Ghana treats new UK immigration policy as "rumour"

Read Comments Comments (76)

• ' and Jesus wept ' 12 years ago

Build Ghana to where we don't have to go beg, and we wouldn't have to care about what the Brits do with their immigration policy.

• kabokabo 12 years ago

The announcement has been made. The affected countries foreign offices has been served with letters in regard to the changes and now the deputy Misinformation Minister is telling Ghanaians it is just a RUMOUR. Haba Chineke! ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 12 years ago

This issue has been raised and brought
    out to the public domain, and instead of NDC stupid fools to take immediate
    action to saveguard the interest of the people's of Ghana, fellow country men and women just listen to what ...

• 1ST STRIKE! 12 years ago

To begin with, can someone tell this fool called Murtala Mohammed that this is a fact, and not a "rumour"?
    The British govt desperate and looking for a way out hence this absurd policy on poor visitors! This is a policy tha ...

• NEMESIS, UK 12 years ago

When the XENOPHOBIC GHANAIANS imposed their EVIL whopping $300,000 policy on any foreigner including your fellow ECOWAS citizens mostly Nigerians, before they can do any business in Ghana, you did not see it EVIL AND DRACONIA ...

• ROMANO 12 years ago

$2,500.00 REWARD TO KILL WISE-TALK,GH.MONEY TALKS BULL-SHIT WALKS,I HAVE THE CASH READY AND I REALLY MEAN IT. THIS DIRTY YUROBA STINKING DOOGIE NEEDS TO BE KILLED ASAP.

• NEMESIS, UK 12 years ago

LOOK AT THIS HUNGRY AND DIRTY ANIMAL CALLING HIMSELF ROMANO, TALKING ABOUT $2,500.OO AS IF IT WAS A MONEY TO BUY 'KENKE' WHEN HE CANNOT EVEN AFFORD TO BUY A TEN PESUA 'KOKONTE' ON A DAILY BASIS.

EVEN YOUR ASHAWO MAMA TAK ...

• ROMANO 12 years ago

$2,500.00 REWARD TO KILL WISE-TALK,GH.MONEY TALKS BULL-SHIT WALKS,I HAVE THE CASH READY AND I REALLY MEAN IT. THIS DIRTY YUROBA STINKING DOOGIE NEEDS TO BE KILLED ASAP.

• Akonoba 12 years ago

The European economy is collapsing and that is why they bring up this cheap shameful racist discriminatory measure to prop up their failed capitalist economy.

I for one, am happy about this because it will ensure that many ...

• Torgbigah 12 years ago

colonial days are over. chinese tried and backfired into illegal gold mining.new form of colonial wickedness showing up. 3000 EU before Ghanaians can enter poor and devilish white man's country.UK. ghana must demand 12,000 eu ...

• KKK 12 years ago

AND THEY WILL STAY AT HOME

• I LIKE FROGS 12 years ago

if UK and CHINA is not attractive, why you love them and live in CHINA. such a ghana fool. get out of my country you monkey.

• insight to the bone 12 years ago

pepeni like all evil men in history is saying its God who gave him victory , Hitler , Stalin and all the intrinsically evil men including Satan also claimed the same. pepeni has put only his own Muslim pepefuo in charge of al ...

• The African Patriot 12 years ago

So this minister is sitting down to wait untill the British government declare their intentions? What a joke of minister. He must act now!!!

• 1ST STRIKE! 12 years ago

HEY CHINAMAN! How did you find your way here with those phony eyes of yours? If you really know how to fight back, then why not go to fight your repressive govt with your stinking mouth? China has a population of over one bil ...

• Jade 12 years ago

Tell me the difference. If you eat poisonous snake why can't you ear a bug?

• Kee Atty 12 years ago

UK Immigration policy makers do not even need to inform any country of their decision. All they have to do is to publish and inform the public of their intention and to carry it out. Good thing is that they always give you pl ...

