Ghana's contempt laws archaic – Gyimah-Boadi

Read Comments Comments (111)

• Opanin 10 years ago

The law must be retained otherwise there will be parallel courts simultaneously. People can also just be provocative in their behaviour which could lead judges to make judgements based on emotions rather than the law.

• Gaby Bruk 10 years ago

Asshantis+rats, Ghanaians and flies.

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

Watch GTV & TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM

• PAA 10 years ago

Remember when npp told their followers to dress in white and go to church for thanksgiving even when the final results were not complete just to make a case that they had been robbed so is this one too. In fact, the SC is rea ...

• Ghanaians Are Cursed People! 10 years ago

Thank God We're Not Ghanaians

Can you imagine Ghanaians abusing Nigeria, the giant of Africa, the sunshine, the mountain, and the golf of oil of Africa? Ghana, let us teach you some English, for there's going to be some di ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• F,,K Supreme Court 10 years ago

Fuck all the judges and their cronies. what the hell do they think they are? What makes them think that they are better educated than any one else when they were not the brightest in their classes during secondary school days ...

• Odikro 10 years ago

What is the "appearance fee" to be a panelist on the numerous talk shows.
    More importantly,what guidelines are offered to the panelists by the networks Lawyers ?

• NAT 10 years ago

ASK GOD TO FORGIVE YOU ON THIS COMMENTS

• NAT 10 years ago

IF YOU DON'T PRAY TO GOD,THE ANGELS WILL LEVEL CONTEMPT CHARGES AGAINST YOU FOR TRYING TO CHALLENGE GOD DECISION OF CREATING GHANAIANS.

• Gaby Bruk 10 years ago

HOW DO YOU "PLAY" FOR FORGIVENESS??? HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHHAHA

• Samson 10 years ago

EVERY THING IS WRONG WHEN ITS AGAINST NPP AND THEIR COHORT BUT IS GOOD IF IT FAVOURS THEM.BUT GOD IS NOT IN THEIR PALM THAT IS THE ONLY REASON WHY WE ARE STILL ALIVE AS A NATION.

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

What at all is wrong with these 'aliens' with 'Drs' and 'Profs' preceding their names? Is there something in the imperialist education system that ultimately reduces our 'intellectuals' to become stupid daft morons?

I am g ...

• Chi 10 years ago

Who is that Prof. Emmanuel Gyimah - Boadi?

Where is he living? In Ghana? I doubt.

What I observed regarding the crime of which Ken Kuranchie and Stephen Atubiga were charged for and condemned has nothing to do with "sc ...

• WILLIAM 10 years ago

And when did this law start becoming 'archaic'! Where were these critics where the lower courts were dealing with contempt cases?

• Nana Ansah 10 years ago

Most of these pesky 'DRS' AND 'PROFESSORS' are the bane of troubles we have in Ghana. They are pointless, perfunctionary and as always not practical. To be blunt; most of them are useless, good for nothing bunch of knucklehea ...

• Ohenenana 10 years ago

Nana Ansah just insulted people without saying anything of substance. What have you done with your degree massa.

• NAT 10 years ago

THE PROF.YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT IS A POLITICAL SCIENCE LECTURER AND IS MAKING AN INTELLECTUAL DISCOURSE AS TO HOW PUBLIC OPINION,FREEDOM OF SPEECH,FREEDOM OF THE EXPRESSION AND MEDIA FREEDOM OR FREEDOM OF THE PRESS WILL AFFECT ...

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

As far as I am concerned the so-called Professor was making intellectual bullshit. Nothing more than that. Dont allow yoyureself to be mesmerized by all these academic titles which have not brought any money or development ho ...

• agaagya 10 years ago

l think you are missing the point,please, take your time and forget about party politics and observed the write up then you can understand it well.Its our democracy we are building not dictatorship society which has no futur ...

• Nkayabi Augustine 10 years ago

oooh why

• Kofi Amankwaa, London 10 years ago

Symbiosis,

I think you are confusing the issues here.The two contempt cases are actually significantly different. The Ken Kuranchie case is contentious because it deals directly with the right of a citizen or institution t ...

