Court sentences NPP activist to death by hanging

Read Comments Comments (84)

• CY 10 years ago

=D

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

We knew that was coming..........

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaaaa!

We shall surely go for an appeal and God willing,justice will prevail.

The NDC released its thugs on innocent Ghanaians immediately they came t ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

Mahama is panicking.

• stop workshiping sarapis image as chr 10 years ago

Who wrote this useless article? This person did not know that Ghana do not kill people by capital punishment? Why these Asante Akyem people do not want poor people to have peace in their mud houses and take care of their poor ...

we told you so , every dog now knows there is war around the corner and it will be the Akans against the rest , no ideology or divisive politics will work . personally i do not think the supreme court decision will trigger an ...

• Bonso 10 years ago

Led by Captain Kojo Tsikata, NDC has killed and killed many Ghanaians, including President Atta Mills, High Court Judges, Army commanders, soldiers, students, businessmen, traders, politicians ..
    and gone scot free. Protecte ...

• stop workshiping sarapis image as chr 10 years ago

I am fante from Elmina,what you Asante Akyem people are doing know well meaning fante in the central region support it. I was NPP party agent in 2000 in K.E.E.A but now I am fed-up with Asante Akyem hijack of NPP and the way ...

• gq 10 years ago

"Nana Obiri Boahene also said he will be appealing against the decision of the seven-member jury."

I don't know if the likes of you know or understand how the jury system works and I'm not going to explain that to you. How ...

• ATO 10 years ago

HE IS GOING TO TASTE THE TRUE MEANING OF ALL DIE BE DIE

and what does this have to do with anything , i think its you who is dense and stupid

• ohenenana 10 years ago

That is why Ghana needs a party as an alternative to the NPP NDC and stop the tribal bashing its got nothing to do with Ashanti or Akyems. Lets seriously look at a modern new democratic party.

• FAR INDIA 10 years ago

DO WE NEED THIS NOW! WHAT KIND OF INSENSITIVE JUDGE IS THIS?

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

AFARI GYAN'S HAND IN COOKIE JAR
    HW3, AFARI DJAN MUST BE JAILED. WAT A DISGRACEFUL HUMAN BEING...ONYAME EHU WOOOOOOOOO!
    YET, HE Is STILL LYING. YOUR WIFE HAS CAUGHT U RED HANDED FUCKING ANOTHER WOMAN. YET, U FOLLOW HER IN UR ...

• unlimited 10 years ago

Dick head stop tribal comments , it wouldn't help . Why hate ur self ? NPP and NDC still the same shit.

• john 10 years ago

no news

• seek n find 10 years ago

At least all those that comments has some level of education and most the comments here is extremely bad. What about the millions of illiterate in our nation. Even if they are guilty, is this the right time to pass such judge ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

We identify them by their seeds they
    bare,All Die be Die.

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

This court sentence is not coming from
    Rawlings.

• WILLIAM 10 years ago

The lawyer has not exhausted all legal levels. He should appeal and argue well.

• kak 10 years ago

if you lose a case it is political motivated if you win it is the rule of law.

• OBURUMANKUMA 10 years ago

There is lawlessness everywhere in ghana... for once, I thought the capital punishment has been taken off the books...Ghana needs to resume weekly firing squads

• GAWUKO 10 years ago

No crime deserves the death sentence. Life imprisonment should be the highest punishment for any crime. Let us not follow the US and China in hanging our fellow citizens. Life imprisonment with the possibility of parole after ...

• Cephas 10 years ago

When he was killing his fellow citizen,what came into his mind. This will serve as an warning to the youth follow the these selfish politicians. They pay them few cedis and use them to achieve their selfish agenda.

• AWUKU,ACCRA 10 years ago

Wait untill you or a relative is murdered and see if you can talk of parole for the murderer.Let's all eschew violence in the name of politics.Why kill your kith and kin because politics?

• A A 10 years ago

Life for life is only fare. If some one takes the life of your mother, father, brother, sister or any other close relative you would understand.

• Loulou 10 years ago

This is too severe - give him life imprisonment but not the death penalty. I am surprised Ghana uses the death penalty!!!!

• CAPE COAST BOY 10 years ago

THIS IS NOT THE RIGHT TIME FOR THIS JUDGEMENT . ANY SENSIBLE PERSON WILL WAIT AFTER THE VERDICT FORM THE SUPREME COURT BEFORE THAT

• Obed Adore 10 years ago

Why? Can you explain?

• K Boateng 10 years ago

when is the right? should Ghana be a standstill country because of NPP's hollow petition? Please, Ghana doesn't exist for the NPP so the country must move forward and leave behind a single person whose unbridle ambitions want ...

