Catholic Church rejects Mahama’s gesture

Read Comments Comments (231)

• anna 12 years ago

put first things first the pastors can pray in gh also not sponsered with state funds we need water light gas etc!!!!!

• Nana Akomea 12 years ago

Mahama is a by heart man.

• ELINAM 12 years ago

Can't believe this "young" man learned every foolishness of Atta Mills " I will make Ghana a church" bullshit.

• ATSU, HO 12 years ago

WHICH PART OF THE BIBLE IS BEING APPLIED HERE WHEN PEOPLE HAVE TO GO ON PILGRIMAGE BEFORE PRAYING. PLEASE IT IS NOT BIBLICAL, THE BEST WAY TO SEEK THE FACE OF GOD IS TO BE TRUTHFUL AND PRAY DILIGENTLY. IN THIS TIME OF GOD'S G ...

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 12 years ago

THEY CAN REJECT EVERYTHING...WHO CARES. STUPID ANTI-NDC PROPAGANDA.

• .... 12 years ago

?????

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 12 years ago

NDC's "y3 b3 dii k3k3 " policy flatly rejected by the true men of God.

At a time when the nation is experiencing water,natural gas and electricity shortages, the clueless, corrut and visionless govt of the NDC, led by John ...

• Fonka 12 years ago

All you need to do is to come clean and confess to the nation that you stole the elections. No amount of intercessory prayers will help you. Jerry Rawlings was right, evil dwarfs trying to bribe the Lord their God.

• John Osekre 12 years ago

The Thief Guru Mahama has the guts to tempt God's men, how much more P. C Ofori ?

• Nenbwalamaga 12 years ago

Am proud to be christian specifically a catholic. the taxes you have collected is the blood of ghanaian.

• MANTSE 12 years ago

Please, President Mahama, those of us who want you to succeed are getting NERVOUS. Every time you turn on the Radio or look at a Newspaper the news dominating the Headlines is about corruption.

Whether or not it is true is ...

• ZoRRo 12 years ago

This government is SICK. No water, no electricity, yet unecessary expenses using the peoples money.

• OLD SOLDIER 12 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• ALHAJI MOHAMMED-GERMANY 12 years ago

SINCE JESUES CHRIST SUFFER THE SAME::THE GOOD AND SINCERE ONES NAVER FOUND IT EASY::::EVERYTHING THEY DO IS WRONG:::LOOK AT ALL THE PROPHET NONE OF THEM FOND IT EASY TILL THEY DIE::::THIS SHOWS THAT MAHAMA IST CLEAN JUST WANT ...

• Ellen 12 years ago

That is stupid whether you like it or not Handsome, humble President elected all the way

• Ohene,,, 12 years ago

Stupid like mahama,,,,

• HON SHAMO 12 years ago

HAHAHAHA JOHN MAHAMA IS ON THE REFUSE YARD CONFUSED! JOIN HANDS AND LETS RIDICUL HIM AND HIS STUPID GOVT

• Rogger 12 years ago

Does the Almighty hear prayers only from Israel? When people are up to some mischief they devise such devious plans. Our 'charismatic' pastors and prophets convince the unsuspecting flock that God hears prayers better at midn ...

• Ellen 12 years ago

CRAZY YOU

Another Akpese-dancing jerk of a sun-baked cake of pagan donkey droppings,
    who needs both hands to wipe her behind after visiting the toilet.

• ASEMPA 12 years ago

HE IS JUST AIMLESS & CLUELESS ABOUT THE PLIGHT OF THE SUFFERING ORDINARY GHANAIAN.

"At a time when the nation is experiencing water,natural gas and electricity shortages, the clueless, corrut and visionless govt of the NDC, led by John "Jacob Zuma" Mahama(first president of Ghana with 24 children from 13 wo ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 12 years ago

Do you think it is politically correct to use the funds of a poor state to sponsor pastors many of who are fake? Is that what Mahama should use our money for? Don't be a blind supporter of a party.
    I am also waiting for the ...

• HON SHAMO 12 years ago

EVERYTHING ABOUT THESE GREEDY BASTARDS IS CONCERT! NO BTAINS TO RULE! SUPREME COURT PLEASE RESCUE US FROM THESE ANIMALS

• MATHS 12 years ago

then know that Mahama has been misled. I don't think he will by himself come to such a ludicrous decision to send Pastors to Holy land? Most of these pastors are fake. They ordain themselves as pastors and do everything excep ...

• william 12 years ago

If you respect Government, you should rather be talking to the Presidency to withdraw its offer! Reckless and lacking in diplomacy and tact that the Catholic Church is known to have!

• Gye Nyame 12 years ago

This absolutely makes no sense; Mahama is just doing this so he can justify funding the Moslem pilgrimage to Mecca. He thinks by providing freebies to the Imams, chiefs and priests they can influence their congregation and ki ...

• j0eY L0nd0n 12 years ago

They dont have pastors rather priests,i dont believe this Osei Bonsu story. A fabricated bad story!

• Onipanua 12 years ago

Since you know a lot about diplomacy..Did you read the part that said the church (leadership) had not been officially approached by the presidency, but rather individual pastors/priests had been approached? If the govt had go ...

• WILLIAM 12 years ago

If it is true, and it may not be the case, that government is contacting catholic priests directly, you mean the Bishop should start shooting his mout to pay back? Spiritual leadership? Did anyone tell you government contacte ...

• Ellen 12 years ago

ede pain you keke

• Bumbebo Lon 12 years ago

For your information, Prez Mahama cares. SORRY!
    Unfortunately, not every Ghana like chop chop free like, eg, you!

