Ghana to use UK technology for street naming

Read Comments Comments (80)

• Ghana 11 years ago

The street naming is long overdue.
    NPP Gov came and all they were interested was raping the country dry and sharing money among Ashantis and Akyems.

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Idiotic fool,NPP and NDC which party has been in power more than the other?Did Kufour take the National Identification secretariat to his village?At least that should have been for a start.

• Ghana 11 years ago

Most of you have no fathers so insults are issues you learn from your infancy.
    Your mothers are in the ashawo line so, the best you can do is insult people you disagree with.
    No intellect non!!!

• SHAMO 11 years ago

WHEN YOU WRITE FOOLISH COMMENTS DONT BE AFRAID OF INSULTS? YOUR STUPID NDC HAS BEEN IN POWER FOR 25YRS AND NPP ONLY 8! SO WHICH ONE DO YOU BLAME FOR GHANA'S BACKWARDS? FOOL CALLING A RICH COCOA FARMER'S SONS ASHAO CHILDREN?, ...

• HASSAN RASTA GERMANY 11 years ago

WHAT HE SAID IS TRUE BECAUSE ASHANTIS AND AKYIM ARE MOSTLY RAISED BY THEIR MOTHERS LIKE YOU SARPONG THE SON OF OLD ASHAWO IN HOLLAND WHAT YOU KNOW BEST IS INSULTS.BECAUSE MOST OF YOU WERE BORN AND RAISED BY YOUR GRAND MOTHERS ...

• HON SHAMO 11 years ago

AND WHO TOLD YOU FOOLS THAT MEN HAVE SENSE TO TRAIN CHILDREN THAN WOMEN? WHAT A SCHOOL DROPOUT FOOL! YOU WHO SLEEPS IN A MUD HOUSE CAN EVEN SAY YOU HAVE A FATHER! MONKEY

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

the property-addressing system as it will improve the quality of location information relating to the delivery of services and protection of life and property.

ALL MAJOR CITIES AND REGIONAL CAPITALS IN GH MUST HAVE THIS. W ...

• YAOVI MEVADO 11 years ago

SO WE CANNOT DO ANYTHING BY OURSELVES? ARE WE SO UN-INVENTIVE THAT WE MUST USE A UK IA SYSTEM? WE CAN'T ORGANISE OUR RESOURCES AND SKILLS TO ADDRESS THIS? SHAME ON US, AFRICANS AND GHANAIANS!

• Ghost 11 years ago

WE HAVVE TO LEARN FROM PEOPLE WHO HAVE DONE WHAT WE NEED TO DO NOT TO REPEAT THE SAME MISTAKES THEY MADE BEFORE THEY GOT IT TO WORK.WE HAVENT GOT TIME.

• Ato 11 years ago

Yes, indeed we havent got time, but so far it seems we have only managed to learn to copy the mistakes of others. Looking around us confirms this fact. This is basically because we have not even realized that our circumstance ...

• ELINAM 11 years ago

Nigeria had a good system in place since the '60s that even places like Agege slum until it was demolished, got mails delivered during the time Ghanaians were hustling there.
    It's a shame that up till now, there's no single ...

• DAN 11 years ago

Huge amount of canned goods in american supermarkets because they can last on your shelf for 1 year..So even when you have no money or raining too bad to go market reach into cabinet and get a can of beans or tuna fish..Only ...

• Nobody 11 years ago

Ghana is a small country with a small population. We can live better and longer by making an effort to eat fresh food that are devoid of genocidal preservative toxins that will kill us sooner than later, with our horrendous h ...

THE ROAD LEADING TO DR.BAUMIA´S HOUSE SHOULD BE NAMED "DR. PINK SHEET STREET.

• DAN 11 years ago

The Nazi skin heads know what street you hide on...When you finish your job cleaning toilets they will catch you in night and bash your head in for being black!

• FISHERMAN 11 years ago

STREET TOO U HAVE TO GET IDEAS FROM UK? LETS CLOSE DOWN THE UNIVERSITIES AND BRING DOWN THE WHITES TO MANAGE US

• BRAVEBOY 11 years ago

Oh bro, it is sad. Lets take everything from the white man syndrome. That is why they will always control us. They could have said, they will use it as a guideline. Ghana is different and we have to do things differently. Nex ...

• SHAMO 11 years ago

NAMING STREET IS NOW A BURDEN! WHAT ABOUT OUR ENVIROMENTS? NO FOREST TO PROPTECT, NO RIVERS TO PROPTECT, NO WILDLIFE TO PROTECT, AND THE SAVANA CUM DESERT IS LAYING ITS HANDS ON US EVERYDAY BY DAY, TODAY NO ODUM, WAWA, MAHOGA ...

• BRAVEBOY 11 years ago

Sad. isn't it? Sometimes I wish we did not have leaders. They are useless. We can not even do the basic things anymore.

• Fire Burn U 11 years ago

We already drive on the right!!!

• ASUOYEBOA 11 years ago

Fisherman, you are right on your money. We have three giant universities whose graduates pride themselves as top-notch in the world. Yet the country outsource everything, including the water that President and his family dri ...

