Ken Kuranchie: Ghanaians are not civilised people

Read Comments Comments (96)

• OZA 10 years ago

First time no one is commenting on an article about Mr Kuranchie. Therefore I'm not saying anything.

• KOLA, LONDON MAIN 10 years ago

In fact this Thief who was stopped from prosecution by the Late Atta Mills has the chutzpah to come out to talk on matters concerning the Ghanaian economy.

The Very High Profile Thief, Kuffuor Agyekum who stole so much tha ...

• TEACHER 10 years ago

'who stole so much that he [reckoned] [corrution] started from Adam & Eve"

DO YOU KNOW THE MEANING OF RECKONED? STOP USING WORDS YOU DON'T UNDERSTAND. IS THAT HOW YOU SPELL CORRUPTION?

"Government Bungalow has the [un ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

DR. PAA KWESI NDUOM “I saw many “forgotten” communities with no drinking water, no real schools, no electricity, no jobs, with very little to live for. I resolved that win or lose, I would spend my time trying to help s ...

• Gaby Bruk 10 years ago

EVIL BUSIA achievements:
    1. ACO: (which discriminated against fellow Africans, mostly Nigerians. He robbed them of their human rights, stole their properties and VIOLENTLY DEPORTED them to Nigeria).
    2' He succeeded in creat ...

• blueprint 10 years ago

and thats a fact

• "AYABI YOMO3" 10 years ago

SO this NDC KOLA after all these free English lessons from TEACHER hasn't improved his English language. A Foolsoldier indeed !

• ohghanaa.blog.com 10 years ago

All you people are commenting and saying they should improve the prisons, GHANAIANS need focus. To hell with the prisons, what about the water and light that the civilized and unpunished Ghanaians don't have. Don't jump on th ...

• Ofori, K. Mensah 10 years ago

Kuranchie, you ain't see nothing yet. You should thank your God you were in for only 10 days. What were you thinking, Prison as a holiday camp or you would be given the right to the microphone or the media to spew nonsense as ...

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

Well, well, well, welcome to Ghana, Ken

• True Patriot 10 years ago

Trying to impress the readers with words that you don't understand their meanings or words not in English will not put you in a favourable position.

• agaagya 10 years ago

the Kola man makes me laugh anytime l read his rash articles.he has no shame or he has a contract on how many he has to write on each day to get his cheques for the week.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

If in fact you are not an idiot, senseless, a liar, lunatic, a thief,
    dangerous to our country's progress and enemy to our national security, surely you would have know the difference between white and black.

Since you ar ...

• ZIWIKPI 10 years ago

I will bet my BOTTOM DOLLAR that Kola is either on NDC's Pay Roll or he is inward looking (TOP TRIBALIST)

• Kafito 10 years ago

this guy is not well...

• Peter 10 years ago

They forget that anyone at all can go to prison.They should think and make there habitable.Confining someone in a nice place for a long time without wife,husband,children and no livelihood is a big punishment.

• abu 10 years ago

THIS GUY WILL SOON SET UP A FUND AND ASK PEOPLE TO CONTRIBUTE FOR THE PRISONS, BUT WATCH OUT HE IS A FRAUDSTER

• Nana 10 years ago

Ken Kurenchie, you went there and saw how the prisoners are living. Instead of describing their living conditions and accusing Ghanaians of being uncivilized, you the civilized man do something to put an end to those conditio ...

• Concerned 10 years ago

Anybody can find himself in prison, guilty or innocent. Even if you are guilty you don't stop being human. There are some who think it's okay to stone thieves. But murder is worse than stealing. Anyone who treats a fellow hu ...

• OZA 10 years ago

Nonesense! Who told you murder is worse than stealing? Go and tell that to the mother whose newborn baby was STOLEN from the hospital.

• Nobody,Atlanta,US 10 years ago

That is why you have to do any and everything possible to avoid being a prisoner,in other words,be law-abiding.

• Fellow citizen. 10 years ago

One could do everything possible to be a law abiding person. All the same, one could be a victim for no reasons or by any other means. There`s no single person in the country who has no picture of how prison conditions are in ...

• agaagya 10 years ago

Bro we have so many educated illiterate in the country and beyond that they refused to reason for better Ghana. Let us all accept that the country's prison needs some standard if we proud ourselves as civilised people. Period ...

• DIN PA 10 years ago

Kuranchie, you're making the same mistake that sent you to jail. Your article is meaningless to me. A constructive criticism is what is important here. From your experience there, what do you think will bring about improve ...

• GHANAian 10 years ago

I am sorry for this man. Upon all this trouble, he still has the guts to say "Ghanaians are uncivilised"? Well I think these words are also breach of contempt, for insulting Ghanaians. "I put it onto the Court" to send this ...

