ago

npp has no case and can't do anything. the line they are towing indicates clearly that they have no case. if they want atuguba removed, then all the judges appointed by kufour should not be allowed to sit on the case, period! ...

• Ama 12 years ago

NONE will be left!

• Dr. Ogunda 12 years ago

Justice owusu is related to the NPP General secretary Owusu Afriyie, Sophia Akuffo is also related to NPP flagbearer Nana Akuffo Addo.
    Should the NDC also raise an objection?

• OBAA YAA 12 years ago

One has to wonder if the composition of justices sitting before this particular case warrant any objection. Of course it does, because if we live in a country where the laws of the land is always triumphed by party affiliatio ...

• Gye Nyame 12 years ago

It is worse than the black\white issues in the US. Where is the objectivity in our lives? It is always about my brother, my tribe business. When are we going to grow have transparency in our system?

• ATSU, HO 12 years ago

IT IS UNFORTUNATE THAT MISTRUST IS TAKING US THIS FAR, WE NEED TO MOVE ON. IF THE EVIDENCE IS STRONG ENOUGH A JUDGE NO MATTER HOW CORRUPT MUST GIVE HIS REASONS SO THE NPP SHOULD ALLOW THE PANEL AS COMPOSED TO BE MAINTAINED

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 12 years ago

The General Secretary of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) Johnson Asiedu Nketia was quoted as remarking that even idiots can go to court.

The remark was part of his party’s knee-jerk reaction to the Nana Akufo Addo ...

• BRIAN WILLIAMS 12 years ago

EMOTIONAL OUTBURSTS WILL NOT CUT IT. A JUDGE'S PRIMARY RESPONSIBILITY IS TO APPLY THE LAW AFTER HEARING BOTH SIDES. IF YOUR BROTHER JUST GOT A POLITICAL APPOINTMENT FROM JOHN MAHAMMA, THEN THE SMARTEST THING TO DO IS TO RECUS ...

• Sankofa 12 years ago

By this argument are you saying thaT the two other SC judges related to NPP executive members should also step down?

• BRIGHT AMABLE 12 years ago

THIS IS THE FIRST TIME YOU HAVE TALKED SENSIBLY WITHOUT SPEWING TRIBALISTIC HATRED. NICE TO KNOW YOU HAVE SOME SENSE IN THAT BRAIN OF YOURS, OR DID SOMEONE WRITE THIS FOR YOU?

• walaa boy 12 years ago

why now idios ndc going to curt now becouse nowndc is going to court shame to ndc asiedu nketiafolking scratry in ghana for ndc

• Asante b3l3! 12 years ago

you really need quality education under mahama, The way you write makes me sick.

• rkt 12 years ago

i'm sorry, but u do not come across as someone interested to establish morality in the country. my evidence is ur own article, paragraph 9 of which,in a palpably jaundiced manner, wrongly attributes to gm, the title of origin ...

• Branaboy 12 years ago

@Dr Ogunda - Sofia Akuffo was put on the Supreme Court by the NDC - A JJ Rawlings selection, so here NDC sympathises are well known.

• CITIZEN ONE 12 years ago

Everybody should simply go back to their respective regions, and let us start all over again!

NPP is intolerable and a disgrace the civility and long lasting glory of Ghana.

I am so ashamed and incensed by what they hav ...

IF THERE IS WAR. AND THEN GHANAIANS WILL SUFFER KUST BECOS ONE FOOLISH AKYEM MAN WANTS TO BE PRESIDENT AT ALL COST. WALAHI. HE WILL GET WHAT HE WANTS.

• ASEMPA 12 years ago

FOOLISH TALK,THINK BEFORE YOU TALK,WE ARE IN A GLOBAL WORLD NOW,NOT AS BEFORE CAST YOUR MIND BACK AT WHAT HAPPENED TO GBAGBO AND GADAFI WHO THOUGHT THEY COULD CLING TO POWER WHATSOEVER,LET MAHAMAH JOKE AND GO ASTRAY BY MONOPO ...

• Gyambibi 12 years ago

Please do not wish war for Ghana. The overwhelming majority of Ghanaians prefer peace to war. The mind of a person who advocates war is usually clouded by irrational emotion.

However, should you get your wish and war erup ...

• AMPONSA KAKABO LONDON 12 years ago

WHERE IS YOUR PROOF? HAVING THE SAME AKAN NAMES DOESN'T MEAN THEY ARE BLOOD RELATED.
    DR OGUNDA WHO IS NOT AKAN SHOULD KNOW THIS.
    WITH THE CASE OF JUSTICE ATUGUBA, THE EXCUTIVE SECRETARY TO JOHN MAHAMA IS HIS NEPHEW WHOM HE ...

• randy New York 12 years ago

D defeated always have excuse. Shame on u npp

• C.Y. ANDY-K 12 years ago

To add to the list which the NDC can also object to is Justice Baffoe-Bonnie, who is a close friend and was Legon Mensah Sarbah Annex 2 roommate of Sir John, the NPP Gen. Sec. He must also be asked to recuse himself too, if J ...

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 12 years ago

Upon noticing the panel of Judges and representatives of the NDC, the opposition NPP has started shaking like Baby.

What is Akuffo Addo actually crying for? This case is a done deal, this current members of the NPP are onl ...

• Eben. 12 years ago

I am quite disappointed in the conduct of NPP as a political party. I know the court case of wont go any where. God has spoken and NPP as well as Sir John should keep their mouth shut.

• HAMA 12 years ago

NPP HAVE NO RED EYE N CANNOT SHOW ANYTHING TO GHANA EXCEPT SHOWING HER SHAME MONSTER-MADE-FACE IN CAMERAS N IN COURT. BE WARE N.P.P.,THE MAN GHANAIAN N HIS SONS 'RE WILD AWAKE AS HIS FATHER THE CHIEF WATCH-MAN HAVE THOUGHT H ...