• ACOLYTE 12 years ago

Will Ghana prosper with fools like Terrible Spe cifiC? Go to hell, but the truth is God is a Spirit and praying in Ghana is just as praying in Israel. We are tired of voodoo logic and misplaced priorities. What is the cost to ...

• No Vision - Nima 12 years ago

TerriblY Spe cifiC if you're an animal, you will be a bird.. I think your mom was a prostitute & dad was palm wine tapper to gave birth of you such idiot like you... You act like Mahama.. Never think before act..

• C.Y. ANDY-K 12 years ago

When I read the news, I couldn't believe it and posted this on another forum.
    ------
    I personally find it difficult to believe that the fresh Mahama regime can fritter away the sum of $2m on a trip of this nature and the pu ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 12 years ago

ANDY, I read the story on Graphic online and could not believe it as well. That report did not indicate that they were going to pray because of the Owusu Bempa prophesy. I think the Mahama government is trying to make everybo ...

• Kwame 12 years ago

Kofi Atta, when have you realized that church attendance is a waste of resources. But read page 24 issue of today's publication of the same paper.

• Against Mantse 12 years ago

Did you read the import of Kofi Atta's posting at all? No one is stating church attendance is a waste of resources, my brother. Do you think spending $2m to send pastors to Israel to pray for the president/government when the ...

• Brains 12 years ago

My friend dont bother your intelligent head on that Kwame, he is as hollow as Akua Donkor's ballot box. He is not even worth your undecided time.

• Korokooo Police. 12 years ago

Dooms day getting closer to the thieves,they don't have a clue what to do,that is the work of the ALMIGHTY GOD.They're confuse and having sleepers nights,GOD is watching every move and will keep confusing them.GHANAIAS should ...

• Korokooo Police. 12 years ago

The plane flies any pastor who accepts this offer would CRASH,when GHANAIANS are suffering no light,water,gas,and fuel increase govt wants to spend $2m to fly 200 pastors to the HOLY LAND,anyone who takes this trip would go t ...

• aboa gyata 12 years ago

So is it true that Ghanaian land has become so sinful that no man of God can pray here?Our president must understand that prayers does not depend on where you are, but who you are.Someone can pray in prison and get saved,wher ...

• Kojo T 12 years ago

Revive the CPP and we get rid of the morons

C'mmon, revive the moribund and much discredited CPP?? How?

As a pro-Nkrumaist myself, I had argued successfully against die-hard CPP supporters that any such dream is delusional. Now, I call them delusional nimcompoops t ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 12 years ago

Andy,i will strongly support a new Nkrumaist party with a new emblem provided all Nkrumaist forces will unite under one banner as you have said.This is what should have happened but unfortunately a bigger'chunk' of the CPP al ...

• GHANANI 12 years ago

Ghana will never prosper till the CPP comes to power.Our problems are punishments from God for the overthrow of Osagyefo Dr Kwame Nkrumah.Just look at what the nation has been going through since the overthrow of Osagyefo.Gha ...

• Ellen 12 years ago

Can you believe how people can tell lies just black mail, deform peoples character by even announcing the President death after election. Let us be very careful of hear says and sabotage a word to the wise is enough

My Sis Ellen, it appears u are still in the state of disbelief of this unfolding extraO tale! You better wake up to reality fast!

Well, I can't blame u. I am still shaking my head in a state of unbelieving consternation! ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 12 years ago

GOVERNMENT RELIGIOUS CENTER.

]HINDUS HAVE STOPPED EATING COWS BECAUSE THEY ARE GOING TO INDIA.
    2]THE EWE VOODOO PRIEST HAS STOP EATING CAT BECAUSE HE IS GOING TO A VOODOO SHRINE IN BRAZIL.
    3]THE ASHANTI MAN HAVE STOP EA ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 12 years ago

I am a Dagarti and I am strike. I shall eat no more dogs. However, if they become disrepectful and visit the Kibi market where they still eat dogs, I will renounce my strike and have a nice RED GOAT khebab.

I am a dumb Chinese prostitute called Wun Dum Ho with my short Chinese husband called Tai Nee.
    We are being kicked out of Ghana because of Galamaxay so we are at the Kyebi Market with our Ghanaian son called Phil Ming with a ...

• Desmond 12 years ago

The first very bad decision by Mahama was erect a giant Nkrumah statue at Circle. Who wants the statue of a dictator who killed thousands of Ghanaians in Nsawam Prison, a self proclaimed messiah, President for life without Vi ...

• Kojo T 12 years ago

Please treat Nkrumah with reverence . He wasnot a dictator but had to act firmly against the marauding and lawless ma te me ho . State security leading to peace is essential for development and there was development galore. Y ...

• Kojo T 12 years ago

should be school kids

• Professor 12 years ago

Whoever planted the bomb at Kulungugu that killed so many innocent school kids triggered the extreme measures to protect life and limb in Ghana at the time of the so-called "mate me ho" era. In advanced countries, governments ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 12 years ago

WEre you there? How do you know?

• Ellen 12 years ago

May God forgive you for you knew not what you are saying may be you are not a Christian

• TA USA 12 years ago

Those Pastors should know that Jesus is in Ghana so they should pray in Ghana.

• Prof. Adanko 12 years ago

The Catholic church is not a one man self aggrandizing institution whereby one can buy the conscience of its people with petty bribery and money meant for the poor people of Ghana. The Rev. fathers and sister live in denial o ...

