TUC issues 10-day ultimatum to gov’t over tariff hikes

Read Comments Comments (45)

• Mark Owusu 12 years ago

When will we have our peace when such leaders with all we have cannot do anything this is a big shame to Ghana and Africa we need leaders who can think not those who just promise.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 12 years ago

Mahama should throw in the towel after his first term. The political kitchen of Ghana is too hot for him to handle. That place is not for gentlemen.

• WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET 12 years ago

Free Internet tv streaming, serving Ghanaians in the diaspora

www.ghanatvlive.net Live Brings You Live TV stations From Ghana. GTV, TV3, GTV Sports+, Adom TV Live, Joy News TV Live, Metro TV Ghana, e.tv And More.

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 12 years ago

ALL GHANA NEWS LIVE ON TV3, UTV Ghana, Metro TV, TV AFRICA, JOY NEWS, GTV, ADOM TV, Sports TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 12 years ago

Ignorance. Do they know how much it cost to produce a kw of electricity? Meanwhile, they pay religiously when they go and live abroad.

• Jonny 12 years ago

i have been reading these aticles for a while and any time they talk about income and tarriffs Ghanians start to compare it to abroad we need to stop because they have two different system

• SIGMA 12 years ago

It is all due to mismanagement. There are plenty of VRA and ECG going about selling meters and electricity and putting money in their pockets. So in any way they are passing corruption to the consumer. I support industrial ac ...

• ObjectiveMan 12 years ago

pay back time. I think we need to keep the politics away from core decisions.
    Workers either make demands during election year forcing government to accept and later government wants to roll back. OK will keep the log. But G ...

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 12 years ago

NPP can help out. Ignorance

• NIma boy 12 years ago

Just leave them alone..when we are feed up..we will stand on our feet and start killing them one after the other and use their money to pay this stupid increase...TRUST ME!I MAKE READY SELF...

• PAT 12 years ago

what the tuc shd do now is to condemn the nearly 9.0 billion over expenditure the insensitive ndc govt in the election year.....this plus their dubious j-debts are what has brought down ghana to its kness........the tariff i ...

• kwame 12 years ago

Give us a break, you are a member of the SSNIT Board. What do you do when a decision to sell Merchant Bank was taken and subsequently cancelled by the SSNIT Ag. Director General. Only posterity will judge you. Today Merchant ...

• EDENSU 12 years ago

Hi Kwame, I think if you discuss merchant in public domain, the bank will collapse immediately. The public will rush and withdraw all their savings. Merchant is collapsing due to the fact that someone used his position and ...

• DAN 12 years ago

NOW THE CHICKENS OF PROPAGANDA, LIES, DAMN LIES AND STATISTICS ARE COMING HOME TO ROOST. THIS IS THE RESULT OF OUT OF COLLEGE INCOMPETENT BOYS AT THE HELM OF AFFAIRS IN GHANA COUPLED WITH THE PLANNING LOOTING AND SHARING BRIG ...

• art you 12 years ago

This is crazy. After letting workers down, they are doing face saving. What prevented TUC from being proactive and inputting into the discussions earlier. These old men in that TUC have gone stale and must give way to young m ...

• Mama Tula 12 years ago

You are damn right my brother. This Asamoah man is a double edge knife eating with two hands like a monkey.
    They think they are fooling some body, their cups will full up one day.

• KABIYESI 12 years ago

They can go to hell! We are fed up with strikes!

• Honestman 12 years ago

VRA/NED lied to Ghanaians that electricity went up by 78.9%. Before the increment, I used to get between 301 and 308 units (pre-paid) for GHC50. Just last Friday (after the increment), I got 260 units for GHC80. This constitu ...

• oko 12 years ago

Ghanaians should not complain. They chose to vote and endorse incompetence, woyomization, Judgement debt, guinea fowl fraud, bribed judges to to held endorse illegitimate Akonfem Mahama. They should just keep quiet and suffer

• tijani 12 years ago

TUC, why now, hypocrites, krokro de john,TUC in bed with govt, simple

• micky 12 years ago

Ghanaians want to have their cake and eat it. The utility sector in the country needs total deregulation and privatization. The same public sector workers want gov. to pay subsidies on utilities for their consumption and at t ...

• Sappey-Agboh, Atsiame - Avenorpeme 12 years ago

Workers should ask Mr Asamoah, what was the stand of the TUC representative on PURC? Mr Asamoah should stop throwing dusts in the eyes of poor long-suffering workers. PURC is an independent institution with representatives f ...

