Each Ghanaian owes GH¢1,361.79

Read Comments Comments (112)

• Professor 11 years ago

So much debt piled up in a mere 4 years? So, what did the Mills-Mahama administration do with all that money? Not enough water, not enough electricity, horrible road infrastructure, poor health care, poor education, untold ec ...

• FELA O FELA: NPP BONESHAKER LA 11 years ago

There goes the usual kukurudu FASCIST RIGHTWING PROPAGANDA by the these DEVIL WORSHIPPERS again. After losing the election on e again, bitter and sore as they are, they are determined to create fear ...

• Professor 11 years ago

I guess your answer is that NDC "does no wrong?". Wake up and smell the coffee, boy. Ghana is sinking under the NDC!!

• asem pa 11 years ago

It"s about time now ghanaians have to vote on performances. not for us playing tribalysm. those folks are really killing us. as a ghanaians, we have to wake up...

• Kofi - USA 11 years ago

THERE YOU HAVE IT. NDC HAS NO CLUE ABOUT THE COUNRTY. NO ENERGY POLICY, POOR WATER SYSTEM NOT TO MENTION THE ROADS. I PETTY THOSE POOR PEOPLE WHO CONTINUE TO LIVE IN POVERTY AND LET THE LIKES OF ASIEDU NKETIA, ABLAKWA AND THE ...

• Kumasi 11 years ago

silly article.talk well. how do you understand the word "owe" ? when did every ghanaian owe from the country? silly.

• ganaba 11 years ago

oh yea, NDC NDC NDC

• SHAMO 11 years ago

NDC IN POWER FOR 4YRS AND HAS PLUNGED GHANA INTO A GHC33.5b DEBT? HAHAHAHA! THE REWAED OF SHARING CARS, LAPTOPS, "BENTOA' PAYING HUGE MONEY TO ANYONE WHO WILL JUST INSULT NANA ADDO! JUST CALL ON RADIO INSULT NPP AND GO FOR YO ...

• Cumming 11 years ago

YOU ARE USELESS..! YOUR 1YR MORE WILL SEE GHANA IN A DITCH! JUSK KICK YOUR FUCKEN ASS OFF GHANAIANS

• SAM 11 years ago

AAAH HAHAH HAHA THE BITTER GHANA AGENDA

• Issah Baba 11 years ago

This is an intellectual stuff so those without ideas should not coment. They are facts & figures

• Ga man 11 years ago

YE BE DII BI KEKE" BORROW AND SHARE NDC FOOLS SPOILING GHANA

• KKK 11 years ago

HAVE NO CLUE TO GENERATE INCOME ONLY TAXING AND SHARING AMONG THEMSELVES.

• YAW BOYE 11 years ago

ITS ONLY AN IGNORAMUS WHO TALKS ABOUT DEBTS WITHOUT ANY MENTION OF ASSETS.YOU WILL STAY IN OPPOSITION FOR A LONG TIME.

• KA NO PEN PEN 11 years ago

THAT IS WHAT YOU THINK. SIT UP AND STOP BEING HAPPY ABOUT THE SCRAPS GIVEN YOU. IF A FEW OF YOU ARE HAPPY, GIVE A GOOD THOUGHT ABOUT THE WHOLE SITUATION AND CONSIDER OTHERS. THE SCALES WILL DEFINATELY FALL FROM THE PEOPLE'S E ...

• KA NO PEN PEN 11 years ago

MY QUESTION IS CAN THE PEOPLE HAVE TO STOMACH NON-PERFORMING GOVT FOR 4 YRS?
    CAN SOME ACTION BE TAKEN WITHOUT SUCH GOVT MESSING THINGS UP WITHOUT REPAIR....I MEAN HERE NO COUP'?.

• Kofi Amankwaa, London 11 years ago

Fela,
    This is BoG data.Actually nothing to do with NPP propaganda. Interestingly you are not contesting the report.The tendency of people like you to hero-worship your tin gods accounts for the continuing decline of our nat ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago

Fela, for once put politics aside and think of Ghana first. With all these debts, if we don't have enough water, electricity and even aviation fuel at times, then we are in crisis. Do you see how MPs are paid as compared to c ...

• NII DADE 11 years ago

THIS DEBT WILL KEEP INCREASING. GOD HELP GHANA

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 11 years ago

GO OUT THERE AND RECEIVE YOUR REWARD, ALL GHANAIANS. GO AND PAY THE PRICE FOR YOUR FOOLISHNESS. YOU DON'T GIVE A SECOND MANDATE TO AN INCOMPETENT AND CORRUPT GOVERNMENT, NO!! NOT AT ALL, THAT IS ABOMINATION IN DEMOCRACY, VERY ...