• KD 12 years ago

WHAT ABOUT NDC GOVERNMENT SPONSORING 2,000 PILGRIMS TO MECCA? LAST YEAR, FOR THE FIRST TIME, GHANA SENT ALMOST 6,000 PILGRIMS TO MECCA, MORE THAN HALF OF THEM WAS GOVERNMENT SPONSORED. THOUGH I DON'T SUPPORT THIS JERUSALEM P ...

They will pander to religious groups at the expense of the taxpayer. Are they thinking?

• Concerned Patriot 12 years ago

God bless you Bishop! Mahama is desperate and afraid of the wrath of God. I think he now can see that God Almighty has rejected him as Awi' president of Ghana.Mahama, do the right thing and you do not need Pastors to go to t ...

• MAHAMA IS A FOLLOWER 12 years ago

WHY IS EVERYTHING BEING MISPLACED?

• Napoleon Kpoh 12 years ago

No he's not drunk my brother. He is simply a square peg forcing himself into a round hole.

• RIKA ADBAND 12 years ago

No ! I think he is drink. I saw him drinking something like pito out of a green calabash in the other article.

correction. drunk

• FlowerBird 12 years ago

Prayers won't work when you are not prepare to repent from your evil ways. Mahama is embedded in corruption and womanizing, and he thinks prayer will help while he continues his corruptible manners. It doesn't work that way, ...

• dragga 12 years ago

Though some of us who think party democracy is not solely for the nations welfare hardly get followers, it is important to use this opportunity to emphasize the president's need to take advantage of the voter's religious-phob ...

• Terribly SpeCific 12 years ago

So Mahama has no policy control for Ghana?What kind of President is this? So after pastors it will be moslems to mecca?How this NDC can fix this economy? Oh God have mercy!!!!

• insight to the bone 12 years ago

General News of Thursday, 14 March 2013

Source: Peace FM
    Hardships could give way to military action – Nkrumah

Sekou Nkrumah Hands

Dr Sekou Nkrumah says government’s approach to addressing the country’s econ ...

• MATIGARI 12 years ago

HIPPOCRITE CLERGY,THE SAME CLERGY LOOKS ON HAPPILY WHEN THE STATE SPONSORES MOSLEM PILGRIMS TO GO ON PILGRIMAGE TO MECCA EVERY YEAR IN SOME INSTANCES FULL PAYMENT FOR GOVERNMENT OFFICIAL ON THE TRIP.WE HENCEFORTH CALL FOR A S ...

• ELINAM 12 years ago

Look what is going on in the middle east for over 50 years if there's any quick salvation can't we see it for the israelists? Has God vacated from Ghana to be chased down in far away place with $2m?

• Fire Burn U 12 years ago

Thank You so much, Wise One. Now let's wait and see how state-sponsored NDC donkeys will twist this simple statement of wisdom and start attacking the Bishop. Ghana's finished!!

• Napoleon Kpoh 12 years ago

Am sure Agyin-Asare is in the fore-front of this pilfering voyage. As a 'Watchman at the gates of the nation' he will jump at this opportunity to show how pius he is and how well he knows Israel. Ide be k3k3 or is it 'y3 b3 d ...

• Akoraba 12 years ago

Well said, bishop, we need not go to Israel to pray. We can pray in our homes, offices and anywhere. As the Samaritan woman said, prayers are not done only in Israel but anywhere. Stop pilfering the money we have, finish the ...

• Isaac 12 years ago

I am a Pentecostal but I just like the instutional intergrity of the Roman Catholic Church. Pastors don't have to go to Israel before their prayers will be answered by God.

Jesus has rubished this Israel trip long agao wit ...

• Asante 12 years ago

I PRAY FOR THE WISDOM OF GOD TO FLOW ON THESE PASTORS IN GHANA.IF THEY GO ON WITH GHANA MONEY, THE WRATH OF GOD SHALL ASSEND TO THEM ALL.EE DE BEE KEKE

• DKB 12 years ago

Boy oh boy, who in govt came up with this stupid idea? What where they thinking? This is the sort of mentality we have in leadership no wonder we have so many problems.

• SIMPLE TRUTH 12 years ago

IF MAHAMA in his deep HEART believes to have OFFENDED the PEOPLE,then the WAGES of SIN must be DEATH as per the HOLY BOOK.IT should be the WHOLE GENERATION OF NDC that must FACE DEATH not only MAHAMA.

• jacobite 12 years ago

well said, my former lecturer.

• John,Tema 12 years ago

This president is just a disgrace to the Assembly of God church.

• Kwesi Agbenu 12 years ago

Great sayings, Great work by Catholic,

Catholic must stand firm.

Presbyterians, Methodists, Anglicans, Baptist should also kick against the evil NDC

• Kofi - USA 12 years ago

WHY DO THEY HAVE TO GO TO ISRAEL TO PRAY FOR THE NATION? WHY CANT THEY STAY IN GHANA AND PRAY. WHY DONT THEY USE THE MONEY TO HELP THE POOR AND PEOPLE WHO DONT HAVE FOOD ON THE DINNER TABLE? OUR PRIORIES ARE MISGUIDED AND THI ...

• sabato 12 years ago

this NDC government is a huge disappointment and a big failure. I am glad the Catholic church has officially rejected such offer from the Mahama-led government.

• Joe ballack UK 12 years ago

Good

• Nofia Mafia 12 years ago

This is not good rejection. Bishops need to give a deeper thought to the offer since it can promote unity among pastors and priests. In any case it is the catholic church in Rome that is promoting these pilgrimages. Nigeria i ...

