Read Comments Comments (160)

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

Africa needs workable unity!

• Kojo T 10 years ago

But will NPP allow progress . " We are our own worst enemies"

• Ghana 4 Ghanaians 10 years ago

New generation African Leader. Thank U

• okofo 10 years ago

You just don't know what you're talking about.

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 10 years ago

OPPORTUNITY FROM WHOM? MASSA, CREATE YOUR OWN OPPORTUNITY. THE CREATOR HAS ALREADY BLESSED US WITH ALL THE OPPORTUNITY WE WILL EVER NEED. WE DONT KNOW NOR APPRECIATE THE IMPORTANCE OF MNGMNGT, DISCIPLINE. KIDDIE THINGS NKOAA. ...

• ADWEN 10 years ago

What Africa needs is CONTROL AND ACCOUNTABILITY SYSTEMS TO AVOID AND REMOVE AND/OR AVOID THE WIDESPREAD CORRUPTION AND TRIBALISM NDC LED BY MAHAMA HAS BROUGH TO GHANA.
    We are sympathised for in African because we don't know ...

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,FIFA SPORTS, FIFA WORLD CUP,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

For exporting our own finished products to earn foreing exchange for the country,this makes a little sense
    than changing our money to import
    foreing goods.To creat Industries
    bringing Heavy machines to bost our
    Employment ...

• Prince 10 years ago

The world they say is a global village. Beautiful flowers attract flies. we need to position ourselves by creating the right environment in order to attract the much needed partnerships. We need to work on bureaucracy, cost o ...

• Anthony 10 years ago

Everybody knows what we need to do, who will lead us in doing it. Mahama himself in giving this speech demonstrates that he needs to be led by someone else, as he is not the let's do it type of leader, he is just like obama, ...

• kwaku kwaku 10 years ago

This kind of a speech would have been perfect at the ARICA UNION, you don't have to tell UN this stuff do you think they care and more so it seems most AFRICA LEADERS doesn't really no what's behind the so called UN .

• wise 10 years ago

NOT GAY PLS,Sympathy IS VERY IMPORTANT WAI. GAY FRIENDS WILL NEVER HELP US

• OBAA YAA 10 years ago

Someone should tell Prez John IV that the world will only start partnership with Africa’s economic when our greedy A**** leaders are no longer near the seat of the government. Until then they will only sympathized with ou ...

• Owura Kofi 10 years ago

Sis, you've hit the nail on the head. African politicians (I even find it very difficult to ascribe the word "leaders" to them) are all jokers. The rest of the world don't even sympathize with us, they LAUGH at us. With all t ...

• ADAMU 10 years ago

Will NDC recover the Woyome loot and restore it to the treasury?

• Dan Forson 10 years ago

COMMOT FOR THERE

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

Lee Kuan Yew did not go abegging for any friendship or partnership. He did his homework well and then the whole trooped and still troop to Singapore, a tiny Island begging for friendship and partnership. That is the character ...

• OBAA YAA 10 years ago

Oh! My brother, you have just nailed it on the right spot. No one like to associate themselves with losers.
    Therefore, until African learn how to be achievers and serious, the other part of the world will always make mockery ...

• Wayome 10 years ago

Who wants to partner a country that takes a loan to plant trees during the dry season, or raise ak)nf3m on a free range? Instead of developing your human resources, politicians prefer to buy big cars and build houses. What di ...

• kofi USA 10 years ago

If Ghana can stop acquiring loans from the Western nation and build industrial plants that can process these raw materials, I believe we shall be economically strong. Mr President, thanks for expressing yourself concerns to t ...

• ibrahim conad 10 years ago

you are right mr.President,tell them if they dont know.

• Seth, UK 10 years ago

Maybe its only Ghana that people get what the say, elsewhere you need to work for it. SimplY, those bunch of white guys sitting in the conference room are not there to listen TO Ghana cos they know Ghana's problems more than ...

• Sikamanba 10 years ago

Great speech from a good man of a great Nation!!

• Ka Na Wu 10 years ago

Kwasea, before we partner with you, we need to know what you bring to the table. Resources? We will not bring our capital down to Ghana for lazy and poor ewes to steal them from us.