• KWAME PEPENI-OHIO,USA. 12 years ago

WHY ARE THESE SO-CALLED GHANA LEADERS ALWAYS LYING TO GHANAIANS.THEY SIMPLY ARE PATHOLOGICAL LIARS.GB ANNOUNCED THIS BAD POLICY ALL OVER THE WORLD SO ARE THESE STUPID LEAGERS WAITING TO BE TOLD BEFORE REACTING.FOR ALL YOU KNO ...

• think again 12 years ago

please dont expect Mahama to retaliate if he does the WEST might switch their support to Nana akuffo,these is polities

• moyo 12 years ago

Let us call spade spade. There are a lot of things that Ghana Parliament have to be seen to be concerned about and not UK £3000 visa fees. The reason for their worry is that this is the only policy that affects the MPs more ...

• The general 12 years ago

no more connection men. its good news to some people cos they can always come home, collect their deposites and re-apply after 6 months.The smart would jux be smiling!This is jux to check overstaying!

• GHANABA 1 12 years ago

What are you all talking about on this forum? mahama has just agreed and signed for this bond.NDC is seeking all help to remain in power so they will even sell the Nation to maintain their position.
    I tell you guys. The deal ...

• KOFI ADDO 12 years ago

Have you got a concrete proof to show that Mahama signed something about immigration.

• Paa Joe (UK) 12 years ago

Even when the Chinese arrive illegally, rape our land and women, kill, pollute our waters... when they are caught they are not prosecuted but allow to go home with their ill gotten GOLD.
    We have ourselves to blame, my brothe ...

• KNYC (USMC) 12 years ago

Well said, Paa Joe. But the Morons in power don't see it that way. We are always a "VICTIM," "CUP IN HAND," "ASS KISSING NATION." This shows how UK gov't is saying "We don't need you, you need US.

• NANA KUFUOR 12 years ago

Ghananaba you must be an illiterate idiot. If you want to hurt your friend or damage your friend's reputation, do you consult him/her first? If you are in your right senses, the British government does not even consult the op ...

• Kay 12 years ago

What can you do even if it is true?Make sure you put the resources of the state to good use,so that your fellow citizens will not rush to the U.K.After all the U.K gains more from its former colonial territories than we do fr ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 12 years ago

A business man called a travel agent and had a question about the documents he needed in order to fly to China. After a lengthy discussion about passports, the agent reminded him he needed a visa. "Oh no I don’t, I’ve bee ...

• Paa Joe (UK) 12 years ago

I wonder if the Chinese would accept my MasterCard. I'd like to visit before they loose all their communist credentials.
    China is the new WEST

• Before & After 12 years ago

The government of Ghana MUST also get that policy in case the UK makes it effective. Remember that the UK does not communicate these things to the government of Ghana. People will only be issued letters from the embassy after ...

• NANA KUFUOR 12 years ago

Ghanaians we have to arm ourselves. If we pay GHC10,000.00 as visa bond, the British have to pay 10,000.00 pounds for their bonds because they are richer.

• King 12 years ago

The point is Britian doesn't need odd job workers such as cleaners, care workers and security officers like our fellow Ghanaian brothers, cos they have got the Eastern Europeans. They need the best to turn their economy arou ...

• Afriyie 12 years ago

Why should Ghana tell UK what thy want to do at, and within Ghanaian borders? This is UK's Home Office and its protectionist policies driven by pressures from the EU. They have more people than they need; they can't stop othe ...

• OWUSU 12 years ago

WE NEED SERIOUS PEOPLE TO TRAVEL TO CANADA. INTERESTED PEOPLE SHOULD CALL OWUSU ON 0249318847B FOR FURTHER INFO.
    THANKS

• MANSON UK 12 years ago

To do what there? Snow removal, I guess LOL

• KWAKU 12 years ago

THIS GUY IS A JOKE, HE DOESN'T EVEN KNOW WHAT POLICIES ARE AFFECTING HIS COUNTRY AND CALLS THIS A RUMOUR?.AAAAABA, INFORMATION MINISTER GROW UP.

• Maxwell from Lapaz 12 years ago

So that means people can not vist their love ones in the UK if their families dont have the money as gaurantee. What on earth is in the UK that one must pay that huge sum before entering into the UK? Is UK heaven? This is rea ...

