Ghana’s economic performance criticised by partners

Read Comments Comments (114)

• Onipaba 11 years ago

My beloved brothers and sisters is this what is good for our dear nation .These people just dont know how to do it.Everything is in a mess.Do we hate ourselves so badly.Poor Ghana and its people.Join me in shedding tears for ...

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

OUR WOES OF TODAY WERE SOWED BY NPP 2001-2008. THEY NEVER MANAGED ANYTHING WELL AND MESSED UP A GLORIOUS ECONOMY IN 2000. WHAT WAS WORST, THEY LOOTED BASAA TO THE DETRIMENT OF THE ORDINARY GHANAIAN. KUFFOUR IS FILTHY RICH BEC ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 11 years ago

NDC, BE AT YOUR BEST,MAKE GOOD USE OF YOUR PROPAGANDA SECRETARIAT TO TWIST THE MINDS OF THE PEOPLE, MAKE THEM BLIND & DEAF. GO ON AND PILE THE DEBTS ON ALL GHANAIANS AND THEIR CHILDREN TO COME, SQUEEZE GHANAIANS HARD. BRING B ...

• Cummings 11 years ago

WE HAVE DESTROY GHANA OOOOOOOOOOOOO! GREEDY BASTERS TEARING GHANA INTO PIECES

• Farmer George 11 years ago

Did I write this?
    Thanks,Akwasi!!!

• Blue Saint 11 years ago

Who is Mr. Claude Martew? What mission does he head? And who are the development partners. I really think I'm not the only one who would want answers to these questions. I want to know.

• Ada Boy 11 years ago

You are quick to post your "feel good" questions about Mr Martew's credibility,but if Ghana was a public company it would find it hard to find any new capital,due to its surging risks.A big chunk of national income goes to su ...

• blueprint 11 years ago

They are saying you over stole for the elections, thief

• ST SIMON 11 years ago

SOMETIMES IT AMAZES ME TO SEE THE RATHER DOWNTRODDEN DEFENDING THE GOV'T ON ITS INABILITY TO DELIVER. GOV'T OFFICIALS AND MPS LEAD EXTRAVAGANT LIFESTYLE BECAUSE THEY MISUSE THE MONEY MEANT FOR THE POOR PERSON'S DEVELOPMENT. M ...

• Wonders never cease 11 years ago

Blue Saint - Mr Claude Martew happens to be the Head of the European Union (EU) Mission to Ghana.
    Hence, he represents all those organistions from the EU who are assisting Ghana with funding and of the development OF project ...

• Senior Wisdom 11 years ago

If you have any question ask it to the president. Did he ever meet Claude Martew, if he did then your question do not matter, and that gives credibility to the story. I doubt who would be so stupid to post this if the meeting ...

• AGYAKU 11 years ago

NDC CORRUPTION IS KILLING GHANA SOFTLY AND IF THINGS GO LIKE THIS THE ECONOMY WILL COME A STAND STILL. LOOTING OF GHANA COVERS IS THE ORDER OF THE DAY FROM TOP TO BOTTOM. AT 56 WE HAVE TO LIGHTS AND NO WATER . AM SURE THE PEO ...

• Prosper 11 years ago

This your statement can only come from a mad amn.I am sure you have not taken your medics today that´s why. Are you afraid to mention names like Kwaku Ayidoho Okudzoto Ablakwa Hanna Bissew that prostitute Mahama Dramani that ...

• HON SHAMO 11 years ago

WHERE IS YOUR stupid NDC BETTER GHANA? FIIFI KWERTEY STUPID PROPAGANDA UNPRECIDENTED ACHIEVEMENT EXPOSED! huuuuuuuuuu HAHAHAHAAAA NDC ANIMALS

• pepeni grade 1 11 years ago

Brothers,sisters and friends,when you have two children,and you choose one to insult him every day,do you know that there will come a time he will think that no matter what he will do you will still insult him?n then do what ...

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

WHO IS CLAUDE Martew anyway ?? Head of what mission ? We don't ALL live in Accra so when you're reporting TAX your BRAINs a little more!!!

• Awura Ama 11 years ago

You are a lunatic I think, you've never made sense since you commented on this web.Did you understand what he said?is last year from 2001-2008 why are you so idiot like that, you have the brain of a 2yr old.I am sorry for you ...

WE KNOW NDC IS USELESS BUT WE HAVE TO PRETEND, INFACT GHANA HAS NO FUTURE UNDER NDC

• NANA BONSU U.S.A 11 years ago

RE- TERRIBLY SPE CIFIC WATCH YOUR MOUTH FOR INSULTING FORMER BLACK HANDSOME PRESIDENT KUFOUR, THE GUY MY BROTHER WAS RICH BEFORE ASSUMPTION THE PRESIDENCY. HE WAS BORN WITH THE GOLDEN SPOON IN HIS MOUTH.SO WOE BETIDES FOR Y ...