• Jacky 10 years ago

kanawu what ever you dog calls your self, I just wanner tell you that you are an ape from the bush with no human blood in you. Ewes are humanbeings.

• aka 10 years ago

SHEIGEI. tell this to the AU. the U.N white men wont help u. I get so frustrated with dealing with these with men. we have to find a way out ourselves. You made a point but at the wrong place.

This means dont cry for me,come and
    help.

• th 10 years ago

ALWAS YOU ARE THE BEST!!

• KingJah 10 years ago

That statement right there is the way forward. Thank you Mr. President

• OmanheneU$A 10 years ago

President Mahama is not at fault here that Ghana, and much of Africa, is still "crawling" and can't GET ON THEIR FEET—after barrels of years of political independence. You just came on the scene, but most of your predecesso ...

• okofo 10 years ago

Thank you my friend.

• Kwasi Asante, Providence,RI USA 10 years ago

Oman, you said some wise stuff. However I disagree with you about the "Palm wine" comment. Jokes aside, the Leaders of Ghana simply does not have the vision. They all come to milk the political cow.
    It's the easiest way to b ...

• OmanheneU$A 10 years ago

Kwasi: Sometimes a little joke or some sense of humor softens things. Our "underdevelopment", as a nation, is a serious stuff and for 56 years we still can't make the machines to produce NEEDLES, PAPER CLIPS, TOOTH PICKS, PA ...

• Efo Sam 10 years ago

Yes, you said it right, I told people how intelligent you are. We believe in you and yes you are the Certified true copy of GHANA.

• mensah 10 years ago

How are we as black people prepared for such partnership if massive corruption in govt still the normsof the day in most Sub-sahara African continent and the govts? I always support that we make it loud to the western world p ...

• Kwabena Twum 10 years ago

What's corruption in Twi or any other languages in Africa? Corruption is an English word so corruption started from Whitemen's land. Corruption is everywhere.

• Kaku 10 years ago

Go for it Mr Preident. Do not afraid.

• Adamafio 10 years ago

Stop stealing and you will gain partnership.

• Abena 10 years ago

Adamafio, is that all you know, insults. We want constructive criticism not insult and no substance in what you contribute. We love our nation and we want any government who come to power to succeed and not just an oppositio ...

• Osei 10 years ago

Mahama should stop talking trash. He said they don't want handouts but will not stop begging for handouts. Worthless speech without any truth. While he was talking trash, his ministers were dispatched around USA begging for h ...

• ZIGI 10 years ago

AFRICA NEEDS PARTNERS

• ALI 10 years ago

AFRICA IS PROUD OF YOU FOR THIS POWERFUL AND THOUGHT PROVOKING MASSAGE TO THE WEST.THIS IS WHAT WE NEED TO TELL THEM NOT BEING AT THEIR MERCY AS ALWAYS IS THE CASE

• Nana Appiah (Canadian) 10 years ago

Yes, That's the Only way to go, Not Opening Doors to Drug Lords and Homosexuals to infiltrate our Country like Kufuor and Akuffo Addo did...No way shall we allow those Morons to ever rule Ghana Again..No fucking Way..

• Houdini 10 years ago

Listen to this son of a cheap trokosi whore calling himself Canadian. Go and find the john that dropped his filthy load of sperm in that bitch vagina to have you demented low self esteem dog, motherfucker.

• Concerned Citizen 10 years ago

Thank you for telling that fool what he is.

What the hell is your Problem fool..Mahama all the Way..hahahaha. Bunch of fake Degree holders wanna lead..NDC is here to Stay for a very long, long time..Cocoase boys will never lead Ghana again..

• Houdini 10 years ago

Fool, you wanted to be a kookoase person by claiming to have an Asante father when in reality you were born as a bastard without a father, you moronic idiot.

Hehehehe.. Useless fool, How dod the Petition with Sc go??? can you imagine Ugly animals like with fake Certificates want to Rule Ghana???hahaha..In your Dreams...We the NDC will Continue to Deal with You Bastards till thy Ki ...

• Houdini 10 years ago

Is "DOD" an English word, you son of a cheap whore?

Go fuck youself, you worthless son of a pig.

