Police arrest 11 Chinese at Sefwi-Wiawso for illegal mining

Read Comments Comments (78)

• SARPONG ILLITERACY GURU 12 years ago

Deport them quick without questioning as they do to foreigners back in their country

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 12 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• Torgbigah 12 years ago

warning to all ghanaians in china. Chinese government might probably retaliate by sending all ghanaians out of china or refusing them visas: rad what appears in the national media in china news about the arrests:

www.sli ...

• BAD MOUTH 12 years ago

Thanks for showing us their pictures. Now please take them to Teshie and Kill them.
    Thank you

• koloxoxo 12 years ago

Surely there is visa fraud going on at Ghana embassy in Beijing,if not, is the embassy not reading about Chinese activities in Ghana? why are they still issuing them visas without checking and verification to Ghana? if they r ...

• KojoLee/MRAA For 2014 W/C 12 years ago

When most of Ghanaians government officials sees money, they forgot themselves. AND I'M 100% SURE THAT, THOSE 11 CHINESE BEING ARRESTED BY THE GHANAIAN AUTHORITIES WOULD PAY THEIR WAY OUT WITHIN ONE WEEK! Nothing is going to ...

• koloxoxo 12 years ago

see all these tell ghana the people are unclean and devilish from whorish system, their souls are hungry and greedy.why do they take them to court? from gold mines straight to airport and put them on any flight going to any p ...

• IDRIS PACAS 12 years ago

In precisely 20 yr to come, Ghana will be a tenant state because everything here will then be owned and/or used by foreigners. It is the chiefs, queen mothers and the locals as well as govt officials who invite and accommodat ...

• nana 12 years ago

A lot of questions to be answered oooo!! Where did they get all those ammunitions because they couldn't have brought them from China (that would be un-imaginable). As a Ghanaian it's very difficult to carry a gun so how can a ...

• onelove 12 years ago

get them out and fine them.

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 12 years ago

GHANA GONE TO THE DOGS.

CHALE, I BEG. MAKE U NO DO 419 WITH MY NAME..

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 12 years ago

Hahahahahaha. Just ship them by cargo ship to China. I wonder what NDC government is doing about all these illegal Chinese working illegally in Ghana and connive with crooks in GHAna politics

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 12 years ago

Chinese execute more people than any other country in the world. Last year alone, according to UN report on human rights, China executed over 500 people, sometimes on offences like dealing in drugs or as being an enemy of the ...

• Alah 12 years ago

Take them to court to see if we can jail them before deportation. These nationals have no respect and or regard for our economy. they are messing up our land(s).

• Osei-wusu 12 years ago

we are tired of this kind of arrest; what has become those who have previously been arrested. The authorities will somehow set them free and they will go back to engage in the illegal activities again. we want to see producti ...

• TKN 12 years ago

THEY ARE WORKING FOR MAHAMA & CO. REMEMBER THE IMPOUNDED PLANE FULL OF GOLD BARS IN TURKEY.

• Akwasi Kumahene 12 years ago

Why do you think the Chinese nationals are intentionally breaking the laws of Ghana? The fact is when these Chinese are coming to Ghana, Chinese government tells these Chinese nationals that they can do whatever they want. Th ...

• HOLY 12 years ago

MINING COMPANIES HAVE COMPLAIN SINCE 2009 IN CONFERENCES BECAUSE NDC HAVE ALLOW THIS RIGHT FROM MILLS ADMINISTRATION TILL TODAY AND CONTINUES. GHANA WILL NOT SEE THE END UNTIL THIS CRIMINALS UNLEASHED THEIR REIGN. SAD SAD TH ...

• KOO NIMO 12 years ago

how did these Chinese get into the country. The head of immigration service should be fired

• HOLY 12 years ago

GO TO EUROPE, NOTH AMERICA, AUSTRALIA, CHINA, RUSSIA AND OTHER COUNTRIES AND SEE HOW TOUGH THEIR IMMIGRATION OFFICERS ARE. IMMIGRATION OFFICERS AREE DOOR KEEPER OF A NATION AND NOT TOOTHLESS BULLDOGS UST LIKE GHANA IMMIGRATIO ...

• SOORI 12 years ago

IGNORANT, CORRUPT AND UNACCOUNTABLE. TELL THEM TO TRAVEL TO SEE HOW IMMIGRATION WORK EVOLVES AS GATE KEEPER NOT TOOTHLESS BULLDOGS

• Papa Dey 12 years ago

How did they manage to get into the Country?Mahama,beore you realise that Ghana falls into the hands of Chinese,it wil be too late.Dont forget Zimbabwe,South Africa,Angola,Kenya,Sudan etc...This is 21st century.Please never s ...

• Owura Kofi 12 years ago

What are the laws governing foreigners engaging in illegal mining? If you just deport them, they'd return to continue their operations. You can't go anywhere in the world to engage in illegal activities and just get deported. ...