• OH GHANA 12 years ago

GHANA WILL FOREVER SEE HELL UNDER THIS GOVT. THIS GOVT. IS KNOWN TO SPEND THE NATIONS MONEY PROMOTING THE PARTY'S POPULARYTY AND FUNDING THE PARTY. GHANA IS THE MOMENT FACING A LOT OF WATER, POWER, AND GAS PROBLEMS,
    YET PRE ...

• Nantwi,BSEd,MSEd(ece),MSEd(sas) 12 years ago

Seperation of Church and State!Thanks to Mr.Mahama,now I know priests and pastors can only pray in Israel and not in Ghana.

• AKAN 12 years ago

THIS SICK MAHAMA´S HEAD IS FULL OF BRIBERY!

• TRUE PEPENI 12 years ago

Prez Mahama is a man of substance.He has not been mentioned by the wikileaks has been under the influence of drugs like your God-father Akuffo Addo.

• Layla 12 years ago

Well done Bisho god bless u I wish all church leaders think of Ghana u will be a Pope one day

• Lorgo Ligri 12 years ago

The NDC government should know by now that, the Catholic Church can't be bribed,nor is it for sale. The church will take a gift for the poor or help start a charitable organisation. Good luck with corrupt predetermined gestur ...

• FAB 12 years ago

The Gov. would later bring a huge amount spent than actual. TRUE MEN OF GOD WHO LOVE OUR NATION SHOULD REJECT THE OFFER. It is calculated to involve them in their corrupt jouney.

• Richard 12 years ago

"Bishop Osei Bonsu described the decision as misplaced, adding that sending pastors to Jerusalem is not the business of government."
    Government business is to provide water, electricity and security.

• Accra Resident 12 years ago

If true, Mahama's Govt. should be ashamed of themselves for wasting scarce public funds on such frivolous things. Sorry but Mahama is turning to be another Limann. Wasted opportunity.

• EDEM AZAMATI 12 years ago

Can somebody tell me why John Mahama is trying all these Satanic Temptations on Prominent Ghanaians?
    As a good Samaritan, he can get people on the street to take to Israel which will be a great blessing from God.

• AKAN 12 years ago

THIS MMAHAMA MUST BE CONTROLLED

• Segoe 12 years ago

Mahama, let me remind you that when you steal, when you cheat, when you commit adultery, God can only forgive yoy if you confess. Tell Ghanaians that you stole the elctions and God will forgive you

• Pablo 12 years ago

Cornerstone of democracy

• okukuseku 12 years ago

I have given up on Ghana. There is no hope if this is indeed true

1]Man: Haven’t I seen you someplace before? Woman: Yes, that’s why I don’t go there anymore.
    2]Man: Hey baby, what’s your sign? Woman: Do not enter.
    3]Man: Do you know what'd look good on you? Me. ...

• Pontius Pilate 12 years ago

i think the prez should have consulted his media wiz kid kwakye ofosu before this misfired attempt. what the hell is going on?

• speak Out 12 years ago

This is equalopportunities. The government sponsor some moslems to Mecca each year; NPP did this and NDC is also doing same. If they are expanding this to Christians, why not... that is part of distributing the national cake. ...

WHICH CAKE ? GHANA HAS NEVER HAD A CAKE, DUMMY. BY THE WAY MAHAMA SHOUDN'T TEMPT CHRISTIANS AND EVEN JEHOVAH'S WITNESSES MUST BE CAREFUL.

the govern should not sponsor people to go to HAJj. That is why we have all this corruption from top to bottom. THey are trying to buy votes and loot the nation.

• K.K. 12 years ago

No project, no kick back. Thieves. Thats how they milk the poor tax payer. I blame Afari Gyan for this lunacy

• BUKARI DAMBA 12 years ago

I hope my fellow muslems are listening. Why should public funds be used to sponsor muslems to Mecca? It beats me understanding, especially when we cannot afford to pay fees to cater for our wards/children thro the education ...

• KojoT 12 years ago

Thank God for people like you (Dr Bishop Osei Bonsu). These are wise words. Those who have ears should listen and those with eyes should see. It seems there are too many "blind and deaf" people in Ghana today. Their hearts ar ...

• Alex 12 years ago

Priority Is Prosperity. Mahama should learn sense. Stupid president. Stealer.

• Baafour, New Jersey 12 years ago

Mr Mahama, are you serious sending 200 pastors to Israel at the expense of taxpayers. Where in the world will this happen. You dont have funds to solve the energy crisis and other problems facing the country. My advice is use ...

Paliament is supposed to check the president but when you have for example 45 constituencies created dubiously, then ONE MAN SHOW of uncontrolable spending of taxpayers money is the result.

• Rev. Nana Adjei Ntow 12 years ago

Ghanaian Pastors must be able to pray to God here in Ghana and God will hear our prayers. We do not have to be bribed to Israel to be able to attract the attention of God.

• brother Guan 12 years ago

we love ,pray and support you President, why this trip from
    public funds,if it is true ,stop it
    immediately

• True Ghanaian 12 years ago

I can't believe a president of a whole nation would do this. I am a pastor and I will surely refuse such an offer. Mr, president, wake up! If you have committed something wrong, you can only be forgiven by the Almighty God wh ...

• kofi ofori amoako 12 years ago

This government believes they can buy their way into everything just as they bouight their way to another 4 years in office when they had no record of achievement to run on. Keenly aware that they have no solution to the prob ...

