Judges must declare assets periodically - Chief Justice

Read Comments Comments (28)

• USMAN 10 years ago

That judge who handled the Argentine Warship case must declare his asset first.

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

Chief Justice Georgina Wood, May God bless you always !

For sure, if the Judiciary is able to curb itself of the perception of corruption and corruption itself, it will go a long way to rid the sub-region of the canker tha ...

• GHANAVIA 10 years ago

Asseta declaration must start from the presidency in comformity with the constitution.

Why can't Drossmania Mahama declare his assets and urge members of government and politicians to do same? Kleptomaniacs!!!

• krikri 10 years ago

Georgina Wood, you are good. When you assumed office you spoke intelligently and honestly. Regrettably you allowed the greedy thiefman JA Kuffour to taint you. I feel sad you allowed yourself to be pulled down the NPP kleptoc ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

The concern citizens of Ghanaians abroad such as America, Canada, London, Germany, Italy, Australia and Holland, is appealing to the highest court of our country to throw the petitioners foolish and diabolical case that is ha ...

• OBURUMANKUMA 10 years ago

Let the chief justice and the nine sitting on the petition set the ball rolling...

• KOFI 10 years ago

Politicians must set the example first.

• Zombie Killer 10 years ago

That's true her LADYSHIP

• AFARI GYAN - 27 ZERO;CREATED,LOOTED 7 10 years ago

John Mahama and all his ministers and political appointees MUST declare their assets as mandated by the law of the land.

• Abeiku 10 years ago

To me, there is not difference between politicians and judges in Ghana. They are equally corrupt.

• GLI AGBEZEDOR 10 years ago

..... A WORD TO THE WISE SHOULD BE ENOUGH TO ABUGUTA!!!!!

• Jack 10 years ago

Wasn't this woman who presided over the biggest cocaine-laden corruption in Ghana's history and got promoted to her current position?

• Jack 10 years ago

After presiding over the most corrupt cocaine-laden investigation in Ghana, Georgina Wood was decorated with the Order of the Star of Ghana -- the nation's highest honor -- by the most corrupt president Ghana ever had, Kuour.

• Osagyefo Kwame Nkrumah 10 years ago

When anybody abuses and talks about Ashantis they are also abusing and talking about Akans and "Ethnic Akans".

Akans and "Ethnic Akans" are the "native ethnic group" and "largest ethnic group" of South Ghana (as in North S ...

• ghanaba 10 years ago

Well said,her ladyship

• AMPONSA KAKABO LONDON 10 years ago

Thank you your Ladyship, as far as I'm concerned it should start from our current panel on the Bench at our Supreme Court because there is a singing bird whether is a vulture, crow or canary on top of Supreme Court building ...

• Kofi Abochie 10 years ago

When we win a competitive game we like everybody to know it. If we win the lottery, except for the selfish, we like to announce it. But if we steal we wish that nothing becomes transparent. It is a question of integrity which ...

• YAA 10 years ago

THEN WE WILL KNOW THOSE MAHAMA HAS GIVEN THEM MONEY, ATUGUBA AND OTHERS

• ADWEN 10 years ago

I am surprised that all what a Chief Justice could propose or think of is a mere declaration of assets a means of fighting corruption.
    This is just a negligible approach to fighting corruption. Corruption is thriving in Afri ...

• Theo 10 years ago

There is too much rot and immoral practices there that will have to import the services of righteous practitioners from abroad.

• benq 10 years ago

Please give Mr. Amidu the chance to fight corruption

• Concern Worker 10 years ago

Declaration of asset is good it should start from the Judicial service workers especially the HR dept were Nii Boye and co takes money and sleep with ladies and give them high ranks some of which came into the service with DB ...

• obroni 10 years ago

Corruption doesn't always involve money exchanged, some of them are so cheap an invitation to a nice restaurant buys their favoring judgments.
    A corrupt judge is more dangerous then any other criminal, because is 99.99999999 ...

• KOFI - USA 10 years ago

YOU ARE CORRUPT TOO. YOU INJECT YOURSELF INTO CASES AND APPOINT JUDGES WHO WILL LISTEN TO YOU TO SIT ON CASES OF INTEREST TO YOU. YOU CALL YOURSELF A CHRISTIAN BUT YOU ARE A DEVIL IN DISGUISE. ARE YOU GOING TO DISCLOSE YOUR ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

While walking through a courthouse, a kid enters an empty courtroom. He sees a fine leather briefcase (the kind the lawyers carry) sitting on the table, picks it up and exits through the back door of the courtroom into the ju ...

• Zerowayo 10 years ago

How to catch money laundering (AML).If Mr. J's salary per year is 5,0000 units and for 10 years the Mr. J then got 50,000 but Mr. J's total assets (properties including buildings, investment, cash, etc) at the 10 year period ...

• Kofi Abochie 10 years ago

We are just making noise. We don't have the solution for corrupt Africa yet; not in this era. We tried a brutal uncivilized approach a couple of decades back but it provided a temporary solution. Corruption is everywhere but ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

CHIEF JUSTICE THIS A GOOD SUGGESTION FR JUDGES TO DELADRE ASSTES PERIODICALLY.

BUT,MADAM ARE YOU NOT AWARE THAT STOLEN FUNDS FROM THE STATE, DO ALWAYS END UO BEING GIVING TO THEIR RELATIVES AS THEIR OWN CAPITAL.

FOR THE ...