'Embarrassing case against ‘arsonists’ has collapsed'

Read Comments Comments (61)

• Ghana-Man 10 years ago

They reason from their stomach. They don't have any brains.

• Ghana-Man 10 years ago

NDC Government is deliberately causing all those market fires to cause more pain to Ghanaians, especially the Akans knowing that the Akans (KWAHUS, AKIMS, ASANTES,etc) own over 90% of the market stalls/stores. It is the NDC d ...

• GOLD COAST MAN 10 years ago

When arsons keep burning our markets and you are happy because judges let let go of the suspects? have you heart for your country?

• samu uk 10 years ago

haven heart for the nation mean arresting of innocents people,is that your definition of haven a heart for the nation?

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Source: Daily Guide...

All of a sudden nonentities want to portray to the world how close they were to the late President.

Those who had to chat with him for one hour everyday, those Deputy Ministers who had to call him ...

• ASIEDU NKETIA 10 years ago

When propaganda takes root in your government,you turn out to be a fool.It looks like when the whistle was blown to form political parties,all the liers joined NDC and the good ones joined the good parties.They have been deep ...

• Paa Joe (UK) 10 years ago

I read here on this site that the government had brought in fire investigators from USA and that had determined the cause of the fire.
    Shame on this government. They think Ghanaians can't do anything right until foreigners c ...

• Lafia 10 years ago

the victims should find lawyers to sue the states and the government for false charges, assassination of character,andfalse publication against their fates, the government must be made to pay 3 million USD compensation each t ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

You can't even think with your head because of your blind side with this stupid NDC. Forget about NPP for a while and use your brains. You don't arrest people without evidence, period. Ghana-man is not happy any market is bur ...

So you mean they just match into the suspects houses and picked them up for fun? and you are happy because suspects have been freed?look, it is only NPP which have something to gain by burning markets. They have preached to G ...

How can NPP gain from setting fires? Most people in the markets are NPP supporters, even in Accra. Kumasi Market has the largest of NPP followers in the country. How many times has the market been set on fire? Instead of crea ...

• Koforidua Flowers (fr) 10 years ago

Leave them alone.They will live to regret.Just creating fun and making mockery of Ghanaians.This notorious government of the ndc led by Young grey headed John cannot fool the people all the time.How can a Kumasie market burn ...

• ADWEN 10 years ago

Mahama his been in government for one whole year yet he has not managed to address even one problem/issue successfully in Ghana.
    He has rather escalated every problem created by Atta Mills - electricity problem (dumsor dumso ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

What evidence did they have before they arrested these men? If they have any evidence, why can't they produce it in court three times they have gone to court? Ndc has a record of arresting innocent people for propaganda purpo ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

They are so stupid when they went to heaven they said they were passing out brains, they thought they said trains so they said give me a slow one .

• Kweku Asare 10 years ago

“…We said it, that it was going to collapse…at the end of the day, that’s it, it’s collapsed,” he said on Saturday July 27, 2013."

Why is NPP happy about the collapse of this case?

NPP are very wicked people ...

It is just too difficult to jail people on propaganda. What will be the use to the country if people are jailed for setting fires when they did not. Initially, we were told 7 people were in custody. Now we have 2 presented in ...

Yes, if Ghanaians are arrested for arson and the prosecutors fail to produce evidence to back their case, why shouldn't the suspects be released? Of what value will their incarceration be if the real "arsonists" are still fre ...

This is a party of criminals. A mafia-type organized crime group who are holding Ghana hostage. They torch markets and demand that nobody should go back and see the damage. They lie that American experts can find a solution a ...

• samu uk 10 years ago

STOP ur foolishness fool. NDC is inter tribes party, and so the markets.
    it belong to all tribes,cultural and faith.Ghana would only move forward as one nation one people,or sink deep when is divided.

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

This is a sick Government headed by
    sick President and very wastefull on
    money and time

Konongo Kaya NDC, they have no vision yet they have held Ghana hostage with all kinds of criminals like the Awhois, Kofi Adams, Asiedu Nketia, The Vanderpuijes, Anyidoho, Ablakwa and many others. I applaud the NDC for being ...

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 10 years ago

Re: 'Embarrassing case against ‘arsonists’ has colapsed; Micheal, you are just an idiot, you are not following the case. Leave your partisan lenses behind and you could reason better,

• GHANABA 1 10 years ago

All what ndc know is to lie and loot.I wish one of these suspects were a family member of mine.I would have dealt with the NDC gov.very well in Court.I know going to court is not easy but how on earth would you arrest innoce ...

• ABI 10 years ago

THIS GVT IS CORRUPT WE SHD TOPPLE IT

• Sarkodie 10 years ago

So you are happy! What kind of people are you? People have lost their livelihood and suffered terrible loss of income and the only suspects to these crimes are released and you are happy. May the wrath of God terrify you lot.

• Ghana-Man 10 years ago

Those arrested are not the real suspects. NDC Government is the suspect.
    NDC Government is only trying to find a scapegoat. The truth will come out one day.

• Joe 10 years ago

The family of those who were in custody illegally as a result of the false accusation of being arsonists should sue the NDC government. This is a useless government that do not know what it is doing. I would not be surprised ...