• Yaw Amofa 10 years ago

So with this political charged atmosphere, NDC has pressurized Judge Mensah to pass Judgement.

The case is already 4 years old. When do you want this case to be resolved?

• K. Boateng 10 years ago

Are you admitting by your analogy that your NPP pressurized judges during their time to jail Tsatsu, Sipah Yanke, Kwame Peprah, Ibrahim Adam and Victor Serlomey?

• G. Dart (US) 10 years ago

When JUSTICE is delayed, JUSTICE is NOT denied Eh? Cape Coast Boy.

• KUDZ 10 years ago

Well my brother you absolutely wrong, Ghana judiciary should should continue without fear!!

• keen observer 10 years ago

Hanging? We are back in stone-age days? With advancement in technology, why are we punishing culprits using pre-medieval methods?

• K Boateng 10 years ago

you don't agree with the mode of sentence or the verdict?

• Cephas 10 years ago

I personally do not think this is the right time to pass a judgement like this, when we are left for only 8 days for the supreme court to come out with the verdict of the election petition. Don't you yhink this can effect th ...

What has the current SC case got to do with this 2009 case?

• NDC KINGPIN 10 years ago

Abolish death sentence

• OBURUMANKUMA 10 years ago

good deterrent

• Yaw Amofa 10 years ago

With lawless people like the FOOLSOLDIERS roaming terrorizing citizens, we need that indeed.

• WISEMAN MPE NSEMFOO 10 years ago

IF THIS IS NOT POLITICALLY MOTIVATED THEN TELL ME WHAT IT IS! ARMED ROBBERS TORTURE, RAPE AND SOMETIMES KILL THEIR VICTIMS. WHAT DO WE SEE. THEY ARE GRANTED BAIL AND GIVEN SHALLOW SENTENCES, THIS JUDGE IS AS DEAD AS SOME OFUI ...

• K Boateng 10 years ago

"...trial was politically motivated and ruling perverse".
    Obiri Boahen can call himself Nana at Sunyani and cause all the tensions in B/A but he has been shown that some courts in Ghana which are not NPP clothed, don't take ...

• GHANANYI 10 years ago

Oh fellow educated Ghanaian, your words do NOT indicate your level at all.

• ghanaba kwame 10 years ago

served them right..all die be die??let them die fools

• Mathe 10 years ago

You die for notning! where are those you are dyig for? NPP nor NDC will nev safe you!Lessons to be leant here!

• ********** 10 years ago

If we are not careful, this is the scenarios that will land Ghana in serious trouble. What is thenreason for not arresting and prosecuting the Agbgloshie killers.
    Thi selective justice ought to stop. There will be no peace w ...

• Paa Nii 10 years ago

Fools. The judge only passed his sentence based on the verdict of the jury.

This cannot be politically motivated as perceived by the counsel.

All die be die. You kill your fello human being you get same.

• ODIKRO 10 years ago

NANA OBIRI BOAHIN IS THE NPP PROFESSIONAL LAWYER FOR CRIMINALS IN THE PARTY. CRIMINALS IN THE COUNTRY HAS SEEK REFUGE IN NPP BECOUSE OF NPP CRIMINAL LAWYERS.
    MAKA A MAKA, TRUTH HURT

• Adongo 10 years ago

STUPID,VILLAGE JUDGE

• K Boateng 10 years ago

the village judge has sentenced and condemned the "city" murderers to death, how about that? weasel.

• Yaw Amofa 10 years ago

IT all happened in the village so how did the judge come to the city to take City judge's job ?

• Tee 10 years ago

The court deals with facts plus evidence and not location to rule.

Illiteracy will kill some of you guys. If you don't know ask or shut up. Don't confuse others like yourself.

• Kojo 10 years ago

Death sentence is meant to serve as a deterrent for people who are contemplating murder. You see there is a rise in murder rate in Ghana. So if you know that you'd be hanged if you kill someone then you may not do it upon ref ...

• Nana Amma Ofori 10 years ago

The decision was taken by a seven-member jury. Since when Ghana allows jury’s to make final decision in this corrupt society.

• Kojo 10 years ago

If you start a political fight and kill someone expect a political trial. Stay in your home if you are hot headed. If you can't have a political disagreement without being angry to the point of wanting to do harm to your oppo ...

• Kwaku 10 years ago

Read Jato Julor's comment above to refresh your memory before posting comments

This is uncalled for at this particular time.

• WHO IS FREE 10 years ago

TO NDC SUPPORTERS YOU ARE HAPPY AND YOU BELIEVED JUSTICE HAVE BEEN SERVED.NICE, BUT DO NOT FORGET ABOUT WHAT HAPPEN IN ACCRA AFTER THE DECLARATION OF ATTA MILLS AS PRESIDENT.ACTIVIST OF NPP WERE IN KILLED IN BROAD DAY LIGHT.M ...

