The budget inspires no confidence in Ghanaians – Prof Gyan-Baffour

Read Comments Comments (47)

• jeff china 12 years ago

foooooooooooooolish words becoz you are NPP member ,so anything goood from the current GOV, is not good for you guys

• Ewusi 12 years ago

Ghanaians are living witnesses if what is prevailing now is good for them,who cares.Continue to see blue as green.

• KWAME 12 years ago

Our dear nation Ghana is suffering today just because of the false policies and lies from the people of the UP/NPP. Even before Gold Coast changed to GHANA, the UP/NPP had sabotaged the good people of Ghana. Taxes must be pai ...

• Kanawu, USA 12 years ago

Too many bogus professors. Ghana is tired of toomay "Drs." and "prof" who dont know their lefts from their rights. Somr of them will better serve the country as TAs (teaching assistants)at the universities od even secondary s ...

• Kanawu, USA 12 years ago

Too many bogus professors. Ghana is tired of too many "Drs." and "prof" who dont know their lefts from their rights. Some of them will better serve the country as TAs (teaching assistants)at the universities of even secondary ...

• EZEKIEL 12 years ago

Kanawu,GREAT contribution! Our profs.NEVER/HARDLY contribute ANYTHING VALUABLE to our development!! The numerous MBAs/ Drs/Profs.....and we CANNOT MANAGE ANYTHING WELL in the Black Republic!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Paper qualis and NOIT ...

• Naija Man 12 years ago

Read what a notorious Nigerian scammer is doing.Nigerians are funy people.
    Read what a Nigerian scammer is doing.

This scammer has a taken a name by Gyan Kuffour to look like he is a Ghanaian to scam people. A friend of ...

• A FOREIGN OBSERVER 12 years ago

Do soldiers pay tax? If not why? What work do they do to benefit Ghana apart from fighting unarmed civilians and brutalising them with impunity? Why should they enjoy free housing, free booze, free petrol, free water, free el ...

• Rosalyn 12 years ago

Set up annual ministers day.
    The best minister /ministry should be ahead in innovation, corruption control , identification and management of waste etc.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 12 years ago

It is interesting that despite the power and water crisis in Ghana, the economy managed to record reasonable level of growth. It is ok for the Finance Minister to widen the tax net but it would be better for the minister to i ...

• Ike - London 12 years ago

I laugh when politicians use percentages to to confuse the ordinary Ghanaian instead of the actual values. If you start from a value of 2 and increase to three it is a 50% increase. If I start from a value of 10 and increase ...

• Satchmo 12 years ago

The 7.1 GDP growth of the economy is nothing if the average Ghanain is reeling under severe economic hardships dictated by unbearable commodity price hikes. The economy should be managed to benefit the whole spectrum of the ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 12 years ago

What at all has NDC political monkeys got to offer this nation apart from
    corruption, thievery, dishonesty, deceit, lies, incompetency, violent, selfishness and total economical confusion and chaos in our country?

Ghanaia ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 12 years ago

Any time I am critical on NDC and later reflect on giving our destiny into the hands of Nana Addo, I'm forced to change my views instantly.

Nana would have been a good leader but the drugs! All this court case is driven by ...

• KWAME 12 years ago

Your point must not be addressed to the NDC alone but to all the political parties. Since you are not a MONKEY yourself, why class some people MONKEYS??? Respect yourself.

• SHAMO 12 years ago

How can Ghana progress with idiots like who concentrate on doom mongering?

• Ewusi 12 years ago

How can Ghana progress on lies, looting, stealing state funds and given them to Woyome. Look the disgrace of Mahama would be far higher and bigger than Mills,who said he was fit and went on joggling on the tarmacs of Kotoka. ...