• Mugu yaro 12 years ago

if npp wants justice atuguba removed, then all the judges appointed by kufour should also not be allowed to sit on the case, period. npp has a serious psychological problem.

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 12 years ago

Ignorant lil vuvuzela !

How many judges were appointed to the Supreme Court by Kufuor during his 8 years in office?

And how many appointed by the gangster regime of the NDC were sitting there before Kufuor became presid ...

• Yaw 12 years ago

And she selected NPP die hards - Rose Owusu, Anin Yeboah, Sophia Akuffo (Akuffo Addo's cousin), Adinyira and Baffoe Bonnie. 5 majority.

• kwaku 12 years ago

the cj is more guilty when she compromise her position in her in-law atah akyea 2008 election case. she has no business holding on to that position in the first place and she should be blame for all what is going on. who know ...

• JOE 12 years ago

AGYINGO WO YE KWAESIA PAA, ABOA.

Joe wo maame tw3 wai! Ashawoni ba tes3 wo.

• AKANBA ASANTE 12 years ago

YOUR INCOME TAX ALONE IS $500 SO YOU THINK YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO TALK AS A CITIZEN, OH MY DEAR GHANAIAN FELLOWS, EVERYBODY HAS A SAY AND A STAKE IN OUR DEMOCRACY. I JUST PAID €18, 789.00 IN PROPERTY TAXES, AND I DON'T EVEN ...

shut up fool I am not talking about drug money or probably inherited drug or blood money. To pay an income tax of 100ghc in ghana means a lot. I could also be where you are in some ghetto mentioning some figures or running fr ...

• Agyingo 12 years ago

See this foolish riffraff ooh you can't even afford an economy class ticket home yet see how you're bragging. Very typical of your kind.

• Ben 12 years ago

ATUGUBA MUST BE REMOVED

• Mansa MUsa 12 years ago

It is only in Ghana that an ex-convict can resumme his law practice after serving his jail term- The impudence of a dad cockroach

• Kwame Wiredu 12 years ago

It actually beats my imagination.
    Not only that they can also be appointed Ministers of state and nobody and I mean nobody from the judiciary to legislature,media civil society, TUC nobody even made acough and the silence w ...

NPP HAVE LOST HOPE ON SEEING TSIKATA ON THE SCENE. KWASIAFO....YOU WANT CHEAP MEANS TO RULE...AND RUIN THIS COUNTRY. NOOOO WAY...AKUFFO ADDO WILL HAVE TO DEAL WITH GUYS LIKE ME TO GO THRO' EASILY. WOE UNTO THESE NATION-WRECKE ...

• Concerned, NY 12 years ago

Justice Atuguba knowing that he has a relative in Mahama's administration should have recused himself.

Anyway, in their formal objection submission, the petitioners can demand recusal of Justice Atuguba. There has to be fa ...

• BARIMA SIKA ASANTE 12 years ago

YOU ARE TALKING BEHIND A COMPUTER FOOL....WOE UNTO THESE NATION WRECKERS? WHAT WILL YOU DO? A COWARD LIKE YOU CAN'T EVEN WRITE ON A FORUM WITH YOUR REAL NAME!!! GO AND BEG FOR SOME BANKU FROM YOUR NEIGHBOURS AND SHUT UP. POOR ...

• rkt 12 years ago

yes, it is only in Gh that a president who says he turns criminals away - saying, no, not this time but later when they approach him with tempting, criminal offers - can still finish his term as a president. yes, only here in ...

• BOSS 12 years ago

are a fool

• Efo Paapa 12 years ago

Well said. The CJ should also resign before the case is determined.

NDC mischeviousness.

• Osonoba 12 years ago

s3k3

• nito 12 years ago

Independence for Akanland now!!!

• jj 12 years ago

fuck u to hell...idiot.who is an asshole?

• JOE 12 years ago

AKK, YOU WILL NOT BE SICK BUT DEAD, ABOA GO TO HELL AND GOD PUNISH YOU AND YOUR NDC. NKWASEIAFO PARTY.

Joe wo biom adz3en na egyim d3m? ey3 b3l3 paa. God rather punish you arogant self. Is it because your mom is a slut/whore/call bitch or a local prostitute. She chose to be that ok stop blaming NDC for your woes. Odepus Rex li ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 12 years ago

To say the least, if what is reported herein is accurate, then it is very disturbing. It's almost like giving a summary of judgement. I am worried but the Chief Justice could be put in a very tight corner. If she removes Just ...

• Dzigaman 12 years ago

Supreme Court judges are not appointed on case by case basis.
    They are only replaced when any of them retires.
    Most of the current Supreme Court judges were appointed in the Kuffour era anyway. If anybody should be complain ...

• Branaboy 12 years ago

Most of the current Supreme Court was appointed by the NDC. The Mills-Mahama administration in 4 years added 4 of the 13, and Note that there were 4 holdovers from the Rawlings administration.

• SAY IT LOUD 12 years ago

So why is npp going to court if they don't believe in the judges? Do they think they can show up in court and choose their own panel of judges? Sorry npp, the world does not revolve around you. NEXT TIME REASON AND REASON WEL ...

• Boat 12 years ago

So the SC can dismiss the case on grounds that the NPP says the do not trust that the Judges are neutral! How dummy can they be?

• www.panafricanistinternational.org 12 years ago

OFFICE OF THE ODIKRO
    a companion of the black star!

I don't find any thing he said as "giving a summary of judgement". The only basis upon which any judge must be kept or removed must be based on the proper interpretation ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 12 years ago

They promised to make Ghana ungovernable if forcibly not given the mandate to lord over her majesty, right? Well, they are keen on maintaining that promise because that is what they are good at and hence seeing it through qui ...