• ohenenana 10 years ago

Ghana should strongly for a third party, the NPP, NDC syndrome is not good for the country, and that a new party with positive outlook, and modern should be seriously consdiered

• Paa Nii 10 years ago

Who published this? Ghana media lacks skills of professionalism.

This is outrageous and lacks credibility.

• AFUAI 10 years ago

I THINK THEY DESERVE MORE DAN THIS

• Looksharp 10 years ago

Allah is watching prez Mahama and his NDC. If you throw a ball to wall ,it bounces back to you.

• IBRAHIM ABDUL MUEZZ 10 years ago

I DON'T THINK THAT ANY FOOL WILL LET ANY POLITICIAN TO USE HIM AGAIN IN COMMITTING ANY DUBIOUS ACT THAT WILL DISTURB THE PEACE THAT WE ARE ENJOYING IN GHANA. LOOK AT WHAT HAPPENED TO THESE FIVE STUPID MEMBERS OF N.P.P AT THE ...

• shamthunder 10 years ago

HANGING IS NOT THE BEST!!! ABAAAA.... GIVE THEM SM YRS IN PRISON... MAY BE INFINITY..

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

Ghana is gradually becoming a useless country! No Trains, no Airways, no ships,no manufacturing industries,no acclaimed hospitals,old universities are loosing lustre and fame,buy and sell is the order of the day,insults,disre ...

• abdul karim muksin 10 years ago

I PRAY DAT GHANA SHOULD REMAINS PEACEFUL NATION IN DE WORLD AFTER DE DECLARATION OF DE SUPREME COURT VERDICT. I ABDUL MUKSIN CAN NOT FORD TO BE A REFUGEE IN ONE MANS LANDS, SO IAM PEALING TO MY FELLOW CITIZENS AND NON CITIZEN ...

• Shamu 10 years ago

It has to continue like that until they all die. There are so many offences done by the NPP which are equally related to death sentence not only that of this poor NPP man. The leaders should be ans must accountable for their ...

• unlimited 10 years ago

Mr Dick head don't be stupid . DO know how many Ghanaians lost their life thru out the country during 1979 to Revolution laid by JJ ? Why NDC judge rush to sentences NPP youth by hanging when the tension is too high for both ...

• unlimited 10 years ago

Why Court rush to sentences child or youth activist ? Why Court couldn't wait till after the verdict ? NDC Judge trying to send a message or What ? We still have many educated fools in Ghana. Use common sense ! You don't sent ...

• kooko 10 years ago

now JDM and his lawyers trying to kill all NPP members all

• unlimited 10 years ago

NPP needs to do something bcos this is not justice at all . I remember Many Ghanaians did lost their life thru out the country during 1979 coup by JJ and JJ still a free man running his mouth like Pastor Duncan.

• Anchester Lawerteh - UK 10 years ago

Though some of his followers did some bad things behind him during the revolution but it SAVED Ghana from CHAOS and bad journalism. Read much about accountability. My dear friend, if it's left with me the continent need such ...

• john 10 years ago

lets give peace a chance

• prof 10 years ago

mahama does not deserve to be a president, but he is forcing to GHANA Ablaze, HOLY FIRE will quench him and his indiscipline ndc

• kassim 10 years ago

ghana legal system is very interesting,with alot of impuniy.

• lawson godfred 10 years ago

lawyer obiri boahen wait till it comes to the turn of son,so that you call it political motivated.you are the very people who encourage the ignorant youth to commit those those act of murder and violence.

• Aden 10 years ago

This is inhumane there must be an appeal

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

I looks like these sentences are politically inclined! I just want to know what's been done to those NDC activists who also killed NPP members after the 2008 elections at Agbobloshie in the Accra? The balance of justice must ...

• abc 10 years ago

hmmmm God forgive us all

• Abuba kar 10 years ago

WHEN DID JURY START WORKING IN GHANA? PLEASE TELL ME. NDC SHD NOT USE THE POWER THEY HAVE NOW TO KILL NPP PPLE.NOTE NDC CAN ONLY DECLINE INTO EXTINCTION IN GHANA.

• black 10 years ago

political and tribal conflict wont get us any where......wise up....

• Doobia 10 years ago

I have my douhgt about thiss story,the burning dawn of buildings were dane by ndc activist in 2009 and the said imoro gundaanaa was release after almost four years in detention. political prisoners is the problem.

• Mununkum 10 years ago

Obiri Boahen tried all legal tricks to avert justice by writing several Petitions to the Chief Justice against Justice L.L. Mensah but failed. He also went to the Court of Appeal in Kumasi many times with this case in the hop ...