• Concerned Citizen 10 years ago

Tha vagina that brought you to this earth should be ashamed for not aborting a fool like you.

• Yaw Mensah 10 years ago

You are a Canadian so what is your problem, you lost soul. Learn how to speak instead of always talking trash. Were you raised with pigs? You behave like an animal.

• Nana Amma 10 years ago

Have respect for people who are old enough to be your father. Your family failed to raise you well, sad.

• WEAKLION 10 years ago

THE PRESIDENT MADE A POWERFUL SPEECH AND THE BOTTOMLINE IS HOW CAN WE MOVE FORWARD IF HOLLAND , GERMANY AND BELGIUM HAVE DONE IT . THE ONLY WAY TO FORWARD IS INVEST MORE IN SCIENCE , TECHNOLOGY , MATH AND INNOVATION. FOR EXAM ...

• Ernest 10 years ago

Africans truly don't need sympathy but cooperation and partnership.
    Mr president God bless you with your speech.
    Ghana has future if we all support President to put Ghana on the track.

The Thomas's should leave Ghana to ...

• seth 10 years ago

Well said.It's about time an African Leader Stands up and face the West with the pure truth.I believe Mr John is on the wright rout.

• Prince Otoo 10 years ago

We salute you,president mahama for that bold speech,keep it up-Allah will see you through.

• Ibn Batuta 10 years ago

Positive partnership not the exploitative kind. We definitely do not need investors whose sole purpose is to exploit and expropriate our natural resources.

• Nii Adjei 10 years ago

please return the money the media reported that an homosexual donated to your book.

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 10 years ago

WHEN THE "HOLY SPIRIT" IS IN YOU,SHE/HE WILL SPEAK ON YOUR BEHALF.

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

The Western World would want Africa to remain producers of cheap raw materials forever because it gives them advantage over us.If we don't take up the industrialization programs ourselves like Kwame Nkrumah did,nothing will c ...

• WEAKLION 10 years ago

I DON'T EVEN KNOW OUR BUDGET TOWARD SCIENCE, ENGINEER , MATH AND RESEARCH . I GUESS OUT PROBLEM IS WE DO INVEST IN OUR STOMACH AND WAIST I MEAN 'SEX' MORE THAN ANYTHING .

• Danny 10 years ago

HELLO, i am an NPP aficionado but i must say the president has spoken well.
    nipa ye ade aa ose ayeyi.

• LAWRENCE ASIATEBA 10 years ago

WELL SPOKENG MR.PRESIDENT,I SALUTE YOU.

• Kofi Antobam 10 years ago

Well said Mr President

• Kwame Ghana 10 years ago

This is the way we should negotiate with the international community. But you must also tell the Ghanaian Profs to educate Ghanaians to have that confidence of do it yourself. In the western world even the KG pupil is encoura ...

• Northern Concern 10 years ago

Most African leaders have lacked the courage to face the world with this bold speech! Thank you my PRESIDENT. Are we seeing the good old days of Kwame Nkrumah who played very well the political divide and brought economic ben ...

• dawuni 10 years ago

This is what we want in a President!

• Bobostone 10 years ago

I like the talk. The President has pulled a good one through. Let's praise him. Are the so called Western Nations ready to listen and act? Go President! Keep pushing and hopefully one day someone will hear your clarion call a ...

• peace 10 years ago

is just talk like he do in Ghana GO TO HELL

• Fosu 10 years ago

This a step 4 partnership or parnerchop

• J.ZAGURU. 10 years ago

Where is Dr. Bill? Did you hear the speech of his Excellency?. 'WHAT MADE ME LAUGH' Book title is edited by Prez.Mahama at the U.N.today.

Again and again FOOLS call on the West to make Africans 'stand on their feet'. When ...

• ADAMU 10 years ago

Honest leadership not ruling thieves! And, Mr President, do not deposit any of our money while you're abroad. Bring it back home and put it back where you took it from. Thank you.

• Kilubility Original Dada 10 years ago

You are actually a Gonja man and need to be our prez for future growth.
    Yhank u

• TOTO AFRICA 10 years ago

"MAHAMA said AT THE UN GENERAL ASSEMBLY it is not good enough for Africa to export raw gold, cocoa, petroleum and other various resources and be importing a finished product" UNQUOTE.

