I can’t annul votes – Justice Baffoe-Bonnie

Read Comments Comments (137)

• KOLA,LONDON MAIN 10 years ago

Those supporters in npp don't get it still

• Nana Ansah 10 years ago

AWESOME! WHAT A SENSIBLE JUDGE. GOD BLESS MAAME/DAAVI GHANA

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Ghana is blessed with people of such caliber. It is a pity we have riff raffs pouring out insults

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

Thanks Justice Baffoe-Bonnie, you have said volume.

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• facts 10 years ago

And people like Baffoe BONEE is a judge in Ghana. His pre judgemental position would not permit him to give any good hearing talkless to pass any good judgement. Has he ever sat down to think that the difference between ten m ...

• Pito Brewer 10 years ago

Gibberish!

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 10 years ago

ATUGUBA CANT BE TRUSTED!
    An electoral rule accepted by all parties was that no one should be allowed to vote without biometric verification. NBNV was the slogan accepted by all parties..Another electoral rule related to over ...

• DRINK PLENTY OF WATER++ 10 years ago

This is another way of telling Afari Gyan that he can continue to do that nonsense. What does the law say about emergence of irregularities and fraud? If these are the mindset of a supreme court judge, then I can call him a s ...

• STUPID ARGUMENT+++ 10 years ago

LISTEN TO A FOOL. This is another way of telling Afari Gyan that he can continue to do that nonsense. What does the law say about emergence of irregularities and fraud? If these are the mindset of a supreme court judge, then ...

• rosina attubiga 10 years ago

stupid full people like u have your own agenda which could not be materialised aboafunu.y ahunu mo asie

• Pito Brewer 10 years ago

You should heed your own advice and change your thinking. Don't underestimate the ability of Ghanaians to judge things for themselves. You would be well advised to move on and focus your attention on 2016. You are wasting you ...

• Mike 10 years ago

if this man was a wise man he would have advise the EC to allow a rerun of the elections in areas where votes were anulled due to over voting.
    No one is talking about democracy, we are talking about rules of the game. there ...

• moyo 10 years ago

This is a wiseman

• WILLIAM 10 years ago

EVERY SINGLE JUDGEMENT BY THE 9 JUSTICES CALLS FOR ANALYSIS AND NOT CYNICISM OR SKIN PAIN ANALYSIS. IF WE TAKE OUR TIME FIRST TO READ AND UNDERSTAND THEIR REASONING WITHOUT NECESSARILY AGRREING WITH TRHEM WE WILL REALISE THAT ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

I blame entirely the porous defence put up by the 3 respondents for Paul granting the relief sought under this new-fangled understanding reached by the EC with the pol. parties prior to the election.

Why on earth couldn't ...

• APUUTOOO 10 years ago

WHY SPENT MILLIONS TO REGISTER GHANAIANS TO VOTE WHILIST EVERY GHANAIAN HAS THE FUNDAMENTAL RIGHT TO VOTE? THE eC MUST NOT WASTE OUR TIME AND MONEY NEXT TIME

• KOLA,LONDON MAIN 10 years ago

So the Akuffo Team lead by himself, Jake Otanka Obetsebi certificate-less and Bawumia all had a plan-B.

Their Plan-B was to team-up with Preciding officers on the face of the pink sheets to collude with them and then, Bing ...

• Guv 10 years ago

TO READ.

• Orbit Int 10 years ago

Participate in up-coming Agriculture seminar,conference & workshop in Australia,South Africa and Turkey.

TOPICS
    Farming Management
    Modern Farming Technology
    Attracting Investment In Farming
    Agric Business Through ...

• ASEMPA NEYE 10 years ago

Atuguba wanted his nephew to keep his job as an Executive Assistant toPresident Mahamah. Plain and simple. Atuguba was not trueful to Ghanaians when he opined that the SC panels various judgement was ready and lodged with the ...

• WILLIAM 10 years ago

I CAN SEE HIGH FEVER MAKES YOU HALLUCINATE INTO FEARING JUSTICE ATUGUBA SO MUCH!!!

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Exerllent talk Baffoe.

• Godfrey 10 years ago

So where is the second chance to vote?

Can we get the second chance now???

• Godfrey 10 years ago

Working from answer to question? I can even use the most powerful book in the world to support or justify people need to sin. Comeon guys its well written but was that the truth??

• IBF - Canada 10 years ago

Really? We are setting very bad and dangerous precedents here and we shall live to pay the price. Today is NDC in power but we normally forget easily that no condition is permanent. Since we have started ignoring constitution ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

Justice Baffoe-Bonie's position is intelligent.