• JDM 12 years ago

Mahama is shaken to the bones;SC will show him the exit and thinks is only God who can save him .To God be the glory.

• atik 12 years ago

Are all Ghanaians Christians? President please do not waste our tax money on clergymen.what are they doing with huge sum of money they collect from their followers? If traditionalists are also performing their annual rituals ...

• Governor, Montreal 12 years ago

I wonder if all these comments reach these politicians, not alone the President. Hmmmm Ghana is sinking.

• solomom kwabena effah mallorca spain 12 years ago

kojo t you are right many ghanaians are blinded this guy is just useles call him self a president he joke to ghana. he and afari gyan made him a president no body made him a president

• Let us be Bold 12 years ago

"government must not use public funds to sponsor pastors to Israel to pray for the nation." who knows what else Mahama is doing that we don't know. The guy is simply overwhelmed by the job. Ghana is falling at a faster rate, ...

• OKOTO 12 years ago

OH NO! JDM AGAIN! PAY NHIA'S DEBTS TO HEALTH INSTITUTIONS FIRST B4 YOU WASTE HUGE TAXES PAID TO GOVERNMENT BY WORKERS.

• Paganism. com 12 years ago

All countries in this world today are FILTHY & NAUGHTY just as even the Vatican City full of Pedos & Child Abusers worldwide!!

The only best religion of Africa is: PAGANISM directly to GOD the Creator & nothing else! ...

• Let us be Bold 12 years ago

The Ghana Army must step in to save the country

• Accra Resident 12 years ago

No, No, No - No more coups Please!!
    Our democracy works. Let's vote incompetent leaders out.

• Tibaa 12 years ago

There is nothing new if NUNS reject romantic inquiries from the President! They just don't do that!!!!!!

• SHAKAMORA 12 years ago

God is punishing mahama n his so called ndc fools

• ANANE JAMES 12 years ago

WE ARE REALLY SUFFERING FROM EXCRUCIATING POVERTY SO GOD WILL RICHLY BLESS THE CATHOLIC MISSION AND THE PRIESTS FOR NOT JOINING THE NDC TO DRAIN GHANA'S BLOOD THRO PROFLIGATE SPENDING LIKE WOLVES PREYING ON POOR LAMBS.

• Woman 12 years ago

Don't I love this my Bishop!!!

• Yelpoe 12 years ago

IF THE STATE CAN CREATE A HAJJ VILLAGE, FACILITATE/SPONSOR/SUPPORT MOSLIM PILGRIMS TO MECCA OVER THE YEARS, WHAT IS WRONG IT DOING SAME FOR CHRISTIANS. LET THE CATHOLIC BISHOP CONFERENCE CHAIR STOP FUEDING POLITICS INTO THIS ...

• Kwame 12 years ago

I am well aware that the Catholic Church does not have pastors, since pastors are laymen who are made ministers, meaning that they are married people contrary to Catholic priests who are celibate. I am well aware that a group ...

• TABIIM N. VINCENT 12 years ago

WHO TOLD YOU SO.

• Agyekum 12 years ago

no body is fueding politics into this. is the agrow monthly prayers not enough and even if it so do the ndc want to tell ghanaians that God is not in ghana. please give me a break. shame unto ndc

• Ghana ba 12 years ago

MUMU PRESIDENT.

• Kwaku 12 years ago

The president's office should investigate this if they did not approve of this gesture?I don't support the NDC but the story sounds too sweet to be true.

• Ama 12 years ago

Well, if this is true, then I wanna be a pastor. A juicy offer while deceiving God. Pastors are known to be liars and the Government is sponsoring them again. Then let me sewn my...tonight

• abi 12 years ago

THESE ARE THE WISDOM FROM GOOD HEADS.
    MR PRESIDENT REPENT AND SHAME THE DEVIL AND YOU CAN GET WHAT YOU WANT , SLEEP

• TABIIM N. VINCENT 12 years ago

Well done, my head pastor. People should remember that Jesus said to her, "Woman, believe Me, the hour is coming when you will neither on this mountain, nor in Jerusalem, worship the Father. "You worship what you do not know; ...

• John @ 12 years ago

Do these guys have brains?
    Limited funds must have priorities not political stupidities. Please President Mahama wake up.

• nii 12 years ago

these npp people always need negatives into everything.

• DIRTY-FILTY -NTAAFUO DESTROYING GH 12 years ago

IF YOU THINK NTAAFUO HAVE ANY ABILITIES TO MANAGE GHANA,JUST GO TO THE NORTH AND SEE HOW THEY LIVE, AS-AKAN, I DON'T WANT TO LIVE LIKE THAT . TO HELL WITH THESE SAVAGES !!!!!!!!!!!!

• Ka Na Wu 12 years ago

Thank you Bishop

• PEE[EEFUO CAN'T MOVE THE COUNTRY FORW 12 years ago

NTAAFUO ADMINISTRATION, WHAT A JOKE !!!!!!!!!!!!

• Etweba 12 years ago

There are so many crimes in Israel to be called Holy land .There are gay and lesbian community thriving well in Israel. They mistreat Palestinians and arabs and blacks PEOPLE.
    Akufo Addo went to Israel for blessings but cam ...

• Kofie Bazuka 12 years ago

Bishop Osei Bonsu described the decision as misplaced, adding that sending pastors to Jerusalem is not the business of government.
    A misplaced decision, and this Mahama's NDC government has many many misplaced decisions.
    Pe ...