NONSENSE! NOBODY FORCES GHAN ...

• TOTO AFRICA 10 years ago

"MAHAMA said AT THE UN GENERAL ASSEMBLY it is not good enough for Africa to export raw gold, cocoa, petroleum and other various resources and be importing a finished product" UNQUOTE.

NONSENSE!

NOBODY FORCES ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 10 years ago

What a sensible speech to the world especially to those who still harbour the colonial mentality that Africa is a hopeless continent and that its people are incapable of anything.What Africa needs are development partners who ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

They will not come and help us therefore,we have to start helping ourselves,to set an example,first.
    Because,they are protecting their jobs for their citizenry too.
    Africa was not affected during the last recession,therefor ...

• ANANE 10 years ago

Dear President please who is to set up the industries for Africa? If the Western World is to set up the industries for you then they will do out of sympathy. So please think deep into your own speech and let the African Gover ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

He is asking for partnership! Not handouts! You do not get it? Partnership is what they do here in the West. He is inviting folks that are interested in partnering with Africa. He wants folks to think in that terms ...

• Sulamana 10 years ago

The world does not owe Africans a living!! We have to pull ourselves up by our own bootstraps. "Partnership" is just another name for "bring your money". Who will do that? What we need to do is to stop expecting the West to b ...

• omanba 10 years ago

From your comment it is plain that you eat the whiteman's shit.We have so many Africans like you;stupid, mypic and slaves to the whiteman.

• Boateng 10 years ago

Your mind is black! If you think Nkrumah made a mistake, that the black man is completely incapable of managing his affairs, then your mind is black and you need to submit yourself humbly to the next white person you meet a ...

• obibini 10 years ago

You are a donkey and the whiteman rides you to wherever he/she likes.Sorry for you!!!

• KingJah 10 years ago

When you have the opportunity to be educated and still think like this, its only sad. Africa has everything the West wants, its just that we have not valued it enough to bring it to the table. By the way, Sulamana, who said p ...

• AMENYO KOFI 10 years ago

AFRICA IS PROUD OF YOU FOR THIS POWERFUL AND THOUGHT PROVOKING MASSAGE TO THE WEST.THIS IS WHAT WE NEED TO TELL THEM NOT BEING AT THEIR MERCY AS ALWAYS IS THE CASE AND AM PROUD TO BE AN AFRICAN. ALL AFRICA LEADERS SHOULD BE O ...

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

Africa need honest and true contestants to the seat of president but not dubious men who would bulldoze their way through to the top with all kinds of cheating and election fraud.

The world esp. the Western World are clos ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

Keep crying Mr. Young. The West Congratulated the President long ago. They have no problem or issue, you are the one that has proble. you can keep crying.

Just watch it! Kuffour took only 8yrs to do great things while the NDC stayed in power for 19yrs without any clues to make Ghana great except to kill and molest Ghanaians making life so miserable for many.

NDC took large s ...

...in collaboration with....

• Yunusjaara 10 years ago

This is a magnificent speech delivered by the prez. May Allah bless him and all other African leaders.

• Joe 10 years ago

Why should Ghana need partnership? You allowed stupid people like wayome and others loot all the money countries. Again, all NDC appointees are corrupt. only thieves that Mahama has been always appointing

• Private Mensah 10 years ago

you lost the elections , u lost the court case - u r a double loser oo shame on you

• Hazor 10 years ago

How would both advance and developing western world leaders think about the immature statement even a kindergarten kid giving the opportunity to address UN general assembly would not talk about value for gold,cocoa,petroleum ...

• Kentrick Patrick 10 years ago

Get a life hazor or what. The president openly spoke on that henious attack. Let dead be dead. You don't know what you talking about. Even the big players don't want implicate their countries with these uncivilized killings o ...

• Hazor 10 years ago

Are you kidding or just to learn a word of wisdom?At this stage were you are unsafe both at work and on market.Did you want a world walking in fear or safe?Mahama talking about gold,cocoa is childish,unwise and is very stupi ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

My friend, at least Ghana can consume it's own manufactured Tuna and not have to import if Ghana processes its own raw tuna. That is a step in the right direction.

