I want to kiss the president’s legs - Theodosia Oko

Read Comments Comments (47)

• Ghana 10 years ago

This President is not respected or Vanderpuije would not have taken this monumental decision without informing the President.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

Oko was just being a sycophant. Ask Oko if that is what he learnt in the USA. Can Jimmy Carter's Boulevard be renamed after someone when Jimmy is alive? Stop creating problems for Mahama. Mahama had to go all lengths to save ...

• kutunpofo 10 years ago

Karikari, what are you saying again? Vanderpuiye should "..stop creating problems for Mahama"? For Gods sake Karikari, Vanderpuiye is a creation of the Mills/Mahama pantomime show.

Nobody knew of this Vanderpuiye guy unti ...

• Kwesi 10 years ago

Theodosia Okoh is a national hero, just like Atta Mills. There's no need to destroy the legacy of one for the benefit of the other. There are other things that can be named after Mills.

• Ketasco Headmaster 10 years ago

Was Krobo Edusei not a paper boy when Kwame Nkrumah brought him into government? Krobo Edusei was a stack illiterate who spoke no English but Twi. How Kwame Kwakye whose 'mission' in the government was Roman Catholic? The old ...

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

Madam Okoh, you don't need to kiss any foot for the action and inaction of the NDC clowns in power.

If a thief steals your property and returns it to you, you don't have to say 'thank you'.

Madam, if it weren't you, Gha ...

• CITIZEN ONE 10 years ago

After posting an article about how ignorant our journalists are, and how gullible and equally stupid(donkeys) the people of Ghana really have been natured, I went to goggle Theodosia Oko, and come to find out, she DESIGNED? o ...

• KWAME 10 years ago

you are starting to believe in your ignorance. What you should be discussing is the meaning behind the colors. You argued from a childish point of view, colors. What is wrong with people being patriotic? That is actually ...

• kutunpofo 10 years ago

Citizen One, your distaste for the colors of our national flag is purely a matter of personal taste. Randomly looking around I notice that most countries have flags that are simplistic in design and with loud colors. The reas ...

• nana akufo addo 10 years ago

The foul-mouthed nonentity who calls himself "CITIZEN ONE" should be ashamed of himself for describing Ghanaians as stupid. If you have no respect for yourself and your families, don't visit that uncouth upbringing on the peo ...

• vc 10 years ago

The new international airport would be named after Mills. Madam Oko keep cool. You can have the hockey stadium.

• Dr. NAPOLEON BONAPARTE 10 years ago

I SALUTE PRESIDENT MAHAMA FOR THE MOVE.

• kutunpofo 10 years ago

It is the people of Ghana who expressed strong and widespread indignation at this sad state of affairs that prompted the President to act so as to save his own credibility.

The President, on his own, seems not to have the ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Thank god we have strong social media and FM stations and phone-in programs, or this national heroine would have thrown under the bus for being a woman by insensitive bunch.
    Again thanx to all who rained their anger on do-l ...

• KWAME 10 years ago

At least he did not have to retrieve stolen money this time....give him small assignments to boost his moral. little steps.

• GHANABA 1 10 years ago

what is wrong with this gov.in power afterall? They are sick and shaky about how Mills died and trying all means to please his ignorant fante family

• edd 10 years ago

Great.all is not lost NDC.

• Venus 10 years ago

For the first time I ve seen the president taken a swift action. Ghanaians want more swift actions on corruption. Bravo.

• Moderator 10 years ago

Mr. President kindly sack this "Do Little Accra Kenkey & Shito Mayor" on the spot!!!
    He has made Accra a stinking waste-belt, what a useless Ga Mayor for our booming capital?
    Replace him with anyone from the Nort ...

• Kuuku Annan 10 years ago

If this guy was appointed he should be fired, and if elected a recall election must be held to get his stupid face out from the TV screens very quickly, or better still ,his deputy must be made to act in his stead!

• Kwasi 10 years ago

oye kwasia paa gimifuo most silly goat in accra idiot.

• Dompreh 10 years ago

Rawlings, Atta-Mills gov'ts were not disciplined ones and the worst of it all is Mahama's. how on earth could an unqualified person acting as a mayor of a sprawling city like Accra usurp the power of parliament and the presid ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

The concern citizens of Ghanaians abroad such as America, Canada, London, Germany, Italy, Australia and Holland, is appealing to the highest court of our country to throw the petitioners foolish and diabolical case that is ha ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

GO ahead and kiss his legs!