• ahmed issah 12 years ago

So you thought thse who felt this government was incompetent were jokers. I prepared my mind long ago for such increases so i won't complain. I knew it will hppen and it has happened

• idiot 12 years ago

those that are at a position should think of the poor but they don't feel for naybody but carefor temself.america thinks about the poor so they don't just dump stupid stuff on his people.purc should think twice who are inchar ...

• plus 1 12 years ago

for once again, i have seen that this group is not serious.

• Zachary 12 years ago

If there is an illegality, try the courts. It appears TUC and organised labour want to sink the economy by their continuous strikes.

• KOMLA MAKUIKU 12 years ago

AM SO HAPPY TO LEARN OF THE STRIKE. WE WILL FULLY SUPPORT AND TAKE THE LAW IN OUR OWN HANDS. WE ARE SO SICK OF THIS MAHAMA GOVT. WE CANT WAIT. ALUTA ALL THE WAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

• Thunder 12 years ago

The courts dont work anymore my friend,Judges have been bought. Your best bet is to hand them over to the Abosom, they mean business. Courts are irrelevant in Ghana, my friend.

• chris 12 years ago

the increments are just too much

• Tony 12 years ago

This government is unpatriotic and wicked!

• KOMLA MAKUIKU 12 years ago

MAHAMA IS PRAYING FOR A COUP SO HE CAN HAND OVER BUT IT WILL NOT HAPPEN. HE WILL SMELL THE ROUT AND PIE ON HIMSELF.HIS LYING NIGHT WILL SEE HIM LOSE SLEEP FOR ALL THE CORRUPTION AND LIES.

• Kwesi 12 years ago

Haba! The TUC general Secretary should just tell the govt where it should find the money to pay for the utilities. The choice is simple. Either we pay or we do not have it. It cannot be both. We Ghanaians have not done away w ...

• mahama is corrupt,evil 2 the nation 12 years ago

GHANAFUO EI MAHAMA THIEF CORRUPT MUST GOOOOOOOOOO,

• abi 12 years ago

in any country where the leadership do not think about the citizenry these things are bound to happen . they are up there enjoy. strike for the whole world to know that the president at the UN meeting did not tell the truth

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 12 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFUL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• WISE DEWORNU 12 years ago

PRES MAHAMA DISAPPOINTING GHANIANS ESPECIALLY NDC FRATERNITY WE SHALL THINK TWICE

• sena 12 years ago

Lack of quality visionary Leadership is the foes of Africa and Ghana in Particular. Mills, mahama and Amissah Led Administration can be best described as square peg in a round hole!

• SANTROFI 12 years ago

"......to increase utility tariffs IN a graduated manner to minimise the impact on consumers". NONSENSE!

INCREASED UTILITY AND TAXES MUST CORRESPOND TO INCREASED SALARIES AND WAGES ACROSS THE BOARD, EXCEPT POLITICIANS AND ...

• Jay - UK 12 years ago

I support you. Go ahead

• EDENSU 12 years ago

The Electricity Company and Ghana Water Company are unable to meet their revenue targets to purchase the required logistics because Government owns the two bodies billions of cedis in utility bills. Instead of paying, they p ...

• KWAKU 12 years ago

WE MUST SHOW GOV. AND PURC WHERE TRUE POWER LIES AND TELL THEM TO THEIR FACES THAT, WE WE NO GO PAY. THIS IS SIMPLY WICKED, INSENSITIVE, HEARTLESS, INHUMANE AND COMPLETELY RECKLESS ON THE PART OF THE MAHAMA ADMINISTRATION TO ...

• KA AKYIRE 12 years ago

FIGHTING FOR SALARY INCREASE NOT KNOWING WHERE THE MONEY FOR PAYMENT WILL COME FROM.

• KA AKYIRE 12 years ago

I THOUGHT TUC WILL CALL THE MEMBERS FROM WHERE PURC IS GRABBING THIS MONEY TO AND ADVICE THEM FOR ONCE TO WORK HARD TO FULFILL THE PROMISE BY WHICH ALL WORKERS ARE SUFFERING

• BULAALAH 12 years ago

Point of interest, how many ultimatums did the TUC issue the K4 administration over price increases during the NPP regime? If the TUC failed to see, they would have heard of the untold suffering K4 government brought unto Gha ...

• ....: 12 years ago

Unions are useless; you afford a new 4G mobile phone but cannot water utility bill?