• KingJah 10 years ago

Had as I try to be civilized on public forums, I just cant resist but call you the FOOL that you are.. The internet gives and moron an opinion. You want the President to waste his time on dead people, while we still have thou ...

• Hazor 10 years ago

A fool call a wise counsel a fool.A wise man is dead due to folks who do not have value for human life and you fool who is suppose to be in place of professor Kofi Awoonor is alive and have the audacity to call me a fools.You ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

MAHAMA has spoken with all boldness AFRICA needs from our rulers.
    HE HAS BEEN PLAIN,FACTUAL AND TRUTHFUL.
    But,a "BIG BUT" indeed is this big question:
    ARE WE PREPARED ENOUGH FOR THEM TO BE RECEIVED?
    Can we trust our leade ...

Frankly speaking,JDM is a man. African leaders always kotow these western leaders without telling them the right thing. President Mahama is one of a kind.
    He did the right thing at the right time. Excellent speech. Now, he h ...

• FRESH DOE 10 years ago

Well presented speech, but do you think this is the first kind speech a prez of Africa has given. All the world Bank/ UN grants, no matter what, has some advantages how have we used it?

Every entreprenuer (like westerners ...

Fresh Doe, this is my first hearing african President openly saying those forbiding words.
    From the speech one can argue that, t manufacturing factories processing the raw materials to the final product. This will absorb the ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

This is not a nice speech; this is the backward mentality of African Leaders I have been preaching against here. Lee Kuan Yew did not go abegging for any friendship or partnership. He did his homework well and then the whole ...

• okofo 10 years ago

Look at this man: whom is he telling that Africa needs to "[add] value to [its] primary goods"? Is he complaining or telling the world what Africa wants to do?

It's no secret that Africa has both human and material resour ...

Well said too many jokers running serious offices they talk loose when are we going to have some deep thinking Leaders with a convictions

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Kwame Nkrumah built lot of industries in the 60s and trained many professionals.Today,they have all vanished into the thin air.Tell me why,Mr President.The Western World will never come to put up heavy industries in Ghana unl ...

• Private Mensah 10 years ago

He makes sense than all the leaders in there- well done Mr President.

• J. ANDERSON 10 years ago

WE NEED ACTION, NOT WORDS. WHAT PREVENTS AFRICAN COUNTRIES FROM BUILDINGS INDUSTRIES TO PROCESS THEIR RAW MATERIALS?. BRIBERY ACCOUNTS FOR MUCH OF OUR PROBLEMS. INABILITY OF PRESIDENTS AND THOSE IN AUTHORITY TO DO NOTHING AGA ...

• okofo 10 years ago

Thank you my friend. A thinking outside conventional wisdom!! Unfortunately this thinking is SELDOM found in Ghana/Africa.

• amoah wadee 10 years ago

1st We needs to do away with all these ethnicity.
    Unfortunately, we have been "patched together” by the colonialist...
    And the only way forward is to copy the colonialist... I can’t see anything wrong with it... our dia ...

• Haile Mengistus Manasseh V11 10 years ago

The whole of the African Economy put together is an Economic giant. The reason why the African economy will remain where it is and be underdeveloped in because of the fragmentation of the continent into smaller countries.Each ...

• OGYAM 10 years ago

I hope we will be taken seriously this time around. I said so because most African gov'ts don't believe in the investment in education in the fields of computer science, maths, engineering,and econmics.

• Courage koku vavah mimawose 10 years ago

Well spoken mr. president, GOD help you to make it.

• Dare 10 years ago

TALK IS CHEAP!

• Patrick 10 years ago

Global partnership with Ghana is weded to Kwame Nkrumah's vision for Ghana and Africa. The state of Ghana today, surley deserves sympathy because any sort of partnership must be earned. We could begin by looking inward and st ...

• Jay********************London 10 years ago

Mahama has exposed how out of touch with the economic realities of the global world. If he really wants partnership it is there in abundance but he has to earn it.

China did not go asking for partnership , they put in pla ...

