N1 highway has killed 200 people in 17 months

Read Comments Comments (36)

• DONBOLI 10 years ago

If you allow cars and trucks that are not road safe that in the killer not highway.
    That is for ghana, PNDC, PNC AND NDC. This party think it can change his colours from from taking from the people. The party that makes peop ...

• BEN 10 years ago

HIGHWAY OR NO HIGHWAY; SPEED LIMIT FOR CITIES

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 10 years ago

WAT IS THE REGIONAL ROAD SAFETY COMMISSION N THE REGIONAL DVLA DOING ABOUT THIS? U CANT JUST SIT THERE FOR THIS TO CONTINUE. GO TO SOUTH AFRICA, GO TO N AMERICA N SEEK SOLUTIONS. REPLICATE THEM IN THE REGION AND THROUGHOUT GH ...

• WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET 10 years ago

Free Internet tv streaming serving Ghanaians in the diaspora

www.ghanatvlive.net Live Brings You Live TV stations From Ghana. GTV, TV3, GTV Sports+, Adom TV Live, Joy News TV Live, Metro TV Ghana, e.tv And More.

• Pee 10 years ago

How can a highway kill someone, why are some of you reporters so thick and dump.

• IBM 10 years ago

What kind of engineer is Samuel Obeng Asiamah?

He should have given us the statistical data that shows that the road condition is the major cause of the 500 accidents. What about the cars' conditions and driving styles?

• Amegaxoxo 10 years ago

I have never come across a silly article as this before.What about the reckless driving and disregard for road safety measures by the road users.I am specifically referring to both operators of vehicles and pedestrians.This i ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A man is driving down a deserted stretch of highway when he notices a sign out of the corner of his eye. It says, 'Sisters of Mercy House of Prostitution 15 km'.
    He thinks it was just a figment of his imagination and drives ...

• Cambuuushoe 10 years ago

WE COMPLAIN THAT HOLE RIDDEN ROADS WERE THE KILLER. THEN YOU HAVE A MULTI-LANE HIGHWAY, AND WE CALL IT A KILLER TOO? WHAT DO WE NEED? BOATS TO TRAVEL ON THE SEA? SERIOUSLY, IT'S DRIVER DISCIPLINE, OR LACK OF IF THAT IS KILLIN ...

• Doc. 10 years ago

Well ! It's Kwasia wuo. I don't feel sorry for the people who decide to run across the path of speeding cars instead of using the walk ways and ebra crossings. They often misjudge the speed of the car approaching and get kill ...

• Kotei 10 years ago

doc, you are a fool yourself if not ignorant. THE PEDESTRIAN HAS THE RIGHT OF WAY AT ALL TIMES.

• Oburonewewu 10 years ago

Kotei you must be an idiot to try and walk across a highway.Those barriers you see there are not a christmas decoration Mr Kotei. It's to stop idiots like you from killing yourselves.In most countries you will be arrested for ...

• donkey 10 years ago

jonkey

• Koo Nimo 10 years ago

Road dont usually kill it is the stupidity of road user that kills

• Kwesi 10 years ago

In Ghana we all know the problem but we do not want to tackle it but rather propound theories which are not tenable. The road is a motorway, so why are all these pedestrians crossing it the way they do. Even where there are o ...

• Fairness 10 years ago

Can I suggest that you change the caption of your story? Roads do not move so it cannot kill. it is the moving vehicles driven by reckless human beings and reckless human beings called pedestrians who kills themselves. "200 P ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Safety measures must be put in place and the best one is to control the speed limit.There must be warning sign boards within short intervals for both pedestrains and motorists.There must be some traffic lights to allow older ...

• kofie germany 10 years ago

stupid fools and wen dvla wake up and they just accusing used tyres as the problem of accident,ghana u need to wake up,wen i read some stories i become sake and tired,dvla should learn used tyres d ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Reduce the speed limit to 50 kph.

