Customs officer in daylight theft

Read Comments Comments (91)

• Joe ballack UK 11 years ago

This things has been going on for years

• anokwale 11 years ago

Who is going to feel comfortable shipping to Ghana when this is going on??

• kolo 11 years ago

God job customs,,people suffer abroad to buy cars, customs seize it they are stolen cars,, those cars ended up with family members and girl friends? what? where are voltarian juju and agbozume shrines??? damn fucker,, their f ...

• Ghana 11 years ago

MOST OF THE CUSTOM OFFICERS ARE INCORRIGIBLE THIEF'S. ALL OF THEM BUILD HOUSES AND SEND THEIR GIRL FRIENDS TO EUROPE AND AMERICA FOR HOLIDAYS AND SHOPPING THERE. WHERE DO YOU THINK THEY GET THIS MONEY FROM?

• Ghana 11 years ago

CARS THE CUSTOM OFFICERS RIDE EVEN THE WEALTHIEST BUSINESSMAN IN GHANA WILL ENVY THEM. THESE ARE THIEF'S WE KNOW THEM LONG TIME AGO!!!!!!!

• Gonzaga 11 years ago

The citizens of Ghans are so corrupt that you can not describe them. From the Pastors to Judges, Ministers, Directors, Principal, Haba!, Police don't even go there, Customs, Hmmmm! Oh Oman Ghana. No honest person in this coun ...

• KONKONSA 11 years ago

We blame other especially nigerians for 419 but we are worse. We pretends and full of envyness. This prablem has been on for so many years by customs officers. 2 of my friends had same prablem before. They lost about 4 con ...

• TANCO 11 years ago

SO SOME OF THE CUSTOM OFFICERS LIVING IN TRASACCO VALLEY ESTATE DRIVING ALL THESE NICE CARS ARE MOST LIKELY THIEVE TOO! SO THIS IS HOW THEY DO IT, wow!!

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

The country could be sitting on a time bomb if these thefts of un-examined containers are not seriously checked.

WHY MUT PRES. MAAMA BE INVOLVED? IS HE THE HEADEE OF GH CUSTOMS? THE HEADEE OF GH CUSTOMS IS INCOMPETENT AND ...

• DNA 11 years ago

THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR AGES HOW DO WE STOP IT BY COMPUTER REGISTRATION OF ALL CONTAINERS IN AND OUT OF TEMA AND TAKORADI PORTS AND THEIR CONTENTS TO 3 DIFFERENT REGISTRATION OFFICES WITH COPY OF BILL OF LADING- ALSO CONTA ...

• Ninam 11 years ago

I think a way should be found to privatize the business side of the ports and leave security to customs.

• Joe ballack UK 11 years ago

Good job,I gave credit to the national security service

• anna 11 years ago

its sad this has been going on since adams age every custom officer has a building 2 or 3 shame to most of our leaders!!!!

• John Kpeglo 11 years ago

He built many self-contained houses inbetween the tighs of WOMEN if not in their Vs! So praise those who built concrete houses to show! They used their HEADS! Better "steallers!"

• KWAKU KYERETWIE 11 years ago

ASIEDU NKESTIA AND AFARI GYAN HAD THROWN THE COUNTRY INTO ROBBERY FRENZY AND EVERYBODY IN GHANA IS JUST STEALING AND STEALING BECAUSE THE PRESIDENT EVEN STOLE THE ELECTIONS.

• George B 11 years ago

when will people learn to stop bashing the president, my fellow ashantis stop this nonsense shame shame/////

• SAM MURDOCK 11 years ago

If the head is corrupt, the whole body is corrupt. This is nothing new.

• pop 11 years ago

u are stupid my dear.u jealous ashantis.fool

• Ghana 11 years ago

WHAT HAS ASHANTIS GOT THAT PEOPLE ENVY THEM? IS IT THEIR STEALING THEY CONDUCT EVERY WHERE THEY GO, THE PROSTITUTION BOTH THEIR MEN AND WOMEN DO TO HUMILIATE GHANA EVERYWHERE OR THEIR UGLY BLACK FACES.
    I WILL NEVER ENVY ASHA ...

• awuku 11 years ago

your envy stems from history, asantis wrote ghana's history, u can take it or leave it, everyone knows it

• Ewusi 11 years ago

Ghana is rotten.Reporting to the President direct, means some people are not doing their work and should be sacked.

• Repugnant. 11 years ago

Osei Tutu Agyemang? What more is there to be said? Ghana is seriously infected.