HOW DID SOMEBODY WHO CAN'T MANAGE ANYTHING WELL BE RICH? HE WAS A CON MAN WHO DABBLED IN DUBIOUS BUSINESS. WHY COULDN'T HE MANAGE HIS FACTORY AND FINALLY LEFT IT TO COLLAPSE. HOW MUCH TAXES DID HE PAY? YOU THESE ASANTES HAVE ...

• Professor 11 years ago

Go back to 2008 and read all the economic indicators about Ghana at that time. Ghana was held as a beacon of economic progress for the whole of Africa. Frankly, it is this attitude and mind set of blind nonsensical criticism ...

• Banga na Soko 11 years ago

Useless old boy;continue deceiving yourself. Kwasea kwa.

• THINKING CAP 11 years ago

ONLY FOOLISH NDC WILL THINK OUR PROBLEMS ARE CAUSED BY NPP, AFTER DISCOVERING OIL, MASS TRANSPORT, SCHOOL FEEDING ECT.

• Asante 11 years ago

Sorry to tell you this as an IDIOT like you should stay away from comment because you make me sick, people like youwill never know when good things are coming

• BlindMan 11 years ago

These so called Development Partners can SCARE no one. Maintain your cool, Mr President, and respond in kind; they can take their Business elsewhere.
    Ghana must not entertain an HASTILY business transaction; it always ends u ...

• Yaa 11 years ago

@BlindMan, like you say, there are opportunists everywhere. So stop fixating on Claude Maerten and Ghana's "development partners".

The bottom line is, we do not control our own economy and not just because we live in a glo ...

• AGAMADOHO 11 years ago

Author:
    AGAMADOHO

Date:
    2013-03-07 19:20:21

Comment to:
    Election Petition: 80 NDC members join writ

THERE IS TOO MUCH NONSENSE IN GHANA NOW.HONESTY. RESPECT, DISCIPLINE, ETC,ETC ARE NO MORE.THE BEST SOLUTION TO ...

• Obenfo 11 years ago

Since when did this development partners business start. If you live on handouts that is exactly what happens. The independence of Ghana is truly meaningless - it is just an annual festivity.

How can a country with a pop ...

• Michael 11 years ago

So why blame the development partners? Be consistent in your view.

• Obenfo 11 years ago

Michael,

You're right, I'm just frustrated! I can't by any means blame the so called development partners. We are our own devils.

If somebody knocks at your door and you don't open he has no option but to go home. In ot ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 11 years ago

The Mills/Mahama administration did not take the energy and water crisis serious when they took over in 2009. If they had given them the urgent priority that they deserved from the word go as Mahama is now doing, the situatio ...

• Obenfo 11 years ago

Lower inflation is good, but I thing these people are taking too much credit on the lower inflation. The other way to look at deflation is low growth.

When there is no vibrant economic activities in the country that can g ...

• Ivor Kenya 11 years ago

WHAT IS ALL THIS?

• Abubakar 11 years ago

How can unjustice person rule us? God for give us and let justice work.

• Ekow 11 years ago

Foolish Alhaji Mahama, you see everyone is criticizing your performances. You killed Atta Mills just to become a president and now here you are. We Fantis will never forgive you.

• K. Antwi, Liberia camp. 11 years ago

Dear Ghanaians, the real truth is that, the NDC lead gov't is underperforming there is no two ways about that; Our electricity, water, gas and other basic aminities are all facing major problems that is gradually paralysing o ...

• Unumi Bununya a.k.a Teteman Boy 11 years ago

That is what happens when Ghana's umbilical cord continues to be attached to the so-called donor nations.

Sometimes I laugh my lungs out when I hear of Ghana receiving grants as low as $5.0 million for certian micro proje ...

• Let us be Bold 11 years ago

"The corruption starts from Kotoka Airport." No the corruption starts from the President. He stole the nation's money to bribe his way to the presidency. Everyone in Ghana now is doing what he wants because that is the pace t ...

• Remove Indenity Clause 11 years ago

Corruption is the root causes of all the problems we have in Ghana today.

• Chief amankwa 11 years ago

This guy talk more than he can do.
    He is prez to make more cash for himself .
    Nothing else.

• Joe ballack UK 11 years ago

Mahama you must quit to avoid disgrace

• Joe ballack UK 11 years ago

You know Nana is interlegent than you

• Sarah Nunoo ( Senoir Lecturer, London 11 years ago

I wander why these people who critize the government appear not to be in parliament. Be a politician, be elected and carry out the task of a president. Otherwise leave the president alone because you appear not be fit to cric ...