Your diabolic acts does not only hurt ordinary Ghanaians but yourselves too. If suspected arsons are let go free by judges then it is a victory for you NPP? heavens must let loose because your 70 years old man Nana Ado lose a ...

• anna 10 years ago

there is no more truth in our leaders!!

• SULE 10 years ago

This is by far the worst and most inept gov't team ever. Propaganda, lies, deceit, and a profound lack of seriousness is constantly being exhibited by the Mills-Mahama-Amissah Arthur administration day in and day out. Surely, ...

Of course you NPP can not go about burning Ghana and demonstrating both in Ghana and Abroad and scaring away investors with your war speeches and at the same time want Ghana to move forward. Whatever you do will have effect o ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

He sounds like he has inside knowledge about the fires.

• asem beba dabi 10 years ago

He is a competent lawyer, that's how he knows,

He also knows that we are dealing with prosecuters who are being manipulated by a govt that feeds on proganda, and falls severely short on competence.

• ASEM BE BA DABI 10 years ago

Very stupid.Mahama is stupid.He lacks wisdom,incompetent and with no vision.

• pink sheet president 10 years ago

Mr. Otoo,
    Iagree with you !
    When dealing with diabolical deceivers and liers, you must be very tactful and careful !!!!

• koo 10 years ago

Nana bin drugs can never be a president. It's written and signed. With God, Mahama will succeed.

• Michael 10 years ago

Every right thinking Ghanaian should be concern about the market fires and be happy to see the perpetrators apprehended and dealt with, but the NPP seems happy it is happening and the perpetrators are not found, what an irony ...

Most Ghanaians will be happy if the so-called perpetrators are apprehended. That does not mean we should be happy even if in the government's desperation, they punish innocent people. What is so difficult about producing evid ...

• FRedsaid 10 years ago

With all the luminaries they have they (the ndc) continue to loses cases. Presumably, the figure will go up to 21-0 after the SC's final decision.

• jeija 10 years ago

It has collapse in the face man but not God. Don't thing that your bad deeds are covered just because the suspects are freed.

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 10 years ago

The reason why the case is shamefully collapsed is because the real arsonist is the very man Lantey Vanderpuije and his criminal hoodlums anti Akans behind the fire in an attempt to get rid of the Akan speaking traders from t ...

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GOOGLE OR GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• eric asare 10 years ago

there will always arrest innocent ones keep them if cell just wit out any course and those victim will not get any compesation from the state the number days there spend in custody this can never be than any where except gha ...

• GOOFY 10 years ago

WHAT HAPPENDED TO THE AMERICAIANS THEY ARE SUPPOSOE TO HELP US TO SOLVE ARSONIST PROBLEM GUESS THAT TO IS A LIE

• KNYC (USMC) 10 years ago

What Americans, there is no Americans. NDC morons want to make money out of this. The Gov't have no evidence, but create impressions, only a fool will do that. What kind of people are this?

• koo 10 years ago

The fact that Mahama won the election makes foolish NPP to bring him down. God never chosen nana bin drugs.

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A lawyer and a broker were fishing in the Volta Lake. The lawyer said, "I´m here because my house was flooded, and the insurance company paid for everything."

"That´s quite a coincidence," said the broker. "I´m here bec ...

• Clarence Hedzolleh 10 years ago

Hahahahahaha!!! Those working against the system are really doing a good job of it. Hi guys!!! I don't think it was lack of evidence; it was (and still is) the unwillingness to produce the evidence so that the case could 'co ...

• KNYC (USMC) 10 years ago

NDC inside job. You're right the "unwillingness to produce the evidence." If you may recall P/NDC lead by JJ bomb Makola, and burn it down. This is not new to NDC party. The record is there.

• kwofi 10 years ago

WERE THERE ANY ARSONISTS @ ALL? DA REAL ARSONISTS'RE DA NDC YOUTH @ SALAGA.

Thank you!

• Whatever 10 years ago

If I were the government I'd re-arrest the released arsonist together with Ayikoi Otoo too and initiate separate investigation. It is time to shut the mouth of these NPP naysayers

It not that Ayikoi Otoo has got anything to do with the so-called arson but even I, with no legal education, knew this was a foolish case. The way the information minister who first broke the news of the arrests talked in un ...

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

John "de Aplanke Prez" Mahama's govt cannot function; they simply don't have any clues about ways of moving Ghana forward and making life easy for Ghanaians. John "Sledge Hammer" Mahama inherited the "Do little" attitude from ...

• fii 10 years ago

N D C is a cures

• Obiaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa 10 years ago

this is another form of causing financial loss to the state and as far as records of this are kept there would definitely be a prosecution whenever there is a change in government. this go to all politicians, propaganda or wh ...

• ERNEST 10 years ago

Man proposed and God disposed.

You have happy, why Ghanaians always want to see that his brother failed in his work?

will that take us anywhere? NPP NPP..

• king, lagos 10 years ago

You can continue with your crimminal activities. Because government could not provide with an evidence.We are wacthing you these bunch of crimminals, the time wil come when you will be exposed.

Go work on your English before coming back to address us. If government had no evidence to provide, why accuse anyone? Does that make any sense to you?

• Ebo Johnson 10 years ago

NDC is a visionless party. I have regrettet to have voted for them. NPP come and save us from the lions den.