• DAN 11 years ago

just go ahead and bend over and grab your ankles while the China man sticks it in your anus for the next 50-75 years

• SHAMO 11 years ago

TRIBALISM HAS KILLED THEM TO THE EXTEND THAT THEY PREFER GHANA TO DESTROY THAN TO GIVE WAY TO A COMPETENT PEOPLE TO RULE AND MAKE GHANA A BETTER PLACE! THEY KNOW NDC IS SPOILING GHANA BUT THEY WILL GO ON PRAISE THEM GIVING TH ...

• Vodoo Xebieso 11 years ago

NONSENSE. PLEASE LEAVE MY PEOPLE OUT OF THIS.

• Gadagbui Agbosomi 11 years ago

They are my people too but excuse me to say many of us are fools! Brain wash and tribalism is collapsing Ghana! We know ndc is corrupt instead of voting Dr Abu Sakara Foster we still go on praising NDC criminals

• SHAMO 11 years ago

NDC GREEDY BASTARDS ASK JJ..! HAHAHAHAHA, FOOOOL

• KK 11 years ago

I am not the least purturbed. This is democracy for you and the majority of Ghanaians have chosen what they want - so be it. They may have 'genuine' reasons for preferring bad governance to being ruled by 'those people' even ...

• Kofi Yesu 11 years ago

We shall continue to borrow to better the lives of Ghanaians no matter you say or write. If you open your eyes well you will see the good things happening around you but if you close your eyes, l am sorry, you can't see anyth ...

• Kwakusei 11 years ago

YES

• FELA O FELA: NPP BONESHAKER LA 11 years ago

There goes the usual kukurudu FASCIST RIGHTWING PROPAGANDA by the these DEVIL WORSHIPPERS again. After losing the election on e again, bitter and sore as they are, they are determined to create fear and panic in the system be ...

• Cummings 11 years ago

DISASTRIOUS NDC WILL FINISH GHANA BEFORE THE YEAR 2015, TAKE YOUR SIBLINGS OUT OF GHANA NOW! BECAUSE NDC DONT HAVE ANYTHING FOR THEM! LEAVE GHANA FOR THE ANIMALS

• Kofi 11 years ago

Good job NDC!!!! Keep it up!!!! That is why your mandate was "renewed", hopefully NDC will keep the pace and double the debt. Ede bee keke.

• TRANSPARENCY INTERNATIONAL 11 years ago

A country rule and govern by the likes of Mahama, Asiedu Nketia and the cohort of NDC propagandists who intimidate the electorates and steal their votes to clinch to power, what good and positive vision have they got to offer ...

• THE CHOSEN ONE 11 years ago

I AM AT A LOSS HERE.YOU RAISE SUCH A SERIOUS QUESTION OF INTEREST TO US ALL AND YOU LEAVE IT AS IT IS WITHOUT ANY SUGGESTION ON HOW WE CAN WORK TO GET OURSELVES OUT OF THE MESS.
    DO YOU HAVE GHANA AT HEART AT ALL?

• Professor 11 years ago

I am not in government. It is people entrusted with governance and who are paid well with a lot of perks whose job it is to make life easier for the Ghanaian masses. Does the NDC government have a heart? I left Ghana for my " ...

• Rachel 11 years ago

We have all these idiots parading themselves as leaders, who are actually saboteurs of development & enemies of progress. They're all just power hungry, corrupt, visionless & downright incompetent.

• Ghana Ba 11 years ago

Impeach these NDC thieves who have borrowed and mortgaged Ghana to enrich themselves. Commit them to pay back ALL that they have taken. Seize their assets to compensate for the over 20 billion dollars they have stolen.

• Rosalyn 11 years ago

US owes 5 trillion dollars and still making noise. Mahama should go for more.

• Jill 11 years ago

Rosalyn are u alright? Ghana is roughly the size of puny Rhode Island & owe this amount of money to debtors with no substantial project to show for.

• Ahoafepa 11 years ago

The united states is over 300 million people and one state's economy is 5-10 times bigger than Ghana and well developed. The debt they incur in USA is visibly seen on the roads we drive on, the H20 we drink, the 24/7 power we ...

• Kofi - USA 11 years ago

STOP COMPARING GHANA TO THE US. YOU SHOULD NOT EVEN COMPARE IT TO ONE OF THE POOREST STATES LIKE KANSAS, WYOMING OR ARKASAS JUST TO MENTION A FEW. THEY HAVE BETTER ROADS, BETTER HEALTH CARE SYSTEM AND CONSTANT ELECTICITY. I ...