• SHAKAMORA 12 years ago

kwaseaya avedzi nothing on ur head aboa

• Ghanaman 12 years ago

Can any stupid and idiotic Ndc on this web sincerely tell Ghanaians how the economy will be ok when free moneys are being dished out to it members for no work done. Woyome

• insight to the bone 12 years ago

another sad day for the people and again one notices the illiterate dominate . a chain is only as strong as its weakest link and while people are fighting and quarreling with each other the atrocities of non performance , cor ...

• THE TRUTH 12 years ago

THERE IS NOTHING IN THE SWEARING IN ADDRESS ,THE STATE OF NATION ADDRESS IS HOLLOW NOW THE BUDGET INSPIRE NO CONFIDENCE SO WHAT NEXT NPP EVERYTHING IS NOT GOOD NOW IN GHANA AS FAR IS NPP IS CONCERNED BY THE WAY WHO ARE THEY G ...

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 12 years ago

I said it here that Ghanaians should not expect anything new from the budget to relief us from the horrendous and unbearable social economic hardships from this heartlessly visionless "woyomenized" criminal bunkers.

Ghana ...

• OBIBINI 12 years ago

Only talking you can do.What did the NPP budgets do to improve the lives of ghanaians when Kuffuor was in power?God willing with your professorship you wil stay in opposition forever and ever.You will come to power and sell s ...

• SON OF GHANA 12 years ago

am extremely, surprised of your bloody loose talk on this subject. let me tell you point blank, you have no clue what economics is about and in managing a country. all the figures of 7.1% growth and the economy doing well pr ...

• GHANAVIA 12 years ago

Thanks a lot, I support your stand.
    It is democratic cheap talk and Avedzi of the NDC, for the sake of what he gets lawfully and unlawfully,let him pretend all is well; he is entitled to his ostrich opinion.

• ETWE YE DE HAMBURG 12 years ago

PALM-WINE TAPPER LIKE YOU:KWASIA:

• EZEKIEL 12 years ago

The NUMEROUS "Mr. Speaker" in the Budget presentation were ENOUGH to PUT ME OFF.!!
    Is that ALL we've learnt from the COLONIAL MASTER APART from the Wigs for the "tropical" heads of our Lawyers ??????
    Somehow, the Blackman ...

• Atrye 12 years ago

Ghanaians are not interested in flamboyant budgets that do not achieve anything. What kind of flamboyant things didn't the NPP put in its budget, and what did they achieve. A whole ministry of railways was created, a flamboya ...

• Osei Yao 12 years ago

WHEN DID MANUFACTURING BECOME THE HUB OF GHANA'S ECONOMY? THESE TEXTBOOKS ECONOMISTS EVEN FORGET THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT GHANA WHEN THEY SPEW OUT THE TEXTBOOK INFORMATION. WHAT IS THIS MAN PROFESSOR OF?

• RONNY 12 years ago

ANOTHER IDIOT CALLING HIMSELF A PROFESSOR. YOUR STUDENTS ARE OUT THERE WITHOUT JOBS. WHAT DID YOU TEACH THEM?.USELESS PROFESSOR.

• Boateng 12 years ago

Prof Gyan, since you are talking about manufacturing, I like to ask you, what happened to TOMACAN and the TOBACCO FACTORIES in your hometown Wenchi?

Nkrumah built them but due to hatred Dr. Busia your uncle neglected those ...

• BOGGY 12 years ago

MR NPP MP IT WAS DURING YOUR ADMINISTRATION TOMACAN CLOSED DOWN, WHAT DID HE DO ABOUT IT. YOU SHD. STEP DOWN FROM POLITICS BECAUSE YOU ARE TOO OLD AND GIVE CHANCES TO THE EDUCATED YOUTHS...

• YAA 12 years ago

THIS IS YOUR FIRST AND LAST MP FOR YOUR HOME TOWN WENCHI. YOU HAVE TO STEP DOWN OR YOU WILL BE FORCE TO BECAUSE YOU ARE OF NO USE TO YOUR HO ME TOWN ASSHOOOOOOLE

• AK 57 TORONTO 12 years ago

YOU SPEND SOME OF YOUR YEARS IN OVERSEAS YOU SHD. NO BETTER THAT THAT DONT HIDE THE TRUTH. NATIONS BOTH ADVANCE AND THIRD WORLD COUNTRIES GDP ARE GROWING BOS.OF INDUSTRIES, COMPANIES, BUSINESS ARE PAYING TAXES.