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

And we always have sub-morons like you who stand up in defence of these non-descript characters who call themselves intellectuals. Perhaps you were not privileged enough to go to a good school to study comprehension. If by an ...

• Agya_Manso 10 years ago

Upon itself to restore "order" and "sanity" in the country. I believe this 'booklong' professor and associates of his like Kwaku Azar,would be the last people to advocate a return of the 'Abongo' boys! What is even more distu ...

• agaagya 10 years ago

Whether you hate the writer or the Drs and Prof. Is your own problem.To your own accounts the country is at the edge of collapsing .Were you and the S.C. Judges in Ghana while the stealing was going on.Or the Wayomi saga, t ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

ANOTHER USELESS THINK TANK. CAN'T THINK. COMTEMPT OF COURT IS WHEN OUTSIDERS ACTIONS DIRECTLY UNDERMINE THE WORK OF JUDGES DOING THEIR WORK WELL. IT IS PRACTISED EVERYWHERE IN THE WORLD. SOMETIMES BY USING THE WORD ALLEGED BE ...

• Odikro 10 years ago

Why are seemingly educated folk,acting so"dense"?
    Experts,who should know better exhibiting "Woeful Ignorance" of the Contempt laws in Ghana.
    Perhaps,these "experts"never "studied" their craft,but rather "purchased" them.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

U are absolutely right. They make some of us feel our certificates are worthless. In fact, our institutions have to refresh their roll of lecturers to help create proper thinkers and growth in Ghana.

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

Odikro and Braveboy, you are both so educated that it makes those Professors seem like sheer illiterates. Keep it up. Africa needs your types to get out of the viscius cycle of under-development.

• Odikro 10 years ago

Thank you Symbiosis,
    Just an enquiring mind,that is all it takes.

• Nigerians Are Cursed People 10 years ago

UNITED NATIONS COMPENSATION UNIT IN AFFILIATION WITH WORLD BANK
    Hide Details
    From
    • MR BAN KI-MOON

To

UNITED NATIONS COMPENSATION IN CONJUNCTION WITH FEDERAL GOVERNMENT OF NIGERIA

IN AFFILIATION WITH N ...

• Ghanaians Are Cursed People! 10 years ago

Ghana Has Failed – Amoabeng
    General News of Saturday, 25 August 2012
    Source: Daily Guide

Prince Kofi Amoabeng, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of UT Bank, says Ghana has failed in spite of the recognition of the countr ...

• Yaw Ohemeng 10 years ago

The Constitution only allows the higher courts to find a person liable to contempt for offences and conducts that may not even be prescribed in law; similarly the penalties. The Constitution does not, however, allow the court ...

• Truth 10 years ago

There must be checks and balances in everything. These days, some individuals and media houses scandalize institutions and other persons and if caught, all they need to do is shout aloud "free speech" just to get away with it ...

• INGRAM 10 years ago

IT IS DIFFICULT TO UNDERSTAND THESE NPP BIASED ORGANISATIONS WHEN THEY OVERFEED ON FUFU AND SOUP

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

We would be right to abolish contempt which scandalizes the courts if were as civilized as the British. But for now with war mongers in our mist and bush folk a plenty we need to retain our laws.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

How can u continue to demean your country. Yes! we have problems but trust me Britain is not that civilised. The word has been over used. There are great morals in Ghana I will value any day over that of Britain.

For a start you and I are using English which is not our native language as a medium of communication.

And secondly we are talking about legislation which relates to contempt of court. The types of Karbo, Owusu Afriyie, Ge ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

General... I am only saying that because your mother is an illiterate does not mean you have to disrespect her. Yes! we have major problems but I will take our un-civilized country to the UK any day. We use the English just l ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

General, you have said it all. We are not "CIVILISED" enough to follow Britain on this.
    BTW, does the useless think Tank know the British NOW have what the EQUIVALENT of PDA (preventive Detention Act) is ??
    We CANNOT even c ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

They have not abolished or even discussed it. I wonder where he is getting that information from. And yes! you are right, they have laws these days the equivalence of the PDA. They will have problems if they dare abolish it w ...