• Jocobai. 11 years ago

Hwe okwasia bi nso. Airplane contract alone can pay man, the American debt. So americans owe so we have to owe as well. They are already advance and cannot do things faster than we do here. American was down but look at how f ...

• Kankakee Nyame 11 years ago

This is how the NDC better Ghana Agenda has brought us far and after 52 years of independence we are even going back to the pre -historic age where people lived without light, water and better social amenities . Better Ghana ...

• Kofi Yesu 11 years ago

It was the same party that gave your party, NPP, a sound beating at the recently held elections

• DAN 11 years ago

and the NDC will have you sucking white penis on beach to buy food and pay rent,BITCH!

• Steve 11 years ago

Woyome"s money can settle it....

• Frank Mensah, Tikobo No. 2 11 years ago

I did not vote for the murderous, socialist thieves. This is the probity and accountability seed Jerry Rawlings sowed after deposing a constitutionally-elected governmment. Ghana's debt at the time stood at less tha $2 billi ...

• OMANNI ASARE 11 years ago

Our ears can not here when the drum is beating,until the whole world turns their back on us because ghana owes too much debt,This can happen tomorrow when ghana reaches the target of $64b debt scale,the cocoa and other resour ...

• Kofi Yesu 11 years ago

Yes, Ghana's debt has risen and each Ghanaian, adult and young, owes some much, but l don't think that that is a crime. The writer must understand that what you do with a loan is what matters and not how much you owe. Fact is ...

• SLY 11 years ago

What is the evidence? some of us go to our villages and they are complaining. All elections in Ghana has some rigging one way or the other including NPP BUT THIS LAST ELECTION GH HASNT SEEN SUCH MASSIVE ABUSE AND RIGGING WITH ...

• Kofi Nti Mensah 11 years ago

A developing country, You want development, you don't have money what do you expect. it is good for us to know but pls. don't politics this.

• HARDER DEY COME 11 years ago

I wonder if some of you have reason,eat salt and pepper,you dont want us to pliticize this, who manage the state for the past four years. Go and ask the mokola women who borrow,sells and makes profit.when they decide to buy t ...

• SLY 11 years ago

Example of poor leadership. Just read. Waaa! commom seed we have to import from Barzil and SA? What is the role of that HON. MINSTER OF WHATEVER?

Seed Producers Association of Ghana (SEEDPAG) in the Upper West Region has c ...

• Logosian 11 years ago

This trick was used by the NPP in the 2000 election campaign to fool Ghanaians into believing they are debtors under the NDC This party is full of men question so malicious to the core! My question is who distributes national ...

• sakum 11 years ago

oh ndc, after using the tax we pay in ghana to buy houses for yourselves in abroad, buy cars for your girl friends was not enough and you went ahead and left ghana with this debt.

• kofi 11 years ago

oMG what.each to pay that big amount

• Dondoli 11 years ago

If you give the money to individuals thats what happen to a country. Until ghanaians get all the money stolen from the states, we will always suffer.
    We have to revisit all contracts the government is given out and see how m ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago

A vacuum cleaner sales man appeared at the door of an old lady's cottage and, without allowing the woman to speak, rushed into the living room and threw a large bag of dirt all over her clean carpet. He said,"If this new vacu ...

• Jocobai. 11 years ago

Ghana "afono atoto" ready to explode. Ghana "ATROPE". Oh me man Ghana nie?

hummmmmmmm

• Big Joe - Belaruss, Russia, Ukraine 11 years ago

the worst is yet to strike let alone current debt for as long as our embattled public leaders , security makers,banking / lending drivers ,medicaal directors, religious mekers/ prophets an prophetesses, imams, herbalists, wi ...

• Kwaku Tee 11 years ago

My friend we overtook Greece,Spain and Italy about 40yrs ago,they are all behind us in the race to poverty.By the way Big Joe don't allow the Russisky Eziek destroy your English.

• Big Joe - Belaruss, Russia, Ukraine 11 years ago

boy: check your skin b4 spilling
    -------------------------------
    if this your only headache why not back up to hell?the website was created for all to express free opinions, free languages,free ideologies,free thoughts fr ...

• Kay 11 years ago

I can confidently tell you that 90% of the total population of adult Ghanaians do not have that amount in their accounts.Can our leaders both past and present tell us where those loans went to?

• ABRANTIE GYASI 11 years ago

Let the thousands of foreigners in the country help pay our debts as they are even enjoying than we ORIGINALS.Divide our debts to every single soul living in the country including the chinese,Indians,Lebanese,Nigerians and th ...