• kumnipa 10 years ago

the judgement of most high God is awaiting for all of us according our works.

• JOB LINKS 10 years ago

GET YOUR APPLICATION FORMS FOR A PERMANENT JOBS ABROAD. SECURITY MEN / WOMEN, IN THE UNITED ARAB EMIRATES.(UAE)
    CALL NOW;

020 222 9363
    057 400 3936
    020899 3585

• EDDIE 10 years ago

This pure wisdom. I wonder why the NPP are still crying over "spilt milk". The NPP lost the election in December 2012 and must accept it once and for all. Ghana is not the personal property of any particular party.

• Friday 10 years ago

What will you write after collecting your bribe?A Supreme Court judge indeed!

• Kwadzo 10 years ago

USELESS STUPID FOOL BASTARDS TALK LIKE THIS.YOU DO NOT SEE ANY WISDOM IN THIS HAA. ASHAWOBI IDIOT.

• Concerned, Olympia WA, USA 10 years ago

I know some Africans are stupid. But, my friend you take the cake. Even, a second grader would not make such a stupid statement. Dumbass!

it is stupd people like u cleaning dishes and doing permanent night shift who cant think foolish man in usa without papers

• Max 10 years ago

Fair and honorable judgement. Lessons must be learned and electoral process improved in future elections. Bravo Baffoe! Ghana will forever remember your just service.

• K.K 10 years ago

Then why did you sit on the case in the first place? Is it just to waste tax payers money? You've all caused financial loss to the nation and should be jailed. I've never been a fun of Rawlings but now I think he was right in ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

KK, when a case is brought before a judge, no matter how foolish the case is, must be heard and that's the norm across the board in every democracy. Get the rap?

• K.K 10 years ago

Yeah. Get the rap. Lol

• Kwadzo 10 years ago

PERHAPS YOU DO NOT THINK BEFORE WRITING HE DOES.

• Okesie-Oko 10 years ago

If you can not annul the votes because of failure of signing, then why don`t you nulify the whole procedure or conditions Afari Gyan set up for the election? No signature of EC`s Presiding Officer no validity.
    If that still ...

stupid fool without foresight come again ofui

• Kobena 10 years ago

What was the effect of the "Clerical errors" in an election in which the difference between the declared winner and the next candidate is less than 2%? The petitioner submitted clear evidence of "voting without biometric veri ...

• Carl 10 years ago

Kobena, the respondents wanted to tender the BVD print outs as exhibits but was opposed by the petitioners and was upheld by the judges.There is no length you can not go to undermine an otherwise reasonable decision of the SC ...

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 10 years ago

There is a publication out called Pink Sheet which brings out full live texts of the entire proceedings. It simulates what was actually said in the courtroom from Day 1 to Day 46.

After reading these 94 pages of texts y ...

• Kobena 10 years ago

Carl,
    At least you are arguing without insults. The petitioners presented data from 24,000 out of 26,002 polling stations. That is 92%. Surely that cannot be called a small sample. Since the respondents wanted to disprove th ...

• Carl 10 years ago

Ten thousand polling stations out of twenty six thousand polling stations can not be 92%. In fact their sample was about 40% which is an unreasonable sample for determination of a whole.

• Kobena 10 years ago

Carl,
    My point is that the Petitioners, with the limited amount of time at their disposal, looked at data from 24,000 polling stations that were available to them. Out of that they found 11,915 or 45.8% of them to have been ...

npp leadership should tell us the truth after their lousy conduct during the election.we are watching they should not forget those who wear beads and think ther can rain insults on inncent people have a vote just like the voi ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

He ruled for you on that so what else do you want? To disenfranchise others?

Tsastu's argument resonated, RETROACTIVE PENALTY. The Judge respects that and he is unable to annul votes of folks that have done nothing wro ...

sensible man lets wage a crusade against irresponsible partty reps who break the hearts of their followers every 4 years by failing to do what they have to

• Kuukua 10 years ago

This is the most foolish, dumbest judgement I have ever heard in my life. I do not believe this judge said or wrote this. What this judge is saying is that let every household get a basket during the elections and let all mem ...

• Jak 10 years ago

Oh Kuulua, why insulting an eldely person?

• ATUBINIGA 10 years ago

He's has not insulted him but his integrity .