• DAVID ATUGIYA 12 years ago

Kofi, say it again.If Justice Atuguba is removed, then my fears of a Judicial Coup d'etat in article ("There can be no Judicial Coup d'etat" Ghanaweb, 30 December 2012) is right.

• Mike 12 years ago

2 out of the 9 names sound Akan, should that be protested by the NDC? The NPP would have protested for sure.

• Mike 12 years ago

I meant 7 out of 9 judges.

• New Sherrif in Town 12 years ago

The NPP is not protesting because Atuguba is not an Akan. They are protesting because Mahama seem to be trying to buy votes again even at the Supreme Court. The Atuguba that Mahama two days ago appointed as his Executie Secre ...

• Sankofa 12 years ago

Does the fact that the Atubugas are related necessarily mean that the Judge will rule in favour of the President?

There is nothing to indicate that this will be the case.

One would also have to look at the fact that two ...

• New Sherrif in Town 12 years ago

They are are not asking for the substantive case to be heard in chambers. They wanted their objection to Atubuga on the panel heard in chambers for national security reasons. Mahama did not appoint the other Atuguba as his ES ...

• MATHS @MARS 12 years ago

NPP has no right to tell the SC what to do? I bet if the SC decides against the NPP, NPP will see the empannelled judges as corrupt and baised. Fpr the NPP the SC must decide in its favour or else?????

What has happened is directly linked to Mahama's decison to campaign on the basis of tribalism. The statement:" it's time for aNortherner to be President of Ghana" still echoes in people's minds. How can Atubigah rule against ...

• Osonoba 12 years ago

Yes, how can he be so furious about his removal? Has Atugubah any other interest apart from justice in this case?
    Let the ignorant NDC people know that it is normal court practice to object to a judge sitting on one's case i ...

• Akwa 12 years ago

And why is a Supreme Court Justice confusing a 'conflict of interest' matter with the 'independence' of the Supreme Court? I guess the opinion of the AU chair and the international observers might help.

• Nana Kweku Arhin 12 years ago

If Justice Atuguba cannot behave himself as a Supreme Court Judge, then he should be removed from the bench. The behaviour that he demonstrated in the Court Room today was very unprofessional. After all, he was educated wit ...

• Sankofa 12 years ago

The article does not say he showed bias. It says he appeared to lose his temper.

What he is reported to have said does not coompromise his positon.

• big brother 12 years ago

l support w.A Atuguba must be out of the judges

• NANA ADO 12 years ago

Then all the justices with Akan names must also be removed. Check all the names and tell me what you smell

NPP ARE JUST STUPID. THIS DIRTY ATTITUDE OF NPP IS CLEARLY RESPONSIBLE FOR THEIR ELECTORAL DEFEATS. UNTIL THE OLD, DIRTY GUYS IN NPP ARE BOOTED OUT THEY WILL NEVER WIN AN ELECTION.THE RESORT TO COURTS BY THESE FOOLS AFTER EVE ...

• Usam 12 years ago

You spill trash a lot. I do not think you are cultured enough to be commenting here. Get some good manners who ever you are.

• Nhyiraba 12 years ago

Aren't Akans also Ghanaians.They want Justice Atuguba out because his brother is an appointee of Pres. Mahama

• Adomba 12 years ago

Below are the excepts about Sophia Akuffo.
    From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia :search Sophia Akuffo
    Supreme Court Judge
    Personal details
    Nationality Ghanaian

Sophia A.B. Akuffo is a Judge of the Supreme Court o ...

• ALL FOR GHANA 12 years ago

You are an idiot! In fact all your npp members are idiots with a million exclamations. The other judges who were appointed by the npp must be removed too. Yes, akans are Ghanaians too, but the fact that they are akans that is ...

• andy 12 years ago

oh ghana

• Akwa 12 years ago

What is the difficulty here in trying to differentiate between tribalism and a clear conflict of interest? Can you imagine how many Akan votes Mahama got? What will happen if you remove all those votes? No wonder you vote the ...

• Boat 12 years ago

How will the NPP do that?

• OTCHERE DARKO 12 years ago

ALL the judges are either pro-NDC or pro-NPP, because of the power given to sitting Presidents to appoint judges of the Supreme Court as when and how they please, as long as vacancies exist.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 12 years ago

In most democracies, if not all, Presidents (including Prime Ministers and Heads of States nominate or appoint the Justices of the Supreme Court. Even in the US SC Justices are either conservatives or liberals ideologically. ...

Yes kofi, you are right, but didn't they also swear to put US and only US first before their affiliated parties, friends, families and what have you? Well, were our Justices of the Supreme Court of the land not charge to do e ...

• Usam 12 years ago

Is called conflict of interest meaning that the elder brother, cousin or nephew of Justice Atuguba is too close for comfort. You and I know that in the most fairest of things our own brothers and sisters will draw their own c ...

• MATHS @MARS 12 years ago

All our debate is now tilting to the fact that the Judges are not going to judge the case objectively but based on the political leanings of the judges. If this assumption is correct then Ghana is in big trouble. I believe a ...

You are right, if the court case is not about facts and evidence, but politcal leaning or social connections then too bad for Ghana.

• Simon,bronx usa 12 years ago

sent the petition to iraq court.

• AGYA MUNKO 12 years ago

This is the road to lawlessness and anarchy and we are almost there.We have passed the junction of political goodwill where either people are bent on holding on to power OR people simply refuse to accept defeat after a genera ...

• AKK 12 years ago

NPP is becoming too ridiculous, what more do they want? Everybody should cowtow to their whims?