The Law Commission in an extensive report recommended abolishing that aspect of contempt of court. The House of Lords debated it and every speaker spoke in favour of abolishing "scandalizing the court". It is given that the b ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Well you are telling me now and I will definitely check the information and we must also remember Ghana is not an annex of the UK. Like the earlier commentator said, they have laws today that will rival Nkrumah's PDA so do we ...

The laws he refers to are for dealing with terrorists and potential terrorists and not law abiding citizens

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

What do you think Nkrumah's Preventive Detention Act was for?

Was J B Danquah a terrorist?

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Yes! he did things that were a risk to the country but I believe it could have been handled better and believe me Nkrumah regretted that. Today we know who is friend and foe thanks to Nkrumah. Imagine Ghana split into four di ...

• BEST 10 years ago

Thank you BRAVEBOY! Ghana indeed is not an annex of Britain. I live in Britain and I thank God I didn't come here to be civilized. I was civilised in my home country Ghana before coming to Britain.

If the UK and the European Union do not sign cheques YEARLY our civil service will collapse. Our annual budget is funded by overseas aid. We are free only in name but nothing more than a metroploitan district. Compare the dea ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

No ! will not collapse, we will caught our coat according to our side. In fact, you are addressing someone who is absolutely against Aid, loans, charity. We are too endowed to be beggars.

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

bBut Braveboy I thought you were smarter than that. It is the buggers mindset which is faulty. Anything that will come out of it is bound to be likewise faulty. He just cant understand what you are trying to arrive at. He con ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

SYMBIOSIS... It is because he intents to confuse many and so sometimes we have to spend sometime to help others reading tell the truth from the lies. The children may be reading our comments and taking them as facts. At leas ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Sorry,.. word is intends.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

sorry..cut not caught

We are too endowed to be beggars? How come we are still beggars then? How come we have not cut our coat according to our size?

• Kwaku 10 years ago

The British & Americans never spoke about child labour when they were using children to mine for coal during the industrial revolution,today they have machines so they can afford to bring those laws.Ghanaians should wise up.

• Yaw Amofa 10 years ago

Britain is crumbling society with no laws at all.

And yet we survive on the financial assistance they give us every year in order to pay our civil servants.

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

I can only be thankful to God that we are not as 'civilized' as Britain - a patently racist country that enslaved millions of human beings and continues in this day and age to hold many more human beings in several places aro ...

If you read the history of the Gold Coast you will find the opposition that the Ashanti's and the Coastal people put up when the slave trade was abolished. We the Africans made profits from selling our own people and were aga ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

You are right. Until we stop selling ourselves.

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

Braveboy we are not and I repeat, we are not our own worse enemies. De Gaulle and his masters have made it seem so just so that we give up whilst they continue to pillage and plunder.

Unfortunately I have other things to d ...

Woyome and company plunder where they've not sown. Who plunders more than our own politicians?

• akonfem prez come clean,9holes 10 years ago

MONKYE NI NKOAAAAA,EI MAHAMA YOUR SICK,IDIOT,AKONFEM STUPID MAHAMA GANGANTUAN DEPTS,GOD WILL PUNISHED THEM ALL,EVILS,OH GOD POOR GHANIANS

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GOOGLE OR GO TO www greatnanapowerfullspiritualist blogspot.com

• Earl Jones 10 years ago

Is Prof. Gyimah-Boadi suggesting that comments made by Stephen and Ken should be countenance in our fledging democracy?
    The reason why we have no ethnic conflicts based solely on political affiliations in Ghana is because of ...

• Prof Lungu 10 years ago

We support this view:

READ: "...the GBA’s position on the matter is not only confounding, but also defies logic...."

OUR COMMENT: Precisely!

• All Die be Die 10 years ago

Look at his archic face,all these people have degrees.No wonder Nana Addo can practise law without a certificate.