• Kwadzo 10 years ago

ANOTHER STUPIP FOOL, PERHAPS THE JUDGEMENT & DECISSION BY YOUR PARENT TO BRING YOU TO THIS WORLD FOR YOU TO BECOME GOOD FOR NOTHING POPPY IS THE MOST FOOLISH,STUPID & DUMPEST ONE.THINK DO NOT WRITE ANYTHING ANYHOW.

• BK 10 years ago

Very bad judgement.BAFFOE BONNIE SHOULD KNOW BETTER.

• BK 10 years ago

IS THAT SIMPLE.

bk which school did u attend ope not one in ashanti region

u know everything and yyet behave like the fool u are hellooo

• Kuukua 10 years ago

I think your mommy wasted, endured pain in her perineum in bringing you into this world since you cannot make logical reasoning. I said the decision is a foolish one and I backed it up with facts. Where is your reason for ins ...

obviosly he is making a point if that is how he infers from your statement he has a right so keep up with the discussion lol

• JK 10 years ago

If presiding officers signatures confirm a class of votes, and without it entire votes from some others can be nullified, then parties could scheme with returning officers to fix results.

Think about it.
    They should not ...

• Woman's wisdom 10 years ago

I thought Baffoe Bonnie was smart. Now I know that, some of the judges are as dumb as Asiedu Nkatia who calls extra votes in ballot boxes as foreign materials. Foreign materials in deed! why are they foreign? If they were cer ...

• Kuukua 10 years ago

I don't know who appointed this buffoon, political chicane to the highest court of the land. He could have written something else to back his decision but to say simply that he cannot annul votes because voters did not cause ...

• okukuseku 10 years ago

Sound reasoning and interpretation.If anybody has collected any MONEY from NPP or NDC meant as a bribe for BB, the person should return it.Period.

• Kokonte 10 years ago

See where wisdom resides? There is no election ever held the world over that does not have flaws. The most important ingredient there is whether those flaws should affect the outcome of an election. If the answer is no, th ...

• J Jerry 10 years ago

Idiot judge kill him he is stupid and has taken bribe idiot Jerry will soon come with the tsikatas and thie time will be you and Pepe Atubinga zamenama kwasea judge

• john agbo 10 years ago

Jerry, please save yourself and desist from these verbal attacks. Just give reasons why you disagree with the learned judges decision.

• Kwaku Amexo 10 years ago

Really awesome

• EDENSU 10 years ago

The Surpeme Court Judgement will hunt Ghanaians forever. Time will tell.

• NYANSA 10 years ago

what does this means to readers?its straightforward and simple.he is doing what needs to be done as a judge.

• Yes Sir 10 years ago

I'm sure Justice Baffoe Bonnie is aware of shifting of burden of proof. When the petitioners used the pink sheet as their primary source document to demonstrate over-voting, and you claim there were other source documents suc ...

• POZO 10 years ago

this judge was not using any legal argument for his judgement, he was just being human as he is

• Facts 10 years ago

I disagree with you Pozo. This judge's view is right on the money

• ME AND YOU WERE NOT THERE 10 years ago

. To disenfranchise hundreds of thousands of voters (through no fault of theirs) because a presiding fails to sign will not have a place in modern democratic governance.
    CASE CLOSED.

• FRANCIS USA 10 years ago

INDEED ALL THE JUDGES SHOWS THAT YOUR THERE FOR THE NATION BUT NOT THE POLITICAL PARTY. THANK GOD YOU PEOPLE BRING PEACE TO OUR DEAR NATION GHANA. THIS SHOWS THAT YOUR SENSIBLE AWESOME. GOD RICHLY BLESS US ALL.

• SPECIAL AGENT 10 years ago

even if Ndc macho men stole all the ballot boxes and stuffed them with votes, nothing could be done? Ndc should remember this will not be the last election to be held in Ghana. what is good for the goose will be equally good ...

If you can't annul votes, how can you listen to an election petition? what was the purpose of having you adjudicate a burning issue like this? You can mediate a case to bring peace but you cannot award or settle matters betwe ...

• Kofi Ghana 10 years ago

Twisted logic

• Kofi Mensuo 10 years ago

How can a supreme court judge decide a case base on his own personal analysis exclusive of the underlying LAW especially on the question of over votes.

This is very shameful - he even agreed with Asiedu Nketia that ther ...

• Kojo Appiah, N.Y. 10 years ago

Kofi Mensuo,

I guess you never understood any line of reasoning by this awesome judge. Sorry for you! This is what happens when you people reuse to concentrate when your teacher is discharging his duties. Life goes beyond ...