• OSEI TAWIAH 11 years ago

Most custom officers are Ewes, Fantis and Ga, the last time my expensve brand new mattress was stolen,I discovered it was with and Ewe female customs officer but she refused to give it back and told me to report to the police ...

• )))))))))))))))))) 11 years ago

unless we all do something about the situation at the harbour, nothing will change.i suggest that every single person that gives comments of this forum should find the personal address of the president and send our views to h ...

• YIADOM 11 years ago

BECAUSE THE DUTY IS TOO HIGH SO EVERYBODY WANT TO AVOID PROPER CHENEL SO THEY CAN PAY LESS, I DON'T BLAME THEM, THIS IS THEIVING NDC GOV AND EVERYBODY FOLLOW SUIT.THE WAY FORWARD IS MAHAMA STEP DOWN FOR THE COUNTRY TO PROSPER ...

• Ateabisa 11 years ago

This patent GREED and inordinate desire for money has now reached epic proportions. People from all walks of life are engaged this: A chauffeur, who thinks he cannot cope with his current circumstance,decides,unilaterally,to ...

• kofi, canada 11 years ago

they reported the case because they did not get their share of the money. they are all thieves.

• SMOOTH 11 years ago

WHAT'S NEW IN THE COUNTRY......THE MINISTERS ARE ALSO STEALING....

• princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago

A beautiful young woman, on an international flight, asked the priest beside her, "Father, may I ask a favor?"
    "Of course you may. What can I do for you?"
    "Well, I bought this expensive electronic hair dryer that is well ov ...

• Governor, Montreal 11 years ago

There are more of these officers out there. They should get them one by one, thieves.

• Fearless Honesty 11 years ago

Come on now Prince Willy!!! Very humorous and that is exactly what it is.
    But on a more serious note, all you shouting about corrupt customs officers are equally guilty. The giver and the receiver. Corruption abounds everywh ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago

You are right.
    They have Ali Baba and the forty thieves in the custom Department.

• Benny 11 years ago

This is no case. We just sit and see where this case will get to. It will just land in the pocket of Mahama. Look at woyome case. Ghana is rotten as Nigeria. Let just keep quiet tomorrow we die and leave everything. After all ...

• ghanaba 11 years ago

i hope he does not belong to npp,ndc,rqt or anything else. i hope he is not a gh. and i hope he has got juju and adabracadabrant and the containers disappeared from the port. i hope satan surpervised the operation all by hims ...

• BOB 11 years ago

when atall will these Asantes stop this robbery and stealing to make ghana a better place for all? No wonder nana addo is steal desparate to be president in order to reignite the cocaine trade. god help mother ghana.

• Nhyiraba 11 years ago

He can be an Akyem, Fanti, Akuapem, an Akan Ewe. So why do you want to see him as an Ashanti? Tribalism is evil.

• Asem Beba Dabi 11 years ago

Aboa. Is Asiedu Nketia an Ashanti? Grow up and stop your jealousy of the Ashantis.

• George B 11 years ago

which is why they are the most richest
    government officials in Ghana.shame on customs.

America

• Douglas USA 11 years ago

CURSE ON ANYONE WHO REMOVES A CAR FROM THE HARBOUR THEREBY DEPRIVING THE OWNER OF HIS PROPERTY. WHOSOEVER USE THAT CAR SHOULD DIE IN AN ACCIDENT

• fredsaid 11 years ago

What happened when Anas showed the government, the evidence of stealing and corruption at the ports that was draining the economy of millions of dollars and cedis????

Atta Mills just paid a courtesy call at the ports and t ...

• Black Smoke 11 years ago

......HEAVEN ON EARTH PARADISE IN GHANA.

Whiles you living in the green-pastures of the Diaspora still poor & suffering for your survival.
    A good job to be a civil servant in Ghana.

• PAPA ARKOH, USA 11 years ago

LOOK AT ALL THESE BULLSHIT GOING ON IN A "CHRISTIAN" COUNTRY.REALLY SAD TO BE A GHANAIAN.GOD WILL PUNISH U ALL LAZY ASS THIEVES WHO STEAL FROM PEOPLE'S SWEAT, U WILL NEVER LIVE TO ENJOY THESE STOLEN ITEMS.GOD SAVE GHANA AND M ...

• Ashtown boy 11 years ago

If you live outside Ghana be very careful who you send your money home to build your house for you. Be very very careful. One good friend of ours that has been living and working hard here in London now about 50 yrs sent a ...