• akyea 10 years ago

Great job.

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris 10 years ago

nd God bless u! Naana Theo Oko....from Samms!

• La la la 10 years ago

What gives themAMA boss the right to take such executive decisions unilaterally? About time he was made to eat some very humble pie. Thank God common sense has prevailed. God bless Madam Theodosia Oko, and God bless our homel ...

• C.O.D 10 years ago

This confused NDC-led gov`t is adivised to consider someone better to name historical places or sites after rather than the late Fiifi Mills. Let`s face it and be frank and face facts: what are his living achievements to meri ...

• ECOMINI 10 years ago

This government always claims it did not know. They knew what Vanderpuye was going to do. Now they beat retreat. Shame on them.

• ECOMINI 10 years ago

I think Madam Oko needs better recognition than her name on a hockey stadium. The Ghana Flag is too important that the woman's name needs to be put on a very huge monument or place or something that is used on a daily basis.

• Ketasco Headmaster 10 years ago

All along, I was expected to read something about this 91-year-old Theodosia. Who and what was and is she? For the sake of those who are reading about this old lady for the first time, I thought Joy Online will say something ...

• CITIZEN ONE 10 years ago

I simply can't believe how ignorant we are collectively. Sometimes, no, almost invariably your patience gets exhausted hoping that one single person will prove you wrong out of a hundred, by Ketasco, they are all the same.

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 10 years ago

This 91-year old Theodosia was the one who designed our Nation's Flag. Also been a sports individual during her Achimota school days with interest in hockey, she bought a government land later on and constructed a hockey pitc ...

• JIM KELLY (USA) 10 years ago

Thank you, KETASCO HEADMASTER.I was also hoping to read a little about this lady from this article about who she is and her contribution to Ghana that warranted her name being bestowed on the National Hockey Pitch. Again I w ...

• NII 10 years ago

IF OHENE-DJAN IS NOT A GA AND SO DOES NOT DESERVE TO HAVE THE STADIUM NAMED AFTER HIM, IS ATTA MILLS A GA ? WAS THE PRESIDENT PART OF THE TEAM THAT EFFECTED THE CHANGE OF THE OHENE-DJAN SPORTS STADIUM. THEO, DON'T MIND THAT S ...

• LINDA 10 years ago

Nii, great, you took the wind out of my sail. you summed and said it all. lets have more of your write-ups i enjoy them

• Abban 10 years ago

You've said it all Nii,we all know Mahama like the back of our hands now.
    He is not even a smart lier like Afari Gyan.

• kutunpofo 10 years ago

Good point Nii. That Vanderpuiye is such an idiot it is incredible that he claims to have had secondary school education. Sometimes I wonder why all these govts employ fools to head the AMA when they win power. Could it be th ...

• OMAN BA PA USA 10 years ago

Vanderpuiye if the allegation were true that he did not consult the "President, before taking this step then it means he, Vaderpuiye does not respect the President. Therefore he should be sacked immediately. Who born "DOG"?

• miwazzy 10 years ago

take a critical look at this beautiful woman and you will see the expression of president mills joy face in her smile .kudos to democratic governance the voice of the people rule

• Princekin 10 years ago

fine decision from Mr president

• kofi gbagbo 10 years ago

AMA mayor is a fool.

• CONCERN CITIZEN 10 years ago

THIS AMA GUY IS AN IDIOT AND TROUBLE MAKER. IN FACT I SEE THIS AS CONTEMPT CHANGING PNE HERO'S NAME FOR ANOTHER. HE SHOULD GO TO JAIL SAME DAYS LIKE KEN KURANCHIE

• Ship Dealer 10 years ago

Mama, Don't worry NDC as Party.
    Have no sens. They are evils and they kill.

• the truth 10 years ago

hockey pitch after the design of our flag that which is a symbol of the country used every where?this is a disgrace the woman deserves more than that what a joke let get her something better befitting than hockey pitch

• alfred 10 years ago

oh mahama why did you keep this MAYOR

• Aristotel. Akyem Oda old town 10 years ago

President J. Mahama.papapaaaaaaaa. No size. Mahama Good one there.!! @Guosh!!