• Duodu--Düsseldorf 10 years ago

Kofi, i guess you are the one beyond repairs. Please, take your time and read again what the judge is telling us. If you do not understand let somebody explain it to you.

• Brain 10 years ago

Thank you Mr selfish justice.
    We will take the justice in our hands next time.....Because you are ready to do so . just use English to defend well
    plan project of EC.....

• Mr. Haircare 10 years ago

A disgrace Ashanti judge. continue taking bribes and give bad rulings.

ur stupidity as an ashati wil forever remain with u .goodnt

• Kwaku Ampofo 10 years ago

I'm shocked after reading this judge's ruling. Get ready for more rigging of elections in future. The EC can make their own pink sheets without signatures and should not be challenged. I will keep this short. Some judges in G ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

That is why you are not on the bench. This Judge is one I consider very very very NPP so if he rules against the petitioners then I am very sure he has had much difficulties reconciling his judgemnt with his party affiliati ...

• Kuukua 10 years ago

This ruling is dangerous for the motherland. The judges have simply said that rules and regulations do not matter. I wonder if any bad elections can be challenged in court. From this time on, any party would try by ALL MEANS ...

• Kofi Lawyer 10 years ago

Justice Baffoe-Bonnie is more of a supreme court material than Tsatsu and the other lawyers who appeared before the 9 wise men. Thanks you have done a good job. As a lawyer myself, I wont have liked to be in your shoes durin ...

• HONESTY 10 years ago

More grease to your elbows. Great reasoning power. God Bless you Justice Baffoe Bonnie

• SHAME SHAME 10 years ago

How can you annul votes after taking money from the illegitimate Mahama. Shame on you and your entire family. Remember you took money in the case involving Edward Kuffour. You are just a useless and you have really disgraced ...

• Mawutor 10 years ago

At least the whole election should have been done afresh within 6-12 months among all Presidential/parliamentary candidates of the various political parties,instead of upholding such a questionable verdict, that amidst all th ...

• Alhassan,walewale. 10 years ago

This judge is a waste in the society.If aresponsible judge will say this without thinking of the laws binding the election.It is ashame on our judiciary

• Nana Osei-Tutu Akufo-Ado Cocain 10 years ago

Bravo

You are proud of him for telling such a big lie and God will never let you guys and those that lied to us about this court case go Scot free.

• Pan Africanism 10 years ago

Why don't such a thing happen in USA. There was vote rigging in Florida but the Democrats sis not contest/appeal. I waited for the next election.

This MUST never happen again in Ghana.

• OSEI 10 years ago

what about those that were cancelled for the same reason in other constituencies?

• Obed Adore 10 years ago

Didn't you read his comment? In his opinion, those peoples whose votes were cancelled were disenfranchised; they should have been given another chance to vote before declaring the results.

• Kwasi-Kumasi 10 years ago

this a judge who has done his judgement in a candid manner. God bless you Justice BB

• KRETZ - D 10 years ago

Nonsense! Then what is your use as a judges? Basically, what the Judge is saying is that even if there is a genuine case that election is rigged there is nothing supreme court judges can do about it. So these will allow NDC ...

• kojo 10 years ago

Antoa will pursue you in due course. You are very much noted for taking bribe. kufour appointed certain idiot to hold certain positions and you are one of them.

• Nana Agyemang 10 years ago

Congrats, you are really a learned friend.

• prof 10 years ago

shit judgment

• ABACHA SNR 10 years ago

STUPID JUDGE.HE BENEFITED FROM THE 5 MILLION BRIBE.GOD WILL PUNISH THEM

You are a liar!. That is how a supreme court judge must act! He did perfectly well, with fluing colours.
    I admire his judgement, he is good if not the best.

• Ghana Massai-France 10 years ago

Justice Baffoe-Bonnie is (in my opinion), a sincere, impartial professional whose judgment reflects the helly truth of the petition battle.Sure, his "King Solomon's" decision will displease a big lot of empty-headed critics b ...

• Truth 10 years ago

That's why you are a justice of the Supreme Court. The law has it's letter and spirit. A mechanical interpretation is contrary to the Directive Principles of State Policy in the 1992 constitution.

This is the best verdict so far. Well done Judge Baffoe-Bonnie. You are great! You are the best!

• ATUBINIGA 10 years ago

So,why then did you vote against that? Or you were drank when you were presenting your final judgement?

• boka 10 years ago

Are you telling us therefore that your mind was already made even before the end of the process.? I am not a lawyer but what I think is you have to bear in mind that you are setting a precedent and next time a similar case sh ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

JUSTIUCE BAFFOE-BONNIE PLEASE, IT IS TIME TO APPEAL TO THESE MOISY PEOPLE TO START WORKING HARD TOWARDS THE ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT OF GHANA.