• Asante Original - Ghanaian Patriot 11 years ago

John Mahama, NDC ministers DECLARE your assets as mandated by Ghana's Constitution. Stop this diversionary tatics; let the Ghanaian institutions do their jobs and the president FOCUS and CONCENTRATE on the CORE issues of gov ...

• Altman 11 years ago

Asante Original, do you have an ideal what corruption is doing to Africa. Don't you think fighting corruption is part of the president's job? Do your home work and find out what stealing is doing to Ghana. You might call your ...

• Asante original - Patriot 11 years ago

Altman or whatever your name is, I'm better educated than you and your NDC thieves. If John mahama and the NDC care about corruption, tell Ghanaians what they did about Anas video;their aiding and abetting with Woyome to rob ...

• Altman 11 years ago

You don't give a FUCK about the president's sleepless night. I guess you are right because you are thief just like the custom officer.

• JOHN 11 years ago

What happen to the custom officers on ANAS video. Nothing. Tema harbour has become a gold mine for these officers whiles some our school children sit under trees in these age of internet.
    What happen to Segbefia and Carl Wi ...

• maame 11 years ago

things are happening!! itis done everywhere. let us be honest with ourselves. everybody is condeming. if we all stop corruption in our little ways, ghana will be heaven on earth. what do we not have that will not be enou ...

• THE TRUTH 11 years ago

A CUSTOM OFFICER PASSES FROM TRAINING AND AFTER 3MONTHS POSTAGE HE IS ABLE TO PUT UP TWO HOUSES AND RIDES IN LATEST CAR AND ATTENDS ALL FUNERALS IN HIS HOME TOWN AFTER ONE YEAR HE PUTS UP ONE OF THE POSHEST HOTEL IN DOWN CUST ...

• KOLIKO 11 years ago

CAN ANYTHING GOOD COME FROM SERPS?

• AGYA 11 years ago

Who said Ghana will progress? I need sombody to come out and tell me Ghana will progress. Never ever.

• CONCERN 11 years ago

thank you agya i concord with you hundred billion times. infact God bless you

• Ghana 11 years ago

THE CARS THE CUSTOM OFFICERS RIDE EVEN THE PRESIDENT WILL ENVY THEM. THESE ARE THIEF'S WE KNOW LONG TIME AGO.

• papillon 11 years ago

I hope the NPP supporters have realised that the culprit is not an Ewe or Northerner.

• Asem Beba Dabi 11 years ago

When will you grow up? There are many Ewes and Northners with Ashanti names.

• Kofi, Gyebie 11 years ago

The Revenue, Customs, Lands, Police, Ministries, DVLA, Water, Electricity, Passport departments and Banks are corrupt. They should be seriously blamed not the president. All these corrupt officers are your and my relatives, f ...

• Kwaku 11 years ago

It is all Ashanti business men

• marian 11 years ago

Slash the importation taxes in half and let the importers pay the duties into an account abroad before shipment.

• ato ghann 11 years ago

Use the internet as a tool to solve this problem.No need to make payments at the Ports.All that is needed is pay through the internet or the bank then present your receipt for collection of your items .This is so simple.Why ...

Ato,
    if my memory serves me right payment is done at the bank SSB located right there in the Customs Long Room. Tax evaders will always find a way round and importers can and do present fictitious payment receipts as well as ...

• John Kpeglo 11 years ago

Change of heart and mind will help!

Well said John. Here is my response to an earlier comment by PrinceWilly on the Beautiful Woman at Customs.

"Come on now Prince Willy!!! Very humorous and that is exactly what it is.
    But on a more serious note, all you sh ...

• ato ghann 11 years ago

Fearless Honesty,there should a break in this habit of giving bribes as well as receiving bribes.There should be change in attitude for all.In America ,you cannot and will not attempt to bribe a police officer when you comm ...

Thanks Ato. It is the nature of our society,our socio-economic and political situation as well as our level of literacy and the rule of law.In our own small way we should begin to contribute effectively to bringing about this ...

• ato ghann 11 years ago

Fearless Honesty,I appreciate your insight and knowledge of issues not to mention the manner in which you put your points across.It is very civil ,honest and respectful.I wish people who contribute towards various Topics will ...

Thanks Ato. It is my wish too that we will have more people like you who are also civil in their contributions.