• jojo 12 years ago

Romour? my foot,Is the Ghana government waiting for a letter from 10 Downing St,confirming this selective and discriminatory policy against Ghana a friendly and fellow Commonwealth country.Which was announced by the home secr ...

• Maxwell from Lapaz 12 years ago

this is injustice and unfair

• Setor 12 years ago

So if this is the issue at hand i think Ghana should to do the same,

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 12 years ago

IF YOU DO ME I DO YOU. IF UK BRINGS THAT STUPID CONDITION AGAINST GHANAIANS, GHANA MUST APPLY THE SAME FOR THE UK.

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 12 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• Kojo Nyansafo 12 years ago

UK should bow their heads in shame because this pure act of racism and extortion from Africans and other national mentioned in the list they are rating as high risk. I think Ghanaian government should recall the Ghanaian emba ...

• Jason 12 years ago

This guy has learned in well.

Normal response.is first denial..than it will be implemented, than te government will say..ohh..that is not good, but now we cannot change it back.

YES MASTER, I WILL DO MASTER! SLAVE!!

• Justin 12 years ago

ANOTHER NDC FOOL CALLED DEPUTY MINISTER.

THIS CONFIRMATION HAS APPEARED IN SEVERAL INTERNATIONAL NEWS MEDIA SO WHAT IS THIS GUY TALKING ABOUT?

GHANAIAN LEADERS ARE SOMETHING ELSE.

• OPANIN KWAKU ATTA 12 years ago

IT IS THEIR COUNTRY,AND WHAT IS WRONG IF THEY SAY VISITORS SHOULD DEPOSIT THREE THOUSAND POUNDS?

• ABDUL-KARIM GARIBA 12 years ago

IF UNITED KINGDOM BELONGS TO THEM,SO THEY CAN DO WHATEVER THEY WISH,WHY DID THEY KILL BROTHER GHADAFI?BECAUSE LIBYA WAS HIS COUNTRY AND HE WAS THEIR LEADER FOR THAT MATTER.AND THIS MAN,BROTHER GHADAFI,WAS KILLED LIKE AN ANIMA ...

• DANIEL KEITH 12 years ago

THIS IS THE TIME FOR AFRICA LEADERS TO WAKE UP AND DO RIGHT THINGS FOR THERE BELOVE COUNTRY.

• Lord 12 years ago

time to build our homeland

• alex 12 years ago

You are stupid. You will die you lier

• ABDUL-KARIM GARIBA 12 years ago

THEY HAD BETTER NOT IMPLEMENT THIS POLICY,BECAUSE THIS WILL MEAN THAT,THE UK IS DEMONSTRATING THE HIGHEST LEVEL OF RACISM,DISCRIMINATION AND SEGREGATION.IF THEY THINK OTHERWISE,THEY SHOULD INCLUDE,US,RUSSIA,GERMANY,AND THE SO ...

• samy 12 years ago

if i had such amount not in use wud i have visited the UK just for a visit.c'mon dt amount is too much and if the uk embassy will go on implementing this policy den i guess they have to be treated same.

• GHFUO, LOVE/DOR YOURSELF! 12 years ago

EAST SIDE HIGH GHANA
    ONLY JOE CLARK CAN SAVE GH. TOO MUCH CORRUPTION, LAWLESSNESS, THIEVES
    PORCH MONKEYS, LAZY RATS DISGUISED AS HUMAN BEING....ANYTHING GOES
    WHILES OTHER NATIONS ARE BUSY PROTWCTING THEIR INTERESTS, GH JUS ...

• aduanaba 12 years ago

Ghana should pulled out of the so-called british commonwealth.Afterall it reminds us always of our colonial past.
    May God shave the queen!!

• GHFUO, LOVE/DOR YOURSELF! 12 years ago

I PRAY THE UK BANS ALL GH FOODS, CLOTHES DELICACIES FROM BEING IMPORTED N SOLD. THIS WILL MAKE IT EVEN MORE IMPORTANT FOR GHPPL IN UK TO STOP SPENDING POUNDS ON GH FOOD, GH CLOTHING. MBOA....THOSE RUNNING AFRICAN GROCERY STOR ...