• I have a dream 11 years ago

Ghanaians are in the supreme court due to our dearth of comprehensive address system entailing street names, house/apartment #'s/area codes and so on. How do we provide service to the people at their residences?

Without th ...

• Milli 11 years ago

u are right on point. thats how Nkrumah planned for ghana, and he even started it in Tema. every household in Tema has an adress, and that we use adresses to look for people in this city without any problem. which is likely t ...

• Fire Burn U 11 years ago

by trying to treat Ghanaians like sheep. He forgot his own mantra 'we prefer self-government in danger to servitude in tranquility'

Even affluent Libya rebelled against dictatorship.

How I wish Nkrumah had focused on bu ...

• truth stands 11 years ago

WOW this means jobs for those of us who did geographic information systems in geography and resource development. At long last....

• Djabsey 10 years ago

Wow!!One of the most intelligent & thoughtful comments I have seen in a LONG time. Kudos to you whoever you are for such far reaching insight!!

• Kwame vs. Kofi 11 years ago

What a Country? There are millions of roads with the potential of having their name-giving tourned into cash and jouth employment. Let people auktion the right to name roads of "non national importance" and let a jouth employ ...

• Kwame vs. Kofi 11 years ago

But off course the Ghanaian Government prefers to go and beg for handouts and credits from China!? Mahamma is no diffrent than the other guys ghanaians have been giving their votes for!

• Kwaku 11 years ago

What happened to the one started by Kufour's govt and the National Identification project?Is it a ploy for another expects to chop the tax payers money?I weep for this national,criminals are adopting all sort of means to dive ...

• Y B££KO 11 years ago

ye that wil be the basis of satnav usage

• time will tell 11 years ago

Where are our sleeping graduates? Street naming too Needs a forign County to assist us.What a shame.

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 11 years ago

THAT IS A GOOD IDEA. JUST DO IT. IT WILL PROGRESS GHANA.

• TROUBLE-MAKER 11 years ago

Naming of streets a country like Ghana cannot do it without involving foreigners.
    Where are all the PhD holders with big big grammars?
    We are doomed!!

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

Hooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!

• TROUBLE-MAKER 11 years ago

I will prefer not to go faking to be who I`m not and walking the street everyday looking over my shoulders for fear of being caught one day.
    See how after 40 years of living a lie(impersonation) Akufo Addo has finally be cor ...

• Obibini 11 years ago

I understand Nigeria's process is working fine why don't Ghana copy that and improve on it? Nigeria is just like Ghana.

• Uncle Mends, Takoradi 11 years ago

I like that.

• Kwame tiboah 11 years ago

Is Ghana short of technologist? Where are our Professors, technology experts, city planners, Academic Professionals. Should govt spend whoopee money for street naming project. It is a big shame on schools and universities an ...

• GHANA ba. 11 years ago

Good plan Ndc . President go for it we shall support u

I WISH THE ROAD LEADING TO DR. BAUMIA´S HOUSE SHOULD BE NAMED DR. PINK SHEET STREET.

• DAN 11 years ago

go back to your part time job sucking white penis in frankfurt! NDC=Nigger Dicksucking Company

• Isaac 11 years ago

This is a good news if implemented. It will parallel the NHIS. Bravo to the Government.

The benefits are many.
    1. Corruption will be minimised. Just post the documents (e.g. passport application etc and get the results at ...

• Tia 11 years ago

This is not any party's dream but that of Dr Boakye-Danquah so nobody to take credit for it. He has actually moved to have this done and hopefully it is taking off.

• Kobi 11 years ago

Who brought in the UK expert? Why blame univs. and academics when someone forgot we had univs. and went to UK first? 'You go outside only for what you cannot get at home', so goes a Ghanaian adage. I have seen a foreign 'expe ...

• Joe Turkey 11 years ago

Instead of dealing with the potholes as an emergency, they are talking about naming the potholed-streets. In most parts of the country, you actually have to look for the road in the potholes. So, who don't they name the more ...

• JH-New York City 11 years ago

Some staff of Ghana Post Office continues to steal Mails.

• Zip Up 11 years ago

What time is it? It's long over due, we should had got every inch of our land demarcated and named since we attained Republic,and all the land of the Republic should have assets to electricity and water, also roads constructe ...

• Kwaku Boateng! 11 years ago

We need this to be done ASAP! This is long overdue ! For Ghana to be indeed the gateway to Africa , this must be implemented as soon as possible . No need for Politics! This not a matter of NPP or NDC! This is a matter of nat ...

• JH-New York City 11 years ago

SOME STAFF AT GHANA POST STEALS MAILS.

• Natural Mystic 11 years ago

Alight at .... Circle, turn left, walk for about 800 m and you will see a big mango tree on your right, "dance round" the tree and go straight again, you will see an old lady selling wakye. Ask the wakye seller to direct you ...