• Osei-Asibey -Atlanta 12 years ago

It's about time African leaders get their brains checked. For their information, and in this case the President of Ghana, with God there is no distance in prayer. Haven been visiting Ghana at least once a year for the past c ...

• MATIGARI 12 years ago

YES,THE SAME CLERGY LOOKED ON FOR YEARS WHEN GOVERNMENTS WASTES OUR MONEY IN SPONSORING TRIPS TO MECCA IN THE NAME OF PILGRIMAGES.SOME OF THESE SO-CALLED PILGRIMS ONLY WEMNT THERE TO SELL "WAAKYE" WE MUST PUT A STOP TO THIS W ...

• bigture 12 years ago

The Pastor wants attention. He will never make it to the Vatican as a cardinal or bishop.

• ghana 12 years ago

IS GOOD AND WELCOMES NEWS THAT OUR TRUE MEN OF GOD STAY AWAY FROM CORRUPT TRAIN. MURDERERS, CORRUPT WICKED.

• fred 12 years ago

individuals, groups of people, organizations ask for prayers from people God. in the Catholic church there is what we call mass intentions, then if the as a body or as the head of the nation, is asking for prayers for the nat ...

• MAHAMA MORE CORRUPT NOW 12 years ago

MAHAMA IS WORRIED 4 HIS 9 HOLES,WHY DID HE KILLED MILLS,HE EDE GOO K3K3,

• Amoale 12 years ago

Father, be ware of hear say. Is it so wrong for the government to want to help people who have given their lives to serving God? And why go on National TV to say this.

• mahama JUJU not working again 12 years ago

HMMMMMM,OH MAHAMA DISGRACE HIM SELF,WHAT BIG FOOL,GAY,WOMANIZER ATOPAHENE IS NOT A CHRISTIAN,

• Kojo Marfo 12 years ago

Bishop Osei Bonsu you are truely the man of HIGHER GOD. you are absolutely right of seperating Religion from Political Politics. God bless you.

• AKAN 12 years ago

A PRESIDENT BRIBING HIS OWN CITIZENS?

• John Osekre 12 years ago

UNBELIEVABLE ! WE TAUGHT WE HAD TRUE DEMOCRACY.

• AKAN 12 years ago

I AM SO SORRY FOR MY OWN COUNTRY GHANA AND II FEEL SHY TO DISCUSS SUCH A TOPIC WITH MY OWN EUROPEAN FRIEND WHO LOVES GHANA SO MUCH!

• SERWAA 12 years ago

THIS WICKED & CONFUSED PEPENI ABOA IS TRYING TO BRIBE THE CHURCH TO COVER UP HIS INCONSISTENCIES & INCOMPETENCE.. WHEN THE MASSES CRY, YOU WILL ALSO CRY.

• Kofai 12 years ago

Serwaa, don't be a b*tch! Being dissatisfied with some government decisions is one thing, and being disrespectful to other ethnic groups is another. There're a lot of northerners doing far better than you.

• Ohene,,, 12 years ago

Soo right,,,,,

• Kofai 12 years ago

Wow...this is beyond me

• RITA 12 years ago

TO BE SINCERE I THOT MAHAMA WILL BE A SMARTER PRESIDENT IN TERMS OF PLANNING & DECISION MAKING AS A YOUNG MAN. I NEVER KNEW GHANA JUST GOT ONE OF D SILLIEST, CONFUSED, DUMBEST PRESIDENT EVER. IN DEED, PEPENI WILL ALWAYS BE PE ...

• KEEP FUCKING YOUR PARENTS IN THE ASHE 12 years ago

JUST KEEP FUCKING YOUR PARENTS IN THE ASHE. YOU ARE AN IDIOT BUSHGOAT

• KOJO BUHARI 12 years ago

THE STORY SAYS,"ACCORDING TO..." UNLES YOU ARE NOT FROM GHANA, ACCORDING TO.. MEANS IT IS A LIE!! (2) CATHOLICS GO TO ROME ON PILGRIMAGE, NOT ISRAEL!! THE ISRAELIS ARE NOT CATHOLICS BUT JEWISH!!!!

• de 12 years ago

Kojo, you have just demonstrated one piece of ignorance. Check your facts well before you dare somebody to an argument or denounce what is factually true.

• MUSA BASARE 12 years ago

How do you send pastors to Israel to pray for Ghanaians!

• ghanaba 12 years ago

i have told you elegant atenga is out of touch. it is my dream to this pilgrimage but never on sponsoring.why, my debts have been paid once by jesus. two thousand years ago jesus was on the pharisees and future anti christ. i ...

• MAHAMA DESTROYING GHANA 12 years ago

IF THEY CONTINUE TO DISIPATE OUR RESOURCES LIKE THAT

• KOJO BUHARI 12 years ago

GHANAIANS SEEM TO BELIEVE ANY NONSENSE THEY HEAR OR READ FROM THE PAPERS. CATHOLICS GO TO ROME ON PILGRIMAGE, NOT ISRAEL!! IN FACT TRUE CATHOLICS CANT STAND THE JEWS FOR THE JEWS STILL DONT BELIEVE IN CHRIST!! YOUR PASTORS A ...

• Kofi 12 years ago

Talk about things you know. Who told you true Catholics cannot stand Jews?

• de 12 years ago

Such a display of manifest ignorance with pride is in itself as poisonous as hemlock.

• Ohene,,, 12 years ago

Is mahama that stupid,,,,ooooo

• ATOOOO 12 years ago

Mr. president, I would plead with you that you stop being Mr. Nice and taking this kind of reconciliatory posture. Please concentrate on your job and let things take their natural course. Some of these priests you see in cass ...