• KK 10 years ago

We do not see such stupid comments anywhere than in Ghana. And these are suppose to be our learned men. First class idiots.

• TT 10 years ago

Prof, the law may be archaic or whatever you would want to call it; but certainly, it is better to have an archaic law than plunge our nation into chaos. In this case, it is common sense that is needed and that is what should ...

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

Good one TT. Give them some more

• Alex 10 years ago

But is through the work of the same booklong that you can even write and read. Common sense could be relative. From your view point its common sense that the law is kept but for others it is against common sense to keep the l ...

• TT 10 years ago

Alex, I may not have chosen my words well, for which I duly apologize; but tell me, were you happy when you heard threats such as someone saying there will be civil war if NDC loses the case? Or were you happy when another pe ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

THUMBS UP TO YOU BRO.

• Kofi Ampaasem 10 years ago

Ghana is not England. Ghana is centuries behind England in many respects. We need to learn to compare like things and avoid copying blindly.
    There is nothing wrong with the current law. Our energies can be bbetter spent on m ...

• SYDNEY 10 years ago

i hope that gyimah boadi is not trying to tell us to be more white than the whiteman whose democracy and governance style we are copying......if democracy and freedom of speech are allowed in ghana without any checks ghana wi ...

• SUMBRUNGU 10 years ago

It's taken Britain more than 800 years of the practice and perfection of its judicial system particularly common law to get to this stage of them now in support of abolishing the offence of contempt of the court. What it mean ...

• abu 10 years ago

THIS IS WHAT YOU GET WHEN YOU MIX POLITICS WITH COMMON SENSE

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

The concern citizens of Ghanaians abroad such as America, Canada, London, Germany, Italy, Australia and Holland, is appealing to the highest court of our country to throw the petitioners foolish and diabolical case that is ha ...

• Kofi Ampaasem 10 years ago

Why are all these "think tanks" mostly always commenting on only political issues? When will they direct some energy to real problems facing the nation e.g (1)Congestion and poor drainage in Accra (2)Pooor accommodation at un ...

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

Kofi Ampaasem when did you arrive on planet earth? Just ask yourself the simple question. Where do all these hundreds of these so-called 'civil society' organizations which include some arrogant ones who call themselves 'thin ...

• Kojo 10 years ago

When it affect you, then the law is archaic. Let's see you draft a better one. Meanwhile all offenders will be punished according to the status quo. Crying will not bring you the moon my friends in the NPP. Oh yeah, you can't ...

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

My friend this is a serious matter. Dont bring the pettiness of NPP and NDC into it. We have more than enough crooks and fools in both of those two political parties to bother about comparing which one of them is better than ...

• Abaabia 10 years ago

Comparing ourselves to the UK and USA in democratic and legislative development to me is unreasonable. If England of all should make a move to expunge the law of contempt just 2012, what are we talking about?

• K.Boateng 10 years ago

IS for ANGLO AYIGBEFUO who are totally Togolese to join Ghana. Ghana would've been a paradise, peace and tranquility among men.

• Gaby Bruk 10 years ago

EVIL BUSIA ACO where innocent Nigerians were FORCEFULLY DEPORTED from Ghana and their valuable PROPERTIES STOLEN from them.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Gab.. you have finally let the cat out of the bag. What did Shagari do to Ghanaians in the 1980s.

• Kwadzo 10 years ago

WHEN DO YOU REALISED THAT THE ON CONTEMPT OF COURT IS ARCHAIC. SO THE SYSTEM SHOULD BE MADE LOOSE FOR YOUR GUYZ TO SPEW RUBBISH ON US & FORMENT TROUBLES HAA.

• Alpha 10 years ago

Gyimah is wrong. Ghanaians by far are rude to rule of law and totally ignorant and they need to educate themselves well to allow democracy to survive. The bush people of NPP are typical example.

• Alex 10 years ago

As Prof. Asare rightly said, this law is supposedly in place to restore the dignity and respect the people have for the courts. On our part of the world respect is commanded instead of it being earned. Once I am a leader I h ...