• SELASE NYADZI 12 years ago

WHAT A SHOCK, WHY IS THE NPP NOT OBJECTING TO THE INFLUENTIAL ROLE OF THE CHIEF JUSTICE IN THE FORMATION OF THE PANELS. WHAT ABOUT MRS. VIDA AKOTO-BAMFO AND (MS)SOPHIA A.B. AKUFFO. IT SEEMS EVERYTHING NPP IS GOOD FOR GHANA BU ...

• Branaboy 12 years ago

Over the years Justice Atuguba has shown his partisanship in his pronouncements both from the bench and outside the courts. He needs to recuse himself, especially now that his brother/cousin is the Executive Secretary to the ...

• Sankofa 12 years ago

The partisanship or otherwise of judges is a moot question.

One should also consider all the cases that have been lost by this NDC gov't in the past 4 years in bringing appointees of the last NPP gov't to court. This led t ...

• Jane London 12 years ago

The NORTHERNERS ARE RULING GHANA TODAY. This is a lesson to ghanaians, educate your children today and they too will rule Ghana tomorrow. PERIOD!

• Old Dirty Bastard 12 years ago

These primitive bush people will only be satisfied when their village chief presides over the case.

• WARD GDX 12 years ago

Unbelievable.

You are from London, Tokyo or New York then

• Agyingo 12 years ago

Northerners currently hate asante-akyem people more than the ewes do! Why was JJ 's presidency never challenged but Mahama being a northerner's is making you guys so bitter? Only time will tell

How do you expect Akans to accept ex-toilet cleaners and watchmen as leaders of our dear country. Ghana has gone to the dogs and Akans need to unite and claim our country back.

• Martin/PA 12 years ago

Actually your superiority is noting but a rooted inferiority complex. Life is in such a dynamic flux. People you hold in low esteem today are the dominant ones tomorrow. In the USA whitemen are jittery as their authority and ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 12 years ago

And when Andy-K challenges them on these kind of chauvinistic views, they rather call him a bigot! Indeed, when they are the real bigots, worse than white racists!

People like him are the scum of the earth!

Andy-K

• Kwame Kumi 12 years ago

The problem some of you people with Ashantis and Akyems is simple. Inferiority complex and envy.

• Asempa Beba Dabi 12 years ago

Why the outburst from Justice Atuguba, did someone mention his name! Hmm..

• boy 12 years ago

this is Osofo Abrob3!!!!! 3wowo no!!!!!

• Agyingo 12 years ago

sophia akuffo has a bigger abrob3 so he is wondering how the npp could have the moral right to object to his inclusion without mentioning hers as well.

• Dzigaman 12 years ago

He is just frustrated about the NPP's ignorance and dragging the rule of law into the Kejetia gutters.

• Dadi 12 years ago

Ethnicity, the biggest obstacle to our democracy?

• AGYA MUNKO 12 years ago

That is our number one enemy,Dadi and it is my prayer that we do not experience what Nigeria went through in the 1960s(THE BIAFRA WAR) it is irrelevant things like these,tribal differences and oil, which in our case we have j ...

• GENERAL DeGAULE 12 years ago

"The Court must be strong and truly independent"

It is stupid of the NPP to question the independent mind of the Judges. Presumably the NDC can also object to any other judge and the game will go on and on until no judge i ...

• Taliban2 12 years ago

Justice Atubuga should have known better. He should even excuse himself from this case since the perception of his newphew being the secetary to the president. He should not even allow the any body to object to him in the p ...

• boy 12 years ago

I agree with U Bros

Sophia Akuffo on the bench is the sister of Gloria Akuffo.

• OSUO ABRUBUOR 12 years ago

In a case as frought as this, I think that so long as there are spare judges, any of the Justices with a close connection to any of the parties in the case, should excuse themselves so that no losing party can accuse the pane ...

• NANA ADO 12 years ago

What about the Akufus and the Ashanti dominated names. If you are refusing to accept defeat when you are the losers isn't it funny to be wanting the winners to rather become the losers? This NPP bush behaviour will land Ghana ...

• Dzigaman 12 years ago

Supreme Court judges are appointed until they retire.When a case is brought before them, the 13 Supreme Court judges always vote aye or nay and the majority carries the vote.
    Why should he be dropped.
    Will it be okay if NDC ...

• Joe 12 years ago

Have you soon forgotten the collusion by Justice Georgina Wood and her inlaw Lawyer Atta Kyea's efforts to steal NDC victory in 2008? Dr Atuguba has not even taken up his appointment and you are crying wolf? You would have mo ...

• william 12 years ago

With such arguments the supreme court could end up advising petitioners to go to the Ghana Journalist Association to provde them with a neutral citizens panel, and stop wasting the court's time!!!

• Simplicity-USA 12 years ago

This shows NPP case is a rotten one and will soon be thrown out of court.

• MUNGO PARK IN BRITISH ISLAND! 12 years ago

The lawyer Auguba should not have made that statement, it cast doubts on his judgement. I mean you dont begin by making such comments if you have been mandated by the sovereign will of the Ghanaian people in whom justices re ...

• LAW IS AN ASS 12 years ago

8 NPP JUDGES, I NDC. KUFUOR'S FAULT

• Adomba 12 years ago

This is well orchestrated plan and drama by NPP. They knew they will never come to power again so they loaded the supreme court with their cronies. This election dispute was well planned before December 7 They knew they wi ...

• Adomba 12 years ago

The call by NPP and Former president Kuffour to the judges to do a good job is not for nothing. They are sending them signals "this is the time to do the job we put you here to do so don't disappoint us do a good job for us. ...

• Osei Yao 12 years ago

LET NPP SELECT THE PANEL TO HEAR THEIR PETITION. THEY ARE IMPUGNING THE INTEGRITY AND CHALLENGING THE INTELLIGENCE OF OTHER MEMBERS OF THE PANEL, IF THEY THINK JUSTICE ATUGUBAH WILL DECIDE THE CASE PURELY TO SAVEGUARD HIS BR ...