• Abroampah 10 years ago

You might like or hate this man,but his assertion here,drawing the public attention to the appalling existing conditions in our prisons, is in no way out of place.Like one philosopher put it,"How civilised a society is, depen ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 10 years ago

Abroampah, I don't think that I could have stated it as beautifully as you did, thank you and others like you for being objective and intelligent.

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 10 years ago

With all these wacko leadership - Anita Desoza,Ablokwa,Mahama,Asiedu Nketia, et cetera Ghana does not have any hopes at all.

• OSABERIMA 10 years ago

Its unfair to Ghanaians uncivilized due to a particular issue you have noticed and experienced. Use the platform you have to fight for a change instead of insulting all Ghanaians.

• HARD REPLY 10 years ago

Do you see that guy, Ken as knowledgeable enough?. I don't. Look at somebody saying ghanaians are not civilized. He thinks the weekly newspaper which the sun reads evrything on the paper before the weekend makes him better, h ...

• ICONIC-07 10 years ago

THE ONLY KNOW UNCIVILIZED GHANAIANS ARE THE TRIBAL ASHANTI-AKYEMS WHO DON'T SEE ANYTHING GOOD ABOUT OTHER GROUPS, SAVE THEMSELVES.

ARE YOU INTELLIGENT YOURSELF? AN INTELLIGENT CITIZEN IS LAW ABIDING AND RESPONSIBLE AND RES ...

• Concerned Ghanaian 10 years ago

I attribute your illiterate bigotry rantings to low self esteem and the inferiority complex of how you feel.

• GINGER 10 years ago

BRAVO GUY COME AGAIN !!!

• BoB 10 years ago

The inhuman treatment In our prison population should be looked at,because this politicians knows they are not going there. This corrupt politicians should be House In those facilities

• Thierry 10 years ago

Ken has been encouraged to talk loosely by his NPP cronies and lawyers. He thinks he can say whatever he wants and get away with it. in-fact the picture of your family tells me that you are uncivilised. you really are a nobod ...

• sojaman 1 10 years ago

The Radio programme "Boiling Point" is not aired on Mondays but Tuesday and Thursday. I listen to it on the internet even if I am out of Ghana.

• angle man 10 years ago

Does why is good to puts high society,into prison whenever they also violets the law of the land,cus our prisons were full of low people.in all,i blamed the law makers,making prisons looked good,is not done for the prisoners, ...

• SolJa 10 years ago

oh so you still want to be relevant in the news yeah? even dumb people know you messed up big time and thats why you landed yourself in there.now you been there done that and know what you are saying.of course its a good thin ...

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 10 years ago

KEN, SO NOW THAT YOU HAVE SEEN THE PRISONS, DO YOU BLAME KUFUOR FOR WRONGFULLY JAILING TSATSU?

• TROKOSI USING MAHAMA 10 years ago

These are two different issues and making comparisons is wrong. EX-CONVICT Tsatsu is a CRIMINAL whilst Ken is not.

• Zegbete 10 years ago

This idiot will still not shut up. Fool he is now talking about entire Ghana including his big head.

Has he forgotten himself so soon that he was not been civilized hence his imprisonment?

You must be lucky to be alive ...

• kopor 10 years ago

can't you mention the name of the PNC secretary?

• Preacher 10 years ago

AM HAPPY THAT U WERE SENT THERE. I MEAN THE PRISONS. TELL THEY LAWYERS TO STOP COVERING CRIMINALS FOR THE DESERVE TO BE THERE. WE NEED PEACE IN GHANA AND YOUR INCITEFUL WORD COULD HAVE PLUNGE THE COUNTRY INTO CHAOS. TAKE A LE ...

• pink sheet president 10 years ago

MrEx convict !
    what about you ?

• BIG ENGLISH 10 years ago

Was he convicted or just sent to prison? It could be contradictory so please check the difference.

• GINGER 10 years ago

KWASEA TOMORROW AGAIN !!
    YOU WILL LEARN LESSONS

• ASEM WO MANO 10 years ago

Arent you a Ghanaian afterall?
    What A Nation?

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GOOGLE OR GO TO greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• kusi 10 years ago

jail bird you again you will go to round two .

• kusi 10 years ago

Can you give us your jail number pls

• ODIKRO 10 years ago

I KNOW KEN IS A YOUNG MAN BUT HE WAS NOT BORN YESTERDAY. WHEN LAWYERS WENT TO VISIT TSATSU IN NSAWAM PRISON, THEY MADE A STATEMENT OF THE CONDITIONS IN THERE. THEY MADE A CALL IN THEIR QUICKLY PUT TOGETHER(UNANIMOUSLY APPROV ...