• Concerned Ghanaian 11 years ago

Additional claims are that some top officers within the state security apparatus are hijacking luxurious cars from the port under the cloak of them being stolen vehicles from abroad. These cars are later sadly traced to famil ...

• Nii Akwei 11 years ago

I know them, I used to work with them. Eh, Ghana sweet ooh.

• Hankali 11 years ago

Our security agencies should be n alert. Are we sure these containers are not loaded with arms. Ghana wake up

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

This customs officer should forgo his Gratuity,made to PAY BACK the VALUE of the Items STOLEN, DISMISSED from the service and JAILED for at least 75 Yrs. with EXCEPTIONALLY HARD LABOUR!!

• GHANANI 11 years ago

Another area where the government is losing money is the'Goods in Transit' regime.This is where goods are imported to another country through our ports.Normally because they are not consumed in the country duty is not paid on ...

• BARIMA BEDIAKO 11 years ago

GHANA WILL SINK IF WE ARE NOT CAREFUL, THESE ARE THE PEOPLE WHO BLAMED AND GANGED UP AGAIST ALEX SEGBEFIA JUST BECAUSE THEY WANTED HIM OUT OF THEIR WAY.MORE ARE ON THEIR WAY WE ARE WATCHING.

• John 11 years ago

If the of the country doesn't have the interest of the nation at heart who else do you think would have the interest of the nation at heart?

• Abongo Awuni 11 years ago

Government should be more vigilant.

• Afadi nsrojah. 11 years ago

His name say it all.an ashanti, criminal of the highest order.

Afadi,
    can we also make sweeping conclusions from your name?

• Soso 11 years ago

Jail them like you jail the armed robbers. 50years or more and the stealing will stop.

• OYAA 11 years ago

Thats a habit going in right now my car has bee stolen by the very agent who suppose to help me claim my goods. He claim to be NDC member so nothinb will happen even if we send him to court. Thag NEWS is NEXT. Please me with ...

• VAQ 11 years ago

CUSTOM OFFICERS HAVE BEEN INVOLVED WITH DUBIOUS STUFF FOR AS LONG AND FAR BACK AS WE CAN IMAGINE. WHEN KUFUOR TOOK OVER THE HELM HE MADE IT EASIER FOR IMPORTERS AND THAT'S WHEN THE FLOOD-GATE OPENED FOR ILLEGAL DRUGS AND HUG ...

• psylover from Tema 11 years ago

the government is not doing enough because the duty rate and the tarrifs are too high for the importers to pay, so they do not have any option than to smuggle them.

• I HATE ASHANTIS 11 years ago

Too known thieves. They think they own Ghana.

• FRANCIS 11 years ago

IF THEY GET RIDE OF THIS GUY AND PUT HIM AWAY FOR LONG TIME INCLUDING THOSE WHO HELP HIM. NOT THAT GHANA WOULD SAVE MONEY, GHANA WOULD PROGRESS.

• jj 11 years ago

That is why they get rich within weeks of working there. Oh, Ghana,

• Sethos 11 years ago

Does this sound strange because he pulled this up? It is an everyday event that continue to plague importers.If the government is serious to stop theft and corruption at the ports then the laws must be flexible to dissuade co ...

• Frank Akoto 11 years ago

Bribery and corruption is the order of the day at Ghana customs. The President should keep a watchful eye on all custom officials. As a country, we are loosing so much revenue in the department and only a blind man will say ...

• jones 11 years ago

have you head what is going on ?all the officers at the post point need to be sacked.

• KANAWU 11 years ago

UNLESS GOVERNMENT IS INVOLVED IN WHAT IS GOING ON AT THE PORT OF TEMA,BRING BACK CITIZENS VETTING COMMITTES TO AUDIT ALL CUSTOM OFFICERS AT THE PORT INCLUDING TOP GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS TO STOP THE STEALING & LOOTING.I CHALLENG ...

• PROSPER BOAKYE AGYEMANG (USA) 11 years ago

ASHANTIS ARE BIG TIME THIEFS, PERIOD.

• Kitazawa 11 years ago

Give the country to Japanese.

• STONE,VIRGINIA 11 years ago

WHEN THIS WAS HAPPENING UNDER NPP,THE LOUD MOUTH NDC BASTARDS WERE SAY NPP IS CORRUPT SO MY QUESTION NOW IS AN WE SAY NDC IS ALSO CORRUPT?ONE GOOD TURN DESERVES ANOTHER.BOTH PARTIES ARE FUCKINGLY CORRUPT