• DAN 12 years ago

they from poor country too..even the ones making clothes or i pods only make $150 per month! So you think they haven't seen bad jails,bad water...Air is so polluted in China you can't see sun on some days..Ship them home with ...

• me 12 years ago

dis time the police did well by not stealing their money some of dem has been reported doing, good work done

• Peter 12 years ago

Stupid.Who gave them the land?Ghanaians who helped them must be prosicuted.

• MENSAH 12 years ago

THESE CHINESE CULPRITS' AGES SHOW,THEY ARE ALL MATURED MEN WHO KNOW EXACTLY WHAT THEY ARE AFTER.
    WHEN WOULD THE GOVERNMENT ENACT A STRONG STRINGENT RULE THAT WOULD BAN THEM FROM THE GALAMSEY OPERATION.
    SHOULD WE ALWAYS SEAR ...

• Mohammed N.D.C(UK) 12 years ago

u bought the chinese to ghana bcos dey r gud for fituals n now u r using dem..idiot president who killed his master

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 12 years ago

Did these Chinese enter our country without visas?If they had visas, who issued them and for what purpose?Some people in our Gov`t should be held responsible!

• KWAKU KYERETWIE 12 years ago

GBEVLO OF THE NATIONAL SECURITY SHOULD HAVE SENT THE CHINESE TO MINE GOLD IN THE VOLTA REGION , BUT NOT IN ANYWHERE ELSE. WE KNOW THE TOGBE AFEDE AND COL GBEVLO WENT TO CHINA FOR BUSINESS TOUR , NOT KNOWING THEY WERE GOING TO ...

• KWASI. TORONTO-ONT. CDA. 12 years ago

BUT, WHO IS BEHIND THIS, MAHAMA : FIND OUT AND STOP.

• KWAA 12 years ago

What are Chinese nationals doing in our Villages?
    Do our leaders really want to give Ghana to the Chinese as collateral because of three billion dollars?
    Anywhere one looks,there they are armed to the teeth fighting indigg ...

• Concern Ghanian 12 years ago

THE GUNS IS TO KILL THEIR HOST?

• Concern Ghanian 12 years ago

ANOTHER MAN COUNTRY WITH USELESS LEADERS

• toronto ontario canada 12 years ago

THOSE IN THE PICTURE ARE ABOUT 17 SO WHY USE THE OLD PICTURE?

• DAN 12 years ago

The female was the whore, she was brought along to service the men!

• Smith Johnston, 12 years ago

I am writing to Chinese who are still in China, you don't need any document to go to Ghana, there is free Gold and you just get guns and any form of weapons and if any Ghanaian try to stop you, just shoot them.

• EWE MAN 12 years ago

KILL THEM ALL

PRISON LABOR FOR REVENUE
    ROSE ATINGA BIO FOR IGP GHANA!
    GOOGLE "BILLIONS BEHIND BARS"
    1. PAY PRISONERS A SMALL WAGE TO WORK
    2. TRAIN THEM SO WHEN THEY COME OUT THEY BECOME PRODCUTIVE CITIZENS
    3. PRISONERS COULD SERVE AS ...

• Nii Joromi 12 years ago

Can someone please tell me whether other West African countries are having the same problem with these racist parasites? They have absolutely no respect for Africans. They should be starved in our filthy jails before they are ...

• koloxoxo 12 years ago

it's because we are civilized and we learned from the past about how British and Europeans came to loot and steal our treasures to build their countries. look, im in china and they have published many nasty things here online ...

• KRETZ - D 12 years ago

What is the government doing about it? I think they should be deported right away. From the way of looking things, it appears Mahama and his NDC crooks have some shares in this Chinese illegal mining.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!! 12 years ago

The concern citizens of Ghanaians abroad such as America, Canada, London, Germany, Italy, Australia and Holland, is appealing to the highest court of our country to throw the petitioners foolish and diabolical case that is ha ...

• Sankofa 12 years ago

Fine these illegal Chinese and deport them forthwith.

Stop issuing visas to Chinese except for those on official trips. do not issue work permits to them. Continue to search for illegal immigrants and deport them.

• Busumbru 12 years ago

You are very right. However, there are some Chinese that are well qualified to work in Ghana especially thier computer technicians, solar power technicians etc. How about them?
    Those involved in the galamsey act are mostly u ...

• DAN 12 years ago

Anybody reading this story know Mahatma is allowing these china men in country to destroy the soil and water..And take ghana jobs! You prove the monkey is smarter than his cousin the blackman(NIGGER)

• Mr when 12 years ago

dont,live this guys to do this serch things in Ghana deport all of them back to chiner.

• kwadwo totobii 12 years ago

Congrats for arresting the Chinese.
    All Ghanaians should rise against any chiefs or ministers who allow the chinese to damage our environment

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 12 years ago

Don't waste our time of these PR gimmicks of arrest and then squeeze bribe and release them.

Just deport them to China.

This is a grace that in the 21 C, just anyone can come to a country and mine gold and other natura ...