• VICKY LEE BENTON 10 years ago

I BLAME OUR LEADERS IN AFRICA. THEY ARE STUPID AND GREEDY. THEY GO INTO POLITICS TO GET THEMSELVES RICH AND NOTHING ELSE. THESE WESTERNERS WILL GIVE THE LOAN AND TURN AROUND AND OPEN AN OFF SHORE BANKS AND THE AFRICAN LEADER ...

• NON-ALIGNED 10 years ago

Mr. President, your speech was too little, too feeble and too late.

This 'African' speech was astutely and accurately delivered with balls, by OSAGYFO Dr. Kwame Nkrumah at the UN in 1960..... 53 years ago, and guess what? ...

• NON-ALIGNED 10 years ago

GHANAIANS!!!!! PLEASE READ NKRUMAH'S BOOKS AND LISTEN TO HIS SPEECHES. (On YOUTUBE or where ever).
    This is to the ignorant ones, not the enlightened ones...please!

Also listen to his speech at the UN, in 1960/9/26 and com ...

• kotoua selira 10 years ago

Yes yes president Mahama you are the true son of Africa and Africa will love you forever for telling these people the truth about the continent.They have been cheating us for ages and now is the time for that to stop

• kotoua selira 10 years ago

When we send raw gold,diamonds and other natural resources to Europe and the US.We lose a lot.They pay a little pacentage to us for these raw materials and carry these to their countries,sell these raw material as finished pr ...

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 10 years ago

Congratulations Mr.President. You've told them where others fear to tred. Once again cogratulations on your bold speech.

• Kojo 10 years ago

Hei Mr president, the whole world knows the potential of africa. They know that we are literally sitting on gold mines. They also know that the number hindrance of Africa is not the terrorist , and although there may be wars ...

• Woman's Wisdom 10 years ago

Who wants to partner with a thief? You need help from someone else? How helpful are you to the other person? Just stop the nonsense. Stop stealing our money and hand over power so that we shall have a competent person to lead ...

• thomas kekeli 10 years ago

You are not civilized at all. Respect your elders just once.

• CITIZEN 10 years ago

WE ARE PROUD OF U MR PRESIDENT,TELL THEM IS ABOUT TIME.

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 10 years ago

Next time when your ministers sign contracts with these multinationals insert a clause that you want them to
    do what you have said in the United Nation Assembly today. YOU WANT THE FINISHED PRODUCTS TO BE DONE IN GHANA TO GI ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

HIS EXCELLENCY PRESIDENT MAHAMA;

THESE WERE WONDERFUL POINTS TO RAISE, BUT, IT REQUIRES THE EDUCATED AND TRAINED AFRICANS TO BE INNOVATIVE AND TO HAVE THE ABILITY TO DELIVER, BUILD DYNAMIC INDUSTRIES,MANUFACTURING AND PR ...

I agree with you man. In our schools today 95% are reading political science, business administration, banking and finance and psychology. We are not encouraging our children to study mechanical engineering or electricals. S ...

• Ghana International Victim 10 years ago

Charity begins at Home. It's nearly 3 years Atta Mills/Mahama NDC Government suspended Ghana International Airways operations and some passengers haven't received their refunds. Mr Mahama when are you going to pay us?

• Fiifi Miles 10 years ago

If Mahama is thinking of bringing Ghana Airways he must be kidding. All the international bodies know the Ghana International Airways victims have been refunded their money. So Mr President Pay up before beginning to think ab ...

• Joe K - New York 10 years ago

Mr Mahama this is a disgrace. Why are you doing this to your fellow Ghanaians? They worked hard for their money. Set a committee to look at the Ghana International Airways Refund case again. The passengers deserve better.

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

ONLY INNOVATION DRIVEN BY OUR OWN SO CALLED EDUCATED AND TRAINED AFRICANS WITH ACADEMIC TITLES OBTAINED AT HOME AND ABROAD CAN LEAD THE CONTINENT AND GHANA TO ECONOMIC GROWTH,GENERATE INCOME, CONSUMER SPENDING, BETTER STANDAR ...

• Meman Nti 10 years ago

No one will do it for us,we got to do it ourselves and of course we can if our leaders(AFRICAN LEADERS)will choose to go that way.It's a choice between corruption and development,if Africa leaders start doing right thing and ...