• Jade 12 years ago

No wealth to share commonly. If you go through Europe you will be ok and legal

• Jade 12 years ago

You can come from former French speaking country free without paying a penny, correct? Shame!

• Etsey 12 years ago

Lets think well ooh this visa bond thing is a modern way of "RACISM"

• BIN 1 12 years ago

This is no time to embroil in a diplomatic row becaause it amount to total waste of time,human and materia resources. From the report,it is obvious the UK government is only singling out those nations that are economically ir ...

• Robin Hood 12 years ago

Blockhead Murtala,the announcement is not a rumour.The Home Secretary,Mrs Theresa May,said it in theHouse of Commons two days ago,and all the different media houses have reported it.If the UK government has not officially wri ...

• BRAVEBOY 12 years ago

JUST SIGN GHANA OUT OF THE BLOOD SUCKING ORGANISATION.

• Nijaboy 12 years ago

i dont know what has happened to the african tenets of respect for elders. I am aware that african politicians have mostly not done well , with some few exceptions. However, it is not enough we start abusing them using virule ...

• MR SPOILER 12 years ago

Have you forgotten this same british came to this country to take all our stuffs away and now they want us to pay money before coming into their country.Our leaders will always fool themselves to agree with them because they ...

• D/Sgt. Nuamah 12 years ago

Are you sure , Mr. Information minister, that , the Ghana High Commission in London has not been informed? I.e if they are under obligation to inform the Ghana Govermnent of what amount of money the collect for the issue of V ...

• angle man 12 years ago

why all are crying,Time has come for Ghana to focus and to look to the future,and make OUR ONLY LAND A BETTER PLACE TO LIVED.WHO LIKES TO GO SOMEBODYS COUNTRY,HOPE THEY CHARGE MORE THAN THAT.

• WISE TALK 12 years ago

The bottom line is that exploitation is over, steeling of natural resources is over. Africans and or developing countries are all educating their masses, through democracy and social media. These white baffones are so despera ...

• Dragon Slayer 12 years ago

The policy is to stop people overstaying visa,if you impose bonds to tourist visiting Ghana they will not come and you will loose much needed income, the bond is returnable when you return to Ghana. £50.00 visa cost to visit ...

• ESTHER 12 years ago

U ARE NOT SERIOUS. HOW CAN U TREAT THIS SERIOUS ISSUE AS A RUMOUR?

• Opambour 12 years ago

The UK High Commission should be simply told that their intended action is against the local laws of Ghana as it breaches the banking and financial laws of Ghana. Finito!!!!

People should think and act smart.

• ////////// 12 years ago

WAKE UP GHANA, THIS IS NOT A RUMOUR. IT,S A REALITY.

• Kingsley 12 years ago

Ghana must use its new found economic power to muscle these greedy western bastards to their knees. Revoke all western extradition agreements, British airways permits in Ghana, kill all Bristish own interests and business wit ...

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 12 years ago

BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, BARRISTER-AT LAW, QCL, DPA,CPA,BA(HONS) {GHANA},MASTER OF LAWS (LLM){NEW YORK,USA}PENDING,MEMBER,INTERNATIONAL(WORLD/GLOBAL)BAR ASSOCIATION (IBA),MEMBER,BRITISH COMMONWEALTH LAWYERS ASSOCIATION (CLA),ASS ...

• kakyire london 12 years ago

make use of Ghana oil money so we can live in our country,and stop giving it to lordina to bleech herslf

• Samuel Intsiful 12 years ago

Isn't it strange that a minister in government, will make a claim that the British Home office statement which the whole world knows as truth is a rumour?What is reality then?

• kk 12 years ago

Ghana should just grow the economy and very soon UK will rather be begging for its citizens to work in ghana, already unemployment is running wild.

Note that Angola is now bailing out Portugal and the citizens are moving ...

• nanayaw 12 years ago

gradually,mother ghana will be listed as a terorist state due to a very bad government and corruptions going on in that state.why is this happening?