• Okukuseku 11 years ago

Natural Mystic, You example representing our current GPS is the most accurate and the best. You made my day, God bless

• ELINAM 11 years ago

And if it's raining and mame wakye is nowhere to to be found, that means I won't be able to come and collect my money?.
    Most Ghanaians don't even know how to give direction to there own house in the US, something every Niger ...

• okoto 11 years ago

A laudable idea

• GHANABA 11 years ago

Is this a joke or what first we cannot count pink sheets so we employ KPMG who will take 2 weeks to do that. How long will it take them to count millions of ballot papers? Now we are going to use IA which is a private company ...

• Godbless 11 years ago

Well done, Rev Dr. Boakye, may u live long sir.

• AAD 11 years ago

What is Dr. Boakye's Cut in this project?

• Abena 11 years ago

It is long overdue; and if I may ask, how are they going to name those streets that have been blocked by illegal structures. I think every home should have a street leading to the home but in our case, most places in Accra, t ...

• DAN 11 years ago

thats where people get lost even if you have Washington blvd,Washington Street,Washington Drive and Washington Parkway all in same town and zipcode

• ftal 11 years ago

i think this new teachnology will help to improve easy access for police and fireservice when needed arise, they can easy locate the area when there is emergancy.

• AKWELE 11 years ago

Any address system is better than no address. This is way past due.

• km agyin 11 years ago

Effective addressing system is the key to efficiency in Government's activities like tax collection, postal services, rapid and life saving response to medical emergencies make population census exercises more cost effective ...

• UK's old technology? 11 years ago

Please don't you know UK is behind in Europe, and we still want to use their old technology. UK is depending on EU technology. Think wise. UK is Just little beat advance than Ghana and Nigeria.

• Sulamana 11 years ago

Please Ghanaians, read the Bible yourselves. No man can help u except the Almighty.

• Ali 11 years ago

Almighty does not name streets himself; he does so through people. He has helped people to wake up and name their streets.

• Sulamana 11 years ago

Why do we need UK consultants to teach us how to name our roads? How many Universities do we have in Ghana that teach geography? If we cannot name our own roads, then THE BLACK MAN CANNOT RUN HIS OWN AFFAIRS. WE ARE COMPLETEL ...

• mr when 11 years ago

the most important thing in the word
    is address.with good ID card for all nation.if Ghana do this every thing will be ok in Ghana specialy.for vote and security systerm.after this police can contro.

• Victor 11 years ago

How long can we always be copying Akwasi broni to solve our problems. Afrian problems require African solutions. We can come up with our own technology to name streets of only our leadears would begin to have faith in our abi ...

• Victor A. Young 11 years ago

Which Ghana Technology are your refering to; which technology do we have that we should implement? It would be nice if we had one; we would have implemented it long time ago. But look at our streets and the lay-out of our bui ...

• Victor 10 years ago

Flow chart mr man. Street naming is based off on simple flow chart. I hope you are not one of those students who love to copy other peoples assignment... Oh Ghana

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

How many times do we have to tackle this address problem ?? Meanwhile,all the money for previous attempts have VANISHED in thin air and NOBODY IS RESPONSIBLE as usual!!When will the blackman also LEARN to PRIOROTISE ???
    Typi ...

• Bestway 11 years ago

I was once lost in my own city and trying to get back on a major street was a big thing but in the US you enter the street you are on into GPS and you are back on your way and that is a good thing. Almost about 70% of people ...

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 11 years ago

Ordinary street naming is also a big problem to us! What can we do on our own?What a shame!

• Future Judge 11 years ago

Look no further, come to Canada. Check that of Toronto, Mississauga and Etobicoke, etc, etc!!!!!!!

• NIIBII 11 years ago

THERE ARE BETTER ONES ,ITS NOT GOOD THINK CAREFULLY STOP AND THINK CAREFULLY ,THEIR SYSTEM IS NOT GOOD THANKS

• BUSINESS DEVELOPER 11 years ago

Naming all roads and streets without change of our status quo of postal address to house /office post code would incomplete the desire objective of the all naming scheme ,the road and street naming and change of postal addres ...

• DAN 11 years ago

po box and home address are 2 different things, epecially is your po box is not at your neighborhood post offfice...If you own a business You want a Brooklyn or Manhattan New York post office box even if your address is 100 m ...

• Cephas Deh 11 years ago

This. is a very important issue. For most part of Accra no name street address where one can locate and direct somebody to a particular address. Please AMAta AMA take this problem serious. CEPHAS NEWYORK.

• Mohammed Ibrahim 11 years ago

Street Naming at last after 56years of Independence.What a shame.
    Street Naming is taking too Long,and it's must be done as soon as possible without any further delay.

• Adjololo Brain 10 years ago

No matter what all the major roads shold be named after our past presents eg. Nkruma Road, Busia Avenua, Atta Mill Road, Kufour Avenue, Kotoka Crescent, Mahama Road, Liman Avenue etc. All major roads in the whole country befo ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

MENTAL SLAVERY.

WHY DID THE BRITISH FAIL TO NAME THE HOUSES AND STREETS IN GHANA