• de 12 years ago

The Catholic Bishops Conference are clear with the stance they have taken. The so-called kind, conciliatory gesture as described by others is such a cheap and subtle way of enticing the clergy to keep a blind eye to the ills ...

• Lee 12 years ago

NDC should start preparing for President Mahama's funeral; all things being equal he will not see the end of 3rd qtr of the year. He is the next to Asumdwie Park; which I don't think the Gonjas will succumb to it.

Let t ...

• spatula 12 years ago

now u are calling for pastor's,u no see yet ,more are coming ,u will not sleep becouse the sit is not for u,chop chop NDC

• Chief amankwa 12 years ago

Nonsense

• GHANANI 12 years ago

I would like to know from Bishop Osei Bonsu if he will ever accept a call from the government for churches to pray for the nation?Or the Roman Catholic Church asking for a favour from the government in one way or the other?Th ...

• kwame alhaji 12 years ago

Mahama have you been in Israel befor?They have olso problem,Pls use the money to free ghana children from school for one term

• Abongo Awuni 12 years ago

Can't those pastors stay in Ghana and pray for the Nation and the President? The GOD who is in Isreal is the same GOD in Ghana .

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 12 years ago

Abongo, i am so grateful for the view you have expressed.Yes,the God in Israel is the same God in Ghana.Why then do Bishops,Priests and christians in general go on pilgrimage to Israel to pray?They go to a place called'the wa ...

• de 12 years ago

It is clear many of you have really missed the point. The bishops conference will not have the clergy accept such cheap magnanimity of the president at the expense of the suffering masses. When so many social interventions se ...

• de 12 years ago

It is clear many of you have really missed the point. The bishops conference will not have the clergy accept such cheap magnanimity of the president at the expense of the suffering masses. When so many social interventions se ...

• de 12 years ago

• ZINKO 12 years ago

is mahama an idiot???? why spend the taxpayer's money to sponsor pastors to israel to PRAY??? can't God hear their prayers from ghana????? what a misplaced vote!!!! this guy doesn't know anything about governance and is just ...

• Jimakpl3 12 years ago

This NDC leadership is pleading with the soldiers to take over the administration of the nation for the interim. John Mahama has grossly failed Ghanaians - imcompetence galoore !!!

• Frank Mensah, Tikobo No. 2 12 years ago

It appears the focus of Mahama and his NDC is just anything that can earn them a few more votes. It really doesn't matter if Ghanaians suffer for it. The country does not have water, no electricity (because the government owe ...

• Dianne 12 years ago

Mahama is even more worse than Mills. Never have I heard a president asking religious leaders to go to another land for prayers and using state funds to do so. Although he is the president, does he have that much power to use ...

• Akos 12 years ago

I'm lost in words. You can have all the schooling in the world and still be an educated fool. Does Mahama and these pastors think God only listens to prayers in Israel? Are these people so dumb to see that, spending this amou ...

• Onipaba 12 years ago

This is a real joke.Are these people real.Is there no sensible person amongst them.Poor Ghana

• Kofi 12 years ago

Good sense, Bishop. You have shown that you will not allow yurself to be bought by corrupt leaders who wants to corrupt everyone. I pray that the rest of these pastors if they true men of God as they claim will also reject th ...

• DEDE 12 years ago

WHAT DOES GOVERNANCE HAS TO DO WITH CHRITIAN PILGRIMAGE? WHAT A SHAME? PRAY IN GHANA MAHAMA. WE HAVE GOD HERE

• GENERAL MOSQUITO 12 years ago

THE ELECTION RESULT IS HUNTING PREZ MAHAMA.TELL GHANAIANS THE ELECTION WAS RIGGED. GOD SHALL SURELY FORGIVE YOU. YOU DONT NEED TO SEND PASTORS TO ISRAEL TO PRAY FOR GHANA. GOD IS EVERYWHERE. AMEN.

• Nana Abena. US 12 years ago

WHATS GOING ON IN GHANA?

DO SOME PEOPLE HAVE TO SPEAK OUT SOME TRUTH AND SET THEMSELVES FREE?

UNTIL NDC GURUS SPILL OUT HOW ATTA MILLS DIED, THEY WILL KNOW NO PEACE, ...

• jb 12 years ago

are they going to pray for water and electricity?

• anayomi 12 years ago

if we in ghana going to overcome our problems

• ABOKYI 12 years ago

PLEASE, IN THE NAME OF YAHWEH, THE POOR IN GHANA IS PLEADING WITH THE ISRAELI MISSION IN GHANA TO TO DENY THE GOVERNMENT OF GHANA VISAS FOR THE ISRAEL VISIT. THE GHANAIAN CANT EVEN AFFORD THREE MEALS A DAY. OUR HOSPITALS HAVE ...

• anayomi 12 years ago

HE BLIVE THAT UNLESS OUR PASTORS PRAY IN ISRAEL WE WONT BE ABLE TO SOLVE OUR WATER&ELECTRIC PROBLEMS IN GHANA

• Yaw Gyan 12 years ago

Joseph Osei Bonsu, you are obtuse.

• insight to the bone 12 years ago

Pepeni has killed Ghana not only his former boss mills, slowly more and more people including sekou realize a radical solution draws closer . instead of sending hannah tetteh to flirt around with more toxic international orga ...