• American D 10 years ago

Everyone has an opinion but have you EVER been inside odf one of those prison? Cells made for 10 people have 60-70 people in them, the food is minimal, mosquitoes, illness the stecnch. And what about those who are remanded ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

Mensah Johnson wanted to determine if both his wife, Abena, and mistress, Ekua were faithful to him. Mr.. Johnson decided to send them on a cruise. Abena had been asking to go on one for years. Ekua was thrilled with the idea ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON. 10 years ago

What makes a nation a 'civilized nation'?Having hotel-like prisons which encourage high re-offendings as we have in Europe or tough prison regimes as we have in Ghana and America?All that we need in Ghana are prisons which ar ...

• Kwadzo 10 years ago

FOOLS KNOW THAT YOU KNOW THE PRISONS ARE NOT INHABITABLE AFTER ALL THESE YEARS OF PRACTISING GABBAGE & RUBISH JOURNALISM. STOP THE POLITICS & CONCENTRATE ON USEFUL SOCIAL ISSUES SUCH AS THE ONE YOU EXPERIENCE IN PRISONS. YOU ...

• Kwadzo 10 years ago

FOOL THINK & USE THE KNOWLEDGE INVESTED IN U FOR USEFUL VENTURES SO CAN WIN NATIONAL & INTERNATIONAL AWARDS, THIS WAY YOU HAVE A GOOD DEAL GOING BEFORE YOUR OUR MAKER GOD TO RENDER & OFFER THANKS GIVING SERVICE.

• km agyin 10 years ago

I am happy that Ken has turned an advocate to fight for better conditions in our prisons. At least something good has come from his sentence. Please don't stop championing the right of our prisoners to be treated with the bas ...

• Pumpuni 10 years ago

Sensational headline. Quoted out of context.

• KWAME 10 years ago

This revealation will mean nothing to some of us. I expecy comment like ''people in prison deserve no dignity''. But as properly stated Ghanaians dont deserve to call themselves as civilized. We are not managing our resources ...

• Nana Yaw Effah 10 years ago

Koranchie, prison is different from hotels.

• Kofi Ampaasem 10 years ago

Prisons my look terrible as compared to Europe. What about the situation outside prison? Can you compare any local market to shopping mall?, or public toilet to a similar facility in Europe? We need to improve on all front. T ...

• BLAC-STAR-STATE 10 years ago

THIS POLITICIAN,MUST FIND OUT CORRECT
    AND ADECUATE PHRASE,OR VOCABUALY TO
    EXPRESSES,AND NARRATES HIS CONDITIONS
    WHEN,HE WAS IN PRISON-CELLS,TO NATION
    WIDE,

• AHANTARIAN/AKAN 10 years ago

THIS FELLOW SHOULD HAVE COME OUT NARRATING HIS EXPERIENCES TO THOSE,WE
    HAVE DEMOCRATICALLY ELECTED TO PERFORMS
    AND ACTS ON BEHAVE OF ALL THE GHANAIANS
    CITIZENS,

• Gilbert 10 years ago

No wonder, Ken Kuranchi is Mad and needs Psychiatric attention. his utterances show that he needs a place at Pantang.

• Kofi Mensah 10 years ago

I DO NOT AGREE WITH KEN KURANCHIE OnN THE TREATMENT OF PRISONERS IN GHANA JAILS. HE SHOULD APPLY TO BE THE GOVERNOR OF ALL GHANA JAILS IF HE SO WISHES.PRISONERS ARE COSTING THE ECONOMY WHEN THEY HAVE TO BE FED.
    IF I HAD THAT ...

• Nii Bortey 10 years ago

Ken Kuranchie,i think you are the first person you are not civilised.after ur Prison you go to church for thanks giving Crazy.you are not HONEST,bcos you dont say the truth.bcos you wont people to buy your Paper so you write ...

• AKWAPIMBA,LAS PALMAS DE G.C.,SPAIN 10 years ago

YOU ARE A STUPID MAN.YOU ARE RATHER UN CIVILISED MAN.YOU THINK PRISON IS HOLIDAY MAKING AND MOTHER GHANA BELONGS TO YOUR POCKET.NEXT TIME URINATE IN YOUR HOUSE BEFORE YOU ATTEMPT TO URINATE NEAR OR INSIDE THE CHURCH.WITH HAR ...

• nas ntim 10 years ago

experience teaches best

• ZION AYARIGA 10 years ago

This is not about civilization ,is about the reality the authorities in all sectors of our nation lacks the vision and wisdom to bring a change,because they are self centered and corrupt.Ken we all knew the situations of our ...

• Strongbow 10 years ago

Now Ken know that Ghana is not what he was trumpeting. As a nation we have a lot to do. visit to some part not even far from our so call cities u realize that we are far far behind. NPP and NDC in power will tell u every thin ...