• BOGGY 12 years ago

IT WAS THIS PROF WHO GAVE A BOGUS CALCULATION FOR NANA ADDO ABOUT THE FREE SHS. YOU NEED TO RETIRE. GO HOME AND GET OUT YOURSELF FROM POLITICS.

• KWASI 12 years ago

MANUFACTURING IS THE HUB OF EVERY ECONOMY...IDOIT, FOOL. WHAT DID YOU DO FOR YOUR HOME TOWN WHEN NPP CLOSED DOWN THE FACTORY(TOMACAN)?

• MOORE 12 years ago

I hope they will present their version.This time around, we will see the NPP finance minister, please Mr, Kyei -Mensah, when will your state of the nation address will be discuss? God bless Ghana.

• Chief J.J. 12 years ago

I agree totally with the professor that a strong manufacturing base is what is needed.Well said prof.
    As a professor what has been your contribution in the area of manufacturing?
    Our intellectuals are failing us!!
    All of t ...

• Hazor 12 years ago

Professor,to be frank what the finance minister read in parliament is not budget,The finance minister present analysis of NDC achivement and budget.When did reduce armed robbers,provide 1094 cars to police,rubber bullets,plas ...

• Ernest Asoi Chereponi 12 years ago

What is happening will not help the country.Lets get united now.

• Paa Kodwo 12 years ago

WHAT CAN GHANAIANS LEARN FROM THIS MAN WHO EXPLOITED AND PLUNDERD THE RESOURCES OF GHANA FOR THEIR OWN SELFISH INTEREST.

WAS IS NOT THIS SO CALLED ''PROFESSOR'' UPON WHOSE WATCH GHANA WAS DECLARED AS A POOR INDEBTED POOR C ...

• KWABENA DANSOMAN 12 years ago

THE GOOD THING ABOUT THE BUDGET IS TO INCREASE THE POVERTY RATE.INCREASE IN REVENUE MEANS DENYING THE CITIZENRY OF THEIR ABILITY TO HAVE MONEY IN THEIR POCKET BECAUSE WE ARE NOT READY TO ENCOURAGE PRODUCTIVITY IN THE AGRICULT ...

• KA AKYIRE 12 years ago

ANOTHER ZOMBI OF THEM, WHERE IS THE OTHER SNAIL REARING PROF WHO FOR 8 YEARS COULD NOT REACH TEMA WITH RAILWAY?. GONE ARE THE DAYS U PEOPLE USE PROF TO CHEAT THE BRONGS

• Nyame Ekuma 12 years ago

Look at ur face in the mirror. Old evil dwarf. What do u know. Shiaa. Prof my foot.

Wait and see the salvation of the Lord at the end of Mahama's first term . Nonsense. Ungrateful ols fool

• Clarence Hedzolleh 12 years ago

Was this not the same so-called Prof Gyan Baffour (then Dr Gyan Baffour in the NPP government of Mr Kuffour in 2008) that I asked to explain part of the NPP's economic policy in an academic environment and he arrogantly snubb ...

• MAHAMA MORE CORRUPT NOW 12 years ago

MAHAMA SHOULD BOW DOWN HIS STUPID HEAD DOWN,SHAMELESS,USLESS,GANGATUAN MAAMA IDIOT,FOOLS,GOD WILL KILLED U ALL,AS MAHAMA DID TO MILLS,9HOLES ARE WAITHING FOR MAHAMA PERIOD

• Albert 12 years ago

No budget of any country anywhere in the world will inspire its people, especially people like the types the npp. Come as a party and prepare your budget, nobody will like it. So I tell you that what you are saying is politic ...