• Dr Robert K Glah 10 years ago

Allow not foreign law to dictate Ghana law. The unwritten British Constitution evolved and let Ghana laws evolve under its written Constitution. The election petition crisis in Ghana was not in the UK.
    Never be a dangerous c ...

• TONY FRIMPONG 10 years ago

What is this man talking about? I would have love to hear him make distinction between a free speech and the freedom of speech. I don´t know how he will feel if somebody like Kuranchie would get up and insult his father all ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A man was forced to take a day off from work to appear for a minor traffic summons. He grew increasingly restless as he waited hour after endless hour for his case to be heard. When his name was called, late in the afternoon, ...

• J H New York 10 years ago

God save Ghana my Motherland !
    Where from all these Profs,Docs,and
    Think-Tanks who do Not think a little !
    Emmanuel Gyimah-Boadi,you an embarassment to academicians in particular and Ghana and Africa in general.
    Anothe ...

• Shmuel S. Ampofo 10 years ago

In other create a desired state we all hope to see in Ghana. It is essential that the judiciary enforce laws enacted by the legislature.

This is exactly what the nine Judges president by Atuguba are doing. I asked the eth ...

• Spiky 10 years ago

The fact that England is contemplating to expunge "the law of 'scandalising the court'" does not necessarily mean that Ghana should also do the same. Ghana is not an appendage of England. Ghana is a sovereign state; it is IND ...

• Okonko Palm 10 years ago

Scandalizing the court is a historic form of contempt which covers conduct likely to undermine the administration of justice or public confidence in courts and judges. This has nothing to do with the contempt law Per Se.This ...

• Osei 10 years ago

excellent display by Prof. Gyimah Boadi.but i jux cant forget about a grade C u gave me.

• kusi 10 years ago

hey monkey boadi u say what too know man pissof with silly things foolish man

• HELL 10 years ago

LAWYERS AND JUDGES LIVE IN FOOLS PARADISE

• Kwesi 10 years ago

In Ghana we hardly learn to crawl before we attempt to fly. In Britain, people will not say things our political novices say here in Ghana. In the US when a military General derided the President in far away Afghanistan in an ...

• concern ghanian 10 years ago

FOR ME, ACTION NEEDED TO TAKING BECAUSE IN BRITAIN NO ONE CAN SAY THERE WILL BE A CIVIL WAR IF THE SC RULE IN HIS OPPONENT AND WALK FREE, NO ONE CAN PLAN TO GIVE SECURITY I.D CARDS TO SOME THUGS CAUSE TROUBLE TO DISRUPT ELECT ...

• Chigri wagadugu 10 years ago

When ghanaian students go to study in
    Britain do they study abandoned english
    laws or modern laws.

• Whatever 10 years ago

Since when did Gyimah Boadu get to know of our contempt laws being still in use? Certainly not when small fishes were being jailed for that? It is only when the Big Fishes are being jailed that he sees something wrong

• TAMBRO 10 years ago

IN FACT I DON`T AGREE WITH PROF. GYIMAH BOADI.IGNORANCE OF THE LAW IS NO EXCUSE AND I SEE NO REASON WHY EDUCATED PEOPLE LIKE JOURNALIST NEED TO BE EDUCATED ON CONTEMPT SPEACHES AFTER BEEN WARNED BY JUDGES ABOUT CERTAIN SPEAC ...

• TAMBRO 10 years ago

UPON ALL OUR UNIVERSITY DEGREES IN GHANA, IF WE ARE NOT SMART ENOUGH TO MANUFACTURE OR INVENT,DO WE ALSO NEED TO BE EDUCATED SPECIALLY BEFORE WE COULD TALK POLITELY?

• obibini 10 years ago

I want the GBA look at the following lessons and make the corrections 1. Egypt 101 to independence square ghana 2.Removal without a coup 102 3. highly placed persons will be displaced please pass on these lessons to our unive ...

• Tom 10 years ago

Stop hiding in your office and declare your support for NPP, you even know more than GBA

• alfred 10 years ago

Media in GHANA is too partisan,weak and superficial...We could still look into the contempt law though.