• king 11 years ago

Ghanaian are now crying, but remember this is just the beginning,we are going to introduce a new propaganda, slavery and corruption thus(A NEW BETTER GHANA AGENDA)which will lead Ghanaian to cry blood so that they will make a ...

• Sefakor, Accra Newtown 11 years ago

NKWASIA NSEM! MISLEADING READERS. GHANAWEB IS GRADUALLY BECOMING A NUISANCE TO INTERNET.

• Emmanuel asante 11 years ago

NDC can u explain that 2 ghanains

• David 11 years ago

Period

• KK 11 years ago

Because you are stupid. You dont look at facts and figures. You are blinded by tribalism. And because of people like you, we will contibue to suffer

• David 11 years ago

You want development (roads, schools, free SHS, water etc), you dont produce enough, you want single spine salary but you fear loans or debt?
    Ofcourse we have a stupid opposition.
    If this is true, what was NPP going to im ...

• Nana Yaw III 11 years ago

Any one who tries to use Ghana's debt in 2008 as a measure of how the economy has perfoormed till now MUST take an urgent course in the PROCESSES that a country which adopts the HIPC initiative goes through.

One must know ...

• Sappey Agbo, Alagbokope 11 years ago

@ Nana Yaw III. Thanks for educating the morons on these page, who have not the skills to analyse issues dispassionately. The reportage is about the nation's alleged debt stock, citing a report by the monetary policy committe ...

• SEIDU BABA 11 years ago

Nana Yaw please go back to school. It appears you have no clue about what the Monetary Policy paper reports highlighted. You should go back to school and leanr basic economics to help you understand the basic message of the ...

I should go back to school? Which one? The same SSS or latter day university? I thought you implied that system taught me nothing worth writing home about.

By the way, I have no need to talk about the MPC report nor nat ...

• Kwaku 11 years ago

I didn't know that we have good and knowledgeable people like you Nana Yaw and Sappey around,why not join the finance ministry to help them with your economics.Where were you when Fifi Kwettey was misinforming Ghanaians durin ...

• KK 11 years ago

Eno mpo nie. What we are talking about is the rate of increase in our national debt and what projects are there to show for it. The HIPIC initiative forgave some of our debts to allow the country to take on debt burdens that ...

Let me start by reminding you that I was not interested in any party so I did not mention any in my comment. NO SINGLE PARTY IN THIS COUNTRY CAN MOVE US FORWARD. We all must join hands and work in unison, in spite of our po ...

• KK 11 years ago

So are you attributing our current ebt bill to pre-HIPC debts and accrued interests over the HIPC period? I do not think you have the facts either to lecture us. At least figures presented in this article clearly point to mor ...

KK, I do not see why you are trying to misinterpret me, because I’m not attributing our current debt bills to pre-HIPC debts and accrued interests over the HIPC period. A basic lesson on going HIPC is that by doing that yo ...

• citizen 11 years ago

Please where can i pay my portion of the debt? I do not want to owe anybody!

• angel 11 years ago

No problem. Nobody will come and ask Ghanaians to pay the money from their pockets. By the way do u know how much other countries are owing and they do not talk about? Please let us talk of things that will help improve the l ...

• angel 11 years ago

i)Started with Ghana Cedis and ending wit US dollars.
    II)Check the last two paragraphs . 7.5 Billion dollars for Jerry J and 7,918.1 million dollars. Please quote this in a way that the lay man will understand.

• ADAMA 11 years ago

NDC HAS FINISH GHANA. GHANA DOOM . NO WATER, NO HYDRO ENERGY/ELECTRICITY, NO GOOD ROADS, LACK OF GOOD TRANSPORTATION, SCHOOLS ARE COLLASPING, WORKERS SALARY ARE NOT PAID. OH NDC. YET BCOS OF TRIBALISM SOME ANIMAL HUMANS LIKE ...

• Obaa Yaa 11 years ago

NOW THEY ARE ENJOYING THEIR DUSTY ROADS, LOAD SHEDDING, INCREASED TRANSPORT AND FOOD PRICES AND CONTAMINATED WATER PLUS INCREASED POLITICIANS SALARIES AND WELFARE.

• 7B 11 years ago

NDC governance, full of bizarre and malice as well as perpetrating violence with impunity...

• Nana Payin Paa (NPP) 11 years ago

who is collecting this debt-I want to pay mine. If you are all like me a substantial part of this will be paid off.

• Eve 11 years ago

I am a Ghanaian and me and my family have never borrow any money from nobody that these statement up there, you should ask NDC and its members to paid for theso debts above. I am telling you none of my family and myself doesn ...