• Enock.,gh 12 years ago

deport these dwarfs,wht at all do dey need from our land.we r suffering n dey sideway chizpping our money n leaving our lands infertile.deport dem babylons.

• pome 12 years ago

please arrest more of those fools... and make sure after they leave the country for good. cuz they are messing up our country. Good job done police department.. keep on with the arrest.

• Fire the Interio Minoster 12 years ago

Corrupt police. I know they are angry because the Chinese guys refused to pay them bribe. Shameless Ghana police

• Kyekyeku 12 years ago

This is how South Africa 's issue started, they will soon start a china town and Ghanaians will regret a regrettable regret.

• Vida 12 years ago

The igp and the interior minister are making the president's work difficult. The president has done his part by wining the election and appointed his workers but they are refusing to tackle their problems other than trying to ...

• Joe Boateng ---Dabaa . 12 years ago

My question is,where do these Chinese got those GUNS from? I'm not sure they brought that GUNS from their country through Kotoka airport.Please can authorities give me the answer.

• D/Sgt. Nuamah 12 years ago

Who authorised them to have the weapons found with them?
    Even me as a D/Sgt. I don't have any of such weapons in my own country.

• BK 12 years ago

New Western Region police commander is doing a very good job in the short time since his posting there.

• Adjoa Msreyame 12 years ago

This is a troubling state of lawlessness

• osman 12 years ago

they should be send back to their country. Bravo to the policemen

• SHAKARA 12 years ago

FLUSH THESE CHINESE MISFITS OUT OF THE COUNTRY

• Wofa 12 years ago

The government is allowing on this nonsense. How many they`v been deported so far? Nil.

• J.Junior 12 years ago

Simply, deport them immediately. You can't go to China and do that there. They should know better but they take Africans as animals.

• lydia.usa 12 years ago

what is the Akonfem presi doing about
    this chinese illegall miners

• Kwaw bentum 12 years ago

Send them away. No time to waste and feed them in jail. Process and deport them. They are just stuborn and Ghana must be hard on them. The Chinese have a saying: "Life is like a mirror, if you treat others well; they will ret ...

• danladi 12 years ago

hi there ghana well first of all i will ask who give them the land first or who sold the land to them before they went there for galamsay, in china no any foreigner can even go to their coald minning place, why ? why ? did we ...

• INOLIKE CHINESE 12 years ago

WE NEED HARSH DETERRENTS FOR THESE CRIMINALS. SOME BEATINGS AND UNORTHODOX PUNITIVE DENTISTRY FOR STARTERS, THEN PEPPER ENIMAS AND FIRE ANT BATHS BEFORE DEPORTATION.

• BARON O OKYERE,NY,NY 12 years ago

Oh folks how long shall they kill our prophets whilst we stand nd look?deceiving and propaganda journalism.Please help me do the head count,cos l left my reading glasses @ home

• KWAME ANSAH PATRA (NPP MAN) 12 years ago

THIS IS THE TIME THE BIG GUYS OF THE ENTIRE NATION HAVE TO COME TOGETHER AND HAVE A VOICE AGAINST THE PROBLEM. ITS THE FUTURE OF THE ENTIRE NATION. WAKE UP GUYS AND DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS BEFORE ITS TOO LATE. DEPORT ALL THE ...

• SAFO =mexsec 12 years ago

So! Was all the huge amount retreived from our soil, and the weapons, are they for protection or killing.
    God Help GHANA.

• koffi kokodoko 12 years ago

To preserve the good relationship with China,i think the government,has to consult with the Chinese diplomatic corps,and handle this case,without brouhaha.It is already written in Chinese news papers that Ghana i molesting Ch ...

• Torgbigah 12 years ago

when they refuse us work and visa here that we are from africa, why must they go to ghana to steal? the chinese people are stealing in Africa. deal with what in diplomatic way? what relationship do we have with china? the rac ...

• 911 12 years ago

Just making moff moff. Nothing concrete will ome out of this. The Chinese are here to stay like it or not. Those arrested will be free. Heard anything about the twenty something people arrested? Nope. The Chinese are like rog ...

• David Chan- Chinees living in the US 12 years ago

Deoort this Guys for they have no good intensions for our nation. they come in groups just like goats, to eat all our green pastures and get our nation dry for good.
    These guys travels out side their nayion and steals the co ...

• AKOSUA 12 years ago

But our akonfem president is always going to china for billions of dollars in grant. So they think they owe this country. Its pay back time.

• Brongba 12 years ago

HOW DO THESE PEOPLE GET INTO THE COUNTRY, BYPASS OUR LAWS AND DO WHAT THEY SEE FIT IN THEIR EYES? ARE WE TOO WEAK, OR WHAT?

GIVE THEM SENTENCES, AFTER THEY SRVE THEM, THEN DEPORT THEM

• collins takyi 12 years ago

kudos to the police for the gud work they are doing. ghanaians are behind them. i am very grateful they should continue with it.