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 12 years ago

How can the State use tax payers money to sponsor Ministers of religion to go to Israel to pray for the country, WHAT STUPIDITY? Is it by going to Israel that God will listen to our prayers? Sometimes when I hear some pronoun ...

• Victor A. Young 12 years ago

Please don't allow any crook to poison Christ's Kingdom with any dubious offers. The NDC is "Sasabonsam" party and will do whatever in their power to tain your Holy image. The NDC "tiiifed" the elections; now they want people ...

• APPIAH SAMUEL 12 years ago

THANKS FOR BEING NUETRAL IN THIS MATTER.FOR THIS IS THE CRUCIAL MOMENT WE EXPECT OR LEADERS TO USE OUR RESOURCES JUDICIOUSELY AND ACCOUNTABLE.

• YAW 12 years ago

VERY VERY VERY GOOD EXCELLENT

• Papa Dey 12 years ago

Mahama,Please give that $2mil to your own northners to buy panties to cover their ass.The rest of the nation will appreciate that better than pastors trip to Israel.

• norvisi 12 years ago

Government must not use public funds to sponsor pastors to Israel to pray for the nation

• gabriel 12 years ago

thank u very much for your ture may the lord himsfle bless u my bishop

• Nana Asare 12 years ago

IF ALL GHANAIAN PASTORS WERE LIKE THE CATHOLICS, THERE WILL BE NO BRIBBERY IN GHANA, THIS IS HOW Mahama MANAGEGED TO BUY Afari Gyan TO RIG THE 2012 GENERAL ELECTION IN HIS FAVOUR.

• EZEKIEL 12 years ago

So the prayers we have been having in Ghana till now have NO EFFECT ! Ghana IS TOO FAR AWAY from God and the Old Man doesn't even understand our vernaculars !!!!!!
    USELESS Half Educated population!!!
    What will it take for t ...

• PREZZO 12 years ago

MAHAMA IF THIS TRIP IS TRUE, I CAN BET MY LAST THAT YOU ARE REALLY STUPID. IN KORLEBU, KATH AND OTHER HOSPITALS PEOPLE CANT PAY BILLS. I WILL LAND A SUICIDE BOMB ON YOU OF YOU TRY THIS TRIP. ARE YOU ALRIGHT. YOU PEOPLE ARE FI ...

• Great 12 years ago

Powerful

• BOASIAKO ANTWI(USA) 12 years ago

Catholic used Church funds for out of court settlement for molestation/gay Priest cases. Rev Osei Bonsu should know better.

• LEO R. SAM 12 years ago

CONRATULATIONS - BISHOP OSEI BONSU !!!

Congratulations to Bishop Osei Bonsu and the Conference of Catholic Bishops for advising Catholic Priests NOT to accept any offer of a State sponsored trip to Israel to pray for GH ...

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 12 years ago

Christians are not fools like Moslems who beg Government to transport them to the crazy trip - called HAJ. Now we are seeing the difference between the north and south thinking capabilities which the late President Limann on ...

• Banina 12 years ago

STONER KOBYLYNTON you have just shown the whole world that you are not here to discuss the issue at hand but to let us know u are a fool.where did u learn that only northerners are muslems and southern are christians? so that ...

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 12 years ago

It is a fact that both Christians and Moslems are found in both North and South. However, my point of your idol Mahama the clueless individual is he is demostrating lack of wisdom. How can a sensible leader propagate this u ...

• KOFI BOATENG-MIAMI,FLORIDA-USA 12 years ago

THE PUBLIC SHOULD GO ON DEMONSTRATION AGAINST THIS NONE SENSE BY MAHAMA,S GOVT.ARE THESE USELESS POLITICIANS ALRIGHT?DON,T THEY HAVE NATIONAL PRIORITIES.WHY SHOULD THEY BE ALLOWED TO USE GOVT MONEY ANYHOW WHEN THERE IS A LOT ...

• DD 12 years ago

What is happening in Ghana?where is Rawlings?coup might be the solution if the supreme court judges are delaying

• KOFI BOATENG-MIAMI,FLORIDA-USA 12 years ago

AM 100% SURE IT WAS DUNCAN WILLIAMS WHO MOOTED THIS IDEA TO MAHAMA.TWO CORRUPT PEOPLE OF SIMILAR MINDS.IT,S A PITY THAT GHANAIANS WORSHIP SUCH CORRUPT PEOPLE.GOD IS WATCHING !!

• kwame 12 years ago

ghanaian need water and light this president is not serious, who council him?

• Kwame 12 years ago

Talk to them to stop tribalism, You just jalous the Ewes your life is to try to attack them, Kufor the formal evil president Try did so, he by fake means arest Tsatsu, but God will punish him and his party, they the akan Nana ...

• Kuuku Annan 12 years ago

Does thie fool know how much it's going to cost that poor nation to sponsor that trip for free? What a blatant disregard for the plight of the sick who can't get proper medical care? And come to think of sponsoring some pasto ...

• FF 12 years ago

BRIBERY AND CORRUPTION

• EweBishop u are right. 12 years ago

Bishop u are right.

• de 12 years ago

Are the members of the Council of State privy to this decision taken by the president? If they are, how did they counsel him on this matter? Did they just nod, "yes, fantastic move, your excellency! Or what? Well, for as long ...

• Lily Owusuah 12 years ago

I am proud to be a catholic ,that is a good sign of leadership.

• Owusu 12 years ago

Oh Mahammah, i think you don't know your duties as a president. Why? you can sponsor the pastors to pray on your behalf of the election malpractices between you and Afari Gyan. John Dumso Mahamma, find something better to do ...