• Sapato 10 years ago

This is one of the most sensible appeals from any African Leader that I have read in a long time with no undertones of hypocrisy.Economic Freedom, period.

• DOGO 10 years ago

Some of these African leaders don't make sense when they talk. It's better to keep your mouth shut than to open it and spew NONSENSE. The rest of the world would be laughing at you when they go back to their various hotels. M ...

My friend do not sit on the fence to
    implement partnership come dowm and
    help with your sense and might to keep
    he coutry going the right path.

• Jwakyn 10 years ago

Yes ,Adwene

• mohammed shamu 10 years ago

president mahamma is right westen world are cheating us

• mohammed shamu 10 years ago

president u re right Keep it up

• Kanawu 10 years ago

Don't listen to Mahama. He & NDC henchmen are day-light robbers and liars too

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

This is the man we voted for , not akufo addo.

• kwame 10 years ago

President u said it right,we dont need to handout anymore.

• Smart Frempah, UK 10 years ago

Yes you hit the nail right on the head Mr. President
    1. We do not need sympathy to develop
    but Mr. President we cannot develop if nothing is done on this level of corruption we are seeing in your govt.
    2. Why has it taken ...

• Paa solo 10 years ago

sympathy indeed must be a thing of past.The western world should creat jobs,build industries to employ the local ready work force on the African soil rather than hypocritical sympathy

I have seen a new dawn in Ghana and Africa as a whole. I have seen great development coming to Ghana. Am proud to be a Ghanaian. It's time for Africa to stand and fight for what belongs to us. His excellency John Mahama ha ...

• james naru 10 years ago

Excellent speech. We also need good and stable leadership.
    We also need to put the the right people at the right places . Lets get rid of just appeasing our cronies

• kojo, china 10 years ago

good u know it but we re tired of talking it. everybody knows thats d solution but the difference is in doing it. u r our leader, what r u waiting for again? just empower us to do it!!

• Agonaba 10 years ago

It's about time.

• Wisdom 10 years ago

Great speech from a great son of Africa. kudos

Tweaaa, deceitful speech! Didn't John Mahama and the NDC challenge Nana Akufo-Addo on this same issue including his free education? Why is Mahama now telling the UN gen. assembly that Africa needs to add value to her export; ...

• komla tulasi 10 years ago

but all the industries, private and national were sold off by your own AFRC/PNDC/NDC. So what are you talking about? what about education, science and technological development, good road infrastructure and communication and ...

• Wisdom 10 years ago

A great speech from a great son of Africa. Kudos Mr. President.

You called this a great speech? ?? Come on Black MAN wake up in your sleep , I CALLED THIS A LOOSE TALK

• KNYC (USMC) 10 years ago

Every year the same shit. Create JOBS. You want value for your products but you allowed the Chinese to take this products for a penny. What a MORON talk. Wall Street is not paying attention to this useless talk.

It sounds like telling a bedtime story , Good GOD HELP US , when are we going to have a serious Leaders on our CONTINENT Does he think the UN cares about AFICA'S DEVELOPMENT and by the way it's a shame that most AFRICA LEADE ...

• BRO DAN -TRC 10 years ago

NOBLE PEOPLE OF AFRICA, PRECIOUS ONES OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA- ONE MORE TIME ON THE BEHALF OF -HUMANITY-, "JOSHUA" THE PRESIDENT OF GHANA, HIS EXCELLENCY -"JOHN" DRAMANI MAHAMA HAS DONE IT AGAIN! ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 10 years ago

I realy like mahama speeches when it Comes to international Level, he is bold and call a spade a spade
    what i dont understand Africa leaders is that why do you satdown and waite for somebody to call you before you started d ...

• Charles 10 years ago

How many African presidents have been able to say this in front of the world. Give him the benefit of the doubt he is awesome. I agree we have to change thing in Ghana first. accountability Prez, stop giving parliamentarians ...

• Ken O 10 years ago

Mr. President you have addressed half of the problem. The other half is that we need to hold ourselves accountable for what we do. No wise investor is willing to partner with corrupt people. Not when workers take bribes befor ...