ARE THESE PEOPLE LIVING IN DARK AGES.

IT IS TIME FOR THEM TO DELIVER ...

• Adjoa 10 years ago

Yeah, there may have beeen some issues with the whole scheme... the question is are you going to invalidate a whole election on some irregularities?? when we all know "No Election is Perfect" Exercise in futility... waste of ...

• boka 10 years ago

can you give me a situation where you will reverse that belief.?

• Adjoa 10 years ago

Great SC judge!!! Kudos!!

• boka 10 years ago

tell me it is okay to pay attention to those irregularities and what precedent are we setting if we ignore those "small irregularities"

• Daavi 10 years ago

Why then did the EC annul some votes for overvoting in some areas. Another Nana Addo hater. Abro and beyie nkoaa.

• zongo president 10 years ago

where is the money,,,,,corrupt judge

• boka 10 years ago

Sir, for my lesson, can you give me a situation or condition where you can annul a vote.?

• osei yaw - london 10 years ago

All hope is not yet lost for Ghana; for, Ghana still has brilliant men like Justice Baffoe-Bonnie who is well vexed in Laws, his vocation

- i am proud of myself; for, surfers of Ghanaweb should now kindly accept that, my c ...

• jj 10 years ago

in that case the judge is telling us that presiding officers who annulled the votes in their polling stations were wrong? if the judge cannot speak the truth then he should resign as a supreme court judge

• Kweku 10 years ago

Supreme Court Judge argue this way...I feel sad. Why are those whose votes were cancelled not given a second chance to vote. I am sad to have such a person as a Judge at the highest court.

• Joshua 10 years ago

It was not for nothing that about 2000 presiding officers did not sign the pink sheets. This is absolutely no coincidence. It was a deliberate act by some evil people to over turn the will of the people. Those behind this evi ...

• CHRISTOS CHRISTOFF 10 years ago

He frankly admits of voting irregularities yet could not uphold the position of the petitioners. HOW MUCH IRREGULATIES ARE ENOUGH? When a process of democracy in "tainted" in any way the whole process becomes a sham ...

• peace 10 years ago

that's your opinion stupid u NDC

daft npp

• LoK 10 years ago

Brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Zak 10 years ago

Good judgment

• KOFI 10 years ago

God is only the true judge in this sinful world. No position is in perpetuity, God only knows the true winner of the 2012 elections.

Christians in Ghana should only concentrate on how they can truly and spiritually worship ...

• venom 10 years ago

Wao!!!, there are still great, good, principled and untainted men of God out there. Baffoe-Bonnie really deserves to be where he is right now. I applaud your courage and logical reasoning which most people lack. Your wisdom w ...

• koo 10 years ago

NPP duplicate triple-care pink sheet, they thought they were smart. Thanks to our wise judges.

• honesty 10 years ago

God bles you JUSTICE. You are clver , honest and very gifted. Thank u again.

• Edem 10 years ago

You know what? Why has it taken him some 20 days to come out with this porous explanation if he is not trying to cover up his corrupt act? He and the bunch of crooks who make up the Mahama cum NDC faction led by the super419 ...

• WHAT A STUPID JUDGE+++ 10 years ago

Is this a legal judge or a morale judge? This is another way of telling Afari Gyan that he can continue to do that nonsense. What does the law say about emergence of irregularities and fraud? If these are the mindset of a sup ...

• WHAT A STUPID JUDGE+++ 10 years ago

If this fool is a judge, then....This is another way of telling Afari Gyan that he can continue to do that nonsense. What does the law say about emergence of irregularities and fraud? If these are the mindset of a supreme cou ...

• Ebo 10 years ago

I believe you are the same Baffoe Bonnie of Cape Vars in 1974. You really disapointed me. I thought you knew better. What a shame - sold your integrity for money or some sort. Shame on you!!!!!!!

• sammi 10 years ago

Gorgoeus engagement and wedding rings should not cost u a fortune....if u need 18karat yellow n white gold rings then contact samo jewellery on facebook or call me or whatssapp me for more pictures n its price tag on yr fon.. ...

• nana, usa 10 years ago

This man is full of shit, may be he has ghana money stole for him. ass hole.

• Akua sika abeam 10 years ago

People like u clean the Bronx loo n can't think.do u have relatives in Ghana .ghana has won n we should be grateful to God