• JOE 12 years ago

Why doubt the intergrity of the SC. The Chief Justice has some relation to the first pertitioner... NO?
    Let the Judges do their work.

• APEETOO 12 years ago

BEGINING OF THE BLOODBATH, GOD HELP GHANA!!

• joey london! 12 years ago

Take a sit friend no shaking okay..

• afro new york 12 years ago

not till we get rid of this dwarf call nana akuffo addo,the progress of our democracy will be perpetually impeded.

• MAMA 12 years ago

TSATSU TAUGHT ANNIN YEBOA AND BAFFOE BONNI. SO THEY WILL HAVE TO VACATE THEMSELVES FROM THIS CASE AS WELL AS GLORIA AKUFFO IF THIS IS THE WAY WE WANT TO REASON

• HARD ONE 12 years ago

Is there a Baffoe Bonnie at the castle?
    the special aid to then VP now president?

• Kwesi 12 years ago

Another Sad day

• ANIMAL FARM 12 years ago

Justice Atuguba.It has broken down already.What do you expect us to reap from tribalism,nepotism,sectionalism,corruption,manipulation of State institutions and deceit.

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON. 12 years ago

All in the name of deepening democracy.What democracy?Western imported democracy?RUBBISH!!!!

• Hippo 12 years ago

NPP this NPP that,we did not vote for them.PERIOD.

• Great 12 years ago

This Guy Mahama want to steal again at court level by appointing Raymond Atuguba as his Executive Secretary, what a thief. we need justice, we need Justice we, need Justice.

• nene 12 years ago

oh great!! you have very filthy words... do u use the same lips to praise God?

• nene 12 years ago

oh great! you av very filthy lips why? pls... do u use same lips praising God? come on!

• Great 12 years ago

May be that is your opinoin and you have every right to say what you want to say. I'm agree with you because we have to agree to disagree. But the fact is Ghanaians DO NOT like the truth because their dids are EVIL.The whole ...

• Kofi kaakyire 12 years ago

Oh Ghana .Sine die means it will take forever to hear the case.
    If it takes forever then where lies the resolution of this matter.
    Oohhh NPP you have forgotten so soon....
    Tsatsu Tsikata case
    An additional judge was em pa ...

• OTCHERE DARKO 12 years ago

A Supreme Court judge should NOT make this kind of "dooms-day" lamentation in court,

JUST TOO UNPROFESSIONAL !!!!

Justice Wood should have presided over this case from beginning to finish to prevent this kind of irrespo ...

• Opoku Mensah 12 years ago

Call it whatever that is your opinion.

• PAA NII 12 years ago

The man is saying the truth and nothing but the truth. Why not support your Akyem man openly

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON. 12 years ago

THE NDC TOO SHOULD OBJECT TO THOSE JUDGES IT DEEMS TO BE SYMPATHISERS OF THE NPP,ESPECIALLY THOSE APPOINTED BY KUFFUOR;S GOVERNMENT.

• GbagbladzaV 12 years ago

They want to destroy the credibility of all institutions on the their destructive path.
    But they forgot that one of the judges was a former NPP Regional Executive in the Volta Region

• GHANIGERIAN 12 years ago

NDC must also ask the Chief Justice to step down, because she is perceived to be an NPP sympathizer. What a country. If this is the "LEGAL WAR" Nana Addo wants to inflict on Ghanaian.
    The battle must continue!!!!!

• ASEMPA 12 years ago

YES AND THE EVENTUALITY WILL BE THAT TRIBALISM WILL BE ENTAITAINED,AND EVERYTHING WILL BE DIVIDED AS SEEN IN THE ELECTION & THE COUNTRY DIVIDED AS IN SUDAN,THE RESOURCES DIVIDED & THOSE WHO WANTTO TO BE GOVERNED BY THESE "GRE ...

• SANTORO 12 years ago

THE SO CALL NPP'S WHO DO YOU THINK YOU ARE ? IDIOTS.

• Skotsman!!! 12 years ago

Yes i agree with Justice Atuguba that Ghana stands risk of breaking down sooner or later, but i pray this happens under the NDC since they are the only nation wrecking party i ever know in Ghana. Look at what is going on, the ...

• TRUTH 12 years ago

U're a villager! Stop spewing garbage here. U silly baboon!!

• Don 12 years ago

This will never happened in any of the developed world. Once the brother is in the government there is no way he should be allowed to sit on that panel.

• Victor A. Young 12 years ago

Ghana's democracy is yet to be fully planted or rooted, when we still have election fraud case hearing at the Supreme Court. This kind of filth has prevailed since 1992. It's time to halt it completely from our electoral syst ...

• Owie 12 years ago

What about the AKUFFO & Akuffo Addo blood. Sophia Akuffo was trained by Nana Akuffo Addo. She must also leave the panel.

Don't mind them, npps are just silly IDIOTS!

• Victor A. Young 12 years ago

If you don't know, go to Akropong Akuapem on the mountains and research on the Royal Akufo Family. It's a huge family and doesn't mean all of them are pro-NPP.

We're talking of direct blood---brothers and cousins---ties i ...

• ayigbe edem 12 years ago

Atta-Mills was lambasted for his "dzi wo fie asem" sentiments by the npp, but when Yayi Boni lauded our free and fair elections former president Kuffuor said the comments made by the AU chairman should be ignored because he i ...

Hey, You talk about common sense yet you lack one. You are talking about family ties and others are talking about political ties. The case at hand is political not family. The npp judges should not be there neither, or becaus ...