• Akos 11 years ago

NPP members should not comment but should rather be ashame of themselves for the looting that took place for eight years.NDC are not magicians to repair the damage you took eight years to do, so shut up.

• OBIBINI 11 years ago

The same thing they did to Osagyefo.The NPP has joined hands with the neo-colonialists to start finding faults and harassing the government.It is even going to be worse now that they know that Mahama is an Nkrumaist.

NKRUMAH WAS THE ARCHITECT OF HIS OWN DOWNFALL. AT THE HEAT OF THE COLD WAR, HE WAS FOUND FLIRTING WITH THE EAST. ALSO HE DECLARED HIMSELF A LIFE PRESIDENT AND SENT MANY OPPONENTS TO PRISON WITHOUT TRIAL. HE WASTED A LOT OF G ...

NDC SUPPORTERS, IF YOU WANT GHANA TO MOVE FORWARD TODAY, THEN, DO AWAY WITH ASIEDU NKETIA'S STUPID PROPAGANDA AND FACE REALITY. NDC IS HELL BENT ON DESTROYING GHANA, SO OPEN YOUR EYES AND EARS. SYCOPHANCY WILL NOT HELP YOU AN ...

• MAHAMA MORE CORRUPT NOW 11 years ago

OH GOD,HMMMMM MOST GHANIANS HATE NDC AND THT THIEVES CORRUPTS MAHAMA,CRIMINAL FAKE PREZ TO THE NATION,EVEN MILLS DID NOT TRUSTED MAHAMA,GHANA GOLD TO IRAN,WOYOME CHOP FREE,ANIMGUASE MAHAMA AKWAABA

• Sarah Nunoo ( Senoir Lecturer, London 11 years ago

Oil is found now and then in Ghana yet you are saying Ghana is poor. When are you going to be grateful. Ghana is not poor. One need to look at Europe and what is happening in the world. Bless Ghana instead saying negative th ...

• OBIBINI 11 years ago

Who are those economic partners criticising the government?They should go back to their countries and criticise their governments for their economies too are in a meltdown.The so-called economic partners can go to hell.

• Big BROTHER 11 years ago

John Mahama Dramani dont deserve to be President of GHANA he is visoinless, useless,thief, criminal

• Sarah UK 11 years ago

It is not a year since the president became a president of the Republic of Ghana. Yet people are especting him to perform miracles. God will give him the strenght to carry out the task that, Ghanian elected him to do. Becuase ...

He was the vice president for the last 4 years, don't forget!

• Issac Isah 11 years ago

Johh Mahama..get you fat arse out and get your ministers to do some work instead of filing petitions and insulting NPP on radio stations and blaming NPP after 5years in power. Ghanaians are suffering badly, you may blame NPP ...

amen!

• Maha 11 years ago

Mahama appointed Ministers from the same stock from the Bamobas and Kokombas who are behaving like animals and you think these animals have brains to do anything good? Ghanaians did not learn from the Limann debacle and have ...

• Ibn Batuta 11 years ago

I am sure Martew said no such things. The crude Ghanaian media have a penchant for twisting words to suit their purpose. The gullible and uncritical populace simply laps on to such trite and makes hay.

• ATOPAHENE 11 years ago

KWASIA... THE MEDIA IS ALWAYS BEEN ON NDC's SIDE. HECK THEY OWN MOST OF THE MEDIA HOUSES. HOW COULD THE MEDIA JUST MAKE UP SUCH A STORY????? BE REASONABLE

• Tsatsebi 11 years ago

You must be living in a fool's paradise if you do not think the media can make up stories. They do that everyday in a lot of places, Ghana, UK, USA, Russia, China etc. Grow up and try to read widely.

MAHAMA IS IN TROUBLE

• Kwamebeba 11 years ago

Ghana has now graduated as a Doctor of Neo-Colonialism. Kwame Nkrumah prophesied it. Who would have dared to tell the great Master what to do?

NKRUMAH WAS THE ARCHITECT OF HIS OWN DOWNFALL. AT THE HEAT OF THE COLD WAR, HE WAS FOUND FLIRTING WITH THE EAST. ALSO HE DECLARED HIMSELF A LIFE PRESIDENT AND SENT MANY OPPONENTS TO PRISON WITHOUT TRIAL. HE WASTED A LOT OF GH ...

• Kwamebeba 11 years ago

Whoever the anti-Africans would say is the best for Africa is the worst because they do not seek what is good for Africa. How many years did they have to have made Africa or Ghana look like how their neighbourhoods are? Check ...