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

Mr Kuranchie,Sir John,Keneedy Agyepong and the rest of the Okurasi Thugs disturbing the peace in Ghana,are all not civilized people.You are relying on the Supreme court render fairness and Justice,but refuse to respect it.

• James B. Otafregya 10 years ago

If those prisoners should enjoy glamourous life behind bars, they'll always make sure they land there and enjoy it.

However, if they have it hard there, they'll learn lessons and do everything possible not to taste prison ...

• Jeff, UK 10 years ago

In the first place,prisons are not recreational homes. When people murder, rape and maime people, you do not expect the tax payer who turn out to be the victims to pay for their comfort. Yes, some people may innocently get in ...

• Kofi Mensah 10 years ago

Thank you my brother ghanaian. KEN KURANCHIE is behaving like a spoilt brat.
    We say in England where i am that IF YOU CANNOT DO THE TIME, DON'T DO THE CRIME.Thank you.
    He is not setting a good example for his own children i ...

• Jeff, UK 10 years ago

I mean recreational centres

• m. henaku 10 years ago

It's quite sad to say perhaps the new experience gained by the noble journalist will go a long way to alleviate the suffering of poor prisoners who live in squalor. This will highlight the plight of the voiceless prisoners.

• KWAA 10 years ago

Just read the comments on Ghanaweb,then you will agree with Ken that indeed we are not civilised.

• James B. Otafregya 10 years ago

We thank God that you are one of us, the uncivilized ones.

Remember that Kuranchie said 'Ghanaians', but not 'some Ghanaians'.

• Lord Garvah 10 years ago

You are big fool, do you expect them to enjoy life there without learning nothing? Prison were built to transform people like you, fool.

• K-Manu 10 years ago

PeacefM reporter shame on you. You just want to inflame passion. Your caption is misleading. Ken was expressing his view about the deplorable condition of Ghana prisons and this is no way intended to attack Ghanaians as unc ...

• Wulfaang 10 years ago

What a stupid generalization. If you are not civilized, I and many others are.

• Sammy, South Africa 10 years ago

Civilised Ghanaians will always stay out of troubles onless by mistake or ortherwise.
    Places where prisons have been made better places, when criminal are released, they commit offenses again so that they will have the easy ...

• truth 10 years ago

Ken is the only civilized Ghanaian in Ghana

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

Frankly if people seriously want to make a difference in our prison system, you don't need to become an inmate yourself to appreciate that there are problems. From the colonial times when conditions were horrible, we are stil ...

• Apia 10 years ago

FOR MOST FOLKS LIVING OUTSIDE THE PRISONS ISN'T DIFFERENT. CLUELESS GOVERNMENT TO BLAME...

• oyinasky 10 years ago

EXACTLY MY POINT.THOSE LIVING OUTSIDE THE PRISONS ARE NOT ANY BETTER

• Great 10 years ago

Oh GOD,So there is no good news about Ghana?, when are we going to change our mindset?. a Question to all.

• osei yao 10 years ago

Ignorant journalists reporting who said what thought that was the acme of their profession. They failed to investigate and report and expose the evil in our society. Now Ken Kuranchie has seen sense. Hope he makes the best of ...

• Special t 10 years ago

I am glad you are fighting the good. Before this whatever you printed and said were all rubbish . Ghanaians! the prison system works.

• Kwame Kumi 10 years ago

All of a sudden, Ken is creating the impression that it's only after doing all in his power to become an ex-convict that it has come to him that finding oneself in prison is nothing like going on an excursion. But why I see ...

• Abena Gyumfua 10 years ago

Is he not a Ghanaian? If Ghanaians are not civilized then he is one of the uncivilzed people. Iss that why he changed the spelling of his name so he can become an European? What a shame! Opo ntraso!

• Sikamanba 10 years ago

The conditions of the prisons are secondary matters. The people should live right to avoid being sent to prison. The nation does not have surplus to make prison comfortable for convicts like Ken Kuranchi.The prisons have alwa ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

I guess Ken has just realised that Ghanaians are among the developing peoples of the world [and that includes the members of the Brotherhood of Nitwits who populate Ghanaweb], and thus not counted among the civilised peoples ...

• Dr Boom 10 years ago

if the bulldog himself is a civilized man he may not make that fullish comments so we accept but he is our leader

• Kk3 10 years ago

The moral of his story is .....all the ministers and government officials should spend a stint in prison and maybe then, will Ghanaians come into civilization.

• Dessy 10 years ago

Facts are real but comment are free...he is entitle to his opinion and everyone in Ghana is entitle to his opinion..so yeah,he is entitle to his opinion