• Oseikrom jatta 12 years ago

The SC judges must be firm and resolute. They shd not allow themselves to be ridden /dictated to by any one. Every party to the case have thier prefered judges and thier objections too. What has happened today potrays npp's d ...

• Micheal Shamo 12 years ago

Once NPP has the evidence they should not worry , ATUGUBA or no Atuguba , the evidence is there. Is that not what Jake said ?

• Agyingo 12 years ago

Massa now I have my doubts about the evidence. If it is truly incontrovertible as they claim then even if Mahama's wife sits on the supreme court NPP will win. It is only when you know you have no case that you worry about j ...

• odonkoshi 12 years ago

If the evidence is overwhelming (which is contrary to fact),no worries if proceedings are handled by a military tribunal. Do they believe in separation of powers? Their petition is froth and bubbles, no substance. Oyiwa!!!!

• odonkoshi 12 years ago

The evidence isindisputable and incontrovertible, Akuffo Addo and his (NPP) cohorts claim!!!Now they question the independence of the judiciary.What next?

• Agyingo 12 years ago

Rose C. Owusu, Sophia A. B. Akuffo (Ms.), P. Baffoe Bonnie, Julius Ansah, Anin-Yeboah, and Vida Akoto-Bamfo. All be removed too because they were appointed by kuffour. Ms Sophia Akuffo is a sister to Nana Addo petitioner numb ...

• Dzigaman 12 years ago

but Supreme court judges are not appointed on case by case basis.
    That is why 13 of them are allowed to vote on a case and the majority carries the verdict.
    Atuguba stays and will do his job but Supreme Court judge can be c ...

• Proceed on leave 12 years ago

Baffle Bonnie's brother was an NPP MP

• Ross 12 years ago

Chief Justice + 4 NDC + 4 NPP = Fairness

• Okofo 12 years ago

The chief Justice is known NPP supporter so your equation is wrong

• ANIMAL FARM 12 years ago

Justice Atuguba,is this first in your career that you have heard of an objection on the membership of a panel.There is no need to give an emotional lecture on nationalism,since nationalism is achieved through deeds and not wo ...

• Kofi Mensah 12 years ago

What else do the NPP petitioners want? Blood? They are objecting to the composition of the judges in The same Supreme court they took their case.
    There will therefore be no case to answer. The whole thing looks worse than a ...

• kay 12 years ago

Atuguba why this drama-heard of Augustino Pinochet case? He won on appeal because the judge's wife was working as a volunteer for amenesty international who were party to the case. You should have removed yourself to avoid an ...

• Ko 12 years ago

In that the case, the case failed because amnesty international was a party to the suit and the judge was a director of amnesty international.In our system the question of bias bases on relationship only, can be problematic.A ...

• Baffour 12 years ago

Mr Atubuga should have removed himself from the panel of judges the moment it came out that his brother has been appointed. Why is it that Africans don't behave as normal human beings. If this was here in London this judge wi ...

• Ama sey 12 years ago

Defeated NPP,s MP Ambrose Derry, brother Derry at the human right court has been doing the bid for the NPP and that is hunting them when they saw Atugba being a member of the panel . Their solid evidence cannot speak for the ...

• Atuguba 12 years ago

NPP & Nana Addo will cry maa!maa!!maa!!!

• Akadu Mensema 12 years ago

Atuguba's are directed against the NPP!

• Joe 12 years ago

Why, because NPP says so? You are dreaming, thought you said you had incontrovertible evidence? Or only when your own judges are sitting? Funny people.

• Owie 12 years ago

Do you know that Sophia Akuffo was trained by Nana Akuffo Addo? And Gloria Akuffo is a relative of Sophia Akuffo? This is why Nana Akuffo Addo thinks he can become a President through the Supreme Court.
    Na lie lie!!!

• BOY KOFI 12 years ago

NPP has disgraced the image of Ghana and trying to discredit all our institutions.They are careless about security and stability in our country until the military steps in.Nana Addo is looking for coup d'état,bringing back t ...

• Whatever 12 years ago

Its about time the supreme court advises itself and throw out the NPP petition. This is lesson to all of us. When the NPP begun this court action, all of us knew that they were abusing the court processes yet we've allowed th ...

• Jonathan Donkor 12 years ago

Can this be a ploy probably by the NPP and their cronies at the court to get Atugba out of the pnannel so as to make it easier for the NPP judges to sail through? Atugba,s alleged comment is loaded. He should be given the cha ...

• Amewu@ 12 years ago

Any justice NDC thinks is pro npp must be objected to.

• anayomi 12 years ago

YOU ARE A LOSER THAT SOLD HIS SOUL TO NDC CROOKS STEP DOWN FROM THE BENCH
    WE WANT INPARTIAL JUDGES NOT CAWARDS THAT WORK FOR NDC SHAME ON YOU MAN

• JJ Rawlings agbenorhevi kwashiwor 12 years ago

masa, i beg u, this man is not an ewe. shame on you. your hatred for ewes will always bounce. shaaaaaaaaaaaaaame!!

• tanii ba 12 years ago

atuguba is taniiiiiiiiiiii

• ADONGOBA AKOLOGU 12 years ago

COCOA ASE NIIIIIII

• efsdcgft 12 years ago

He is Kayani

cocoa ase korase nii!

• THOMSON 12 years ago

the NPP are not in the court for justice , they are there to sick the judges to favour them by making inpossible DWARF to be come president and make history that DWARF have rule ghana, that why they dont want some judges t ...

• Say the Truth 12 years ago

THERE IS DOUBT ABOUT IT THAT JUSTICE ATUGUBA SHOULD EXCLUDE SELF FOR BEEN RELATED TO THE NOW EXECUTIVE OF PRESIDENT MAHAMA!!!