• bula 11 years ago

SO, AFTER STEALING THE MAJORITY VERDICT WITH THE HELP OF DR. AFARI GYAN,THE PRESIDENT IS UNABLE TO THINK OUTSIDE THE BOX TO BRING RELIEVE TO MAJORITY OF THE PEOPLE.THIS SHOWS HE STOLE POWER TO
    COVER-UP ITS INCOMPETENCE AND ...

• Paa Kodwo 11 years ago

BE PART OF THE SOLUTION AND STOP THE NONSENSE.

WE ARE STILL BEHIND TIME BECAUSE OUR WHOLE TIME CONTINUE TO BE CENTRED ONly NEGATIVE THINGS ABOUT OUR COUNTRY, GHANA.

WE HAVE STILL FAILED TO REASON AND TO KNOW KNOW HOW A ...

• SULE 11 years ago

And the crazy mantra and slogan was " e de bee keke". Well, the e de be keke nonsense is leaving up to it's real meaning - INCOMPETENCE AND GROSS INEPTITUDE of this Mills-Mahama-Amissah Arthur adminstration. The country has b ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago

Talk is cheap. Supply exceeds Demand

• Paul Amuna 11 years ago

Who are these "development partners"? Name them specifically. Let us see how their own countries are doing. This is a weak and misleading report but the source is not surprising.

• DKB 11 years ago

Focus on the details of the report. Which part of the report is not true? Continue burying your head in the sand for the sake of politics. Before you realise, the president of Ghana will be a Chinese man.

• Abba 11 years ago

It is very sad that this President is not an economist so he is confused. He therefore doesn't know his left and right.

• kwaku 11 years ago

foolllll u cant even speak comon english,never say left nd right,go learn grammer

• Brains 11 years ago

Kwaku Abba was not speaking, she was writing. Can you please check your own spellings before criticizing someone I think she writes better than you.

• SI 11 years ago

Who are the development partners huh? Lies upon Lies. Eeiii JOY FM

To all commentators, i don't care,you can destroy ghana.if you are a patriotic citizen of ghana ,use your time to say things that can bring destruction to the country instead of thinking what to do to solve the problem for t ...

• BITCH 11 years ago

Why is ghana gay

• BITCH 11 years ago

Why do u have to be mean to the president he is gay and stupid im going to bomb his house tonight i dont care watch him did tonight say bye bye to the stupidest presidnt in the world

• BITCH 11 years ago

I hate the president he looks ugly as my dick i want to destroy ghana today why the fuck do we have rules I just want to shoot the president and the new president will be me

• BITCH 11 years ago

I hate the president he killed my mom and now my step mom is in jail cuz of his stupid life i wana kill him today and that bitch will take all the shit he told me and who ever proteces that stupid president will die

my friend are you a ghanaian or adopted.

• JOHN ASIEDU NKETIA 11 years ago

THE LANGUAGE NDC UNDERSTAND IS HOW TO CHOP, CHOP MONEY. THEY HAVE RULED GHANA FOR MORE THAN 25 YEARS, YET MAJORITY OF GHANAIANS ARE STILL WALLOWING IN ABJECT POVERTY. THE PARTY (NDC) AND THEIR VETERAN LEADER STARTED IN THE I9 ...

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Why didn't you tell Kufuor whe they were looting Ghana

• BITCH 11 years ago

FUK U BITCH GO SUCK A DICK

• WILLIAM 11 years ago

The Civil Servants Association (with technical support from the NDPC,GIMPA,MSD, and the Military Staff College) should carry out a national exercise of self-introspection/review, if it is to be relevant to Ghana's 21ST Centur ...

• Tsatsebi 11 years ago

Who is Claude Martew anyway? Leave alone us to develop at our own pace. The only thing that needs to be stopped are CORRUPTION and POLITICIANS STEALING which are so pervasive and destroying our development.

• BITCH 11 years ago

Ghana is stupid as my dick

• gay solomon mahama 11 years ago

WITH NDC MAHAMA HMMMMM NO BUSINESS MAN WILL COME TO GHANA,FOR MAHAMA WOYOME STOLE HIS OR HER MONEY,NEVER,USLESS INCOMPETENT CORRUPTS CRIMINAL EVIL PARTY,SHAME ON YOU MAHAMA PERIOD

Hey my friend you are sick in spelling you need education the second time

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

THE DEBTOR is always at the MERCY of the Lender! Ghana,WAKE UP and DEPEND on your OWN EFFORTS for a while.!!
    DO you see how China deals with the USA and EU ??BOTH need Chinas FOREIGN RESERVES and so they AT LEAST PRETEND TO ...