• Photosy. 11 years ago

Are you ready ? Ask not what your country can do for you but what you can do for your country.

• Kwabena 11 years ago

The government should send somebody to come and collect mine portion of the national debt.

After that, I will declare a state within the state for my family and I.

• Abeiku - SW2 London 11 years ago

Owe who ... did'nt see a penny of that money never mind spend ...

• NDC FOOL 11 years ago

THIS IS REALLY BETTER GHANA AGENDA.THE HOLY BOOK SAYS IN THE END THERE SHALL BE HARD TIMES,SO I AM ASKING THAT IS IT THE HARD TIMES THAT HAS HIT GHANA OR WHAT? IF SO WHY DID GOD RECENTLY GAVE GHANA OIL? IF WE OUR LEADERS WHO ...

• Seymour Gray, LL.B. (USA) 11 years ago

GHANA NEEDS LEADERSHIP THAT UNDERSTANDS ECONOMICS. What the article's economic figures mean is that the NDC Leadership either does not understand how to guide the economy to improve the economy in building enterprise and job ...

• grace 11 years ago

only????

• HAFIS ATTA IBRAIMA 11 years ago

THE SEED OF DISCORD SOWN BY JJ RAWLINGS AND HIS LOOTERS HAS GROWN UP LEADING TO TRIBAL VOTING PATTERN IN GHANA WHICH WILL ONE DAY EXPLODE THE COUNTRY LIKE HIROSHIMA BOMB.GOD SAFE GHANA

• John,Tema 11 years ago

For sure tribal voting is major problem why our democracy is not growing,who knows a third force would have won one of the six presidential election we've have had.

• ADAMA 11 years ago

TRIBAL VOTING IN GHANA IS DESTROYING GHANA

• Benny 11 years ago

if the ruling party could use the country money for its election proregatives and then rigg election for the next party to come and find out this is the outcome. What is rawlings calling for. Gen Mosquito must answer for tha ...

• SHALOM 11 years ago

Waaa ooo! ! ! Eka nie! So when shall we settle all these and be free to enjoy normal life in Ghana.These politicians have killed us.

• regina athens greece 11 years ago

WHY IS ALWAYS THE LEASERS NO TTHINKING ABOUT GHANA FUTURE LEADERS ATLL BUT THEM SELF ALONE?

• SEIDU BABA 11 years ago

There is NOTHING concrete to show for this massive debt, except for the daily abuses from NDC Propaganda General Asiedu Nketia and others who have massively benefited from all these national looting. What would JJ say abou ...

• SHADY 11 years ago

History tells us that the Oman Ghana has destroyed itself once before. Its the second time beckoning? We were forewarned before Independence. The Chinese connection will see to it.The dogs are barking mad!!!

• WISDOM PERBI 11 years ago

Wayome is the cause. Please Mahama,come for mine.

• bigture 11 years ago

United State's public debt is $16.4 trillion meaning each individual resident in the United States share is $45,500.00=GHc96,000.00 per person in United States versus Ghana's GHc1,361.79 per person in Ghana.

• Captein 11 years ago

I did not know someone had already done the arithmetic for Ortchere-Darko with his pedestrian economic analysis. Forgetting that their useless court case is what is retarding progress and development in the country.

• Raffael 11 years ago

All of you should leave the bulshit and think of ways to pay the debt. None on you saw any politician or government spend money wastefully. Blame,blame is useless

• Atiaa 11 years ago

Nonsense, what did I buy?

• Captein 11 years ago

Oho Statesman again. In as much as I am against corruption, judgment debt, boycotts by opposition in Parliament but receive pay and frivilous debt, I think the analysis of debt sustainability and the investment should be the ...

• Ceeboy Dangerman 11 years ago

NDC hmmmmmmmmmmmm

• NANA 11 years ago

TRUST THE THIEVES FOR THAT

• Doow 11 years ago

it is only in ghana criminals are praise worship to continue their God panishable work. God help those who are sleping to wake up to see this evil ndc party leave power otherwise ghana is heading to ditch.

• General Mosquito, Brong Ba 11 years ago

We have no clue ruling a country. All we are doing is
    trying and error. Give us a break. Afterall, JDM himself is aware the country is not doing well. Enko
    yie ma ye koraa. We pray we just fill our pockets and leave,

• stekyy 11 years ago

Ghanaian economy will collapse because individual in government and in higher position such Ceps officials at Ghana port are getting richer while ordinary citizens on the street struggle for food and other basic needs. I weep ...

• Makafui 11 years ago

Please can we have the account number in which we can pay off our debt?