• Don Blunt 10 years ago

Why don't you call for the stoppage of trading and "marketing" on that road?
    Where in the US, Europe etc. does anybody buy or sell a toilet roll at the traffic light?
    Maybe humans with such useless brain power do not deser ...

• WOYOME 10 years ago

how many footbridge is on the road? Ghanaian leaders thinking is limited, if you are going to build a highway in middle of the city you need bridge in every mile so people can cross the road.

• Obroni 10 years ago

A highway doesn't kill people.
    The laziness kills, most of them are disregarding all safety measures taken, don't wait for traffic lights, cross through holes in fences, jump fencing etc.

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

The BASIC FLAW in Ghana is.....INDISCIPLINE.......!!!!!! Of course, ALL that the engineer pointed out are VALID but we have to EDUCATE the population too!! It should be an ON-GOING EDUCATION for pedestrians, cyclists,motorist ...

• ANOTHER AFRICAN PATRIOT 10 years ago

WHO IS IN CHARGE OF THE STREET LIGHT ON THE N1 HIGHWAY? WHY ARE WE SO TERRIBLE WHEN IT COMES TO MAINTENANCE. WILL THE APPROPRIATE AUTHORITIES WAKE UP. THE HIGHWAY IS DANGEROUSLY DARK AT NIGHT.

• OKOE 10 years ago

THE ENGINEER HAS A POINT BUT HE IS POINTING TO THE WRONG DIRECTION. THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH NEITHER THE ALIGNMENT, WIDTH NOR THE CONSTRUCTION. THE BLAME LIES WITH SPEED CONTROL, PEDESTRIANS CROSSING WHEN THEY SHOULD NOT ...

• Mma 10 years ago

People need to be sensible and stop thinking of short cuts. The beauty of the high road should not be destroyed for stupid people who want short cuts. They must use the approved pedesteran ways to cross.

• nana 10 years ago

there is nothing wrong with the highway,except that people compromise safety with their own lives.U can build 200 footbridges,and still people will look for shortcuts.Take a closer look at circle,they have barbed wires,and st ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

We are all well aware that in some countries even a person passing through his own window to enter his room will be taken as a thief and be shot, I mean shot dead.
    We are well aware if we do not live in the jungle that nobo ...

• Foreigner 10 years ago

The engineer says it doesn't meet global standards. Is there a highway in Ghana that does?

I think the N1 is great for driving. However, the problem mainly is with the attitudes of drivers and pedestrians. Pedestrians n ...

• KA AKYIRE 10 years ago

IS IT THE STUPIDITY OF THE PEOPLE OR THE ROAD WHICH DOES NOT MOVE? EVERYBODY IS IN HURRY IN GHANA TO DIE! THE PEDESTRIAN/THE DRIVER. ALL VANITY

• JUSTICE 10 years ago

OVER SPEEDING, RUSTED VEHICLES, TRUCKS WITHOUT BRAKES CAUSES ACCIDENTS. BUILD SPEED RAMS AND PERIODIC CONTROLES OF ALL VEHICLES.

• Okponglo Guy 10 years ago

No where in the world do you see ladies in high heels trying to cross 3 lane roads when they can use footbridges and yes, we can't 100 footbridges so they should use what we have. ABA! Ghanafuo!

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

APPEAL to the Manufacturing countries to REDUCE THE SPEED LIMIT to Africa spec.Ghana to 50km/h !!!! We are too foolish and MANY ARE NOT READY to use their Brains!!!!! SOMEHOW, we CANNOT do anything RIGHT !!!

• COS 90 10 years ago

The problem is not the high way (N1), not the cars but the DRIVERS.

• G. Dart.(US) 10 years ago

Mr Asiamah give us TECHNICAL details or this is wasted STREET TALK. Show Better Concern.

• Adobia 10 years ago

I think is simple. Just enforce no Alcohol whiles Driving laws and you will see less accidents happening on our roads.