• Nicholas . J. Bedzo 11 years ago

The President knows nothing about economic, he is only a caretaker of the country even no qualification just
    like anybody. ls only Luck at his side
    that Atta Mills has passed away, orderwise he is a trash tobe thrown away.

• putin 11 years ago

YOU ARE APPLAUDING GOVERNMENT OF PUTTING HARDSHIP ON PEOPLE THROUGH FUEL INCREMENT. IMPERIALIST. WE SHALL NEVER DEVELOP WITH THESE PEOPLE AS OUR PARTNERS.

• shakara 11 years ago

too much corruption, govt doing nothing about it. govt to start acting now

• JH-New York City 11 years ago

I blame most Ghanaians for this sad development. Why b'cos, most of us refuse to accept mistakes by sitting govt for the only reason that,his or her party is in power.Imagine the insult if the development partners boss was a ...

• JH-New York City 11 years ago

I blame most Ghanaians for this sad development. Why b'cos, most of us refuse to accept mistakes by sitting govt for the only reason that,his or her party is in power.Imagine the insult if the development partners boss was a ...

• Castle Comedidan 11 years ago

From it's foundation NDC has no strategic view. Mills-Mahama enjoyed K4's policies until now.

• Castle Comedidan 11 years ago

When frog dies before you see it's true height. When river dried up before you can see the stinkig keta sch boys.

• Good citizen 11 years ago

Abaiku Santana did you hear that? Ride in your Prado with shame. Posterity will ask you questions about how you and others of your kind helped destroyed this beautiful country for your selfish gains

• Tokyo 11 years ago

Ghanains are soo. Stupid I can't beleive it.!! What was meaning of the cry Edey be ke ke !!what fools. !!' Real stupidity !!

• yaw 11 years ago

Funny Ghana so called pollictitian, Even my cat pet can name one street and code it in 56years.

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

we move from one controversy to another and in the meantime avoid dealing with the real issues , as long as pepeni continues to appoint these good for nothing glorified incompetent chichiga sellers we shall never have peace. ...

• BabaUS 11 years ago

This article os poorly written. Who are Ghana's development partners? What is the partnership for? Tell us these so the context of the message will be clear.

• sikdo 11 years ago

HI GHANA

• Ama 11 years ago

We've not seen any thing yet Ghanians.

• arafat 11 years ago

we dont need dwarf to rulle ghana npp change ur candidate

• THINKING CAP 11 years ago

WHAT HS HEIGHT GOT TO DO WITH SOLVING OUR NEEDS. STUPID NDC

• PREZZO 11 years ago

WITH NDC AND THIS MAHAMA IN THE SEAT IT WILL NEVER, NEVER BE WELL. THE NPP BUSINESSMEN WHO MOVE THE ECONOMY ARE BEING TAXED MORE AND THERE WILL BE MORE LAY OFFS LIKE I WILL DO IN MY COMPANY. HOWEVER THE AXE WILL FALL ON THE ...

• ohenenana 11 years ago

The manpower in the administration is very substandard.

• KWAKU MANU 11 years ago

IT IS YOU BLIND NATION WRECKERS WHO ARE MORE DANGEROUS THAN THE FRONT LINERS IN THE POLITICS. WHEN THEY SAY LAST YEAR THE ECONOMY WAS POORLY RUN YOU STILL WITHOUT SHAME, BLAME NPP.KWAAAAASEA!!!

• MAAME BEE 11 years ago

Joy Online,

Please we are learning English as we learn about what happens around us. Sometime ago students were given homework to read newspapers to improve thier English but any teacher who does so now will give their stu ...

• Wonders never cease 11 years ago

I think that the EU Development Partners want to hear more than promises - they will be watching for real and positive outcomes from the Goverment on the issues that they have raised with the President.
    If these are not fort ...

• Ceeboy Dangerman 11 years ago

I TOLD SO. NDC IS UP TO NOTHING GOOD. ALL GHANA PARTICULARLY THOSE WHO VOTED THE ""STUPID" ARE BY NOW SHOWING regret. Ho shame my people are failing in the middle of plenty .

• Sam Bode 11 years ago

What else should we have expected with Fiifi Kwerty and others like Okudzeto Ablakwa as ministers? What of the unjustified judgement debts?

• Balawo President 11 years ago

The whole world now knows that Mahama's corrupt in addition to being inerpt and inefficient.

• Danny cole 11 years ago

It is a well known problem by the state.where does jm start.his own people will go against him if he makes any move.his actions today will save the country from the dirt.

• HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 11 years ago

He should crawl back into his hole.