• Owie 12 years ago

Sophia Akuffo should also exclude herself for being trained by Nana Addo and also being a relative of Gloria Akuffo, lead counsel for the petitioners.

• JOE 12 years ago

OWIE, SOPHIA AKUFFO IS A LAWYER AND NOT A JUDGE, SHE PRESENT A CASE BUT DON'T JUDGE CASES, THAT IS THE DIFFERENCE. ABOA USE YOUR BRAIN IF YOU HAVE ONE.

• tanii ba 12 years ago

no way, you cannot sit on this case

• Asamoah 12 years ago

The Ndc slogan has been changed from Ndc ede biii kekeeeeeeeee to Ndc Ashe Addo,Addo,Addo,Addo,Addo,Addo.

• Nii Akwei 12 years ago

This is not the right thing to say. Your outburst is cause for worry. This court case is better to sit in camera for all to see and hear.

• ERICUS-ERICUS 12 years ago

CONFLICT OF INTEREST MUST NOT BE ALLOWED IN OUR JUSTICE SYSTEM!!!

• kofi ofori amoako 12 years ago

It is a fundamental principle of law and the code of judicial ethics that even an appearance of partiality should mandate a trier of facts to recuse themselves from a case in order to preserve the integrity of any ruling or j ...

• KAFRI 12 years ago

Fellow Ghanaians, I am an ardent NPP supporter, but I can clearly see why this judge is extremely worried about the future of the country. Every competent judge knows that the overwhelming evidence being produced by the NPP w ...

ROTFLMAO!!!!! From the lecture you have posted, it shows how deeply you are living in the fools' paradise!!!! WAKE UP AND SMELL THE COFFEE, your party is finished till thy kingdom come. Ghanaians are saying Akuffo addict will ...

• Sunkwa 12 years ago

Its better the country breaks down than entrust our destiny to thieves & criminals.

• Ben 12 years ago

JUSTICE ATUGUBA MUST BE REMOVED.

• Ohene 12 years ago

He removed two judges

Before he is removed the other judges who are npp sympathizers must be removed. Oh npp and your shallow thinking, you don't seize to amaze Ghanaians. When will this nonsense end? That is why you will continue to occupy the op ...

• anayomi 12 years ago

THE TRUTH WILL SET US FREE

• Kay 12 years ago

JUSTICE ATUGUBA SHOULD BE REMOVED

• speak out 12 years ago

These NPP Guys behave as if Ghana belongs to them.They said they had respect for the Judges and that they know the right thing will be done.They have no reasosn for objecting Justics Atubga in this case. They can tell who sho ...

• GOAHEAD 12 years ago

NPP ARE SORE LOSERS, WHAT JUDGES Sophia A. B. Akuffo (Ms.), AND JULIUS ANSAH THEY ARE NPP!!!!!!

Can you prove your claim?

• STAPH-PHILADELPHIA 12 years ago

It is only half-baked lawyers like the ones paraded by the NPP who would stoop so low to in front of the highest court of the land to challenge the constitution of the Justices simply because of their addiction to tribalism; ...

• Nii Otu Quaye 12 years ago

The natural justice principle, postulating that justice must not only be done but must manifestly and undoubtedly be seen to be done, teaches that a person should not be a judge in his own case. While a logical extension of ...

• STAPH-PHILADELPHIA 12 years ago

Nii, you are absoltuely right about how Ghanaians relate to one another because of our family system. Also, our relationships established in the cause of our educational and polical journey when scrutinised possibly would not ...

Ghanaians must wake up. Nana and the NPP legal team are seeking to use their friends in the Judiciary to plung Ghana into a civil war. These guys advocated for live broad cast of proceedings of the thier petition when they ha ...

• Osonoba 12 years ago

Naturally, this objection is right. It is difficult fo rthe justice to rule against a party that haas just rewarded his cousin with such high office.

• Lucky 12 years ago

WONDERS GALORE.

Sophia Akuffo must be removed!!!

• love Allottey 12 years ago

Oh Baffoe Bonnie is a Kuffour man,so that should tell you where he belongs

• No Insults - let's reason as Ghanaian 12 years ago

Let's think of Justice Atuguba's emotional statement " break up of Ghana". For days there has been a constant assault on Ashanti's and Akyem's on this platform. Guys come to think of it. If the original pre-independence Ashan ...

• YOU SUCK 12 years ago

WHY CAN'T PREZ MAHAMA WITHDRAW THE APPOINTMENT OF RAYMOND ATUGUBA TO CLEAR THE WAY FOR JUDGE ATUGUBA TO SIT ON THE PANEL? THE JUDGE IS MORE IMPORTANT THAN THAN THE PRESIDENTIAL APPOINTEE.

• KOFI 12 years ago

but who does not know that justice anin yeboah is a staunch npp sympathiser?

Akufo Addo and Co used the party machinery and personnel to prepare their case. In all probability the NDC's submission will be no different from what Mahama's response, if at all, will be. The EC is the party required to of ...

Ask them again oooo, GENERAL DeGAULE. Kindly ask them again la.....!

• KOKI 12 years ago

"Who will stem the tide for me?" The soul of the nation moans.

The independence of the distinguished men and women in whose hands the destiny of 'political' Ghana lay is already being questioned? An air of mistrust alread ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 12 years ago

IT IS CLEAR THE GREEDY CORRUPT NDC BASTARDS AND CRIMINAL AFARI GYAN'S EC RIGGED THE ELECTION, HOWEVER, MANY STUPID GHANAIAN VOTERS WERE ON THE SIDE OF THE EVIL NDC DWARFS. WHEN THE HISTORY IS TOLD, IT WILL BE SAID THAT GHANAI ...

• Nyankonton 12 years ago

....."Lead Counsel for the petitioners, Philip Adisson wanted the substance of his objection to be taken in camera but opposing counsel, Mr. Tsatsu Tsikata, representing the NDC, opposed the move, stating he preferred a full ...

The NDC has made no statement regarding televising the Supreme Court proceedings. The Judiciary and the Chief Justice are responsibly for determining court proceedings. Otchere Darko made that suggestion on a talk show. Typic ...

• GoldCoaster 12 years ago

ALL the panel members except Atuguba seem like NPP Akan Judges.
    is Sophia A.B Akuffo related to Gloria Akuffo who is leading the NPP lawyers?
    Is the CJ who appointed the Judges not Atta Akyea's sister-in-law?
    Justice Dots ...

That seems fair to me, but in a country where money dictates the day, I don't think that would amount to much and we may probably end up at the same 'Bonku' junction like from yesteryear until date. Simply because, the Centra ...

• Kosi kwatia 12 years ago

Yes J Dotse is known strong NPP in HO.

JUSTICE ATUGUBA MUST ADVICE HIMSELF FOR FAIR PLAY IN THIS PETITION.
    AS A SENIOR JUDGE WHO IS GOING TO PRESIDE AND AT THE SAME TIME HAVING HIS NEPHEW AS AN APPOINTED EXECUTIVE SECRETARY OF JOHN MAHAMA, ATUGUBA SHOULD HAVE CON ...

• Martin/PA 12 years ago

Are you been fair here? Even the non Akan Justice Dotse is a NPP card carrying member. So we can understand that the NPP is confident about victory because of their clonies in the Supreme Court. If Justice Atuguba is removed ...

EVERY JUDGE ON THE PANEL IS A SYMPTHIZER OF A POLITICAL PARTY BECAUSE THIS IS NATURAL BUT WITH ATUGUBA IS AN OPEN WHICH TO ME AND IT WILL BE UNFAIR TO NATURAL JUSTICE IF HE DOESN'T ADVICE HIMSELF

• Private Eye 12 years ago

We should not impugn the character and integrity of our Justices based simply on which administration appointed them. Our Justices have so far not shown any demonstrable bias in any court decisions they have made to deserve t ...

You have spoken well! SAY IT LOUD!

• KOFI 12 years ago

At long last the battle line has been drawn this case will have no end. Get ready for war

• Mr Truth 12 years ago

When a father steps in to settle a dispute amongst his children , WISDOM is used as the tool of the solution otherwise when HELL breaks loose ,the BOKO HARAMS , THE CHILD SOLDIERS ,THE MERCENARIES and others who would come to ...

• PAUL 12 years ago

Does that mean the actions and judgements of the Chief Justice, Georgina Wood was influenced by Atta Kyea, her in-law who is a leading member of the NPP? Can you prove that a supreme court judge's relationship to another pers ...

• PAUL 12 years ago

Sophia A.B.Akuffo trained under Nana Akuffo Addo just as the below except from Wikipedia tells. Why should she be part of the panel?

Sophia Akuffo
    From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    Jump to: navigation, search
    Sophia ...

• GHANAIAN 12 years ago

They should give us a break what of the other judges who almost all Ghanaian know where they belong?

• Truth 12 years ago

It is simple. Make Ashanti Region a nation and they can get their subjects to rule them but not they wanting to rule other tribes. How about that folks?

• LAWRENCE 12 years ago

IF GOD DO NOT HELP THE GHANA. Then. this bad FREEDOM AND JUSTICE. that we have will do us more bad than good.IF YOU LOOK AT WHAT IS GOING ON NOW. THEN YOU CAN KNOW THAT NO-BODY IS SAVE. because. even the national JUDGES DONT ...

• Papa Sam NYC 12 years ago

There is a clear conflict of interest here. The Learned Justice must excuse himself. His relationship to the Dr. Raymond Attuga compromises his capacity to sit on this case. Dr. Attuga works with the government, which is inte ...

• Akoffo Addo 12 years ago

this can not be the biggest case in Ghana.we have seen more things at the coming of Rawlings,this will be a simple case and now you know some mental people like Akuffo Addo who smokes weeds,trying to control the supreme court ...

• AWAL POUNDSTERLiING bronx ny 12 years ago

All these Asnte/Akyem judges are corrupt.NDC must be very careful.

• BANYINIBA, LAGOS 12 years ago

IT WILL BE UNACCEPTABLE FOR ASANTE/AKIM MAFIA TO SIT ON THIS CASE. NO SINGLE NORHERNER IS QUALIFIED TO BE A SUPREME COURT JUDGE IN GHANA IN 2013? WHAT A JOKE?

• Mike 12 years ago

I believe this case may end up at the International Court of Justice, since all the judges will be objected to. God, save your dear nation.

• kweku atta 12 years ago

all of you are joking

• nito 12 years ago

Akanland now!!!

• Cashman 12 years ago

Atuguba need to be excused from the trial,even though I am not a lawyer common sense indicates that there is conflict of interest.There is no way he can judge this case against his family member.

• Yaw T. 12 years ago

For fairness to prevail what should be done about the judges who relate to NPP people

• JOE 12 years ago

LOOK AT HIS FACE, PEPENI, FRAFRANI, ATINGA ABOA GOD WILL PUNISH YOU ALL. DO YOU THINK IT IS RIGHT FOR YOU TO BE THIS CASE? GHANA IS NOT FOR NDC. WE NO GO SIT DOWN FOR FOOLS TO RULE US.

• NDC ALL THE WAY 12 years ago

Is there a doctor in the house??? You have a serious problem upstairs, which calls for urgent mental help. Hope help arrives before it is too late.

• Concerned citizen 12 years ago

Its a pity NPP up till this stage is still being allowed to dictate the pace. If they NPP really believe in the objectivity and transparency of the supreme court, why are they raising issues about mmbership of the panel of ju ...